Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can I give more? The answer is usually yes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Fair play to you, B, sounds like you have had a tough year. Best of luck with the return to work, and with your continued recovery. You have been such a positive contributor here and supportive to everyone, even through your own challenges.

....still don't forgive you for supporting Mayo though ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,134 ✭✭✭Tom Joad

Fair play for posting that B - takes a lot of courage. If you ever need something to chat to or just hook up for a run drop me a PM.

Best of luck on the return to work.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

annapr wrote: »
    Fair play to you, B, sounds like you have had a tough year. Best of luck with the return to work, and with your continued recovery. You have been such a positive contributor here and supportive to everyone, even through your own challenges.

....still don't forgive you for supporting Mayo though ;)

s'ok, he's forgiven ;)

+1 to the positive contribution you make tang and to your continued recovery

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

Jesus B, TbL will never be forgiven if he beats you on Sunday now! :pac:

*On a serious note, hope you're feeling better

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,606 ✭✭✭RedRunner

Never would have guessed it B, given that you've such a positive aura about you on here. I guess that's not unusual with depression though. Fair play for sharing such a personal thing with us.

Hope you continue to recover well and keep up the great training.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,672 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Best of luck B.

I find humour, good natured banter and running are fantastic for relieving stress and improving mental wellbeing.

You've got the first two in abundance, pity you're so ****e at the last one :)

See ya Sunday

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,789 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Fair play, Barry - I agree with RR that you're a totally positive force around here (and a pacing legend as far as I'm concerned!) Good luck on Sunday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,677 ✭✭✭kit3

Best of luck on Sunday - I agree with Yaboya - TBL is under pressure now :)

Best of luck with your return to work - great that you are at this stage after what must have been an incredibly tough year for you & your family.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭Notwork Error

Good man B! No shame in talking about life's curve balls, glad you did as one more person makes it easier for the next to speak out and that's what it's all about imo. Fairplay to you man!

I echo TJ words above, if you ever want to talk, drop me a PM.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,759 ✭✭✭belcarra

So, where is this smackdown happening?
    I'm tempted to see Tang trying to run away from a bull!

Good to hear you're feeling great again B!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

Nice post Barry - its always better when these things are out in the open, especially at home, but still very very difficult to confront.
    Looks like this and the running are going in the right direction.

Best of luck on the return to work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

I echo all that has been said above.....except the bit about forgiving you for supporting Mayo of course:rolleyes:.

Glad to hear you are on the mend, B. The running has been going from strength to strength on here for the last while so I hope that is a reflection of how everything else is progressing as well. Keep up the good work.

Best of luck with the return to work.

And best of luck at the weekend........and as always ENJOY!!

PS my money is still on the auldfella to take you down ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,984 ✭✭✭Duanington

Jaysus Tang the excuses are getting more and more outrageous, I'm not sure who is winning on the sandbagging front at this stage, the other fella is full of it too!

Fair play to you - good to see things moving in the right direction, onwards and upwards!

Good luck tomorrow!!!! Leinster v Connaught, I'm gonna have to back you so :p

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

Firstly & most importantly thank you for all the kind words and pm's the past few days. They genuinely mean alot lads, massive fair play.

Friday 4.9.15

4miles@9.19min/miles in 36min 17secs

Bog standard recovery run around the GAA pitch, legs bit tender from the 3k effort the evening before but nothing serious.

Today 5.9.15

3.20miles@8.08min/miles in 26min 01secs

Few easy miles before tomorrow mornings race, took me a mile to loosen out but was ok after that. Looking forward to the race now, ages since I done a 5 miler. May as well nail the flag to the mast with a few goals:

Bronze: sub 35
    Silver: sub 34
    Gold: sub 33

tang1 wrote: »
    Firstly & most importantly thank you for all the kind words and pm's the past few days. They genuinely mean alot lads, massive fair play.

Friday 4.9.15

4miles@9.19min/miles in 36min 17secs

Bog standard recovery run around the GAA pitch, legs bit tender from the 3k effort the evening before but nothing serious.

Today 5.9.15

3.20miles@8.08min/miles in 26min 01secs

Few easy miles before tomorrow mornings race, took me a mile to loosen out but was ok after that. Looking forward to the race now, ages since I done a 5 miler. May as well nail the flag to the mast with a few goals:

If you hit your silver target you'll win the main event!!!

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Just catching up here. Brave brave man. It's a hard mask to wear so well done for taking it off. Wishing you and your family the very best x

oh and kick that aul fella's ass tomorrow :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,789 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

All the best tomorrow, B, look forward to hearing the details.

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    Just catching up here. Brave brave man. It's a hard mask to wear so well done for taking it off. Wishing you and your family the very best x

Cheers DG, great racing today.

Dubgal72 wrote: »

I don't mind him kicking it, it was the attempted licking it that really scared me the last time :)

TbL

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

good luck tomorrow, B... is there an age handicap? ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭Notwork Error

All the best for tomorrow B!

I don't mind him kicking it, it was the attempted licking it that really scared me the last time :)

TbL

Best of luck tomorrow - reckon he's running scared trying to put you off

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

TbL
    kit3 wrote: »
    Best of luck tomorrow - reckon he's running scared trying to put you off

Jaysus, he put me off and I won't even be there:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 914 ✭✭✭Bulmers74

Well done Barry - the progress continues.

Bulmers74 wrote: »
    Well done Barry - the progress continues.

Cheers J, 32.16 delighted with that. Sandbagging of epic proportions by my challenger!!! Great running C, will do a report later, have a tractor mad young fella looking to go to an agricultural show now!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

Great racing from both of you......

Pair of sandbaggers:
    tang1 wrote: »
    If you hit your silver target you'll win the main event!!!

TbL

Well done Tang - would say you licked his butt but that might have other connotations on this log :p Great running

Well done! Up Leinster:) great running by ye both

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

Courtesy of Peter Mooney, you can just about make him out stalking you near the start https://www.flickr.com/photos/peterm7/20568997513/in/album-72157658266956495/ but it doesn't look like you were under much pressure at the end: https://www.flickr.com/photos/peterm7/21002101780/in/album-72157658266956495/