Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Chit Chat- Please read Mod note in post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,705 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

C0N0R wrote: »
    The figure of 8000l of milk from 1.5 tonne of meal, is that good bad or indifferent??

I'd consider it good and efficient figure ,what I'm aiming for here anyway but without the diet feeder and maize etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,796 ✭✭✭stanflt

C0N0R wrote: »
    The figure of 8000l of milk from 1.5 tonne of meal, is that good bad or indifferent??

If the elite group were on 8 litre a day still and they are 200 days into lactation that's 1680 kg of feed already- figures not adding up

8000l from 1.5ton is very very good if that figure is a co op figure and not a milk recorded figure

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

mahoney_j wrote: »
    Nothing wrong with that Tim dairy master is a huge Irish based success story ,still wouldn't touch one of their flimsy plastic laden parlours though!!

Yep nothing actually wrong I know, I actually got nothing against their parlours either, but thinking back, I do get insulted when they fire out an initial price of 57k for a parlour to test the waters as to how much of an idiot you are, when the actual price of what you need is only 40k.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,124 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Unfourtnately heard the same from someone that was at it ,disappointing as I really thought this could of been something of real relevance in the opposite way that greenfield kk is.as it was put to me just another ihfa day out with too much emphasis on Ltrs and not enough on grass etc despite having the ebi make up to exploit it.i still want to go for a gawk though

if the rate of meal feeding relative to litres is accurate they're feed costs a litre alone are running at 9 cent a litre allowing 270 a ton for meal, for a commercial operation given current milk prices would class that as financial suicide, my rule here that I stick to religiously is 4.5 cent a litre in a situation where milk is sub 28 cent a litre

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,282 ✭✭✭alps

Went to presentation in Spring, thought they would genuinely go down the road of proper feed to yield trials.
    As you can see from the presentation, there would have been a gain out of it for certain type genetics, but it just looks so much easier to stick to a cow maxing under 30 litres...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

jaymla627 wrote: »
    if the rate of meal feeding relative to litres is accurate they're feed costs a litre alone are running at 9 cent a litre allowing 270 a ton for meal, for a commercial operation given current milk prices would class that as financial suicide, my rule here that I stick to religiously is 4.5 cent a litre in a situation where milk is sub 28 cent a litre

Agree with you on 4.5c here and that's for a spring and winter herd.

The difference is I'd keep it there regardless of price. I can't see the logic of feeding more meal to cows in higher price situations with perhaps the exception being that the farm is growing the max amount of grass and not many are.

On the Lyons farm I really can't see what it's going to add when one considers its set up from the get go to feed as much meal as possible.

Greenfield was mentioned as being completely different and it is as it borrowed all the set up costs unlike this project.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

Was it a ihfa open day or an open day for the farm in general?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭frazzledhome

Milked out wrote: »
    Was it a ihfa open day or an open day for the farm in general?

An ihfa open day is a beauty contest for cows followed by an auction of stock where exorbitant prices are paid and the favour will be returned at a later date

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

An ihfa open day is a beauty contest for cows followed by an auction of stock where exorbitant prices are paid and the favour will be returned at a later date

Was wondering as it's generally milk recorded yields quoted are those days. You'd hope a farm run by a college like ucd would bring in an added business aspect to it as well, and focus on making the business profitable including labour and everything else. Obviously educational facilities will have to do extra things for the students as well but still. No point having a live feckin sales demo for feeders or parlours or whatever

Bang on the money frazzled ,I used to go to 1 or 2 ihfa events yearly but now I don't bother with any unless it's very near me .nothing only willy waving contests and I'll pay ur back if u pat mine sort of affairs ill wait to pass judgement on Lyons till I see it for myself but I'm hoping for better than what I've read here or second hand view from someone else .the cow genetics are there to produce large volumes of milk from grass and quality silage with the 1.5 tonne of meal talked about

Agree with you on 4.5c here and that's for a spring and winter herd.

The difference is I'd keep it there regardless of price. I can't see the logic of feeding more meal to cows in higher price situations with perhaps the exception being that the farm is growing the max amount of grass and not many are.

On the Lyons farm I really can't see what it's going to add when one considers its set up from the get go to feed as much meal as possible.

Greenfield was mentioned as being completely different and it is as it borrowed all the set up costs unlike this project.

How does a facility like this do a proper cost comparison on kg Ms or litres when they use milk recording results

• Closed Accounts Posts: 146 ✭✭6270red

Nothing wrong with that Tim dairy master is a huge Irish based success story ,still wouldn't touch one of their flimsy plastic laden parlours though!!

Less plastic then a Gea. Doesn't your brother work for Gea?

Your commenting on how the research farm is being funded by companies yet you push your own agenda whenever Dairymaster come up in a thread.

Typical bull**** from farmers. I've the best tractor, parlour, shed ect. I've a Dairymaster parlour and I can tell you for a fact what I like and don't like about it, anyone who wants the truth can pm me.

If we all stayed on the facts and told each other the truth about things that cost a small fortune we'd all be better off.
    Rant over.

6270red wrote: »
    Less plastic then a Gea. Doesn't your brother work for Gea?

Your commenting on how the research farm is being funded by companies yet you push your own agenda whenever Dairymaster come up in a thread.

Typical bull**** from farmers. I've the best tractor, parlour, shed ect. I've a Dairymaster parlour and I can tell you for a fact what I like and don't like about it, anyone who wants the truth can pm me.

If we all stayed on the facts and told each other the truth about things that cost a small fortune we'd all be better off.
    Rant over.

Jays us cool the Jets will u ,what I posted I can 100% back up.fave months on end researching ,milking in and looking at various parlours and regardless as to wether my brother works with Gea or not I went with what suited me best and also what had the best functioning and well made equipment I could purchase .my dairy master views could be backed up by any amount of people even some with current dm stuff.they as Tim earlier posted quote Monopoly money figures when quoting parlours ,my original quote versus what their final quote to me amounted to nearly 20k on a 14 unit with various extras.also their still stuck on 4x0 pulsation when all opposition are 2x2 tells its own story service costs with them also a lot higher than what I pay yearly I could go on but couldn't be arsed wasting time on this ,just my opinion based on experience

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Jays us cool the Jets will u ,what I posted I can 100% back up.fave months on end researching ,milking in and looking at various parlours and regardless as to wether my brother works with Gea or not I went with what suited me best and also what had the best functioning and well made equipment I could purchase .my dairy master views could be backed up by any amount of people even some with current dm stuff.they as Tim earlier posted quote Monopoly money figures when quoting parlours ,my original quote versus what their final quote to me amounted to nearly 20k on a 14 unit with various extras.also their still stuck on 4x0 pulsation when all opposition are 2x2 tells its own story service costs with them also a lot higher than what I pay yearly I could go on but couldn't be arsed wasting time on this ,just my opinion based on experience
    +1 on that.

I can also back j up on both 2x2 and the ridiculously high initial quotes that I got for my parlour.

And more also that I have posted on before.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 146 ✭✭6270red

+1 on that.

I can also back j up on both 2x2 and the ridiculously high initial quotes that I got for my parlour.

And more also that I have posted on before.

What's your scc? had 2x2 in old parlour and see no difference in scc between 2x2 and 4x0. My scc was 92 on last collection.

On being quoted a high price at the start, is this not how buying things works? Get a quote from one guy, go to the next guy get a lower quote then go back to the first guy again?

I have posted good and bad things on here about Dairymaster because I farm with the equipment everyday and know the pros and cons.

I certainly don't come on here and run down things I don't have any first hand experience of. That's my gripe and we should all refrain from doing so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,748 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Only had dairymaster in my yard once. This crack of we can put what ever amount you want on the invoice for grant purposes didnt wear well with me. Any way different folks different strokes

alps wrote: »
    Nasty luck on that one.....keep us informed if any more YAD's cause issues.....pretty good calving survey and loads used this year...the joys of genomics...

Another yad there an hour ago. Backwards bull calf. Had to jack him out. Big enough too.

What's your scc? had 2x2 in old parlour and see no difference in scc between 2x2 and 4x0. My scc was 92 on last collection.

On being quoted a high price at the start, is this not how buying things works? Get a quote from one guy, go to the next guy get a lower quote then go back to the first guy again?

I have posted good and bad things on here about Dairymaster because I farm with the equipment everyday and know the pros and cons.

I certainly don't come on here and run down things I don't have any first hand experience of. That's my gripe and we should all refrain from doing so.

So you'd be happy with 20 k of a difference on a 14 unit parlour????.gea and full wood were both within 4% of final price when haggling was done without deductions on quality of materials gone in.anyway look don't make any odds if you want to milk cows with a bucket and stool or in a 50 point rotary I and by the sounds of others here have given their opinions on dm based on their experience with them and given their opinions which there entitled to just as u are yours

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

whelan2 wrote: »
    Another yad there an hour ago. Backwards bull calf. Had to jack him out. Big enough too.

That doesn't sound good.
    What condition were cows in.
    Looking at icbf we have 17 pregnancies to yad.
    Mate of mine had calves off him this spring and he had no trouble

That doesn't sound good.
    What condition were cows in.
    Looking at icbf we have 17 pregnancies to yad.
    Mate of mine had calves off him this spring and he had no trouble

Had no trouble in the spring. Cows are on bare paddock but in too good condition now. May bring them to slimming world with me :)

whelan2 wrote: »
    Had no trouble in the spring. Cows are on bare paddock but in too good condition now. May bring them to slimming world with me :)

I could do with going to slimming world too- I see my favourite Chinese take away in trinity St has slimming world point on the menu

stanflt wrote: »
    I could do with going to slimming world too- I see my favourite Chinese take away in trinity St has slimming world point on the menu

Yup grand job too

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

stanflt wrote: »

I doubt any of us will be needing to go to slimming world after the spring

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,827 ✭✭✭visatorro

stanflt wrote:

the one in the Chinese laughed down the phone at me when I ordered something off the slimming world menu with chips! apparently chips were defeating the purpose

visatorro wrote: »
    the one in the Chinese laughed down the phone at me when I ordered something off the slimming world menu with chips! apparently chips were defeating the purpose
    its a bit like getting a big mac meal with diet coke. Good few places have slimming world menus now but I dont know if you could trust them to cook it right

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

I posted this before but I suppose I better post it again, lest I be accused again of talking about things I have no first hand experience of.

When i was building my parlour, I went to Delaval and Dairymaster for quotes for a standard 14 parlour with jars, 2x2 pulsation and 2'6" centers.

Delaval quoted me for exactly that.

Dairymaster quoted me for DTL, 4x0 pulsation and 2'3" centers.

Continually.

That's what they quoted me for, a parlour I didn't want, and with the added bonus of being 3k dearer.

The only time I was quoted for a 14 unit with jars, 2x2 pulsation and 2'6" centers by Dairymaster was after I told Delaval they were getting the contract.

And I haven't even mentioned the different, lower specs on the parlour by Dairymaster. Even without including the cost of the higher specs from Dairymaster, the added cost of their parlour was 12% higher.

Now fair play if you want to pay an extra 12% for a lower spec but, tbh, I didn't and still don't!

As to scc, congratulations but I have no interest in getting into a willie waving contest but swing away if you want. I am quite happy with my scc and have posted it on here before if you care to look for it, be my guest.

The problem with willie waving contests is, while one thinks they are Dirk Diggler, eventually the real Dirk Diggler comes along and the first lad ends up looking like Ron Jeremy, and that's never a good place to end up.;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

I doubt any of us will be needing to go to slimming world after the spring

.... Nothing to do with the work...25c/l will fix all weight problems :):):)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,331 ✭✭✭awaywithyou

i live very close to dairymaster.. know most of the lads working there.... so i wont be getting into debate about em with ye lads...

but everyone is entitled to their opinion and if ye like dairymaster/delaval/westfalia/fullwood then so be it and as long as the machine milks the cows... isnt that all ye want.... some lads can get very worked up over what in the big scheme of things is nothing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

Fell in the yard yesterday evening. Arm killing me last night. Couldn't bend arm this morning. Got relief guy to milk today. Spent the day in Waterford hospital...elbow in sh1t. 4-5 weeks. BOLL1X

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 169 ✭✭ted_182

Could frazz or jay post a quick breakdown of that 4.5 cent a litre feed cost please and thanks ?

Actually I spose what i should say is , is that 4.5 cent just the cost of meal and not including the cost of the grass? Grass costs being in fert cost??