Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Legalities of Car Wrapping

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,902 ✭✭✭power pants

so many opinions yet nobody with any hard facts :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,026 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

Pov06 wrote: »
    Hang on a minute, you're the one running around claiming you don't need to declare colour changes because wrap companies say so!

Read the change of particulars form. If your car colour has changed, you have to declare it. You will have false documentation otherwise, like your tax disc.

Answer a simple question, does wrapping a car change its colour? If yes then you need to declare it.

Small stickers don't count because the main colour is still the same.

I haven't claimed a single thing, and you will not be able to show any post where I said you don't need to declare anything, clearly you think I am somebody else.

But once again you are making declarative statements and have completely failed to back them up with any cites. So, where is your evidence?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Pov06

I haven't claimed a single thing, and you will not be able to show any post where I said you don't need to declare anything, clearly you think I am somebody else.

But once again you are making declarative statements and have completely failed to back them up with any cites. So, where is your evidence?

When I said you I didn't mean you personally. I was targetting the "ah sure it's grand" group in general.

The clear evidence is the fact that your tax disc displays the colour of your car. The fact that a form exists to change your colour which requires you to send in your valid tax disc in order to get it changed so the colour matches.

Car wrapping companies are nobody in terms of the legality. Like I said earlier, they are happy to take your money and limo tint your front side windows even though it's 100% illegal yet people still say "but car wrapping company X said it's legal".

There is no such thing in the world as a permanent paint job, you can spray a car differently the same way you can rip a wrap off. It doesn't change the fact that a colour change has occurred.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,225 ✭✭✭mgbgt1978

delahuntv wrote: »
    Sorry, but that is utter bull.

The colour is the primary colour of the car. Even a large yellow sticker doesn't change the primary colour.

For a full wrap that you intend to leave on for a year or more, it's probably best to declare change in colour as by not doing so, it just gives reason for you to be stopped as gardai use anpr systems that tell make, model and colour. - Wrong colour showing = suspicious / possible clone = excuse to stop you.

What's utter bull ????
    A wrap is changing the colour of the whole car....it's not just a sticker, which nobody, apart from yourself, even mentioned.
    A partial wrap is another story altogether (which is not even discussed here ).
    What is utter bull is your assertion that it's OK to leave a car wrapped in a different colour for less than a year, but once you go over the twelve month mark you should probably declare a colour change.
    If you can show any legislation to back up that ridiculous assumption feel free to post a link.

....as for 'possible clone'. It would want to be a fairly crappy clone if they couldn't at least get the colour right :rolleyes:.

mgbgt1978 wrote: »
    What's utter bull ????
    A wrap is changing the colour of the whole car....it's not just a sticker, which nobody, apart from yourself, even mentioned.
    A partial wrap is another story altogether (which is not even discussed here ).
    What is utter bull is your assertion that it's OK to leave a car wrapped in a different colour for less than a year, but once you go over the twelve month mark you should probably declare a colour change.
    If you can show any legislation to back up that ridiculous assumption feel free to post a link.

....as for 'possible clone'. It would want to be a fairly crappy clone if they couldn't at least get the colour right :rolleyes:.

Sure they don't seem to understand. Let them drive around and see what happens. It seems like 95% of Motors posters are driving around with undeclared wrapped cars.

00088e8b-642.jpg

What colour is this car? Black? No lads it's red, can't you see? It's just a wrap, clearly the car is red.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,437 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gumbo

There is no such thing as a temporary colour change. A colour change is a colour change. A spray job can be temporary if I respray the car with rattle cans tomorrow morning...

If you are worried about explaining colour changes to potential buyers then don't change it in the first place.

I have spent most of today getting insurance quotes and each time I told them my reg they verified the details I.e "that's a silver Ford Focus, 1.8 TDCI right?"

Do not take wrapping company words as Gospel. They are the same lads who have no problem tinting front windows in limo black tint.

As for the harlequin Polo, the colour would be declared as the chassis colour.

No thanks, I'd rather not take the advise of the wrapping company but I will take the advice of a motor tax senior staff officer ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,434 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Colour: Bon Jovi

If you mean 'shyte', say 'shyte'.

https://www.motortax.ie/OMT/pdf/RF111_en.pdf

As the form linked to above explains;
    "you must use this form if details relating to you or your vehicle have changed since the vehicle was last taxed."

That "last taxed" could be 2 days ago, so the change of particulars must be notified "as soon as possible after the change occurred"....not in 12 months time or whenever you feel like it.
    A colour change includes a full body wrap, therefore the vehicle details should be amended as soon as possible.

Whether I, or anybody else here, am happy with this is irrelevant. It's just the way it is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭neilthefunkeone

Company I'm with have 20-30 White vans wrapped in blue with company logos. All tax discs say white.. Motor check comes back white.

I'm sure they looked into the legality's.. But as they are leased maybe its the leasing company that should have changed it.. But obviously no issue as some vans are years old..

Wonder can you put color as 'kinda Navy with a red stripe and a pink logo over purple' on the book

kceire wrote: »
    No thanks, I'd rather not take the advise of the wrapping company but I will take the advice of a motor tax senior staff officer ;)

Unless he/she is a full-time Guard (who works part-time in the motor tax office) you might as well take advice from anybody on this forum.
    The motor Tax staff neither make the law nor enforce it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,246 ✭✭✭pippip

"you must use this form if details relating to you or your vehicle have changed since the vehicle was last taxed."

That "last taxed" could be 2 days ago, so the change of particulars must be notified "as soon as possible after the change occurred"....not in 12 months time or whenever you feel like it.
    A colour change includes a full body wrap, therefore the vehicle details should be amended as soon as possible.

Whether I, or anybody else here, am happy with this is irrelevant. It's just the way it is.

Sorry can you point to where in that form is states a full body wrap is an official colour change?

Ah here, if the colour of the vehicle has been changed then it's a different colour.....whether its painted on or stuck on :rolleyes:.

....and what exactly do you mean by 'official' ?????

pippip wrote: »
    Sorry can you point to where in that form is states a full body wrap is an official colour change?

A colour change is a colour change. It doesn't matter if you spray the car, wrap the car or even sand the car to bare metal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

Wrapping is not a colour change. It's a huge feckin' sticker that covers the entire car.

biko wrote: »
    Wrapping is not a colour change. It's a huge feckin' sticker that covers the entire car.

Oh right okay.

What's the point of wrapping a car then, if the colour doesn't change? :pac:

Has your car been modified in any way? No sir.

*some time later*

Hi Mr. Insurance, please fix my car, it's a silver Corolla but it left the factory a bit blue for some reason. No modifications at all sir.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭Bio Mech

A colour change is a colour change. It doesn't matter if you spray the car, wrap the car or even sand the car to bare metal.

What if I drive through a muddy field and the car gets filthy? Should I declare a colour change to brown to be safe? It might not rain for a few days.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,575 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Dia1988 wrote: »

I think it's called Blleeeuuurghhh!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,046 ✭✭✭Bio Mech

Oh right okay.

What's the point of wrapping a car then, if the colour doesn't change? :pac:

Has your car been modified in any way? No sir.

*some time later*

Hi Mr. Insurance, please fix my car, it's a silver Corolla but it left the factory a bit blue for some reason. No modifications at all sir.

Insurance and a log book declaration are two completely different matters. You can't apply the same logic to both.

Wrapping a car is not modifying it. You are not changing the chassis, engine nor adding parts for performance.
    You are just putting a huge sticker on the car that you can peel off at any time and the car is back to normal.

I would hazard that plastidip is also ok to not declare. It's the same idea, a temporary plastic film covering the paintjob.

Wrapping a car is not modifying it. You are not changing the chassis, engine nor adding parts for performance.
    You are just putting a huge sticker on the car that you can peel off at any time and the car is back to normal.

I would hazard that plastidip is also ok to not declare. It's the same idea, a temporary plastic film covering the paintjob.

If tinted windows are classed as a modification then so is wrapping a car.

It doesn't matter to insurance companies if your modifications increase power or change handling.

I'm not here to argue lads, but all I see is a bunch of posters telling me that I have no factual proof when I clearly showed you a form for colour changes and you all think you are right because that's what you think is right.

And the whole peel off thing is a joke. Sure I can put on a bigger turbo and an intercooler on my car and then take it off later. It's not a permanent change shuuure :pac: Everything on the car can be taken off by this logic.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

You would also have to declare a partial wrap if it changed a substantial portion of the body of the car, it would then be two colours or multi "polo" coloured

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,026 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

I'm not here to argue lads, but all I see is a bunch of posters telling me that I have no factual proof when I clearly showed you a form for colour changes and you all think you are right because that's what you think is right.

You haven't shown a single thing, frankly I'm not sure you know what the word evidence means.

Again and again all you have done is repeat how you think things should be, what I and others are interested in is the actual legality of the topic. I'm not invested in this, but I am interested in learning something.

The existence of a simple form for colour changes does not necessarily mean that the owner of a wrapped car is legally obliged to submit that form. If you have evidence to the contrary then stop repeating your meaningless opinion and show us that evidence.

If we bring it back to the OPs question
    pajero12 wrote: »
    Question is, Is it legal to completely change the colour of the car with a wrap?
    yes, it is legal.

About declaring it - it's all here (my underlining for emphasis)
    http://www.wrap.ie/faq.php
    Does this affect my VRT or Tax?

No. You do not need to inform or amend anything on your Log book about the change, as it is not classed as permanent. We do advise that you tell your insurance company though, it should not affect your insurance policy cost, but having this additional wrap on your insurance should help if you were ever involved in an accident and you needed panels to be re-wrapped. It is totally road legal and none of our customers have ever been questioned to date.
    I hope this clarifies things.

About declaring it - it's all here (my underlining for emphasis)
    http://www.wrap.ie/faq.php

Complete utter nonsense.

Directly from the motor tax site:
    "14Q. How and whom do I inform of a change to my vehicle?
    14A. If you have made a change to your vehicle such as engine, colour, body type, tax class, unladen weight for goods vehicle, or seating capacity, you will need to complete Form RF111 and forward to your local motor tax office. This form is available at your local motor tax office or can be got on our homepage under the link 'Motor Tax Forms'."

There is no such thing as a change being classed as "temporary".

Wrap.ie is basing their information by the fact that none of their customers have complained about being questioned by the Gardai or their insurance company. Sure we all know you can easily hog middle lanes, park in disabled spots, drive unaccompanied or whatever and nobody will bat an eye lid. It doesn't make it right though!

But the colour of the vehicle is still the same. It's just under a non-permanent coating.

Well, I feel we're splitting hairs now.
    I wouldn't declare it, but that's me.

But the colour of the vehicle is still the same. It's just under a non-permanent coating.

Are you blind or are all 3 traffic light colours the same too? Sure it's just a yellow bulb underneath coloured plastic...

Seriously though, you're not declaring that you sprayed your car! You are declaring that the colour of the car is different.

Each to their own re. declaring I guess. It's not like it costs €1000 to declare a simple colour change (which it is) to avoid any hassle and have peace of mind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,783 ✭✭✭slimjimmc

SI 385/1992
    Article 3 identifies "colour" as a licensing (motor tax) particular.
    Article 8 makes it a requirement to notify the motor tax office "forthwith" (i.e. without delay) of the colour change and to hand in your tax disc and reg book so that they can be re-issued for free.

No mention of permanency of the change so it applies regardless. If you look at a red car wrapped in blue you see a blue car. It's immaterial that the blue is not painted on, or can be peeled off, or the inner panels are still painted red. The registered colour should be whatever the public see.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,102 ✭✭✭dar83

Some amount of crap being spouted in here. Wraps are temporary and do not need to be declared as a change of colour. That's basically it. Just because we have some people reading forms written and put into circulation before wrapping became a thing and taking them as gospel, doesn't change this.

It's great you guys want to be upstanding motorists and have read the fine print on all sorts of tax office forms (yawn), but validating your argument by stating things like 'well spraying it isn't permanent either, I could spray it again tomorrow' just shows your lack of understanding about the entire thing. I'm not even going to go into the engine modification analogy/comparison...

There's a big difference between permanently changing the colour of car with paint and declaring it, to adding a wrap to the external panels which is temporary and can be undone at the road side within 15 minutes if needs must. If you can't comprehend that, then I really do worry for what other nuggets of logic your brain comes up with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,719 ✭✭✭✭R.O.R

dar83 wrote: »
    can be undone at the road side within 15 minutes if needs must.

If it's a wrap that can be removed in 15 minutes, then it's not worthy of declaring a colour change anyway. It usually takes 2 guys at least 3 hours to strip a fully wrapped van here, with the proper tools. Previously we've had to bake vans in bodyshop ovens for 40 minutes before stripping.

In the past, we've had to change the colour on the VLC/Tax disc for fully wrapped vehicles, after drivers were stopped and spoken to by the Gardaí. Haven't had to do it in the past 6 or 7 years though.

Most of the wrapped vehicles we have on the road are done after they leave here, so we don't generally know what colour they end up as, so couldn't declare even if we wanted to (which we don't, as everything is eventually returned to the original colour).

In my opinion, a colour change should be noted when a vehicle is wrapped, but like a lot of technicalities, it's something that we wouldn't bother with unless someone makes an issue of it.

Also - in relation to insurance, it's something I would declare due to the additional costs involved. Few weeks ago someone ran in to the back of a wrapped SUV. 3rd party Insurance have covered the cost of repairing the vehicle back to factory standard (white bumper and tailgate) but customer's insurance has to pick up the €800 cost to re-wrap the rear of the vehicle. Fixing part of a graphic wrap is sometimes more difficult than doing the whole thing due to the way it's all printed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,598 ✭✭✭tossy

Colour: Bon Jovi

It's a harlequin, there was no Bon jovi Polo only Golf :D removes fan boi hat.