Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Recruits TV show

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,142 ✭✭✭notahappycamper

"I hate mountains rivers" and he wants to be a solider?!!

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

My god we have got very soft in the west if some people are complaining about cursing, if Ireland was ever invading we would be walked over.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 12,333 ✭✭✭✭JONJO THE MISER

Aww poor fella has a tummy bug, better stay in for the day:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,377 ✭✭✭Warper

I liked it, it does give an insight into the training involved in joining the Defense Forces. The comaraderie was brilliant and fair play to all involved. Thumbs up for me. Cant be cynical about that element of the army life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,475 ✭✭✭deadybai

To me that Duffy lad had no interest in joining the army. Thought his personality didnt suit it in the first place. He must of been trying to prove something to himself or to other people. Shame that he took someones place when someone else could of got a career out of it.

Also taking a sick day for that training isnt acceptable. If you were sick out in Syria would you be allowed the day off too? Really poor from the army to allow this. Obviously if he was seriously ill than that would be ok .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,628 ✭✭✭Señor Fancy Pants

deadybai wrote: »
    To me that Duffy lad had no interest in joining the army. Thought his personality didnt suit it in the first place. He must of been trying to prove something to himself or to other people. Shame that he took someones place when someone else could of got a career out of it.

That's the way it works out sometimes, It's not for everyone. Fair play to anyone that starts Recruit Training. That person may realise after 1 day, 1 week, 1 month or 1 year after they join that it's not for them.

It's hard to know what way people react to training so everyone that accepts a place is potentially "taking a place" on someone else. He tried at least.
    deadybai wrote: »
    Also taking a sick day for that training isnt acceptable. If you were sick out in Syria would you be allowed the day off too? Really poor from the army to allow this. Obviously if he was seriously ill than that would be ok .

If you are sick, you are sick. The Instructing Staff won't stop you from going sick, they are not Doctors. It is taken into consideration on overall performance.

Do I think he was sick, no. He just had enough of the hardship.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,608 ✭✭✭✭arybvtcw0eolkf

IMO that was an excellent show, a very accurate depiction of a recruit platoon in training.

I hope the second episode shut the whingers up, the beasting has stopped (as it does) and the training proper has begun and the platoon plus their NCO's have settled into a routine with each other.

Its a pity their passing out was indoors and not out of the square, but that's how it must be sometimes.

Oh, the earlier screaming & shouting, locker inspections and the gear getting flung onto the floor ~ that was pretty much watered down compared to the real thing!!.. I've seen whole lockers being f*cked out the window of a second or third story billet (they're not allowed put the recruits inside the lockers anymore :p ).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,611 ✭✭✭✭Reggie.

IMO that was an excellent show, a very accurate depiction of a recruit platoon in training.

I hope the second episode shut the whingers up, the beasting has stopped (as it does) and the training proper has begun and the platoon plus their NCO's have settled into a routine with each other.

Its a pity their passing out was indoors and not out of the square, but that's how it must be sometimes.

Oh, the earlier screaming & shouting, locker inspections and the gear getting flung onto the floor ~ that was pretty much watered down compared to the real thing!!.. I've seen whole lockers being f*cked out the window of a second or third story billet (they're not allowed put the recruits inside the lockers anymore :p ).
    And don't forget the lovely riot training :)

Having no bed blocks, no olive greens, no lavender wax, no cutlery inspection, no proper #1 boots to bull.....cushy out nowadays! :)

All this fancy gortex aswell :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,097 ✭✭✭Hitchens

Reggie. wrote: »
    ....and duvets :pac:

Goretex! Pfft, I remember putting on a pair of socks, then a zip lock bag, then my wet boots.

Job done! Get the fcuk on parade!

Goretex! Pfft, I remember putting on a pair of socks, then a zip lock bag, then my wet boots.

Job done! Get the fcuk on parade!

Putting on wet uniforms in a billet is on thing but in the middle of a forest on a frosty morning is quite another :D

It was starched overalls and staple belts back when I were a lad :D

Oh and talking of wax, remember the lead swingers?.. Swinging those bastards around for hours trying to get the floor polished for the platoon commanders inspection.. And being terrified of him :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,034 ✭✭✭✭It wasn't me!

Putting on wet uniforms in a billet is on thing but in the middle of a forest on a frosty morning is quite another :D

I find it way worse in the billet.

That definitely is one of the moments that you seriously ask yourself what the fcuk am I doing here?!

And you continue to do so years later :)

Look at all the war stories coming out now

Hey, anyone remember when you've just finished scratch and everyone is in a jock.. Then you're told "Right get inside, shower and change into dry gear and back on parade for 17:00hrs" ~ marched to the dining hall, then a rifle inspection at 18:00hrs.. And because some boll*x has a dirty rifle everyone is ran into the river and back up to the billets soaking wet.

And they say recruit training is the best time of your life.. Me, f*ck man I hated it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,537 ✭✭✭case885

A British version is on BBC 2 at the moment funnily enough, recruits seem much older.

case885 wrote: »
    A British version is on BBC 2 at the moment funnily enough, recruits seem much older.

Dad's Army repeats, the BBC are always at that :D

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 16,900 Mod ✭✭✭✭Manic Moran

I haven't watched it yet (I'm in the US and need to install a VPN), but I'm getting the idea that an officer discarded an unsatisfactorily stored uniform onto the floor?

For the purposes of a foreign viewpoint, this is what we term a "Tornado" in US recruit training. (Forgive me, I can't seem to find one without the text). Think of it as a sort of temper tantrum by the instructors.

7c7c214ef5b59a3b556d091e88972b47.jpg
    41b841fdea44d7cdbd078e15c09dacc3.jpg

They are common if things are unsatisfactory. They are also commonly the result of a locker which is left unlocked (though usually only the transgressor's equipment is scattered in such a case). It's pretty much standard to reinforce standards and attention to detail. Obviously the recruits have to take time out to sort out the mess. Which they'd rather not do. So they take more care next time.

It is not exclusive to basic training either. This is a photo I took at Officer Candidate School. My rack is in there somewhere... Third on the right if memory serves. Note that some beds are left alone: They were to standard.
    mess1.jpg

For the curious, I put my 'tips to survive basic training' up on here. http://worldoftanks.com/en/news/pc-browser/21/The_Chieftains_Hatch_Suviving_Basic/?page=1
    The bottom line is that the NCOs and officers want you to pass. But they also want to make sure you're worthy enough to do it.

For comparison, I kept a written diary of Basic Training here: https://web.archive.org/web/20080915180427/http://www.clubi.ie/exalted/40th.htm

I do not actually recall very much profanity in US basic. I don't use it myself, I have NCOs to impart stress. But it's not uncommon, and I can't say it bothers me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭Alt J

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 360 ✭✭georgewickstaff

I'm afraid I thought it was just a load of reality show try hards playing up to the gallery.

Imagine if you will some bloke or young one taking their cue from 'Full Metal Jacket' and trying to take on this role in real life. Cringe.

I'm afraid I thought it was just a load of reality show try hards playing up to the gallery.

Imagine if you will some bloke or young one taking their cue from 'Full Metal Jacket' and trying to take on this role in real life. Cringe.

Nah, it was actually very accurate.. If anything it was watered down a lot.

I thought last nights show was excellent.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,966 ✭✭✭✭syklops

Nah, it was actually very accurate.. If anything it was watered down a lot.

I thought last nights show was excellent.

Im really enjoyed it. Shame they didn't match the 17 weeks of training with say 8 or 12 episodes. Following the group up to the passing out parade.

Agreed, it was fairly tame but I suppose it kind of had to be. Turns out civvies really, really didn't have any idea that the things they see in films actually happens for real.

It is definitely not the case of an NCO acting up for the camera or because they have seen too many films.

That's the way it is.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 210 ✭✭Tompatrick

liam7831 wrote: »
    I thought it was hilarious, would be a lot better with a few more guards on the streets than paying the boyscouts to run around the Curragh

Yeah. The lad doing the thee fingered scout salute ! Dib dib dib !

I thought it was hilarious, would be a lot better with a few more guards on the streets than paying the boyscouts to run around the Curragh

Ffs! It's not boyscouts! It's Rambo, get it right will ya!

Now if you are strong enough to type you are strong enough to drop and give me 50 press ups.

If your arms fail to lift ya, place your chin on the deck and flap your mouth a bit more to at least make it look like you are trying.

Yea because the guards can do our job in Syria, Lebanon, Liberia, Chad etc.. Oh, and lets put some more Explosive Ordnance Disposal cops on the streets too ~ except they can't defuse sh*t either.

Shur there is only a few hundred deployed on missions, what do the other 6 or 7 thousand do every week? Its not exactly Baghdad around here so not too many explosive Ordnance Disposal personnell required I would suggest ?

I play with the crayon's before lunch, Senor Fancy Pants licks the windows. Then after lunch we swap around.. I don't know who Reggie is, but I suspect he's the one who makes and flies the paper 'planes (this carries a technical allowance to pay for the paper cut plasters).

You?.