US Journalists shot dead live on air [MOD WARNING in opening post]

• Closed Accounts Posts: 34,808 ✭✭✭✭smash

A bullet can pass through 2 people if the range/calibre/bullet/trajectory is correct. Do you think a throwing knife can kill two people with one throw?

Do you think you can chase and slash as many victims as you could while standing still and allowing the bullets do the chasing?

Its clear more than one person learned Physics from Darwin.

If you're going to raise an argument then do it in relation to the topic at hand. There were two victims. They were the only targets. This wasn't a mass murder like columbine etc. Even a baseball bat would have killed them faster than the bullets did, but he chose to use a gun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,867 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp

A bullet can pass through 2 people if the range/calibre/bullet/trajectory is correct. Do you think a throwing knife can kill two people with one throw?

Do you think you can chase and slash as many victims as you could while standing still and allowing the bullets do the chasing?

Where was I talking about physics? I was stating that if Flanagan didn't have access to a gun, then he would have found some other method of killing someone.

Maybe it would have been more difficult without a gun, but very possible to kill more than two people with a knife.

Google all the stabbings that happen in China.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 7,666 Mod ✭✭✭✭cdeb

smash wrote: »
    Even a baseball bat would have killed them faster than the bullets did, but he chose to use a gun.
    How do you make that out?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 60,386 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wibbs

The man shot them because he was supposedly bullied by them at work for being black and gay. It just goes to show yet again that blacks and homosexuals aren't treated as equal as whites and heterosexuals. That kind of stuff happening at work could drive anyone to kill.
    Am I actually reading this drivel or is it an acid flashback I'm having? :eek: Maybe the prick who shot up a church a while back was also a sensitive soul who was bullied by black kids. OH wait… no, couldn't be, that murdering prick was white.

Many worry about Artificial Intelligence. I worry far more about Organic Idiocy.

cdeb wrote: »
    How do you make that out?

Because even after firing multiple shots at close range, Alison Parker was able to make a run for it.

Didn't really answer the question though.

How do you make out that a baseball bat would have been quicker? To kill two people and seriously injure a third.

This comes back to the range issue - baseball bat = close range. Guns = long range, which is a hell of a lot more lethal.

How do you make out that a baseball bat would have been quicker? To kill two people and seriously injure a third.

This comes back to the range issue - baseball bat = close range. Guns = long range, which is a hell of a lot more lethal.

He used the gun at close range. What's your point?

Both a baseball bat and a gun are pretty lethal at that range.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,074 ✭✭✭pmasterson95

Because even after firing multiple shots at close range, Alison Parker was able to make a run for it.

Thats more to do with a **** aim than guns not being affective killing machines but sure whatever suits your argument.

How do you make out that a baseball bat would have been quicker? To kill two people and seriously injure a third.[/QUOTE]
    A blow to the head can kill stone dead and it takes a split second to swing a bat.
    That's all well and good, but it wasn't used as a long range weapon.
    Thats more to do with a **** aim than guns not being affective killing machines but sure whatever suits your argument.
    Nobody's arguing over how effective a gun can be, simply that any weapon would have done him.

Actually, I'm not even engaging in this any further. It's pretty sick discussing the ins and outs of how fast or useful various weapons would have been in this case.

The bottom line is that he killed them with a gun, but if he didn't have one I'm sure he would have used another weapon.

I'm a gun owner and I'll agree with you that guns are very effective for murdering people. Luckily millions and millions of law abiding gun owners don't use them for this purpose. I'm one of those law abiding gun owners.

A blow to the head can kill stone dead and it takes a split second to swing a bat.

Actually, I'm not even engaging in this any further. It's pretty sick discussing the ins and outs of how fast or useful various weapons would have been in this case.

The bottom line is that he killed them with a gun, but if he didn't have one I'm sure he would have used another weapon.[/quote]

Have a good day.

Do you think the others are going to stand around and wait their turn, or are they going to leg it immediately?

Then it becomes a long-range issue where gun >> baseball bat.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

I suspect this is going to become a Boards meme. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

BattleCorp wrote: »
    He used the gun at close range. What's your point?

Both a baseball bat and a gun are pretty lethal at that range.

The baseball bat would take longer to kill somebody, and it would have been easier for others to subdue him.

I'm a gun owner and I'll agree with you that guns are very effective for killing. Luckily millions and millions of law abiding gun owners don't use them for this purpose. I'm one of those law abiding gun owners.
    Well done you then. You are sane. The problem is giving simple access to lunatics like Vester/Bryce, Klebold and Holmes, these effective killing machines plus insanity and its a major problem. Not that people can understand this mind. I guess we should just be happy he didnt decide to go to the main studio and wipe out much more than 2 lives. Sure its only two lives. Coulda been a knife too kill that many so guns are totally sound. Even though another crazy shooting up a church was one of this lads motivations. But yeah totally. Guns for all is no problem. The sane people are proof guns are harmless. Just dont mention the gun-toting murdering crackpots.

Do you think the others are going to stand around and wait their turn, or are they going to leg it immediately?

Then it becomes a long-range issue where gun >> baseball bat.

Ah it'd be awful rude to run if your in a line. Like you dont wanna upset the system/rythm. You'll have to wait. Maybe have a snack/tayto. Be grand like.

The baseball bat would take longer to kill somebody, and it would have been easier for others to subdue him.

I'm not arguing that point. Yes, a gun is more efficient than a baseball bat to kill people. I'm just saying that it's wrong to blame the gun when it's the killer who should be blamed.

If Vester Flanagan didn't have a gun, he would probably have found another way to kill in revenge for whatever he believed was done to him.

• Moderators, Music Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 25,740 Mod ✭✭✭✭Boom_Bap

MOD
    Has this thread seriously decended into a discussion on the most effective weapon to use to murder someone?

This is not a thread for that, there is no forum on boards for that.

No more of that talk.

Well done you then. You are sane. The problem is giving simple access to lunatics like Vester/Bryce, Klebold and Holmes, these effective killing machines plus insanity and its a major problem. Not that people can understand this mind. I guess we should just be happy he didnt decide to go to the main studio and wipe out much more than 2 lives. Sure its only two lives. Coulda been a knife too kill that many so guns are totally sound. Even though another crazy shooting up a church was one of this lads motivations. But yeah totally. Guns for all is no problem. The sane people are proof guns are harmless. Just dont mention the gun-toting murdering crackpots.

Dude, take a breath and relax.

Where the fcuk am I advocating guns for all. I never said anything remotely like that. There shouldn't be guns for all. Lots of people don't have the mentality to handle guns safely.

Also, where the fcuk did I say that it's good that he only killed two people?

Guns themselves, if not misused, are safe in the right person's hands.

Mention the gun-toting murdering crackpots all you want, but don't lump us responsible, law abiding gun owners in with the crackpots.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,093 ✭✭✭✭briany

I have five guns. All licenced. I haven't shot up a school or murdered any co-workers. I'm in a club with over 300 members and none of them have shot up a school or murdered any co-workers either. We take part in a sport. If we misuse our firearms or behave aggressively etc., then the Gardai take them from us. I have absolutely no problem with that.

Yes, guns can kill people more efficiently than bows and arrows, knives etc. I'm not debating that point.

My point simply is that if Vester Flanagan was so hell bent on killing somebody in revenge for his percieved grievance, then he would have found a way.

Here's a question.

Who do you blame for the killing?

Is it Vester Flanagan's fault or is it the guns fault?

I think that's a loaded question, as saying either/or discounts the symbiotic nature of killing anyone with any weapon. I think the fact is that guns are so often the choice of your spree killer, where they're readily available, because they offer a deadliness and immediacy, and, as you say, an efficiency in killing that a knife, or your bare hands would not. I can't think that America's the only place with crazy people, people who are bent on killing over some grievance, real or imagined, and yet in other civilized countries this kind of regular, random gun violence dealt upon ordinary innocent people is relatively unheard of.

In terms of a single killing, it's always basically the gunman's fault, because they're the only sentient being in the man-gun team, but in terms of this spree killing thing as a general phenomenon, that's a multi-faceted societal issue. You can blame the gunman and move on, but at the terrible cost of not recognising the bigger problems at play in the United States, and little real progress will ever be made on curtailing it all. Small answers for huge, huge questions. For that reason, gun attacks like this look set to become a fact of life in America, and a built-in danger of living there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭Ayrtonf7

Jesus, just watched the videos there. Insane is the only word I can use to describe that situation.

Guns themselves, if not misused, are safe in the right person's hands.

Mention the gun-toting murdering crackpots all you want, but don't lump us responsible, law abiding gun owners in with the crackpots.
    Genuine question - why do you own five guns?

I can't actually understand why anyone would want to own five items whose basic only function is to cause huge damage to people.

I asked an American gun-owner once - the reply was "Because I can". It then descended into nonsense about defending his freedom.

Genuinely never heard a reply to the question I can fathom.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

I can't actually understand why anyone would want to own five items whose basic only function is to cause huge damage to people.

I asked an American gun-owner once - the reply was "Because I can". It then descended into nonsense about defending his freedom.

...other than hunting, target shooting, protection and whatever I've not thought of.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,246 ✭✭✭✭Dyr

Guns protect precious freedom from the NSA :confused:

Target shooting - why would you need to own a gun? I presume target shooting is done down a range - why not borrow one at the range? And a pellet gun at that - why does it need to be a full gun? And why would you need to own five?

Protection to me sounds very close to the American concept of "If we arm everyone, no-one gets killed" - which is obviously highly dangerous.

Hunting? Really? Do you need five guns to go off killing animals?

Not trying to wind gun owners up here; just genuinely can't get into their headspace.

Bambi wrote: »
    Guns protect precious freedom from the NSA :confused:

Alex Jones to Piers Morgan in the wake of Sandyhook or Aurora,
    "Hitler took the guns! Stalin took the guns! Mao took the guns! Fidel Castro took the guns! Hugo Chavez took the guns!

"I'm here to tell you — 1776 will commence again if you try to take our firearms!"

briany wrote: »
    Alex Jones to Piers Morgan in the wake of Sandyhook or Aurora,

Yeah!!!!! Freedom

I use guns for my sport. My sport is target shooting. I do lots of different types of target shooting.

I use a semi-automatic rifle for gallery rifle competitions. These competitions are a mix of accuracy and speed so a semi-automatic rifle is necessary.

I use a bolt action rifle for benchrest shooting in the heavy varmint category. It's a specialist rifle designed for this sport. The semi-automatic rifle wouldn't be accurate enough for this sport.

I use a different bolt action rifle for gallery precision competitions. The semi-auto rifle wouldn't be accurate enough and the specialist benchrest rifle would be too heavy to hold for this competition. So I have a lightweight bolt action rifle for this event.

I have a pistol for pistol competitions.

I have a shotgun for clay pigeon shooting.

That's why I need 5 guns, and even though it's all target shooting, it's pretty much 5 different sports.

In your house, I'm betting that there is or was a football, basketball, rugby ball, golf ball, tennis ball at some stage. If you want to play basketball, you can't play it with a rugby ball. If you want to play golf, you can't use a basketball and so on. I'm the same with my sport, I can't use the rifle in a pistol competition etc.

That's why I have 5 guns.

And if I wanted to shoot airgun comps, then I'd need another gun. And if I wanted to shoot Light Varmint I'd need anther gun. And if I wanted to shoot FTR I'd need another gun.

The same as if you wanted to take up another sport, you'd need the sporting equipment to allow you to take part in it.

Target shooting - why would you need to own a gun? I presume target shooting is done down a range - why not borrow one at the range? And a pellet gun at that - why does it need to be a full gun? And why would you need to own five?

Not trying to wind gun owners up here; just genuinely can't get into their headspace.

Have a read of my post above and maybe you can get into my headspace.

Seriously though, you can't borrow guns at the range. And yes, I do shoot at a range. I'm a different shape than the person next to me. The gun must suit me ergonomically to be competitive, I need my own gun customised to suit my height, whether I am left handed or right handed, my cheek height, how long my neck is, how long my arms are. I need to be able to set the pressure of the trigger, eye relief on the scope etc. etc.

Andy Murray doesn't use tennis rackets that belong to his tennis club. He has rackets tuned to the way that suits him.

I'm the same with my guns. They are tuned to suit me. They might not necessarily suit the next shooter beside me.

Protection to me sounds very close to the American concept of "If we arm everyone, no-one gets killed" - which is obviously highly dangerous.

Hunting? Really? Do you need five guns to go off killing animals?

It's like talking to a PC enthusiast or car enthusiast. Do you really need that big ugly looking spoiler and turbo engine? Do you really need to have an overclocked CPU and light up fans? Probably not in both cases. It's boys and their toys, basically. I've never shot a gun, but I can imagine how it would be a very gratifying and empowering experience for someone, and become a lifelong interest or hobby, or even, dare I say, fetish.