Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Chit Chat- Please read Mod note in post #1

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,559 ✭✭✭pedigree 6

ted_182 wrote: »
    Could frazz or jay post a quick breakdown of that 4.5 cent a litre feed cost please and thanks ?

Hope your not from Brett's or Connolly's.:P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭ted_182

Haha ah no just scratching my head here wondering am I doing something seriously wrong :P

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Fell in the yard yesterday evening. Arm killing me last night. Couldn't bend arm this morning. Got relief guy to milk today. Spent the day in Waterford hospital...elbow in sh1t. 4-5 weeks. BOLL1X
    That's a right pain, Clyde. Have you any accident insurance to cover some of the cost?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,748 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Fell in the yard yesterday evening. Arm killing me last night. Couldn't bend arm this morning. Got relief guy to milk today. Spent the day in Waterford hospital...elbow in sh1t. 4-5 weeks. BOLL1X
    feck. How easy it can happen, elbow is fair painful too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,704 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Dislocation ???.dislicated elbow and broke arm 8!years ago testing cattle in crush.very painful and 5 weeks outbid parlour but out of job 8!weeks at time on full pay!!!.gotvit pinned and lots of physio no bother since .only advice id give don't be a hero rushing back too soon even though as a farmer I know it's hard

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Dislocation ???.dislicated elbow and broke arm 8!years ago testing cattle in crush.very painful and 5 weeks outbid parlour but out of job 8!weeks at time on full pay!!!.gotvit pinned and lots of physio no bother since .only advice id give don't be a hero rushing back too soon even though as a farmer I know it's hard

Broke my arm too 5 yrs ago. Bad break on both bones. 6 wks in a cast. Remember trying to milk the last 2 wks I had cast on. Was covered in ****e when going to get it cut off in hospital.

Thinking back now it was a stupid idea seeing as a kick could have broke the arm easy enough again

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

ted_182 wrote: »
    Could frazz or jay post a quick breakdown of that 4.5 cent a litre feed cost please and thanks ?

Actually I spose what i should say is , is that 4.5 cent just the cost of meal and not including the cost of the grass? Grass costs being in fert cost??

I'd assume just the cost of feed. Working on my cost control/profit monitor for 2015 at the sec, we've fed about 620kg/cow, or 4.1c/litre on feed, in winter milk and average yields something around 5700l delivered per cow.

i live very close to dairymaster.. know most of the lads working there.... so i wont be getting into debate about em with ye lads...

but everyone is entitled to their opinion and if ye like dairymaster/delaval/westfalia/fullwood then so be it and as long as the machine milks the cows... isnt that all ye want.... some lads can get very worked up over what in the big scheme of things is nothing

Agree to a point but an investement in a parlour is a big one and needs lots of thought as its where you'll be giving 2/3 many more hours every day .yes they'll all milk the cows but technology has moved on now massively .youve acrs to prevent over milking and high scc,milk meters to monitor daily milk yield ,measure conductivity ,.activity for heat detection ,drafting and feed to yield to feed cows to their potential
    Parlours there to suit everyone with different spec levels and also vastly different quality of materials going into them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

Coveney has the tear droos out on primetime, must be thinking to himself about the dairy industry!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

That's a right pain, Clyde. Have you any accident insurance to cover some of the cost?

Ya, most if it covered. and I have a good relief guy, same guy rears the heifers and does all releif work for me for the last few years.
    whelan2 wrote: »
    feck. How easy it can happen, elbow is fair painful too
    Stupid fall, no animals or cow sh1t (or drink) involved. Just a stupid fall.

Not dislocated, but bone in the joint broken. So cast for 1 week and if it's still together out of cast and limited movement for 3-4 weeks and hope that it stays in. Then physio. He said that it was against the odds that it hadn't dislocated, so lucky in a way. Could be at a worse time of year, but it's a balls. Hard to be doing nothing. I'll let the releif guy do the milking and I'll potter away during the daytime. No big jobs on anyway.

Anyone else finding worm dose not lasting on calves?

Dosed calves 28 of june with ivomectin had to go in last Wednesday with a white dose because they were coughing so bad.
    There still at it but not as bad. The stronger spring calves are okay but the ones in smaller group on after grass and getting meal are still coughing very bad. Tongue is out

Anyone else finding worm dose not lasting on calves?

Dosed calves 28 of june with ivomectin had to go in last Wednesday with a white dose because they were coughing so bad.
    There still at it but not as bad. The stronger spring calves are okay but the ones in smaller group on after grass and getting meal are still coughing very bad. Tongue is out
    That was 8 weeks, is that not the norm? They will cough for a week or 2 after dosing to get rid of the worms

Sorry I have it wrong. 28th July and had to redo them 28 august. But there were coughing very bad when I re did thrm and still quite bad

maybe ring your vet, if there's a pneumonia problem, the recent dose mightnt do them much good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

I posted this before but I suppose I better post it again, lest I be accused again of talking about things I have no first hand experience of.

When i was building my parlour, I went to Delaval and Dairymaster for quotes for a standard 14 parlour with jars, 2x2 pulsation and 2'6" centers.

Delaval quoted me for exactly that.

Dairymaster quoted me for DTL, 4x0 pulsation and 2'3" centers.

Continually.

That's what they quoted me for, a parlour I didn't want, and with the added bonus of being 3k dearer.

The only time I was quoted for a 14 unit with jars, 2x2 pulsation and 2'6" centers by Dairymaster was after I told Delaval they were getting the contract.

And I haven't even mentioned the different, lower specs on the parlour by Dairymaster. Even without including the cost of the higher specs from Dairymaster, the added cost of their parlour was 12% higher.

Now fair play if you want to pay an extra 12% for a lower spec but, tbh, I didn't and still don't!

As to scc, congratulations but I have no interest in getting into a willie waving contest but swing away if you want. I am quite happy with my scc and have posted it on here before if you care to look for it, be my guest.

The problem with willie waving contests is, while one thinks they are Dirk Diggler, eventually the real Dirk Diggler comes along and the first lad ends up looking like Ron Jeremy, and that's never a good place to end up.;)

Ron Jeremy had nothing to be ashamed of either I believe! Anyway interesting tangent to go off on, didn't see that one coming!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

The wide range of topics that farmers are experts on, always impresses me. But male porn star's endowment....now ye're just showing off

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

The wide range of topics that farmers are experts on, always impresses me. But male porn star's endowment....now ye're just showing off

Willy waving

what's the female equivalent?

Size of theyre house? Private school? Car?
    Ours is our milking parlour:-D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Willy waving
    Apologies, should of course have been willy waving rather than...

odea2010_i

• Closed Accounts Posts: 146 ✭✭6270red

I posted this before but I suppose I better post it again, lest I be accused again of talking about things I have no first hand experience of.

When i was building my parlour, I went to Delaval and Dairymaster for quotes for a standard 14 parlour with jars, 2x2 pulsation and 2'6" centers.

Continually.

That's what they quoted me for, a parlour I didn't want, and with the added bonus of being 3k dearer.

The only time I was quoted for a 14 unit with jars, 2x2 pulsation and 2'6" centers by Dairymaster was after I told Delaval they were getting the contract.

And I haven't even mentioned the different, lower specs on the parlour by Dairymaster. Even without including the cost of the higher specs from Dairymaster, the added cost of their parlour was 12% higher.

Now fair play if you want to pay an extra 12% for a lower spec but, tbh, I didn't and still don't!

As to scc, congratulations but I have no interest in getting into a willie waving contest but swing away if you want. I am quite happy with my scc and have posted it on here before if you care to look for it, be my guest.

The problem with willie waving contests is, while one thinks they are Dirk Diggler, eventually the real Dirk Diggler comes along and the first lad ends up looking like Ron Jeremy, and that's never a good place to end up.;)

Continually.

Apologies but that's not my intention at all I'll try and clarify what the point of my argument is. Remember i first posted because of a biased remark that was made, not for any other reason.

Only reason I posted scc is because it's a sales pitch that there is a difference between the 2x2 and 4x0 the man in the pit and the cows in the field determine scc. Not the equipment!

I most certainly did not pay extra for an product with inferior parts. I wrote out the exact spec I wanted the conclusions drawn from the different types of machine I milked in and seen.

I didn't get offered anything that I did not have on the list. Dairymaster came in €20k cheaper then the others for the spec I WANTED. If any of the others were cheaper I would have put them in I really don't have a preference for brand.

The point I've been trying to make with these posts is that farmers like the big up the things they have and belittle the things they don't. I definitely found this out when looking at parlours. I seems to creep into threads here too and it annoys me.

If we could share info without biased opinions maybe we could all benefit. But these ideas are lost on some.

Hopefully this clears up what I have been trying to say.

6270red wrote: »
    Apologies but that's not my intention at all I'll try and clarify what the point of my argument is. Remember i first posted because of a biased remark that was made, not for any other reason.

Only reason I posted scc is because it's a sales pitch that there is a difference between the 2x2 and 4x0 the man in the pit and the cows in the field determine scc. Not the equipment!

I most certainly did not pay extra for an product with inferior parts. I wrote out the exact spec I wanted the conclusions drawn from the different types of machine I milked in and seen.

I didn't get offered anything that I did not have on the list. Dairymaster came in €20k cheaper then the others for the spec I WANTED. If any of the others were cheaper I would have put them in I really don't have a preference for brand.

The point I've been trying to make with these posts is that farmers like the big up the things they have and belittle the things they don't. I definitely found this out when looking at parlours. I seems to creep into threads here too and it annoys me.

If we could share info without biased opinions maybe we could all benefit. But these ideas are lost on some.

Just to correct u on scc statement ,milking equipment ,stable vacuume and not over milking have a very big role to play in scc.far from a sales pitch that there is a difference between 4x0 and 2x2 there is a big difference ,have a link to document I'll try dig out this evening and post .the man in pit and cow have little to do with scc .a stressed cow ,stray power torn liners as well as what I mentioned earlier are prime causes

6270red wrote: »

Can you breakdown the costs? Considering a parlour myself, bro has a dairymaster 20 unit no removers, scc very good and quick to milk. Although i remember problems with initial quotes and spec! We never had problems with the parlour, in 15 yrs

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

kevthegaff wrote: »
    Can you breakdown the costs? Considering a parlour myself, bro has a dairymaster 20 unit no removers, scc very good and quick to milk. Although i remember problems with initial quotes and spec! We never had problems with the parlour, in 15 yrs

2k per unit for a barebones, rising to 4k for plenty bells and whistles. spent 3k here, with removers, milk indicators, swingovers, autowasher, 2ft6 with individual mangers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,383 ✭✭✭cute geoge

How many people does it take to milk in that 20 unit

Thats a credit to give such low scc in a big parlour with no cluster removers
    Correct me if i am wrong but both delaval and dairymaster around the millenium supplied the most reliable parlour and built up a great reputation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭blackdog1

An ihfa open day is a beauty contest for cows followed by an auction of stock where exorbitant prices are paid and the favour will be returned at a later date

I was at a high ebi sale and calves were making very good money. Looked around closely and it was just the other farmers who had calves in the sale bidding. Each buying each others calves. I agree on Ihfa and some of the prices paid are high and I've a feeling it's a bit like the calf sale I was at. Regular commercial man won't spend the money they prefer to breed them. On the ucd farm I'm glad they are doing a winter milk trial because it's all spring milk and grass utilisation usually. They said in the article they are lightly stocked might be the reason they arnt cleaning paddocks. .... they're going up in numbers so next year might be different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,185 ✭✭✭blackdog1

cute geoge wrote: »
    How many people does it take to milk in that 20 unit

Thats a credit to give such low scc in a big parlour with no cluster removers
    Correct me if i am wrong but both delaval and dairymaster around the millenium supplied the most reliable parlour and built up a great reputation

I have a Dairymaster machine and have the old stainless steel handles. The old stainless was brilliant and totally reliable , the new plastic stuff is less so

Just to correct u on scc statement ,milking equipment ,stable vacuume and not over milking have a very big role to play in scc.far from a sales pitch that there is a difference between 4x0 and 2x2 there is a big difference ,have a link to document I'll try dig out this evening and post .the man in pit and cow have little to do with scc .a stressed cow ,stray power torn liners as well as what I mentioned earlier are prime causes

That's where we will have to disagree. Different pulsation has made no difference to my scc and I've had both. While all the the points you have listed above are valid the management of the cow is by far the most important way to keep a low scc. Dry cow management, milk recording, culling high scc cows and not breeding from cows with high scc.

Fast treatment of cows with mastitis, for example I foremilk every cow before cups go up, any sign of mastitis and the quarter is paddle tested if infected it's gets treated. Pain in the ass sometimes but it works for me. Might not be for everyone but since I've got the cow management right scc has not been a problem.

No problem pm me and I can send you a copy of the quotation I have it in an email somewhere. It'll be nearly 4 yrs old now but should be there or there about a.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,082 ✭✭✭td5man

blackdog1 wrote: »
    I have a Dairymaster machine and have the old stainless steel handles. The old stainless was brilliant and totally reliable , the new plastic stuff is less so

20 year old dairymaster here as well no issues with it except for the occasional broken plastic bowl on the clusters.