Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Bf4 clans

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,282 ✭✭✭paul_booth_fan

keithc83 wrote: »
    Guys so far i have received only links to clips off Gerry for the IRL highlights video I am trying to put together. I'm going to set a deadline for submission of clips which is going to be 28th August. I'll then use that weekend to edit the video and post it as I won't be around for the majority of September (getting away for some sun!) :D
    So if you have clips please pass them on to me by then! It would be great if we could have a good few included in this.

Just a quick reminder, how do you want the clips sent to you? Presumably, you'd prefer them trimmed down before sending them on. I keep forgetting to record stuff but I'll try remember whenever I get the chance to get on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 460 ✭✭keithc83

Just a quick reminder, how do you want the clips sent to you? Presumably, you'd prefer them trimmed down before sending them on. I keep forgetting to record stuff but I'll try remember whenever I get the chance to get on

Preferably hand-delivered, with a crate of beer and a thank you! :pac:
    To be honest i think at this stage even if you send me links to previously uploaded youtube clips that you were happy with, that'll work. Although quality may not be the best after i add those to this project (advanced warning!).
    If you have unedited files, you can send them onto me as well using something like dropbox.
    Link to my dropbox is:
    https://www.dropbox.com/request/hNdzJIZZyTcqn4JFthHW

Preferably hand-delivered, with a crate of beer and a thank you! :pac:
    To be honest i think at this stage even if you send me links to previously uploaded youtube clips that you were happy with, that'll work. Although quality may not be the best after i add those to this project (advanced warning!).
    If you have unedited files, you can send them onto me as well using something like dropbox.
    Link to my dropbox is:
    https://www.dropbox.com/request/hNdzJIZZyTcqn4JFthHW

I'll try trim some of them down, I have a 15 minute of me going to town in a round of Rush, including a double kill with a revive and an M-Com disarm in the space of about 5 seconds. I'll cut some crap and send it on.

Even if you send on the full clip, as long as its under 10GB for Dropbox, its fine. I can edit it then if you let me know approx. where the best parts are! :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 984 ✭✭✭XtraFalcon

This trailer is almost a carbon copy of their Dragon's Teeth Trailer.

Also I have an eyebrow raised over the last scene with the knife.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 97 ✭✭limitedIQ

Hi, I just moved over from an xbox360 to a PS4, so anyone up for rounds tonite ? how can I join you guys ?

limitedIQ wrote: »
    Hi, I just moved over from an xbox360 to a PS4, so anyone up for rounds tonite ? how can I join you guys ?

A few of us might be on tonight. If not then you should be able to catch a handful of us on over the weekend.

If you haven't already you can apply on the Platoon Page here.

VOTE NEEDED:

In order to keep this democratic and transparent, I would just like to ask the 5 Leaders of the IRL PS4 Platoon to vote on the recent discussions regarding inactive players etc. This will see the number of members drastically reduced if the vote is successful.

Chris has taken the time to compile a list of members that either haven't been on in a while, aren't running the correct tags or those that simply seem to repeatedly avoid joining on fellow IRL members.
    Should the vote pass by majority, I would suggest giving ALL members the chance to make their presence felt. Put a notification up here, on Boards, and on the Platoon page on Battlelog for 1 week. That way nobody can say they weren't warned.

I vote YES

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭thurlesdrunk

Since when was this a democracy eh Cobra! ;-p I thought there was 6 founders/leaders not 5?! :-)
    VOTE NEEDED:

In order to keep this democratic and transparent, I would just like to ask the 5 Leaders of the IRL PS4 Platoon to vote on the recent discussions regarding inactive players etc. This will see the number of members drastically reduced if the vote is successful.

Chris has taken the time to compile a list of members that either haven't been on in a while, aren't running the correct tags or those that simply seem to repeatedly avoid joining on fellow IRL members.
    Should the vote pass by majority, I would suggest giving ALL members the chance to make their presence felt. Put a notification up here, on Boards, and on the Platoon page on Battlelog for 1 week. That way nobody can say they weren't warned.

I thought there was 6 founders/leaders not 5?! :-)

There WAS 6..........until someone got an Xbox:pac::pac::pac: This is a PS4 clan after all:D

Since when was this a democracy eh Cobra! ;-p

In Cobra we trust.... :pac: haha

Panda.gif

I vote YES

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 252 ✭✭thurlesdrunk

I don't think owning another console alongside a PS4 rules you out of a PS4 clan or did I miss something!?! Otherwise I think most of us might qualify for eviction! :-D
    There WAS 6..........until someone got an Xbox:pac::pac::pac: This is a PS4 clan after all:D

I don't think owning another console alongside a PS4 rules you out of a PS4 clan or did I miss something!?! Otherwise I think most of us might qualify for eviction! :-D

When your active Soldier is on XBone, you're probably not contributing to the PS4 Platoon:p

VOTE NEEDED:

I vote YES.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭cobraeire

lol we`ll i hate to say it but we are 6 :P (plus the boss has the overall rule as well paul ;)) but yes we should trim down the platoon but fair warning has to be giving 1st,we had this type of thing before and it didn`t end to well so care is needed,i know at the end of the day theres only a handfull of us on anyways but we take care of own :P

I vote MAYBE

cobraeire wrote: »
    I vote MAYBE

FFS....

head-desk-bartlett-2.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭SharpCoder

Lets put this into perspective, Myself, Cobra, and Thurles founded the IRL clan for somewhere to play casual with other irish guys and Have fun, not to make it a online democratic party or a regime.

There is no need to "Trim" the clan as it only has 60 odd members as it is, and "removing" member(s) just because they don't have as much free time as you or have more of an interest in earning evey gun in the game then having fun, that's your perogitive, it shouldn't have to be theres.

Since the IRL clan inception we have played many great games and have had fun, but the last year has been marred by this fascination about getting assignments over having fun and having the craic basically and it's put me off joining most the time.

Every player has the option to join 3 clans/platoons, this means he can change to IRL on the fly when he gets on Battlefield 4, this is built into battlelog, and trying to pressure people just takes the fun out of the game and i just can't condone that, sorry.

If you "yes" voters want to make a platoon for boosting, leveling, assignments, you're free to do so, but that's not what we created for IRL platoon for, no matter how you see it.

As for me playing battlefield 4 on PS4 and Xbox one, this makes no impact on my account nor does it make a difference to the IRL platoon as i still have both systems and i still play both systems, and you should keep your idiotic fanboism to yourselves.

Challenge Over

New Challenge Details

New BFFs

cobraeire wrote: »

I vote MAYBE

MindlessUnlinedGreatargus.gif

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 533 ✭✭✭cobraeire

SharpCoder wrote: »
    Lets put this into perspective, Myself, Cobra, and Thurles founded the IRL clan for somewhere to play casual with other irish guys and Have fun, not to make it a online democratic party or a regime.

There is no need to "Trim" the clan as it only has 60 odd members as it is, and "removing" member(s) just because they don't have as much free time as you or have more of an interest in earning evey gun in the game then having fun, that's your perogitive, it shouldn't have to be theres.

Since the IRL clan inception we have played many great games and have had fun, but the last year has been marred by this fascination about getting assignments over having fun and having the craic basically and it's put me off joining most the time.

Every player has the option to join 3 clans/platoons, this means he can change to IRL on the fly when he gets on Battlefield 4, this is built into battlelog, and trying to pressure people just takes the fun out of the game and i just can't condone that, sorry.

If you "yes" voters want to make a platoon for boosting, leveling, assignments, you're free to do so, but thats what we created for IRL platoon for, no matter how you see it.

As for me playing battlefield 4 on PS4 and Xbox one, this makes no impact on my account nor does it make a difference to the IRL platoon as i still have both systems and i still play both systems, and you should keep your idiotic fanboism to yourselves.

Lol dermo just after making a smack down.....DAMMNNNNNN
    pNw6mNH_zps7fkjmypy_1.gif

Irony. Sure how the hell would you know what craic is had if you don't join??!! I think we have all had fun over the past year playing. You don't need to do any assignments or levelling if you don't want to. Just playing online with the other guys is what is the point here. But when have you ever made sense! :pac:
    and you should keep your idiotic fanboism to yourselves.
    People who live in glass houses and all that! :D

Irony. Sure how the hell would you know what craic is had if you don't join??!! I think we have all had fun over the past year playing. You don't need to do any assignments or levelling if you don't want to. Just playing online with the other guys is what is the point here. But when have you ever made sense! :pac:

This coming from mr part time himself lol, I've joined many games, but im not about to join a game where the topic of conversation is what gun i need to unlock today is, or how many kills i need with the ak-47 or whatever random weapon yahs are beading over, this is not fun to me, maybe it's what excites yah but i've already said it ruins a game for me, and you saying it doesn't if we don't do it, is ludacris!, you running about trying to unlock crap instead of your sacred PTFO, then just looking after your own "assignment" agenda, not the teams, that's just hypocrisy at it's best.

Just tonight we had a load of games, on the PS4 in case yahs were confused, where was the assignment ninjas tonight, oh they must be inactive, lets skin them alive lol. You don't seem to be getting the point i'm trying to make though so i'll repeat it in a different way..

Gaming is meant to be fun, not a chore, not this month when i play or next month when i play, PSN and Xbox Live isn't vanishing tomorrow that i need to fill my quota this week, the platoon has already maxed the score a platoon can on battlog months back and removing members should never be an option unless by the last resort, not punishing them for having a life or playing more than one game on their console(s).
    People who live in glass houses and all that!

If that was the case i'd be saying stop looking at maps boys on your pc(s) n play bf4 on ps4 instead yah traitor(s)...kick them already..oh wait, i never did...:pac:...I'm not that petty :rolleyes:

but im not about to join a game where the topic of conversation is what gun i need to unlock today is, or how many kills i need with the ak-47 or whatever random weapon yahs are beading over, this is not fun to me, maybe it's what excites yah but i've already said it ruins a game for me, and you saying it doesn't if we don't do it, is ludacris!, you running about trying to unlock crap instead of your sacred PTFO, then just looking after your own "assignment" agenda, not the teams, that's just hypocrisy at it's best.

Oh so my challenges are clearly the problem then?

Capping flags, dropping beacons and spotting enemies is clearly only looking after our own agenda they couldn't possibility help out the whole team.

The sole purpose is to add that extra challenge (hence the name). If you don't want to do it then you don't simple as.

I'm guessing since I create the challenges the people who do them are just as bad and that list would include Keith, Darren, Mark, Alan, Neimad, Gerry, Paul and Steven.

We work well while doing challenges because we are still trying to achieve the main goal first and foremost which is to win the game and when we win we have fun but we also have fun throwing banter in the chat.

I post the challenges because I get a good response from doing them and they add a new element to the game which the few of us that do them seem to find entertaining.

I would never expect someone to log hours everyday and get 1,000 kills every match. The majority of people on the list have been inactive for more than a year and some don't play Battlefield anymore at all. Out of total simplicity I believe if someone no longer has a connection with the group then remove the ties, which is why sending a PSN to each member asking them if they would like to remain a member of the platoon regardless if they play once a month or once a year would be a better way to approach it.

"Welcome to the IRL PS4 Battlefield 4 Platoon

We welcome all Members!
    IRL tag must be worn but Emblem is optional.
    This platoon to be kept as your active one. "

Being completely honest I don't care how often people play or whether they're good or not. I like the community that I've been involved with for more than a year and I like to try and improve it when I can. So when a couple of weeks ago someone suggested that some inactive members be removed (It wasn't actually the immediate culprits here) it evolved into the current chat that has spanned the past few days. An idea purposed by an someone that's clearly split us into two sides, I would prefer if we just vent everything because if this keeps up it's going to devolve into personal attacks and that will be the dagger that will kill IRL, I'd much prefer to see us carve through the ranks of an enemy team under IRL rather than a bunch of sets that hate each other.

XtraFalcon wrote: »
    Oh so my challenges are clearly the problem then?

Capping flags, dropping beacons and spotting enemies is clearly only looking after our own agenda they couldn't possibility help out the whole team.

The sole purpose is to add that extra challenge (hence the name). If you don't want to do it then you don't simple as.

I'm guessing since I create the challenges the people who do them are just as bad and that list would include Keith, Darren, Mark, Alan, Neimad, Gerry, Paul and Steven.

We work well while doing challenges because we are still trying to achieve the main goal first and foremost which is to win the game and when we win we have fun but we also have fun throwing banter in the chat.

I post the challenges because I get a good response from doing them and they add a new element to the game which the few of us that do them seem to find entertaining.

Not mutually exclusive, but yes they're part of the problem i clearly talked about obviously, and clearly the only new element they add is to your own exclusive goals and beacons, capping flags, and spotting were barely used in any of them, not to mention barely having any of the platoon members active in them at any given time, and if any, didn't attempt them or even participate.
    "Welcome to the IRL PS4 Battlefield 4 Platoon

We welcome all Members!
    IRL tag must be worn but Emblem is optional.
    This platoon to be kept as your active one. "

Well this is obviously when they're playing with us, the other members of the platoon, this doesn't mean who they played with yesterday or tomorrow, but i can see where it may confuse, but the tag must be worn when playing with us or points would not be earned for the platoon but even that is pointless as the points were capped months ago.
    So when a couple of weeks ago someone suggested that some inactive members be removed (It wasn't actually the immediate culprits here) it evolved into the current chat that has spanned the past few days. An idea purposed by an someone that's clearly split us into two sides, I would prefer if we just vent everything because if this keeps up it's going to devolve into personal attacks and that will be the dagger that will kill IRL, I'd much prefer to see us carve through the ranks of an enemy team under IRL rather than a bunch of sets that hate each other.

So when the 5, oh wait the 6 members of the platoons leaders/founders were informed before this was discussed, oh wait before they weren't informed before this post, did you really think it was the fact i was excused before even been informed, in a post that i had to be told about, was this clarity you speak of? and just for enlightment, i have 6 battlefield soldiers in total and 4 of them came before the ps4, I can switch between them at will and is the basis of the functionality of battlelog since it started just like platoon switching is.
    I would never expect someone to log hours everyday and get 1,000 kills every match. The majority of people on the list have been inactive for more than a year and some don't play Battlefield anymore at all. Out of total simplicity I believe if someone no longer has a connection with the group then remove the ties, which is why sending a PSN to each member asking them if they would like to remain a member of the platoon regardless if they play once a month or once a year would be a better way to approach it.

Again, as stated, the platoon members that are not active as of this post make zero difference to the platoon as there is not any reason to remove them bar making our platoon look smaller, which is tiny already, we only have about 60 members, there is no democracy or transparency gained by dumping players and have seen nothing yet to indicate othwerwise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭jaffusmax

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 954 ✭✭✭PaddyBomb

Cheers for the games last night, lads. First time playing Conquest so didn't really know what I was supposed to be doing at the start :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,604 ✭✭✭jaffusmax

PaddyBomb wrote: »
    Cheers for the games last night, lads. First time playing Conquest so didn't really know what I was supposed to be doing at the start :pac:

All I do is pick the opposite team and try and Shank then teabag Cobraeire or Borderfox!

PaddyBomb wrote: »

Good to see yah in there Paddy, was good craic.
    jaffusmax wrote: »
    All I do is pick the opposite team and try and Shank then teabag Cobraeire or Borderfox!

ahem!, i just rememeber one shanking last night and it wasn't me lol

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 219 ✭✭psnKOB79LFC

Wow that's an interesting discussion above. I am surely one of those who don't join a lot of matches and could then be on the chopping block.

The problem with clans now is the fragmentation of the gaming community with so many dlcs and game modes. When I first joined a clan we played bfbc2 rush 95% of the time and it was unreal. Now with 30 maps and 10+ game modes it is hard to please everyone.

Personally speaking I think rush is best suited for clans too because communication is relevant in that it is more effective and squad play can be great when attacking mcomms but it seems that no one plays rush. Also vanilla maps seem to be order of the day and I would prefer dlc maps at this stage.

Another problem is that a good squad can steamroll the opposition and while that is the point, it gets boring fairly quick. That's the problem with BF, a team game that is great as a team but not when the matches are steamrollers

McugphK.jpg?1

Jesus, I go to work for a few hours :eek::eek:

Couple of things just to clear the air;

1)Regarding 5 Leaders, instead of 6.....for the last few weeks I've been working 6 nights a week so haven't been on much. When I did get on I was told that Dermot had left the PS4 for the XBone. As such, I figured he had removed himself from PS4 activities.

2)For prespective, I know when and why the Platoon was started. Cobra couldn't do it cos he wasn't Premium and several people in fact offered to start one up. Paul happened to be the first to offer, he was on every day and always on mic so everyone was happy. If my memory serves me right, Dermot wasn't bothered by the idea of a Platoon at the time anyway.

3)My view on trimming the members is simple and it's almost as if the term 'inactive' is being misunderstood. We have lads who haven't played Battlefield in over 6/7/8/9 months! There is literally no reason to keep them on the roster except to boost our numbers. Only getting on once or twice a week isn't inactive, selling the game and not playing anymore is though. However, I did say that if the vote was passed, all members should still get a chance to make themselves heard. Should that be by a post on Boards, on Battlelog or PSN, they should still be informed before being removed.

4)Chris' Challenges......I honestly enjoy these challenges. If I don't like the thoughts of doing it, I don't do it. As much fun as this game is with friends, it can still get pretty boring running the same loadout every round. If you remove the stupid Commander ones, I've already completed 93 out of 103 Assignments anyway, I've Mastered 36 weapons ranging from Assault Rifles to Sniper Rifles to pistols....all while having fun, playing the game normally, PTFOing, keeping a SPM of over 700 and the second highest Squad Score in the whole Platoon behind KOB. So to suggest that these Challenges distract me from helping the team is a little over the top. Also worth noting that we actually started doing 'Missions' on Battleog over a year ago. They were limited to 5 players so very restrictive, which is what lead to Chris taking time out of his week to come up targets and track the individual stats of several members at once.

5)I will never encourage boosting nor be in any Platoon or Clan that engages in it. I like this Platoon and the players in it. I've been asked to join other platoons before but to be honest, I have fun here. The idea of a Platoon with Assault only head glitchers doesn't appeal to me. I struggle to think of a single night with IRL members were I've had to turn off the PS4 cos I'm in a bad mood. It's fun getting perma banned from Servers cos we're destroying the owners:D.

6)Correct me if I'm wrong, but the 5 Leaders I asked to vote were infact informed before my post. I was presumably the last to know as when I joined the chat on Sunday, I was told of the plans. Paul, Alan, Chris and Keith had already been online for a while so I imagine it came up before I joined.

Look, this was never supposed to turn into a civil war. The idea was simply to streamline the Platoon into those still actually playing the game. Sure we still have new guys joining, it would be handy if they didn't have to send 61 friend requests just to find someone online.