Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

DCM 2015: Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 907 ✭✭✭JMSE

Cheers Dubgal thanks for the advice, its easy to be one typing to the many on a keyboard, but you are one replying to the many and if it was paper you'd have just filled an A4 page on mine alone, so again, thanks for the time you spend doing this mullarkey...

How often do I run on empty? Rarely, almost never, am a creature of habit when it comes to breakfast but if you mean 'without taking something mid-run' well then I've never taken anything ... yet (but remember 'never' in my case only goes back to the start of my running in Jan '14). So re yesterday, I dont think the tiredness I felt at the end was down to lack of carbs, just lack of muscle memory of doing record distances like 18 miles. Over the next fortnight I will definitely get a grip on whether I need a plan re gels - yes or no.

On the fifth session, still working nights for the next few weeks, but running doesnt stop when you're on nights, I did 10 miles around Sandyford Industrial Estate 2 weeks ago from just before midnight to near 1.30am. Its not where I live, but what a safe place to do a night run I reckon having done it (when you really have to run and its gone mad late). I'll try and get a fifth one in but it'll be max 5k if it happens.

Havent a plan to do a half, I think I'll skip them to be honest. Respect for all the others who do them on the way to the full, but I reckon mentally it'd wreck my head to suffer 13 and give it all to the line, and then think 'crap, the full thing is double that' .....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Singer, singer...what have we said????

NO WEAVING....NO!!!!

haha gotcha ;)

Re your mini-bonk: how was nutrition yesterday and pre-lsr generally? How has sleep been (no need to answer that, I think I know :) ) and how is health generally lately?
    You could just chalk this one up but no harm examining the bigger picture too, you've been training hard lately and asking a lot of your body.
    Bear in mind also that an initial too-fast pace can come back to bite you disproportionately. Always ease into a run, especially the longer it gets. It's like you use up too much fuel revving up too quick.

Mrs Mc....17 miles, you totally rock! Ah but you all do, you know that! Have we all really been together 11 weeks?! That's a long-term relationship in running-programme terms!!
    Up at 6? That is dedication....Tom Joad, you got competition :p You'll be eating Mrs Mc's shorts soon...sorry Mr Mc but has to be said....:pac:
    Really promising run @PMP too, well done and loving the multi-tasking sofa work :)

kennyg, another great PMP run...with ahem man flu :rolleyes: So when are you getting the upgrade to pneuman-moania?! :p
    I'd be a bit wary about getting up on your toes too much tho. If that's not your normal stride - and even if it is - it can put enormous pressure on your achilles :eek:
    If it ain't broke....
    And is 15 mins a bit long for icing? Myles Splitz or Clearlier, what's the latest on this please?
    All in all tho, well done :)

Jake1970, 48 miles, your 10k training base is really standing to you here, nice :) good 5k session, what were the recoveries just as a matter of interest? Nice mlr too and the MP run...woah, deadly execution, am in awe :)
    Re your HM aim on which group to go with...Not sure if it's appropriate for a HM in a marathon block but fwiw had a chat with coachy today and he suggested (ie he was telling me for next time) to go out hard and take the risk of blowing up. 'What's the worst?' He said, 'you jog in?' So no, not the best advice for your HM plan ;)
    For a HM, you need to be still in control at 9 miles. If you get to nine miles in one piece, you're good to go for the rest of the way. Pick a pace you know you can do comfortably hard for 9 but can still continue for another 4.1....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭Emsy 1

Kudos on all the pb's and lsr's this weekend ur all shamazing :) Had my first physio appt on Friday got the legs rubbed out and all is good. I have been having soreness in my shoulder and neck when running this felt heaps better today. Did my lsr of 16 today. I got on grand the last two miles felt the longest as I had to run on past the house cause I fecked up the mileage. I love my little picnic of isogel and jellybabies on route must bring a flask of tea and a scone next time ;) Just checked the plan for the last few weeks and it looks like we have the hardest part ...over a piece of cake from here on in.
    Splits as follows
    1. 10.26
    2. 10.47
    3. 10.57
    4. 10.52
    5. 10.55
    6. 10.58
    7. 11.09
    8. 11.10
    9. 11.10
    10. 11.05
    1 2. 11.1 3
    13. 11.13
    14. 10.55
    15. 10.52

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 907 ✭✭✭JMSE

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    kennygI'd be a bit wary about getting up on your toes too much tho. If that's not your normal stride - and even if it is - it can put enormous pressure on your achilles :eek:
    If it ain't broke....

Am in no position to give advice, only to say that I tried to improve my own stride last year at this same time. I envied the elite lads who could stay off their heels and on their toes, so I gave myself a plethora of foot niggles which put me off the road for a good few weeks. When I think back to Ososlos novice thread from last year, my last post of the thread (Sept) I think mentions that I was going to try and alter my foot strike. Not the time in long-distance training to be trying something like that is what I found. Hope that helps....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭jake1970

Jake1970, 48 miles, your 10k training base is really standing to you here, nice :) good 5k session, what were the recoveries just as a matter of interest? Nice mlr too and the MP run...woah, deadly execution, am in awe :)
    Re your HM aim on which group to go with...Not sure if it's appropriate for a HM in a marathon block but fwiw had a chat with coachy today and he suggested (ie he was telling me for next time) to go out hard and take the risk of blowing up. 'What's the worst?' He said, 'you jog in?' So no, not the best advice for your HM plan ;)
    For a HM, you need to be still in control at 9 miles. If you get to nine miles in one piece, you're good to go for the rest of the way. Pick a pace you know you can do comfortably hard for 9 but can still continue for another 4.1....
    The recoveries for the 5k session were approx. 3.5 mins . the plan says recovery should be between 50-90% of the rep, so around full recovery time, I think(not good at maths).
    Thanks for your input re. the half marathon, I will definitely be aiming for a PB so maybe just go out hard with the pacers and hang on for dear life:).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 407 ✭✭coolhandspan

Did my 18 mile lsr last night. Lol... Running for three hours in dark with a dog... ðŸ˜Â႒... Felt better than on my 16 miler.. Did 10 min mile pace.. Tried to quicken over last few miles..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭Peter D61

PeterD61, well done on your milestone 16 miles :) It really is a buzz isn't it?! Firsts all round for you today, no walking, gels and flipbelt. Sounds like you're in a familiar neck of the woods...I know that hill very well! Deceptive little fecker! I normally chop my stride and grit my teeth on it :D
    Fwiw, I think you should be aiming to keep all your paces slower than 10m/mi, no need to go under, otherwise great work today.

Thank you. I do try to keep it over 10 m/m but find it a struggle to get the pace right.:-(

JMSE wrote: »
    Cheers Dubgal thanks for the advice, its easy to be one typing to the many on a keyboard, but you are one replying to the many and if it was paper you'd have just filled an A4 page on mine alone, so again, thanks for the time you spend doing this mullarkey...

How often do I run on empty? Rarely, almost never, am a creature of habit when it comes to breakfast but if you mean 'without taking something mid-run' well then I've never taken anything ... yet (but remember 'never' in my case only goes back to the start of my running in Jan '14). So re yesterday, I dont think the tiredness I felt at the end was down to lack of carbs, just lack of muscle memory of doing record distances like 18 miles. Over the next fortnight I will definitely get a grip on whether I need a plan re gels - yes or no.

On the fifth session, still working nights for the next few weeks, but running doesnt stop when you're on nights, I did 10 miles around Sandyford Industrial Estate 2 weeks ago from just before midnight to near 1.30am. Its not where I live, but what a safe place to do a night run I reckon having done it (when you really have to run and its gone mad late). I'll try and get a fifth one in but it'll be max 5k if it happens.

Havent a plan to do a half, I think I'll skip them to be honest. Respect for all the others who do them on the way to the full, but I reckon mentally it'd wreck my head to suffer 13 and give it all to the line, and then think 'crap, the full thing is double that' .....
    Thanks for the kind words :)
    Yes, have a read back about gels. I'll cobble together all the gel and fuelling related posts this week. Now is the time to decide, October will be too late :)
    5k for your fifth run will be absolutely fine, or forget the distance and go by time; 35-45 mins very very easy. It will contribute towards your general aerobic fitness. Don't force it tho, especially with shift work. Fair play to you, can't question your dedication!
    And yes, doing a half is not obligatory so carry on :)
    Peter D61 wrote: »
    PeterD61, well done on your milestone 16 miles :) It really is a buzz isn't it?! Firsts all round for you today, no walking, gels and flipbelt. Sounds like you're in a familiar neck of the woods...I know that hill very well! Deceptive little fecker! I normally chop my stride and grit my teeth on it :D
    Fwiw, I think you should be aiming to keep all your paces slower than 10m/mi, no need to go under, otherwise great work today.

Thank you. I do try to keep it over 10 m/m but find it a struggle to get the pace right.:-(

I know, who'd have thought running slow could be hard. Like all thing though, practice and it will get easier. Make sure you focus on keeping good form too, easy to slump when going slower.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 259 ✭✭duffer247

Morning All
    On Saturday I decided to combine a commitment to do the Tymon parkrun and my lsr together; not the ideal format but it served the purpose of getting the miles in. It was kind of funny looking back, my brother in law came in 2nd whilst 12 minutes later I stroll along. All my family were there cheering me on! They even took a video! I proceeded to refuse the time chip, take a drink say hello to my relatives and then jogged on!! I'm sure they were all wondering what the..? The stewards/marshalls are so good; at one point one them said "you're doing great, keep going, just another 1k to", I felt like saying more like another 20!!
    here's the data!
    1. 10.14
    2. 9.43
    3. 10.09
    4. 11.23
    5. 11.17
    6. 10.55
    7. 11.00
    8. 10.33
    9. 10.50
    10. 10.34
    11. 11.03
    12. 10.45
    13. 10.23
    14. 12.16

Had a recurrence of a niggly pain on the outside of my left knee around mile 6, nothing to stop me running but it's the 2nd time now I felt it, so I might just get it checked. To be honest both knees were fairly niggly by the end of which is my furtherest run to date. Soles of my feet (fallen arches) were sore again so I think need extra support, anybody who has some insight here much appreciated. As I slowed down for the last mile my legs started to ask what kind of weird new torture technique I had devised for them "Can we just not stick to the one pace?" they were asking me!
    Energy, breathing & mentally felt great, Tymon park is great to run in lots of different gradients, bends, paths and things going on.

3 mile recover last night, felt really good despite 3 trips to Ikea during the day! don't ask!
    1. 10.48
    2. 10.50
    3. 10.26

Hi Neady, that was an emotional run for sure! You have taken lots from it and I agree, I have learned more from my running mistakes than my successes :o:)
    I'm the same re footpath hopping, bloody hard work isn't it, especially towards the end of a lsr :eek: Sometimes staying on the roads wins....even so far a s playing 'chicken' with oncoming cars. Disclaimer: I do NOT recommend this ;)
    Next time, definitely plan your post-run nutrition: have something easy and palatable ready to eat and drink within 20 mins, either electrolyte drink, chocolate milk, protein/carbohydrate mix (nuts and dried fruit, nutty flapjack, protein bar etc).
    Also eat something more substantial within 90 minutes: again, protein heavy ex scrambled eggs on a bagel. Your tummy might still deel queasy but will thank you for it. Protein is great for post-stress muscle repair.

Emsy 1, glad the niggles are working out. Don't forget to relax your jaw, neck and shoulders too when running.
    That was a good run, well done...loving the picnic approach! Yes, the bulk of the work is done but this month is still pretty crucial in terms of putting all the icing on the cake :) so doubly important to keep the by now well-established routines re rest, recovery, sleep and nutrition going....as well as the running!
    Just a comment on your splits: always aim to keep the first mile the slowest (not fastest....) split overall. This is where you should be easing into the run with baby steps and very gradually warming up your body :)

Hi coolhandspan, well done on the 18, but absolutely no need to consciously increase the pace towards the end of your lsrs. The risk/reward benefit for novices is weighted too heavily on the increased recovery time and injury risk side here.

Hi duffer, glad you got it done. I would agree, no harm seeing a physio at this stage and mentioning your fallen arches. You might need a shoe with arch support such as an asics GT 2000. Are you near an Amhibian King shop, they'll be able to help with choosing the right shoe for you....

Hi conor mc and well done for making it out :) Never an easy call: get the lsr done early and feel wrecked all day or do it later in the day and be wired for hours...and wrecked and possibly queasy! Well done too on getting through the dip. This will happen on the day too, more than once, so experiencing these types of dips during a lsr help you realise they are temporary. PS, keep the pace nearer 10m/mi pace, no harm even slower.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 791 ✭✭✭conor_mc

20m LSR done! :)

Intention was to go out Sunday morning, had everything lined up nicely for it, but I think it was Eisenhower who said something about the best-laid LSR plans never surviving first contact with real-life, or words to that effect! :(

So yesterday became a bit of a guessing game as to whether I'd get out at all or have to push the LSR to Monday evening. In the end, I left the house around 7:15pm for a three laps of Griffith Ave > Howth Road > Collins Ave > Ballymun Rd. Nothing too eventful about it until mile 17 when my legs started to blow up. Had brought a gel along but didn't take it earlier in the run, and at 17m figured there wasn't much point in doing it then.

Anyway, kept going to mile 19, where a couple of hills actually provided a bit of quad relief.

Felt pretty crap after the run. Obviously post-run nutrition at 10:30pm can be tricky, so a hastily-scoffed banana and a random protein drink nearly made me throw up. :o Will need to work on this methinks!

Splits:
    10:21
    9:56
    9:41
    9:54
    9:50
    9:48
    9:51
    9:56
    9:48
    9:39
    9:39
    9:26
    9:35
    9:37
    10:08 < paused to grab a bottle of water in shop, slow to get legs warmed up again!
    9:36
    9:53
    10:03 < ouchy
    10:15 < ouchy ouchy
    10:15 < double uphill, so acceptable! :)

Thanks guys for taking the time to write these great reports, we can all learn something from each other's reports, every time :)

FeenaM, you've been too quiet :) Good to hear from you, thanks for popping in. Loving the self awareness and yup, non-race racing sucks :D onwards this week but....don't worry too much about the faster-paced mileage. Long and slow will have more benefit at this stage unless you have been given a specific purpose this week?

Skittle8710, would love to hear more :) Any chance??! Well done on the sub 2 hour, especially after illness! How is recovery going and be kind to your body, it's been through a lot. Easy easy running this week.....

kerry gooner, PB, well done! Any more detail....please?!

Diego, again well done! Deadly race report, you never fail to deliver on these :)
    Great pace band too and the ocd....you're a real runner now!!! :D
    Good call on fixing the shoe, hillsiderunner will second that (where have you been hilly, too quiet :) ).
    Feeling strong on mile 10 was a really good sign, shows you paced it well. If you get to mile 9 in a HM, you'll make it home whichever way. Feeling strong was the icing on the cake :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

TFGR, well done today! Just a thought re lsr strategy, something to contemplate: imo, it would be more useful generally to attempt a constant pace throughout the lsr over a pace you can't maintain/have to slow down on. If you think you might not be able to maintain 14:10-14:20 pace throughout, aim for ex 14:30-14:40. This would have - as well as physiological benefits - the psychological benefit of finishing strong, not 'beaten' into a slower pace. This goes for everyone, if you feel the need to slow drastically in the latter stages of a lsr, chances are you have misjudged the overall pace.
    Keep mobile in the hours post lsr too, your muscles etc will thank you tomorrow!

Nice Luas Race seed sown ;)

Thanks, DG! I had a look over our previous conversation about paces, and I did overestimate my pace a tad, but still my agreed 'easy' pace with you and my coach is 14:20 - 14:30 mins per mile so my LSR WAS done to my 'easy' pace, just at the faster end (instead of the slower end as I thought).

I'm still happy with the run. 10 consistent miles throughout and it felt good. I know some of you won't believe me but I did have to slow myself down a lot throughout just to keep to the 14:20 range. I'm also happy that my running miles (2-14) were all under 15 minutes (unlike my last LSR and the sun trap! :P) All in all, I did enjoy the run, felt strong and comfortable and not wrecked afterwards.

I also suspect my wrong turn slowed me up somewhat as I was constantly looking for street signs and checking side streets to see could I run down those and also had to pause for traffic a few times and once I had to wait for a Luas to pass by as the footpath was too narrow. I know, I know...excuses, excuses right? And who knows but that if I had kept on the right course I might still have slowed down.

But, you're right about paces and I will take your advice and slow down for my next LSR and run for 14:20-14:30 min/miles and see how it goes.

After I stretched I did housework and laundry and didn't sit down until much later. Does that count as being mobile? :pac: Legs feel pretty ok today considering.

Neady83 wrote: »
    I had a wedding yesterday so decided to do my LSR after work on Friday instead. 20 miles @ 10:00/mile, 420ft elevation gain

Like last week I had the auto-pause on so this was actually a bit slower than 10:00/mile. I left a bag with a bottle of water with electrolytes and two gels inside the wall of the house and planned to loop by the house a few times to keep me hydrated. I did everything right during the day: big bowl of porridge for breakfast, pasta for lunch (and the night before) and drank lots of water. I was ready for road and hitting out the gap by 5:30.

I swung by the house on mile 8 to take a drink and again at mile 13. I also took a viper boost gel at mile 13 (last week I took an isogel at mile 16). I found it really tough on my own. With nobody to chat to at times all I could think about was the pain in my legs - not injury pain but that aching you get from running such long distances. I was really feeling it by mile 17 and did contemplate throwing in the towel but I talked myself out of it. I took another drink at mile 18 and knew this would get me home. From mile 16 onwards, hopping up on and down off footpaths continuously was hurting quite a bit. Nonetheless I made it home and was happy to have it done but I did find it much much tougher than last weeks run.

I did some stretching outside, came in and sat for a few minutes while I drank some water, maybe 500ml. Got to my room where I had the urge to lie on the floor for a it, as you do. Spent 15 or 20 minutes there before I started to get cold so I tried to gather myself to shower and to warm up but I was shivering with the cold and felt like rubbish. Had a shower doubled over with a pain in my tummy and finally got myself back into bed and all wrapped up. An hour or more after my run I was shivering uncontrollably and threw up all the water that I'd drank. Got sick once more after that, all water, before I was able to warm up and normality resumed about two hours after I finished my run. Was able to stomach a cup of tea and some ginger biscuits (it's all I and in the house). I felt like absolute rubbish for the whole two hours after the run but after my tea and bickies I was Aok.

I posted this report on my log on Saturday and CM, Nop and AKW have offered some great advice regarding nutrition, resisting the urge to lie down, keeping warm and not drinking too much water :)

I couldn't believe how much my experience running 20 miles this week differed so much to running almost the same distance (19.80) only 6 days earlier. It shows that it's the small things that count. Last week I took little sips of water every 3.5 miles (not big gulps on mile 8, 13, 17 & 20), last week I wore a long sleeved top for a bit of extra warmth (short sleeved this week), last week I had a cup of tea & slice of cake straight after my run (cold water this week), last week I put a hoodie & trackie bottoms on & got into a warm car after my run (cool bedroom floor this week), last week I had company (on my own this week) and last week I was on country roads with no footpaths to be hopping on and off of and wasn't stopping at traffic lights lots of times. Without realising it, I got lots of things right last week and had a bad experience this week but I've learned lots of lessons and I'm dam glad it happened now and not on the big day :) Hopefully there's something everyone can take from this and any advice would be very welcome :)

Thanks for this vivid report Neady, it's a timely reminder of the enormity of the challenge we're taking on. I try to keep telling myself that this is endurance and it's okay to feel tired and sore. I always run on my own so I can empathise the mental challenge of only having your body as company. One of the things that keeps cropping up in posts for me is the importance of routine, where I need to develop the habitual nature of things like warming up/down, stretching, nutrition, hydration etc. it's a lot to do.
    Thanks again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,460 ✭✭✭Clearlier

Kennyg71 wrote: »

...concentrated on launching
    Off big toes after listing to post put up earlier in week, seemed to keep
    Better stride.
    Stretching & ice bucket for 15 mins at least have Achilies feeling in good
    Order, not easy keeping feet in bucket of ice water but well worth it.

Which post talked about launch off your big toe? I'd be seriously concerned about making that kind of change. Kinetic Rev is pretty good on this IMO. Here's one of his articles about the dangers of trying to change your footstrike.
    Neady83 wrote: »
    I did some stretching outside, came in and sat for a few minutes while I drank some water, maybe 500ml. Got to my room where I had the urge to lie on the floor for a it, as you do. Spent 15 or 20 minutes there before I started to get cold so I tried to gather myself to shower and to warm up but I was shivering with the cold and felt like rubbish. Had a shower doubled over with a pain in my tummy and finally got myself back into bed and all wrapped up. An hour or more after my run I was shivering uncontrollably and threw up all the water that I'd drank. Got sick once more after that, all water, before I was able to warm up and normality resumed about two hours after I finished my run. Was able to stomach a cup of tea and some ginger biscuits (it's all I and in the house). I felt like absolute rubbish for the whole two hours after the run but after my tea and bickies I was Aok.

I posted this report on my log on Saturday and CM, Nop and AKW have offered some great advice regarding nutrition, resisting the urge to lie down, keeping warm and not drinking too much water :)

Glad that you're ok, it sounds like a pretty horrible experience. Anecdotally, it's the cold water that I would prioritise avoiding again.

duffer247 wrote: »
    Morning All
    Had a recurrence of a niggly pain on the outside of my left knee around mile 6, nothing to stop me running but it's the 2nd time now I felt it, so I might just get it checked. To be honest both knees were fairly niggly by the end of which is my furtherest run to date. Soles of my feet (fallen arches) were sore again so I think need extra support, anybody who has some insight here much appreciated.

There are lots of exercises available on the internet for strengthening your arches. A good physio familiar with runners may be the best bet if you have one available. If you get one that suggests orthotics for this smile politely, get dressed and leave. I exaggerate but only slightly - orthotics are massively overprescribed by physios IME and they often want to provide them themselves when they simply haven't got the expertise (you want an orthotist or a podiatrist who has spent 3-4 years studying this area).

Are you doing any core work? Some basic strengthening of your core can often help with niggles further down as it takes some of the load off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Clearlier wrote:
    I'd be seriously concerned about making that kind of change.

+1 to this, G. Plenty of time for tweaking your form/strike post Oct if needed. Also if you do, at some stage post Oct, go down this road I would also ensure you know what you are doing, why and what muscles is it going to activate so you are sure they are ready for it.

You are going really well so your focus needs to stay on keeping the faith and keeping on doing what you are doing....IMHO :)

Clearlier wrote: »
    There are lots of exercises available on the internet for strengthening your arches. A good physio familiar with runners may be the best bet if you have one available. If you get one that suggests orthotics for this smile politely, get dressed and leave. I exaggerate but only slightly - orthotics are massively overprescribed by physios IME and they often want to provide them themselves when they simply haven't got the expertise (you want an orthotist or a podiatrist who has spent 3-4 years studying this area).

Are you doing any core work? Some basic strengthening of your core can often help with niggles further down as it takes some of the load off.

Thanks for this @Clearlier
    Yes I had Orthotics prescribed a few years ago, but it all felt a bit sales-y, so instead I gradually replaced my shoes (for work) with Ecco shoes. To date I've only had issues when wearing non-Ecco shoes for a period of time and more recently on the longer runs.
    No core work, I take it there's some simple activities I can start to do, I'll do a bit of research.
    In terms of a physio with some experience of runners - any suggestions in Sth Dublin?
    Thanks again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Clearlier wrote: »
    Glad that you're ok, it sounds like a pretty horrible experience. Anecdotally, it's the cold water that I would prioritise avoiding again.

+ 1 to this too. I remember getting a piece of advice a lot of years ago that during or after training never put cold/chilled liquids into a warm stomach and if cold liquids are the only ones available then swirl them around in your mouth to bring them up closer to body temperature before swallowing. As an added bonus the swirling thing also ensures that you don't drink too much too quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭diego_b

Avoiding cold drinks, very good...
    Really love the small details with the advice here, some of these things make a huge difference I fiind! You simply cannot beat experience.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 653 ✭✭✭skittles8710

Skittle8710, would love to hear more :) Any chance??! Well done on the sub 2 hour, especially after illness! How is recovery going and be kind to your body, it's been through a lot. Easy easy running this week.....
    [/quote]

Short report so, since you asked so nicely :).

Night before, drove from Cork to Tralee after work. When I got down unpacked and lay out all the bits and bobs to have ready for the following morning as I knew I'd be setting off early.

Got out to Dingle around 8.20 and parked up. Was feeling the freshest I have in weeks which was great as I was nervous the fatigue /headaches may return on the morning. Did a quick jog around the village and was ready to go.

Set off with the 2hr pacing group. Spent the first mile focusing on getting into a rhythm and keeping the form. Mile 1 was not a bother coming in just over 9 minutes. Felt the pace pick up a bit in Mile 2 and got a lil worried as I wasn't feeling too comfortable, the pacer explained it was a bit quicker than the first but needed that to pull back in some of the later miles.

Miles 3-8. There was great banter in the pacing group so the distraction meant the inclines weren't too painful and the miles seemed to go by fairly comfortably. Clocking in 9:10-20 minute miles consistently.

From mile 9 on I felt the miles starting the drag I was getting tired and getting paranoid about a niggle in the left ankle. Decided to take my gel thinking some fuel would spur me on. Took on as much water as i could at the next few stations. A lot of which was thrown over my ever glowing maroon face much to the amusement of some around me.

After mile 11 I was getting my breath back and getting into a nice steady pace again enjoying the beautiful scenery around. ...then mile 12 arrived and that dastardly hill. It knocked me for six!! The first half I just managed to keep up a jog all form was going out the window but it just seemed never ending so decided to give up and walk..until two fellas starting roaring at me to keep going. I left out a big roar "arghhhhh" (sorry to anyone I scared around me) and started to run again. Went through the marker at 9:38 was delighted it was over in under 10mins.

On the downhill in the last mile I felt I had some left in the tank so decided to give it welly for the last stretch and sprinted over the line with 1:58:09 on my watch, a couple minutes over my pb but delighted.

Got my lovely medal and goody bag and headed for the bus. We got a wanderly wagon which broke down on one of the hills back to town. Was quite funny people joking that we'd have to carry on and just complete the full instead. Eventually the bus got going, drove back to Tralee and hopped into my bed. Boy did I enjoy that nap :D

Well done everyone (and your dogs!) on the LSRs this weekend seems to be some fantastic milestones achieved by people, ye must be buzzing. Also well done to those who got pbs in Dingle - no mean feat on that course!

Yes I had Orthotics prescribed a few years ago, but it all felt a bit sales-y, so instead I gradually replaced my shoes (for work) with Ecco shoes. To date I've only had issues when wearing non-Ecco shoes for a period of time and more recently on the longer runs.
    No core work, I take it there's some simple activities I can start to do, I'll do a bit of research.
    In terms of a physio with some experience of runners - any suggestions in Sth Dublin?
    Thanks again

Assuming that you're in a sedentary job if you're doing absolutely no core work then myrtl is something straightforward enough to start out with that isn't demanding but will help. Longer term it would be worth looking into pilates.

Can't help with a physio recommendation I'm afraid.

Thanks again

He's more city centre I guess but I went to Aidan Woods on Pearse Street last year after my injuries from the Cork marathon and found him very good. I did pilates classes there to strengthen the core. I just did the regular intermediate pilates but they have a specialised runners pilates class twice a week as well I think.

FBOT01 wrote: »
    + 1 to this too. I remember getting a piece of advice a lot of years ago that during or after training never put cold/chilled liquids into a warm stomach and if cold liquids are the only ones available then swirl them around in your mouth to bring them up closer to body temperature before swallowing. As an added bonus the swirling thing also ensures that you don't drink too much too quickly.

I struggle to eat after a hard run because I usually feel quite nauseous. I wonder if this is why? I usually have a glass of water first thing when I come in and then feel quite pukey.

If it's cold then possibly. In hot weather I'll regularly down a 500ml bottle of water and sometimes more straight after a run without feeling nauseous but that's a bottle that's been in the car and is at a warmish temperature.

As an aside many if not most people aren't that hungry post run, especially a hard one - the munchies kick in about an hour later for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭FeenaM

Well done Skittles, sounds like you really enjoyed it too!! I was also on your bus, and was genuinely about to ask the driver if I could just get out and run the rest of the way (this was mile 22) when he kept rolling back down the hill :eek: :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭FeenaM

FeenaM, you've been too quiet :) Good to hear from you, thanks for popping in. Loving the self awareness and yup, non-race racing sucks :D onwards this week but....don't worry too much about the faster-paced mileage. Long and slow will have more benefit at this stage unless you have been given a specific purpose this week?

Thanks and you are so right - onwards and upwards from now (in mileage, not pace of course). This week I have a 19 mile LSR on Wednesday and feeling fresh and ready to go for it today.

I tried a Kinetica Energy Gel and this went down very well during Dingle so hopefully that will be how i can fuel going forward. I see there are a few more people that haven't felt well after a long run and like them Im not sure it was anything to do with the gel in the first place. I was more head sick than tummy sick if that makes sense.

By the way, is there plan for a meet up this weekend or was that last weekend?

FeenaM wrote: »
    Well done Skittles, sounds like you really enjoyed it too!! I was also on your bus, and was genuinely about to ask the driver if I could just get out and run the rest of the way (this was mile 22) when he kept rolling back down the hill :eek: :D

Haha I think everyone was about to abandon ship just before he managed to rev it up the hill!! When we had to yield for the ambulance I feared we may not get going again. The poor full marathon runners having to manoeuvre around our crock of a bus :) added to the craic all the same hehe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Kennyg71

kennyg, another great PMP run...with ahem man flu :rolleyes: So when are you getting the upgrade to pneuman-moania?! :p
    I'd be a bit wary about getting up on your toes too much tho. If that's not your normal stride - and even if it is - it can put enormous pressure on your achilles :eek:
    If it ain't broke....
    And is 15 mins a bit long for icing? Myles Splitz or Clearlier, what's the latest on this please?
    All in all tho, well done :)
    Quote:
    Originally Posted by Clearlier
    I'd be seriously concerned about making that kind of change.
    +1 to this, G. Plenty of time for tweaking your form/strike post Oct if needed. Also if you do, at some stage post Oct, go down this road I would also ensure you know what you are doing, why and what muscles is it going to activate so you are sure they are ready for it.

You are going really well so your focus needs to stay on keeping the faith and keeping on doing what you are doing....IMHO smile.png

Thanks for advice, probably over simplified my comment, it was to
    do with running efficacy, and it was about lift off, rather than landing
    trying to concentrate on big toe being last part of foot to leave ground
    when launching off, no intention changing running style this side of Marathon, have had enough bother. Just little experimenting when u
    get mind drift to pull head back into Run.

There where lots of strengthening exercise to go with it also, probably
    just a case of thinking about stride make you run little better anyway.

wouldn't have time or energy to invest to much time in it at moment,
    thanks for link Clearlier , will have a read.

appreciate all comments. Must say though Ice Bucket has been most
    effective thing to keep Achilles up till now, not sure of exactly how long
    should leave for, but think I was told 15mins & would be glad if was less,
    but seems to work.

G

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

What's your guys' (novices, advisers, lurkers etc) recovery routine? What protein do you take for recovery and your protein meal after a run?

I'm just curious and asking for conversation sake, not looking for someone to tell me what to do for recovery! ;)