Violent assault leaves two Gardaí in hospital

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,069 ✭✭✭✭Dan_Solo

Boskowski wrote: »
    You first made a disconnect between absolute crime rates and falling or rising crime rates and them you jumped out of nowhere to a complete disconnected off hand comment on abortion. I know this is after hours but with the above comment its getting even more ridiculous. I'm out.
    What disconnect? You brought up falling NY crime. More liberal abortion is just one of many other factors that could have caused the same effect, not to mention it was falling anyway before zero tolerance, while Irish crime rates are falling when there's been no change in policing policy at all.
    Listen, I know your pet theory has pretty much been flushed down the toilet at this stage, but demanding nobody is allowed to disprove it by whining "off hand" and "disconnect" isn't even an argument.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,069 ✭✭✭✭Dan_Solo

This kind of argumentation is pointless, if arguing with a cherry picker with limited argumentative powers or knowledge was all that was what boards had to offer it wouldn't last long, and it isn't why I am here, so consider yourself ignored.
    Says the guy who get his crime statistics data from Death Wish I to IV.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 375 ✭✭jugger

Dan_Solo wrote: »
    Nope, it's about police who were unable to deal out the appropriate response. There's no evidence either way on what they were trying to do.

What is the appropriate response when your jaw or nose is broken probably been incapable of much would you not agree

Two garda where attacked by a group and ended up in hospital with broken bones and one need facial surgery
    None of the attackers where hospitalized
    Either the garda didn't use enough force or the attack was so viciously and quickly carryed out that did not have time to use force

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭gctest50

spurious wrote: »
    Parenting, parenting, parenting.

Resources,resources,resources

If there was enough gardai there, no-one would've been battered and they'd have got the bike
    but ...... they're all gone to Australia because they're not been paid here and overworked and and and

jugger wrote: »
    What is the appropriate response when your jaw or nose is broken probably been incapable of much would you not agree...

nope - don't go pepper-spraying people if thats all you got

What is the appropriate response when your jaw or nose is broken probably been incapable of much would you not agree

Two garda where attacked by a group and ended up in hospital with broken bones and one need facial surgery
    None of the attackers where hospitalized
    Either the garda didn't use enough force or the attack was so viciously and quickly carryed out that did not have time to use force

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,023 ✭✭✭Fukuyama

Getting your nose broken with adrenaline pumping on a rugby pitch is vastly different than having a group of skangers attack you.

We don't know how the assault went down. But I doubt it was a punch that broke the nose or jaw of those gardaí.

Modus operandi of these skanger types is to get their victim on the ground and the whole group starts the dancing routine of kicking, stomping and jumping on their head like the uncivilized apes that they are.

Look at videos of street assaults by skangers in Ireland or their counterparts in the UK (chavs, NEDS etc...). In almost all cases it's ****, low quality punching or "fighting technique", heavy on the scummy coward tactics like kicking someone that's on the ground or groups attacking a lone individual.

These were teenagers. Some teenagers are like scrawny bags of twigs. Others can be bigger than most grown men.

The end result of this conversation shouldn't be a criticism of the gardaí who, it seems, exercised restraint when dealing with youths. It should be a conclusion that these "kids" are little scumbags who, in all likelihood, the scum-defenders and garda-critics on this thread wouldn't like to confront single handed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 375 ✭✭jugger

gctest50 wrote: »
    nope - don't go pepper-spraying people if thats all you got

If pepper spray is all you got you use it what's the alternative if that's all you got !!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,200 ✭✭✭imme

I was disgusted reading about this.
    poor Gardai having to deal with 'humans' like that.

One angle is personal responsibility, another is unlimited freedoms in our free society.

Fukuyama wrote: »
    Getting your nose broken with adrenaline pumping on a rugby pitch is vastly different than having a group of skangers attack you.

We don't know how the assault went down. But I doubt it was a punch that broke the nose or jaw of those gardaí.

Modus operandi of these skanger types is to get their victim on the ground and the whole group starts the dancing routine of kicking, stomping and jumping on their head like the uncivilized apes that they are.

Look at videos of street assaults by skangers in Ireland or their counterparts in the UK (chavs, NEDS etc...). In almost all cases it's ****, low quality punching or "fighting technique", heavy on the scummy coward tactics like kicking someone that's on the ground or groups attacking a lone individual.

These were teenagers. Some teenagers are like scrawny bags of twigs. Others can be bigger than most grown men.

The end result of this conversation shouldn't be a criticism of the gardaí who, it seems, exercised restraint when dealing with youths. It should be a conclusion that these "kids" are little scumbags who, in all likelihood, the scum-defenders and garda-critics on this thread wouldn't like to confront single handed.

Why should people even bother to try and change when they're confronted with attitudes like yours?
    So you say we don't know how the guards were injured, but you feel safe to assume that it wasn't from a punch.

You go on to call them scumbags and people like me scum defenders.

They're people and I will defend people.

Innocent until proven guilty and all that.

Not all working class types are scumbags, and not all Gardai are honourable men. Shades of grey everywhere.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

Yeah. People have lost respect for the guards now. It's a dangerous state to live in fear instead of respect. When you live in fear, you're far more likely to lash out, but if you have respect, you can have a discussion.

No point having a discussion when one group sees the other side as "subhuman", " scumbags" "toe rags" etc.

You're right, those young lads do see Gardaí like that. In fact the lads in that area have outright stated that they intend to kill a Garda and they have tried a few times this year.

As to your Irish Water nonsense, Irish water hasn't been to Ballyfermot and there have been no problems at any of the protests. In any case, these issues existed before Irish Water even existed.

http://www.herald.ie/news/five-gardai-in-hospital-after-cars-rammed-by-stolen-vehicles-27992916.html
    If pepper spray is all you got you use it what's the alternative if that's all you got !!!!

In a recent court case the judge admonished gardaí for using pepper spray on a violent woman. The state has done nothing in response. You won't find many Gardaí using it until they do.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭gctest50

It's more gardai that's needed ( that are actually paid resonably well )

- there is no substitute for numbers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,097 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Innocent until proven guilty and all that.

So let me get this right. These are your words. So, you're basically saying you're defending the youths who assaulted and hospitalised 2 Gardai? Irregardless of the circumstances of how or why it happened, you are defending "people" who have assaulted someone? But it's not just someone, it's 2 Gardai, 2 protectors of the peace, the people who even scum call when their lives get beyond their control.

I agree with innocent until proven guilty, but it's not going to stop me calling those youths nothing but scum. I don't know the area, but from what people are saying on here, it's an open enough estate with plenty of places for youths to run away. But these decided that they were going to unfairly and unjustly assault 2 Gardai just because the Gardai were doing their job, responding to a call from decent folk in the estate who have had enough with these little toe-rags making their lives a living hell.

And your biggest gripe is that the Gardai are at the protests. And you know why, but you refuse to believe the honest truth (that is, they are there to stop IW workers getting assaulted and harrassed while just trying to do a job they were contracted for - they won't be getting any profits!).

So are the Gardaí.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

The comments from illiterate scobes on the article was sickening to read, that's when one could actually decipher what the idiots were actually trying to say.

As to your Irish Water nonsense, Irish water hasn't been to Ballyfermot and there have been no problems at any of the protests. In any case, these issues existed before Irish Water even existed.

Fair enough, I'll take it back, albeit somewhat. I won't say all, but some youths must have such low morale towards the guards over the IW debacle.

Feeds and feeds of video showing guards moving people on when they're trying to protest peacefully and looking at those higher up the food chain getting away with f*cking up the country royally.

And again, I am by no way saying they're all following this line of thinking! But it must affect some.

So let me get this right. These are your words. So, you're basically saying you're defending the youths who assaulted and hospitalised 2 Gardai? Irregardless of the circumstances of how or why it happened, you are defending "people" who have assaulted someone? But it's not just someone, it's 2 Gardai, 2 protectors of the peace, the people who even scum call when their lives get beyond their control.

I agree with innocent until proven guilty, but it's not going to stop me calling those youths nothing but scum. I don't know the area, but from what people are saying on here, it's an open enough estate with plenty of places for youths to run away. But these decided that they were going to unfairly and unjustly assault 2 Gardai just because the Gardai were doing their job, responding to a call from decent folk in the estate who have had enough with these little toe-rags making their lives a living hell.

And your biggest gripe is that the Gardai are at the protests. And you know why, but you refuse to believe the honest truth (that is, they are there to stop IW workers getting assaulted and harrassed while just trying to do a job they were contracted for - they won't be getting any profits!).

I'm defending them from people saying they jumped on the guards head, yes. I'm waiting for more facts to come out. I condemn the attack, as I abhor violence, but all I am asking is that we wait for the facts.

I'm just sick of these internet lynch mobs that would hang anyone before hearing the facts.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,097 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

I'm just sick of these internet lynch mobs that would hang anyone before hearing the facts.

People like you then? You're hanging the Gardai.

Not at all. I've met some great guards, I've met some awful ones. They're people too. But we live in a judicial society so we should wait for facts to come out instead of stupid speculation.

Exactly what fact would justify a Garda requiring his jaw restructured?

tying, and I mean persistently doing it in subsequent posts, the behaviour of these kids to Irish water is genuinely staggering. not even messing but in my opinion youd want to be barred from a thread if you keep coming back to it with hobbyhorse nonsense like that.

Exactly what fact would justify a Garda requiring his jaw restructured?

I'm not going to go on a "all cops are bast*rds" trip, but I would not question Mr Holness if he was able to punch back and broke the guards jaw.

http://m.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/two-gardai-are-jailed-for-role-in-ferocious-arrest-assault-26789927.html

That would be "a fact" that could come out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,431 ✭✭✭MilesMorales1

Well if the Gardai had kicked the ****e out of these scrotes, they'd be under attack from all sorts now about over the top force and how they're only young lads. Shocking affairs.

I'm not going to go on a "all cops are bast*rds" trip, but I would not question Mr Holness if he was able to punch back and broke the guards jaw.

http://m.independent.ie/irish-news/courts/two-gardai-are-jailed-for-role-in-ferocious-arrest-assault-26789927.html

That would be "a fact" that could come out.

You cling on to that hope so.

Would you not think retaliation would be acceptable in this case?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 723 ✭✭✭Luke92

Too many phones these days. Years ago the guards would have had no problem giving these scrotes a good hiding. Some people just need it.

Luke92 wrote: »
    Too many phones these days. Years ago the guards would have had no problem giving these scrotes a good hiding. Some people just need it.

Yeah, that's the problem, too much evidence of wrongdoing :rolleyes:

Would you not think retaliation would be acceptable in this case?

I think the idea would have to ignore all the facts so far reported.

I meant the case I quoted, not this one as not all facts have been reported.

Look, if it's the case that the youths in question just hopped on two guards, of course they should have the book thrown at them. And do serious time, and in this time the system should make them see the error of their ways.

The prison system is broken in this country. Hard labour never worked as a deterrent. Education, mental health services do. Look at Norway for this one.

I'm just trying to have a discussion on how we have to wait for facts to come to light. How we have to move on and actually try and solve the judicial crisis where some of the police force have little to no respect or regard for the people they are meant to protect, AND for the communities that have no respect or regard for the police force tasked with protecting them.

As I have said all along, this has to be a two way Street.

I meant the case I quoted, not this one as not all facts have been reported.

Look, if it's the case that the youths in question just hopped on two guards, of course they should have the book thrown at them. And do serious time, and in this time the system should make them see the error of their ways.

The prison system is broken in this country. Hard labour never worked as a deterrent. Education, mental health services do. Look at Norway for this one.

I'm just trying to have a discussion on how we have to wait for facts to come to light. How we have to move on and actually try and solve the judicial crisis where some of the police force have little to no respect or regard for the people they are meant to protect, AND for the communities that have no respect or regard for the police force tasked with protecting them.

As I have said all along, this has to be a two way Street.

Right, but you had already blamed the Gardaí for being involved in water protests before this "wait for the facts" stuff came along.

And people didn't like me talking about it, so I dropped it. Or would you prefer if I was entrenched in my thoughts and the discussion went round in circles?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,767 ✭✭✭SterlingArcher

Yeah, that's the problem, too much evidence of wrongdoing :rolleyes:

Haha too true.

I believe facts . Fact is gardai are people too. And like regular people, can be dicks. So wait and see.