If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Trivial things that annoy you part 479

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,407 ✭✭✭Poochie05

TA'd when watching the programme about Shannon airport on RTE earlier and the guy was proudly showing his manager around the newly designed duty free shop. The new layout was inspired by the original guy who developed the World's first Duty Free shop in Shannon, Dr. Brendan O'Reagan and they named it in his honour.
    Said employee proudly pointed to the sign displaying the new name, with no apostrophe - O'Reagans!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 415 ✭✭FelineOverLord

Poochie05 wrote: »
    TA'd when watching the programme about Shannon airport on RTE earlier and the guy was proudly showing his manager around the newly designed duty free shop. The new layout was inspired by the original guy who developed the World's first Duty Free shop in Shannon, Dr. Brendan O'Reagan and they named it in his honour.
    Said employee proudly pointed to the sign displaying the new name, with no apostrophe - O'Reagans!!

The Duty Free was magnificent in it's day and I was horrified at how shoddy and cheap looking it had been made over the years, hopefully they'll get it back to what it should be now that it's under new management.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭grundie

Generation X'ers who criticise millenials for not having the wealth they did.

They don't get that we are paying for their easy life.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,937 ✭✭✭galljga1

grundie wrote: »

Thanks for that, much appreciated.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭DareGod

When you can't figure out what your precise address is due to slight variances between different sources...

Eircode says it's one thing. Google Maps says it's another thing. Your electricity company says another. Your phone company says something slightly different.... etc etc

I JUST WANT TO KNOW WHERE I LIVE! :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭arayess

grundie wrote: »

can you elaborate?
    I've a feeling generation x is paying a lot more than millenials for the run of things....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 69 ✭✭What are those?

People cycling that tuck one trouser leg into their sock so as not to get it caught in the chain,would you not just tuck both legs in ,it really annoys me.Maybe ive some mild OCD but it just looks so wrong

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

arayess wrote: »
    can you elaborate?
    I've a feeling generation x is paying a lot more than millenials for the run of things....

And lets not mention how Generation x was around during that really big boom time in the 70s and 80s...there was a fella on our street had a phone. In his house!
    Lap of luxury it was.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭arayess

Menas wrote: »
    And lets not mention how Generation x was around during that really big boom time in the 70s and 80s...there was a fella on our street had a phone. In his house!
    Lap of luxury it was.

i thought generation x was those born in the 70's who became angry teenagers in the 90s now in their 30s/40s saddled with USC and excessive mortgages to pay for the golfing trips abroad for the over 50's and retired who tell them "recession , you lads don't know recession!! "

Generation x can be anyone born between the 60 and the 80s.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Generation_X

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭eisenberg1

Lap of luxury it was.

Don't be talking, there was a man on our street used to to Spain for holidays every two years. Everyone would come out to wave him off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 458 ✭✭grundie

can you elaborate?

I should have said Generation X and the baby boomer generation.

Basically cheaper housing, lower cost of living, decent pension schemes and more jobs for life.

I posted this because my American father in law said I was living extravagantly for travelling abroad to be a best man. He paid $25,000 for a five bedroom house in 1975. He recently sold it for nearly half a million and now lives six months in Arizona and six months in Canada and has a brilliant pension.

People cycling

You could just stopped there.

Trivially annoyed that I've absolutely no idea what this Generation X conversation is about.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,949 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

DareGod wrote: »
    Trivially annoyed that I've absolutely no idea what this Generation X conversation is about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭selous

When you can't figure out what your precise address is due to slight variances between different sources...

Eircode says it's one thing. Google Maps says it's another thing. Your electricity company says another. Your phone company says something slightly different.... etc etc

I JUST WANT TO KNOW WHERE I LIVE! :(

Don't check it on the An Post "search for an address" website either Its wrong too, I know of two estates in Sandyford one doesn't exist by estate name (Ticknock Hill) only by internal road name,
    The new one down the road, Grange hill was a lovely big old house in Sandyford D18 it was knocked down and the new estate built on it is now Rathfarnam D14, how does that happen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,373 ✭✭✭selous

In fairness it takes half of a second to take a photo, so it could have just been one person who simply went "click" and that was that.

And they may have already reported it to police and been told not to touch the body and were awaiting their arrival.

Or there could have been police already in the vicinity who were keeping people back.

Either way, if I saw a child's dead body I certainly wouldn't immediately know how to react.

Impossible to tell from the photos what was actually going on around the body.

I didn't think anything of it first till I seen the news and the heap of camera people and photographers on the beach, would they not go and see if he was still alive even if barely, Maybe they were told to stay away, still a shocking image,

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 265 ✭✭NOS3

Being a people pleaser. I had planned to spend the night at my dad's house(first time since he got a new place), but I got a call for a person I babysit for. He sounded like he really needed a babysitter, and when he asked 'are you busy?', I replied 'oh no I can babysit no bother'. :o I know it's my own fault, but I just can't say no.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

I found a selection box on a high up shelf in a wardrobe, that I hid last December to have as a spare. It's best before April, so I'm wondering should I chance it.
    I ate 2 spicy tomato pasta Mugshots for dinner because I was a total lazy cow. I'm going to be crippled tomorrow, I never learn :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭Medusa22

73Cat wrote: »
    I found a selection box on a high up shelf in a wardrobe, that I hid last December to have as a spare. It's best before April, so I'm wondering should I chance it.
    I ate 2 spicy tomato pasta Mugshots for dinner because I was a total lazy cow. I'm going to be crippled tomorrow, I never learn :(

Ah eat it, definitely! I'd chance anything for a bit of chocolate! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭xLisaBx

Medusa22 wrote: »
    Ah eat it, definitely! I'd chance anything for a bit of chocolate! :pac:

Chocolate actually keeps pretty well.. chance it :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,180 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

73Cat wrote: »

TA that these weren't nearly as interesting as they sounded before I googled. I was expecting something huge, I got cup-a-soups :(

Actually just finished dinner myself there, the brother-in-law is home from London, and decides to make Guinness stew. I love Guinness, I love stew, but those two should never be combined, ever again. Rotten, but TA now that I can't really say it to him or I'll feel like a right prick :o

xLisaBx wrote: »

Those dates are only there because of some regulation or other. If it looks all right (no sweating on the sweet) then just eat them. Report back here when done! :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,891 ✭✭✭✭Hugo Stiglitz

xLisaBx wrote: »

If it's brown, eat it down. If it's white, it might be shite.

TA that these weren't nearly as interesting as they sounded before I googled. I was expecting something huge, I got cup-a-soups :(

Actually just finished dinner myself there, the brother-in-law is home from London, and decides to make Guinness stew. I love Guinness, I love stew, but those two should never be combined, ever again. Rotten, but TA now that I can't really say it to him or I'll feel like a right prick :o

My wife made a stew with a can of John Smiths bitter in it. Absolutely fcking gorgeous. It was slow cooked so the meat was really tender. Sorry that you could not have some!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭xLisaBx

Those dates are only there because of some regulation or other. If it looks all right (no sweating on the sweet) then just eat them. Report back here when done! :D

With all this talk of chocolate, I need some now :pac:
    Guaranteed with my parents trying to eat healthy there will be none in the kitchen.. TA!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,400 ✭✭✭Medusa22

Ye are all killing me, I'm a total chocolate addict but I'm trying to be good and do weight watchers again after pigging out on holiday last week! If I fall off the wagon I am blaming ye :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭Colser

Medusa22 wrote: »
    Ye are all killing me, I'm a total chocolate addict but I'm trying to be good and do weight watchers again after pigging out on holiday last week! If I fall off the wagon I am blaming ye :D
    Speaking of blaming people...I was in Dunnes last night and the lovely lady ahead of me gave me a voucher for 10e off if you spend 50e(had to be used yesterday) anyway my shopping came to 44e so I ran and grabbed another bottle of wine as it was the quickest thing to grab tbh;) so its her fault that I will be over indulging tonight:D

Colser wrote: »
    Speaking of blaming people...I was in Dunnes last night and the lovely lady ahead of me gave me a voucher for 10e off if you spend 50e(had to be used yesterday) anyway my shopping came to 44e so I ran and grabbed another bottle of wine as it was the quickest thing to grab tbh;) so its her fault that I will be over indulging tonight:D

We shall look forward to some drunken ramblings from you tonight!
    Have some chocolate too Colser...push the boat out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

People who run ultra marathons....are normal marathons not challenging enough for ya?

Deep down I think they are amazing and I am in awe of them and their achievements.