If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Trivial things that annoy you part 479

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,572 ✭✭✭Colser

fiachr_a wrote: »
    Bressie always talking about his depression. If he's really depressed then why is his music so sh-te?
    Its a bit ott alright but its good that people admit to suffering from it.Its a horrible illness. Hes my favourite judge on The Voice and I have to say I find him very hot:o:D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,445 ✭✭✭trashcan

Here's a small one, the main culprits are TV ads. Things can't just be "new" anymore, they have to be "all new" WTF does that even mean ? All new as opposed to what, partly new ? Grrrr.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43 IvanRakitic

the GAA community

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,919 ✭✭✭dori_dormer

My husband is taking a nap. He's also leaving for China tomorrow. He's wasting previous family time. He can sleep for hours on the plane, have full, uninterrupted sleep every night for a week. While I get up twice a night with the toddler. I really think I should be having the nap!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,826 ✭✭✭fussyonion

trashcan wrote: »
    Here's a small one, the main culprits are TV ads. Things can't just be "new" anymore, they have to be "all new" WTF does that even mean ? All new as opposed to what, partly new ? Grrrr.

What annoys me even more is when cosmetic brands introduce a new mascara every few weeks.
    "NEW Black Intense Mascara" "NEW Even Blacker Intense Mascara" "NEW Even Blacker AND Lengthening Mascara".
    I mean, do they want us to think that the previous versions are no use now?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭arayess

people who say (or post on social media) "faith in humanity restored"

fcuking idiots. as if the whole of humanity is some **** hole dwelling animal

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,673 ✭✭✭Zanablue

I have a student staying with me at the moment and the dirty little bugger keeps peeing all over the toilet seat. Its absolutely pissing me off...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Zanablue wrote: »
    I have a student staying with me at the moment and the dirty little bugger keeps peeing all over the toilet seat. Its absolutely pissing me off...

Perhaps get one of those 'If you sprinkle when you tinkle then please be sweet and clean the seat' signs? Embarrass him in to a bit of house training.

Menas wrote: »
    Perhaps get one of those 'If you sprinkle when you tinkle then please be sweet and clean the seat' signs? Embarrass him in to a bit of house training.

He will just pretend that he doesn't understand. He's out at the moment but the mess he left before he went out was just disgusting! I'm waiting for the little fecker and if he doesn't sort himself out I will give his father a ring. I have cleaned the last mess after him.

Jesus if I spent that much on a pair of runners Id be afraid to wear them. You know what they say about fools and their money.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,298 ✭✭✭DareGod

If you give yourself a cutesie name (e.g. on Facebook etc)

or if you ever take a selfie of yourself and post it to show people

I am definitely judging you hard. HARD.

I've often fully liked a person, and then they post a selfie, and I cringe hard and my liking for them goes out the window, as does some of my respect for them. It's so.... CRINGE. Unfortunately the masses appear to be on board with selfies so those of us who despise them are always going to be on the losing side.

I know this says more about me than it does about them, but I can't help it. I am JUDGING you. HARD.

(Disclaimer: Unless you've been specifically asked for a selfie, e.g. on dating sites or profile photos, or that thread in Cool Pics and Vids that asks boardies to post their pic.)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,937 ✭✭✭galljga1

Zanablue wrote: »
    He will just pretend that he doesn't understand. He's out at the moment but the mess he left before he went out was just disgusting! I'm waiting for the little fecker and if he doesn't sort himself out I will give his father a ring. I have cleaned the last mess after him.

Oh god... where is the "puke" emoji when you need it?

arayess wrote: »
    people who say (or post on social media) "faith in humanity restored"

fcuking idiots. as if the whole of humanity is some **** hole dwelling animal

And it's always something stupid like a celebrity visited sick kids in hospital, which they are too dumb to realise is entirely self-serving on the celebrity's part.

Great for the kids, yeah, I'm delighted for the kids, but lets not pretend the celebrity is doing it for the kids. Credit where credit is due, and not where it's not.

It bothers me sooo much how dumb most people on social media are. They believe everything they read, take everything at face value, never spend longer than two seconds actually considering anything, and just cannot see through all these "good deeds" that are regularly posted about.

Or if it's not about a celebrity's totally selfless (ahem) trip to the local kids' hospital, it's some random dad who bought his daughter a dress for the prom. Seriously, anyone else see that one? A guy bought a dress for his daughter for the prom. There is more to this story. The girl didn't even look particularly grateful, but it didn't stop the braindead masses from reposting it with captions such as "Faith in humanity restored." If that's all it takes to restore their faith in humanity then they are dead weight and we should just evict them from the planet right now because they are slowing down any real progress from being made.

Colser wrote: »
    Its a bit ott alright but its good that people admit to suffering from it.Its a horrible illness. Hes my favourite judge on The Voice and I have to say I find him very hot:o:D

I agree with you completely, and I'm grateful for Bressie's contribution, but it bothers me that society only pays attention to stories about personal tragedy when it's a hot celebrity. Plenty of people were opening up publicly about their mental health long before Bressie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,165 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

fussyonion wrote: »
    do they want us to think that the previous versions are no use now?

That's exactly what they want you to think.

"Kee buying more of our product, where the only difference from the previous version is the packaging"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭FallSilently

I hate when ads use the word "mums."

That's it. Nothing further to add.

Non flowering plants.

I bought a plant a few years ago and it had a nice flower on it. But nothing since.
    I have been feeding it, getting it the right amount of light and even chatting to it. But no flower for the last 3 years.
    Have no idea what type of plant it is so cant look it up to see what I am doing wrong.
    I just want a flower!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

My shower puff completely unravelled after two uses. I know it was cheap, but that's not the point :(

73Cat wrote: »
    My shower puff completely unravelled after two uses. I know it was cheap, but that's not the point :(
    Penneys? You should have got 2 in the pack..Ive spares stuck the the shower wall if thats any help to you:p:pac:

Non flowering plants.

I bought a plant a few years ago and it had a nice flower on it. But nothing since.
    I have been feeding it, getting it the right amount of light and even chatting to it. But no flower for the last 3 years.
    Have no idea what type of plant it is so cant look it up to see what I am doing wrong.
    I just want a flower!
    Hmmmm...anyway why dont you throw a pic up on the gardening thread and someone might help you out?

Not the worst idea you have ever had! Thanks!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

People posting pictures of their food on FB.

Not the worst idea you have ever had! Thanks!
    No prob..sure we will all have a look at your plant and see if we can make it flower.:P
    TA I cant multi quote on my posts and I know that no amount of help will solve it as Im just not techie:(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,799 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

No prob..sure we will all have a look at your plant and see if we can make it flower.:P
    TA I cant multi quote on my posts and I know that no amount of help will solve it as Im just not techie:(

Click on the +" buttons for each post you want to quote.

https://us.v-cdn.net/6034073/uploads/attachments/488297/361326.png

• Closed Accounts Posts: 43,891 ✭✭✭✭Hugo Stiglitz

Ted_YNWA wrote: »
    Click on the +" buttons for each post you want to quote.

https://us.v-cdn.net/6034073/uploads/attachments/488297/361326.png

It doesn't have that option on the touch site. It can be done but it has to be done manually, which is a right pain in the arse. That's my TA, Anfield! :mad:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 71,799 ✭✭✭✭Ted_YNWA

Don't tell Dav, but I'm trivially annoyed over the multiple ways people can post.

Especially when they post " I can't see this ..." , " I can't do that ..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,977 ✭✭✭PandaPoo

I bought two shower loofah things. One blue and one purple, I told my husband his was the blue one.

Walked in to the bathroom the other day to see him using the purple one. We'd been using the same one for weeks! Not a massive deal but still, surely they're pretty unhygienic!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 265 ✭✭NOS3

Wasps. May have been mentioned before, but I can't remember them being such a problem. :mad: