Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can I give more? The answer is usually yes

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

Well done on both counts B - super time and beating the auld lad! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Bohermeen 5 mile-32min 16 sec(6.31,6.33,6.27,6.33,6.25)

Have been looking forward to this since TbL was man enough to take the challenge on, having ran with him that magical day along the canal during the summer i knew i was in for a good bit of crack to. Arrived to Bohermeen to see the sight of TbL trying to direct the legendary Dave Brady into a parking space, both made a balls of same and gave up!! In and registered and back out to be offered skittles by TbL, declined just in case it was rohypnol. We went for a 1.5 mile warm up and he had a pain in his arse to a pain in his gums, still wasn't falling for it though. Back to the car park where we bumped into Dave Brady, i was treated to 15mins of side splitting stories from the the two lads speaking of years gone past.

We made our way to to the race start and were soon called to order by the race starter who is a legend in his own right, he gave two late stragglers a bollicking who were delaying the start. He had a starting pistol in his hand and was waving it everywhere counting us down, i nearly made a jump for the ditch at one point but he pulled the trigger soon enough and we were off. I received a few words of encouragement from behind from TbL as i made my way.

Mile 1
    Into my stride quick enough and never looked behind for fear of being caught!!! First mile was nicely downhill, had decided coming over in the car if i could run even 6.35 miles i would be well happy. I figured at this point i would spend most of the race running by myself as the field was lacking in depth to what i thought it would. Passed four runners in the first mile and kept that as my goal to race end, pick runners off and not get passed myself.

Mile 2
    Mile 2 started with a little drag over the motorway and i was still feeling good, little drop before we turned and made our way up a little drag, had a quick look sideways where i could see runners behind, i was still in the clear. Picked off another 3 runners here and kept the head down, it was well thinned out at this point with most runners running solo.

Mile 3
    We turned onto a main road shortly after the two mile mark and it was nicely downhill for a bit, looked up and seen a nasty little drag over the motorway ahead, put the head down and told myself to dig in. Passed another two runners going up and noticed 2.5miles written in the road, homeward bound now. One of the runners came back at me on the downhill but once it flattened out i passed them again. Still feeling strong.

Mile 4
    Remember very little about this mile to be honest, i passed the last runner i would pass on this mile, i started to feel it with about 1.25 miles left and had words with myself. I would have previously gave up here a bit but i had a 6ft 5 Lemon chasing me and i was fooked if i was giving in.

Mile 5
    Turned into the village of Bohermeen and my legs were burning now, looked at the watch for first time in a while, pace was still ahead of my goal average so took that as a good thing. Passed the school and knew we had 0.75 of a mile left as we had ran that way on the warm up. Then it came, i heard abuse from behind, looked behind to see TbL, where the hell did he come from, ah man i'm hurting here i wanted a handy run in, now i have to dig in and hold him off. Turned left and a sneaky little drag towards the track and race end, quick glance and i'm holding he gap i think, my legs are swimming in pain at this point.

See 500m left on the road, ah thats ages away, quick look again, full sure the gap has halved, hes gaining on me, he can smell my aftershave i figure. Dig in again, 400m, genuinely in a jock now, dont know whats keeping me going, breathing is all over the place. 200m, quick look again, gap has held this time i think. Turn off the road onto the track, muster a sprint and look at the time on the gantry as i pass, 32.16 and i make for the fence thinking i'm going to heave. Look back to see TbL finishing only mere seconds behind. We mumble some congrats to each other, we're both fu@ked.

I'm genuinely surprised with this result, its only 33secs slower than my PB, a time i feel i was in far better shape than i am now. Thats a massive positive for me at this moment and shows some of the training i have been putting in has paid off. The auld man obviously pushed me on a bit to, thanks for that this morning C it was hugely appreciated and thanks for the laughs badly needed they were, if you weren't out there behind me on the course i would have eased off a bit and taken it easy. Hope that heavy breather didn't cost you valuable seconds!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭career move

Good stuff. Your 'old self' had better watch his back too. You're flying it :D

Cheers Kate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

tang1 wrote: »
    In and registered and back out to be offered skittles by TbL, declined just in case it was rohypnol.

Loved that.

Great running today, nice to see you so close to a PB so early in the season.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

brilliant! great report & good on you for digging deep & fending him off :D good decision on the skittles too :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

Great stuff B, delighted for you. Great performance. The training is definitely paying off. Always good to have someone chasing you too for that extra % effort to stay ahead. So well done Tbl too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

Good result there B, always knew TbL was a fraud :D:D

martyboy48 wrote: »
    Good result there B, always knew TbL was a fraud :D:D

Cheers Marty, maybe not a fraud but sandbagger of epic proportions!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,789 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Cheers Marty, maybe not a fraud but sandbagger of epic proportions!!

Not the only one, apparently. Well done the pair of ye. Knew you'd hold him off it came down to it. (Nice of him to warn you of his approach though!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Great Run, B. Those sessions certainly are paying off. You'll be passing your old self shortly.
    ........................... Then it came, i heard abuse from behind, looked behind to see TbL, where the hell did he come from, ah man i'm hurting here i wanted a handy run in, now i have to dig in and hold him off. ....................

I'll be having words with the "Lemon's" coach on giving him some racing tips. The abuse should have come after he passed you at speed :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

Brilliant race & report. Nothing like the fear of an auld lad catching up on you to make sure you put the boot down ;)

Youth 2, Elders 0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Bungy Girl wrote: »
    Brilliant race & report. Nothing like the fear of an auld lad catching up on you to make sure you put the boot down ;)

Youth 2, Elders 0

ouch (on Murph's behalf)

Good going B! Really well done and you are looking very trim too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Bungy Girl wrote: »

Youth 2, Elders 0

Any time, any place, over any distance :P

..........well other Thursday this week as I have collect the pension. Oh and I have an eye test on Friday and wait I think the hearing test in next Tuesday but other than that I think I am available. Actually no forgot about the denture fitting on Wednesday week. What were we talking about again:confused:

annapr wrote: »
    ouch (on Murph's behalf)

I am well aware that I can milk this for precisely 12 days until I am put firmly back in my box at the half! Give me my moment ;)
    FBOT01 wrote: »
    Any time, any place, over any distance :P

..........well other Thursday this week as I have collect the pension. Oh and I have an eye test on Friday and wait I think the hearing test in next Tuesday but other than that I think I am available. Actually no forgot about the denture fitting on Wednesday week. What were we talking about again:confused:

FBOT, I think you are one year older than me ?

FBOT01 wrote: »
    FYP so :D

The two Wise men(easy on the abuse now):

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

Can't see them properly.
    You & TbL are in the way :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Duanington

Did you f*ck a cup of water over TbL's top or something Tang?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Well done yesterday B, I'd like to be magnanimous and say the better man won but feck that lets face it, you got lucky :)

Stuck in London for the next few weeks but we'll have a re match where you'll be Tangoed by a very bitter lemon.

See ya soon!

TbL

there's a caption contest in there somewhere.............

declined just in case it was rohypnol. We went for a 1.5 mile warm up and he had a pain in his arse .................

He had a starting pistol in his hand and was waving it everywhere

I received a few words of encouragement from behind from TbL.........

we turned and made our way up a little drag.............

i started to feel it .

Then it came, i heard abuse from behind, looked behind to see TbL,

we're both fu@ked.

if you weren't out there behind me........ i would have eased off a bit and taken it easy. Hope that heavy breather didn't cost you valuable seconds!!!

this is what I took from the report................in tangs own words. #jealous

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

I think you are on to something here. Dr. Lemon is even wearing 50 shades of grey in the photo!

Feckin legend!

Hilarious :)

He was prepared to do anything for the win ;)

TbL

Monday 7.9.15

4.10miles

Wednesday 9.9.15

7.85miles

Thursday 10.9.15

3.50miles

Friday 11.9.15

9miles@7.08 min/miles in 65mins 18secs

Had to do hard reset on the Garmin as it's acting the mick lately so no times or paces for runs earlier in the week. Got a text Thursday evening from TbL about joining him for a run Friday evening, now how could I turn that offer down. He arrived to Moyvalley suited and booted after a week of conferences in London, before I knew it he was standing full pelt in the carpark in the lashing rain!! I said thanks but no thanks!!

The chat & abuse flowed for the first 6 miles but once the pace was upped by TbL I went quiet. I had told him earlier I had the remnants of a hangover in the system and I was sweating pure craft beer at this stage. I dug in as I didn't want to let him down over the last two miles, finished in a jock. But throughly enjoyed every step, cheers again C, as you said only for I was meeting you I would have done nothing. Great session.

Saturday 12.9.15

4miles@9.08min/miles in 36min 30 secs

Recovery run that was preceded by a 30km cycle with the misus. Legs & body sore, think i'm close to an injury if I don't watch myself. Body is taking longer to recover from the fast stuff than i'd like. Will let the body dictate what I do the week coming.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

Will let the body dictate what I do the week coming.

Good!

Quote: tang1
    Will let the body dictate what I do the week coming.

Yours or mine :)

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Had to do hard reset on the Garmin as it's acting the mick lately so no times or paces for runs earlier in the week.

Recovery run that was preceded by a 30km cycle with the misus. Legs & body sore, think i'm close to an injury if I don't watch myself. Body is taking longer to recover from the fast stuff than i'd like. Will let the body dictate what I do the week coming.
    Feck the garmin ruling your head and legs ;) How about effort feedback? :p

You might be moving into aul fellas territory :pac: Was talking to my dad during the week and asked him the most common causes of injury. One of them, he reckons, is not allowing enough recovery (two full days) in between sessions as you move up the age range...but you're not there just yet, are you?!
    Firedance wrote: »
    Good!

^^^+1 to this :)

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    Feck the garmin ruling your head and legs ;) How about effort feedback? :p

You might be moving into aul fellas territory :pac: Was talking to my dad during the week and asked him the most common causes of injury. One of them, he reckons, is not allowing enough recovery (two full days) in between sessions as you move up the age range...but you're not there just yet, are you?!

Well Mondays run was a recovery so it was north of 9.10min/miles for the run, look forward to my recovery runs. Wednesday & Thursday effort wise were a struggle to be honest body was sore and took me a while to loosen out. Fridays run even though I had a hangover felt much better, last two miles were tough but putting that down to the alcohol in the system. Auld fellas is over 40s isn't it?? I'm only a child if it is.

Auld fellas is over 40s isn't it?? I'm only a child if it is.

50 is the new 40! :pac: