Violent assault leaves two Gardaí in hospital

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,937 ✭✭✭galljga1

mcko wrote: »
    Feck em corrupt useless shower, only good for policing Irish Water, I have no respect for them, they are corrupt and rotton to the core.

Yeah, moronic post of the week.
    Everything comes back to Irish Water.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,360 ✭✭✭Boskowski

If at 15 years of age your mindset allows you to physically confront and assault a gard there is a high chance you're going to be a full write off to society and to yourself. Something has to be done other than what has been tried before. You definitely can't treat someone like that like a minor.

The soft approach to minors is for when a kid made a stupid mistake and treating him with full force would **** him up altogether. This is clearly not the case here with umpteen convictions.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,069 ✭✭✭✭Dan_Solo

jugger wrote: »
    The garda walk a fine line between using to little or two much force in this case too little
    Really? When have they ever erred on the side of too little as a matter of interest?

Omackeral wrote: »
    These threads always bring out two types of people. Those who advocated locking these people up for life (on what charge exactly?!) and/or baiting the sh1te out of them like a sadistic public flogging and then you have those who will defend the toe rags to the last no matter what.

I don't know which set are worse.

Is there anything to be said for saying another mass?

Dan_Solo wrote: »
    Really? When have they ever erred on the side of too little as a matter of interest?

I would say they do that every day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

kupus wrote: »
    I've noticed in the years that Im on boards that people are increasing calling for harsher law enforcement.
    In the past these scum would be defended by a lot more people claiming that their lives are bad etc etc.

maybe These defenders have grown up and realised their world is not as cozy as they thought it was.
    maybe they are sick to death of the stories involving multiple repeat offenders getting a caution.
    Remember scum breed like rabbits, coz it's free money. If they had to put food on their own table maybe there would be less scum.

But socialist policy dictates that everybody should be looked after, hence more kids more money houses.

I can understand the reason the government give grants for kids....population boost for ageing workforce.....
    But it's the wrong people having kids is the problem.

Solution work for the dole, give grants to get a trade or go to school and get an education.

Criminality only affected the working classes so can be ignored. It's starting to affect middle income groups (mixed housing etc) so is less ignored. When a member of the judiciary has his Rolex stolen we'll be able to bring back hanging.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

antodeco wrote: »
    Send them to the army for a year!

I'd imagine the Army doesn't want them.

I can't see how the these thugs could be trained given that they would be attending unwillingly and the Army cant use physical punishments.

I expect they'd just end up in Army prison, sooner or later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

A full frontal lobotomy would soften their cough

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

braniganl wrote: »
    How can two male Gardai trained in self defence, and armed with metal batons and pepper spray be that badly assaulted by a group of teenagers? they must be completely out of shape or have misjudged the situation entirely. Neither are great excuses.
    The Gardai are not really allowed or encouraged to use their batons and pepper spray is ineffective against someone who is manic and swinging like a possessed cretin, The Gardai need the support of the Government and management but they have not had this support for a number of years!
    Our police getting overpowered by teenagers...lol, if other countries heard this they would laugh at us.
    In many countries once Garda number 1 was assaulted both scumbags would have been shot dead by Garda number 2.

A full frontal lobotomy would soften their cough

I'd prefer a full bottle in front of me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

we need bigger gardai if this is whats happening to them

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 436 ✭✭Old Jakey

Bring back public flogging, would soon sort things out. I bet they don't have too many feral children terrorizing people in Singapore.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 10,069 ✭✭✭✭Dan_Solo

Patww79 wrote: »
    Mandatory body cameras. I'd be happy to see AGS lay into scumbags who obviously deserve it. Once you're attacked all bets are off.
    Are they keen on wearing them though? Doesn't look like it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,673 ✭✭✭AudreyHepburn

Omackeral wrote: »
    Jailed for life, that's the one. Excellent.

The likes of these youngsters are only ever going to get worse and more violent.....what other alternative is there ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

Dan_Solo wrote: »

as an example the love ulster march was one time where the gardai stood back and let a tribe of animals trash the city center.

I could mention the massive restraint displayed at just about every water protest but seeing as some people have strong and varied opinions on that issue lets not open that can of worms here

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,949 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

The only way to deal with underage criminals is to penalise their guardians.

Hit them where it hurts, in the pocket.

The onus is then on the guardian to discipline their progeny appropriately or face financial consequences for the misdeeds of their offspring.

Re., scrambler motorbikes, seize & destroy if being ridden on public roads/land without road tax/insurance & once again penalise the guardians financially.

It's not the perfect solution & may be unfair to decent families with a black sheep in the flock, but something needs to be done & this could be a start.

First off, I don't agree with anything that happened to these Gardai, but I understand it.

These young fellas see the guards pushing around their mammies and sisters at the water protests, arresting their brothers and oul lads because they then get riled up because of the guards abuse of power.

The guards show no respect to the people they are meant to serve.

I know I'll probably get some heat from the right wing side of boards.ie, but the sad truth of it is that this won't be the last hiding guards are going to get, and all they have to blame is their bosses at the DOJ for turning them from guardians of the peace to protectors of the rich and wealthy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

Not sure what can be done in the short term but long term we need to put more money into family support, social work and agencies dealing with vulnerable families. Prevention is better than cure.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,315 ✭✭✭mynamejeff

And how are you going to explain the 50 for so previous convictions the little toe ragbwill have. Is that because of water charges too ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,150 ✭✭✭Paulzx

These young fellas see the guards pushing around their mammies and sisters at the water protests, arresting their brothers and oul lads because they then get riled up because of the guards abuse of power.

I think a more accuarate staetment is to say that these young fellas see their mammies and daddies sponging off the state, robbing, dealing, engaging in anti social activity, going in and out of prison and disrespecting the law of the land from the day they were born.

It's amazing the habits people pick up off their parents. You don't tend to pick them up off water protests

mynamejeff wrote: »
    And how are you going to explain the 50 for so previous convictions the little toe ragbwill have. Is that because of water charges too ?

Yeah. People have lost respect for the guards now. It's a dangerous state to live in fear instead of respect. When you live in fear, you're far more likely to lash out, but if you have respect, you can have a discussion.

No point having a discussion when one group sees the other side as "subhuman", " scumbags" "toe rags" etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭JC01

First off, I don't agree with anything that happened to these Gardai, but I understand it.

The guards show no respect to the people they are meant to serve.

I know I'll probably get some heat from the right wing side of boards.ie, but the sad truth of it is that this won't be the last hiding guards are going to get, and all they have to blame is their bosses at the DOJ for turning them from guardians of the peace to protectors of the rich and wealthy.

What kinda utter tripe is that? Protectors of the rich and wealthy?? Jesus some people haven't a clue.

On topic the simple solution is punishment. 8 years of hard time for each offender and see are there younger brothers so keen to do the same to a gaurd in future. And by hard time I mean no play stations, no pool tables none of that crap. 10 hour working days doing something constructive so as they are paying for there own incarceration and not burdening the taxpayer.

I nearly hit the radio the other day hearing that the two people in the car that ran that detective over we're charged with possession of a stolen car and dangerous driving or some such nonsense. Should of been attempted murder and assault with a deadly weapon; 20 years on conviction, no remittance no parole. Maybe the next scumbag in the same situation will think twice.

Paulzx wrote: »
    I think a more accuarate staetment is to say that these young fellas see their mammies and daddies sponging off the state, robbing, dealing, engaging in anti social activity, going in and out of prison and disrespecting the law of the land from the day they were born.

It's amazing the habits people pick up off their parents. You don't tend to pick them up off water protests

Giant brushes for all. It's really disturbing that people have this Daily Mail attitude to others.
    Your statement is no more accurate than mine. These people might need supports, so should we not give them the supports they need? Should we march them off a pier instead?

As for disrespecting the laws of the land, these people are not the reason our future generations are in debt for billions. These people are in and out of jail like you say, for small crimes. Where's the people serving time that stole billions off the Irish people?

I think part of the problem is the gardai, for whatever reason, often don't respond to minor crime/anti social behaviour. It must make these guys feel they have free reign to do what they want. It gives them confidence that they can get away with anything. I know gardai are under pressure and under resourced but they have to start taking these minor incidents more seriously. Government has failed to tackle youth crime adequately and these things only get worse.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭JC01

Yeah. People have lost respect for the guards now. It's a dangerous state to live in fear instead of respect. When you live in fear, you're far more likely to lash out, but if you have respect, you can have a discussion.

No point having a discussion when one group sees the other side as "subhuman", " scumbags" "toe rags" etc.

That doesn't explain the 50 convictions though does it? Those convictions will be for assault, robbery, stolen cars etc etc. Mostly crimes committed against hardworking decent people, not gardai, so that whole no respect for law enforcement answer doesn't really hold weight.

JC01 wrote: »
    What kinda utter tripe is that? Protectors of the rich and wealthy?? Jesus some people haven't a clue.

On topic the simple solution is punishment. 8 years of hard time for each offender and see are there younger brothers so keen to do the same to a gaurd in future. And by hard time I mean no play stations, no pool tables none of that crap. 10 hour working days doing something constructive so as they are paying for there own incarceration and not burdening the taxpayer.

Firstly, they are and have been a private security firm for the iw workers. There cannot be an argument there. They do treat people with rougher accents differently than those of a D4/upper class accent. There cannot be an argument there.

Secondly, there are tough prisons and tough sentencing countries out there. Can you name me ONE country you would like to emulate that is the crime free paradise you crave (Or at least a country with low recidivism due to its harsh sentences?)

Firstly, they are and have been a private security firm for the iw workers. There cannot be an argument there. They do treat people with rougher accents differently than those of a D4/upper class accent. There cannot be an argument there.

Secondly, there are tough prisons and tough sentencing countries out there. Can you name me ONE country you would like to emulate that is the crime free paradise you crave (Or at least a country with low recidivism due to its harsh sentences?)

The Irish water thing is a red herring. These problems were there long before IW was conceived.

JC01 wrote: »
    That doesn't explain the 50 convictions though does it? Those convictions will be for assault, robbery, stolen cars etc etc. Mostly crimes committed against hardworking decent people, not gardai, so that whole no respect for law enforcement answer doesn't really hold weight.

Why not wait until that info comes out instead of unhelpful speculation and conjecture?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,856 ✭✭✭carzony

Jail isnt an option really, they love prison, all their mates are in prison and eventually they get used to getting free meals and free gym. The only way is to hit their parents hard financially.