Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Chit Chat- Please read Mod note in post #1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,827 ✭✭✭visatorro

mikefoxo wrote: »
    How much electricity (measured in kwh I suppose) would it take to run a parlour? Something cheap and cheerful with say 6 units and maybe 40 milkers.

im fairly sure with my set up when I include everything that could be on during milking its 15 kwh. that's parlour, tank, compressor (for air feeders), water pump, booster pump for wash down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,748 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

waiting on vet , have a cow calving twins, have a head and a back leg, no front legs

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

We ll put a pint on who hits the number for increased milk production this year, mines 16 %

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

keep going wrote: »
    We ll put a pint on who hits the number for increased milk production this year, mines 16 %

I'm down this year, up on solids % for every month tho

whelan2 wrote: »
    waiting on vet , have a cow calving twins, have a head and a back leg, no front legs

Both dead. Very big. Bull and heifer. Had to use Jack. Yad . Cow served 30th November

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭Milked out

Both dead. Very big. Bull and heifer. Had to use Jack. Yad . Cow served 30th November

Sorry to hear that, did cow stand?

Milked out wrote: »
    Sorry to hear that, did cow stand?

Ye. I gave her 2 bottles of calcium to cover her

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

keep going wrote: »

21% more milk
    24% more solids.
    Would be 30% only feb and March screwed the figures

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

My apologies I meant nationally what figure do ye think we ll hit im probaly a bit strong at 16.personally will do about 65 %extra

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 116 ✭✭howdee

howdee wrote: »
    Big problems here yesterday evening. Cows went into very lush grass yesterday morning and bringing them in I knew something wasn't right. Two were down and not able to get up and about ten of them were scouring something shocking. I was buffering them with hay but I didn't get a chance to put in a bale yesterday morning. Got a few bottles of calcium into the downers along with baking soda and scour powders while waiting for the vet and he put calcium into the vein. And got up yesterday evening around 11pm. The rest of the herd were put onto a bare paddock with a bale of hay. So much for minimal work on a Sunday.

Cow still with bad scour, not eating and passing near water. Giving her plenty of powders, supplements etc.
    Any thoughts what could help her..

Looks like 17 rows through our little parlour next spring.
    Great craic.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,705 ✭✭✭✭mahoney_j

Looks like 17 rows through our little parlour next spring.
    Great craic.

What's story with extra units in parlour gg ??the guts of 5 hours a day and probably more just milking is going to be some slog especially with more stock to look after and also making your own silage next summer .you should really be making a start on it or cubicles as whenever u do get around to it it's sooner rather than later especially whine ur young .i know milk prices are poor but tams grants are there to be taken advantage of ,.have u applied or got plans drafted and submitted for planning permission ??

mahoney_j wrote: »
    What's story with extra units in parlour gg ??the guts of 5 hours a day and probably more just milking is going to be some slog especially with more stock to look after and also making your own silage next summer .you should really be making a start on it or cubicles as whenever u do get around to it it's sooner rather than later especially whine ur young .i know milk prices are poor but tams grants are there to be taken advantage of ,.have u applied or got plans drafted and submitted for planning permission ??
    Have enough shed space this yr for stock so we're going to put off cubicles this yr.
    Uncle may have a newish 12 unit coming in. Our sfp might buy it if it does come available. Fingers crossed.
    We're sussing out loan atm for whole job lot to be taken on aswell as get money for development. It'll be next yr before anything gets done though.

I'm not to worried about workload next yr tbh.
    Myself and dad will prob split milkings if no parlour goes in.
    I do first hr amd he does second. That way I can have fresh ones milked and then go feed calves.
    We'llbe in a great position then to take on extra loans

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

I was up in the borders region of Scotland the last two days with work, and talking to one of the farm managers there. He is English, but have worked on a dairy farm in Munster a few years ago.
    He's managing a 500 to 600 dairy herd that was housed almost all year round, and was calving all year round too. It is on some of the finest grazing ground I have seen. 2 years ago he was allowed implement a new dairying strategy, and is now grazing 7 months of the year and trying to have a 9 week spring and a 6 week autumn calving block.
    They have 2 milking parlours, a 22 unit swing over and a 18 unit right next door. 2 people milking, 1 in each parlour. different collection yards, different bulk tanks. all problem cows, fresh calvers, lame cows, etc go through the 18 unit, and proper cows (a he put it) go through the 22 unit.

The neighbours think the whole operation is a joke, and the farm manager is mad. Grazing cows on grass..... jesus!, the thought of it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

The neighbours think the whole operation is a joke, and the farm manager is mad. Grazing cows on grass..... jesus!, the thought of it.

Lol. I certainly know the feeling...

We got about 6 inches of rain last week and cows back out 24/7 this week. Neighbors are going for wraps...!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

I got 2 paddocks I sprayed off yday for reseeding. I'm hoping to direct drill both, one is very well cleaned out, the other has a decent amount of butty carpet alike grass on it, that the dries refused to graze down. If I got a grass or chain Harrow would it remove some of the butt for me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

I had this problem last year, with a field I was stitching. I mowed, raked and baled it. Made a great job of it. A lot of dead matter will mess up the ph( regardless of the amount of like) and burn up nitrogen while it rots.

Timmaay wrote: »
    I got 2 paddocks I sprayed off yday for reseeding. I'm hoping to direct drill both, one is very well cleaned out, the other has a decent amount of butty carpet alike grass on it, that the dries refused to graze down. If I got a grass or chain Harrow would it remove some of the butt for me?

Don't I made that mistake last yr and made a mess of the whole yoke.

Mow and bale it if you can. Or else power harrow and sow it
    If there's too much of a wig of grass the seeds will die before they get to the surface

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,143 ✭✭✭RightTurnClyde

Don't I made that mistake last yr and made a mess of the whole yoke.

Mow and bale it if you can. Or else power harrow and sow it
    If there's too much of a wig of grass the seeds will die before they get to the surface

Powering that would be a balls aswell. Very hard to power harrow and what you'll end up with is big sods for the crows to till.
    Ps if stitching .... Slug pellets NB NB NB

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,282 ✭✭✭alps

Nasty luck on that one.....keep us informed if any more YAD's cause issues.....pretty good calving survey and loads used this year...the joys of genomics...

http://m.independent.ie/business/farming/lyons-showcases-best-practice-in-winter-milking-31491174.html
    Hope ucd have an open day. Should be interesting research coming out of there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 160 ✭✭Midfield9

Anyone buy cubicle mats lately? Brands?What sort of money are they. Been years since had to buy some. Think they were mayo mats but wouldn't put any money on it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭C0N0R

http://m.independent.ie/business/farming/lyons-showcases-best-practice-in-winter-milking-31491174.html

Was on last Thursday, was meant to go to it but something else came up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,796 ✭✭✭stanflt

I heard from someone that was at it that they felt that it has no relevance to modern winter or spring production and it had a vested interest from the parties financing the trials- no value put on grass and litres at all cost

The elite genetic group were getting 8 kilo of concentrate flat rate and production on the day was around 24litre- they were sitting down in the paddocks and no interest in grazing- grass being wasted-

Ps this is only what I'm told

Talking to a couple of effecient operators they felt that ucd and Ihfa were trying to develope a new milk production sub index that has no real place in milk production but it will keep feed companies and sales reps in jobs at the expensen of the dairy farmer

stanflt wrote: »
    I heard from someone that was at it that they felt that it has no relevance to modern winter or spring production and it had a vested interest from the parties financing the trials- no value put on grass and litres at all cost

The elite genetic group were getting 8 kilo of concentrate flat rate and production on the day was around 24litre- they were sitting down in the paddocks and no interest in grazing- grass being wasted-

Talking to a couple of effecient operators they felt that ucd and Ihfa were trying to develope a new milk production sub index that has no real place in milk production but it will keep feed companies and sales reps in jobs at the expensen of the dairy farmer

Pity if all that is true. Even if it is a different cow type to here there I would have said something they did would be relevant to here.

I kind of had a feeling that's what it would be seeing as keenans,ihfa and dairymaster put alot of money into it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,796 ✭✭✭stanflt

Pity if all that is true. Even if it is a different cow type to here there I would have said something they did would be relevant to here.

I kind of had a feeling that's what it would be seeing as keenans,ihfa and dairymaster put alot of money into it

What I heard may or may not be true so don't go by what you read on here

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,396 ✭✭✭✭Timmaay

From a salesman point of view, the likes of a university farm is exactly what ya want ha, plenty of young influential future farmers. I've heard of full ag college classes getting free tours of the Dairymaster factory etc hmmm.

Unfourtnately heard the same from someone that was at it ,disappointing as I really thought this could of been something of real relevance in the opposite way that greenfield kk is.as it was put to me just another ihfa day out with too much emphasis on Ltrs and not enough on grass etc despite having the ebi make up to exploit it.i still want to go for a gawk though

Timmaay wrote: »
    From a salesman point of view, the likes of a university farm is exactly what ya want ha, plenty of young influential future farmers. I've heard of full ag college classes getting free tours of the Dairymaster factory etc hmmm.

Nothing wrong with that Tim dairy master is a huge Irish based success story ,still wouldn't touch one of their flimsy plastic laden parlours though!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,959 ✭✭✭C0N0R

The figure of 8000l of milk from 1.5 tonne of meal, is that good bad or indifferent??