Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

DCM 2015: Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Greenmachine

Congrats to all finishers, and a big thumbs up for all who hit any PB's some real good looking times.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭FeenaM

you nailed it today and I reckon there's another couple of mins in it for you as you looked very fresh at the end.
    1:40 for the HM??

Fingers crossed :-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,015 ✭✭✭jake1970

Well done the Novices:D:D:D.
    It looks like everyone racing had a good day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,202 ✭✭✭Gavlor

Didn't die. Finished smiling and sprinting. Not injured. Legs don't work.

Having guinness. Can't talk.

Race report probably tomorrow.

Cheers
    https://scontent-fra3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xfp1/t31.0-8/11950169_10153663319040984_3852747408231062342_o.jpg?efg=eyJpIjoidCJ9

Lol at this race reportless post getting the most thanks...... I wonder why?!!

On a completely different topic, you should all throw up a picture so us pacers can spot ye on the big day :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

Gavlor wrote: »

On a completely different topic, you should all throw up a picture so us pacers can spot ye on the big day :D

Chancer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,202 ✭✭✭Gavlor

Chancer.

I prefer the term creep thanks very much.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,508 ✭✭✭ratracer

Reasons I love this thread: 1) it's full of ordinary Joe's and Josephine's like me
    2) without reading this thread today I wouldn't have bothered my ar$e getting out and running ;) !!

So congrats to all the FD 10 milers today, great racing and I'm sorry I missed the flapjack meet again!!
    I'm in Killarney on a family celebration, last night i celebrated, and so had no interest or inclination to run today until I read all the incoming race reports. After this I decided to follow an earlier maxim in this thread and just go out for 10 mins, so at least if I turned around then I'd have run for 20 mins! I've seen someone from the thread runs around this neck of the woods, ( from Strava, haven't uploaded yet), so I had a rough idea of where I wanted to run, through Killarney National Park.

I ended up a little bit lost, but delighted that in my hungover and tired state that I managed to still run 17.5 km, which I most certainly would not have bothered with only for you guys driving me on!!

I'm gonna make a big effort to make it up to the big smoke for the half, regardless of having to be there for the hurling final so close to it!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

Firedance wrote: »
    Well done on all the pbs today guys & gals! Hope you're all celebrating & having a well earned rest :) really lovely to meet Mrs mac, Toulouse, denisb & great to see you again nope. I was going to sample the flapjacks (they looked lovely) but couldn't get past FBOT to grab one :D

The flapjack were indeed delicious. Thanks Toulouse. I was disappointed though that Singer took the last one before they got back around to me....you snooze you lose :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

FBOT01 wrote: »
    The flapjack were indeed delicious. Thanks Toulouse. I was disappointed though that Singer took the last one before they got back around to me....you snooze you lose :)

Kennyg71 wrote: »
    Had to collect kids, home, shower, ice dragged around pavilions.
    Time today 80.06 mins

Well done FBOT on naked run & thanks for shot out at end,found
    Little more, didn't know I had.

Post more tomorrow, well done all novices & good meeting up,
    Lovely flapjacks tolouse

Well done G. Any day you can get in and out of the Pavillions in 80.06mins is a good day :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭diego_b

Loving the race reports and all the great times and PBs, well done to you all today!

For me today it was a 14mile LSR this morning starting at 9:10am....I am in wave 2 for DCM so said I will start at 9:10am today for a change as I will on the day. I had some concerns about my achilles as I posted on Thursday night but I following MrsMc's suggestion for a good foam rolling session on the calf muscles so I did that before going to bed last night and then some more this morning. Things were feeling good so said I'd go for it. It was a run I was looking forward to ask I was going to be running from my parents home (just outside Borris in Ossory) where I grew up to the nearest town (Roscrea, 7 miles away) where I went to secondary school. In my youth I thought it too far to even cycle only for a handful of times and today I was going to run it and turn around and run home!
    I brought my water belt with the High 5 Zero in it, and extra bottle to stash around the 3 mile mark for me to collect on the return leg. It felt like it was going to get pretty warm so said might as well have the extra water to hand. Decided to do the run at MP+1min so around 10min miles. Total run took me 2hr 20min 36secs so was pretty close on the pacing.
    Carried 3 shot blocks with me that I took every 3 miles and I also took a standard high 5 gel at 6 miles...I had an isogel with me as well but I like to keep them as they are the ones I use more in races.

Avg pace 10:02, average heart rate 147bpm
    Splits
    10:20
    10:01
    10:03
    10:04
    9:57
    10:01
    9:52
    10:07
    9:53
    9:56
    10:02
    10:04
    10:10
    10:02

My Achilles felt fine throughout but I did start to feel a bit of discomfort in my calf on the same side after about 7 miles but I would have graded it very low on the pain scale so kept tipping away. It was a bit sore afterwards but I gave it a good going on the foam roller and that seems to have helped. I have already got a sports massage booked for Tuesday morning at 8am so if I still have an issue with it then I will get it checked out by the therapist.
    Got back to Kerry this evening and wearing my new Saucony Ride 7s around my home to try break them in (likely to be the ones I do DCM in all going well), feeling good so far and the calf as well seems to be happy with itself so hopefully nothing to amiss there. Got a new foam roller in Dublin yesterday as well and that definitely made a difference comparing it with my old foam roller for the resistance it offers.

JacEim wrote: »
    Congratulations to everyone on their fantastic PB's / personal achievements / just getting it done or whatever other positives people took from the race today!!!! (Even the flapjacks seem to be a highlight!!!)

Weekly report:

This has been an up and down week for me. Training for this program has really been by the book for me. I'm following the program and probably doing a couple of miles more per week than the program calls for. I've also gotten comfortable with the fact that I can run all my runs a little faster than the program calls for (which will hopefully give me some cushion in the race!)
    This week I was planned for some recovery after my HM race last weekend and then a couple of tempo sessions mid week which I flew through despite the exertions of the HM, and gives me great confidence that my body can sustain the training levels.
    HOWEVER.... I've been getting a funny feeling in my chest since Tuesday..
    It feels like my heart is racing a little bit and while not painful or anything it just feels odd!!. Was away all week so when I got home yesterday I put on my HR strap and lay down on the bed. Interestingly when I had the feeling that the heart was racing my HRM was reading 48 bpm!!! On one level I was thinking that this was great, my fitness levels must be pretty good at the moment, but still worrying that I'm feeling like this. I slept till 10am this morning and I had a nap for an hour with my son this afternoon before my LSR - perhaps I have a virus or something!!
    Didn't tell the better half yet (I'm a man so obviously ignore any signs or symptoms of something being wrong!!)

Today was a 16m run - longest run I've ever done by 2m. Didn't get out till 4.30 and had read a good few of the reports from today which really gave me an adrenaline shot going out the door!

Felt great on the run and had to consciously slow down. Did the first 8m in 1.08.21 (8.33 average) and felt good. Planned negative split again but didn't want to push too hard.
    Took two gels with me today for the first time. Had one at 10m and one at 13m. Really felt a boost from them - how am I going to manage 6 of them in the race :)
    Second 8m in 1.04.43 (8.05 average) for a total time of 2.13.16 for the 16m.
    Legs felt strong and I think I could have done another 2-3 miles at the same pace!!!

Heart is still fluttering again this evening, but am going out for beers with friends. Am thinking I need a trip to doctor on Monday.
    Anyway, I might die.... But I did 16M today and it felt great, Yippee!!!
    Enjoy a celebratory beer / wine / ice cream or whatever tonight - you deserve it!!!

Not sure the above qualifies as training by the book :)

On the chest issue go to the doc and get the all clear. Better safe than sorry!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

I prefer the term creep thanks very much.

ah here, yiz aren't starting the pacer trash talk ALREADY this year?? isn't it too early for that??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Hi JacEim, +1 to FBOT's post. You certainly can run longer and faster than the programme paces but keep in mind the mitochondrial recruitment that you get from 'longer and slower'. This is all money in the Bank of Endurance. And definitely see a doctor about the heartbeat/rate. Let us know how you get on. We expect a post re this by 11am Monday morning, right?!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭JacEim

FBOT01 wrote: »
    Not sure the above qualifies as training by the book :)

On the chest issue go to the doc and get the all clear. Better safe than sorry!

Thanks FB. Just back from some tasty beverages and still basking in the glow of the run from today :) . I hear you - I'm not running to the paces, but I'm following the day by day schedule...

It's funny, my chest feels great right now 😷

Hopefully some of you guys are still partying tonight - everything in moderation!! ðŸ»ðŸ»ðŸ»

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

JacEim wrote: »
    Thanks FB. Just back from some tasty beverages and still basking in the glow of the run from today :) . I hear you - I'm not running to the paces, but I'm following the day by day schedule...

It's funny, my chest feels great right now 😷

Hopefully some of you guys are still partying tonight - everything in moderation!! ðŸ»ðŸ»ðŸ»

Just an aside to this, yesterday after FD several of the novices commented that they were delighted they could still go fast in a race despite all the slow miles and that 'running slow does work ' stick to your plans pace and you'll reap the rewards come race day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Oh my god ! Was having a lie in this morn after FD yesterday. Awake since 7.30 am my body is saying its LSR day get up !!! :(

I'm assuming it's because I was doing a different race to the other novices we all thought I might die, they must have been so ecstatic to see my alive face :D

Race Report - Warriors Run

My goal for this race was to finish this without injury, and without creasing myself. My trainer had told me to ignore the garmin, to ignore any sort of goal finishing time, to run by feel and to get off the mountain in one piece. That was all I was allowed to do and it suited me just fine. I would have liked to beat last year's time on top of that.

My stomach was extremely sick all morning, I assumed it was only nerves and it would pass. Unfortunately it didn't, and I felt quite nauseous for most of the race and the rest of the evening.

I did a decent warm up, and was ready at the start line with 2 minutes to go.

Mile 1
    This is where I am told most people ruin their entire race, it's a steep uphill out of the village and people tend to get caught up in the crowd and run beyond their abilities. I wasn't going to make that mistake, so I shuffled along, people passing me out all over the place but I didn't let that get into my head. I was soon passing out some of these people already as they stopped to walk on the steepest part. My pace felt good here I was happy that it felt steady and once over the peak of the hill I settled nicely into it.

Miles 2-3
    This begins with a nice little downhill, then straight into rolling hills, with little descent for your ascent. I was happy here, enough pressure that I knew I could keep going for a good while. I made a friend here and was able to talk, this kept me in check, as I could speak, but not so easily that I wasn't putting enough effort in.

Mile 4
    This road - The infamous Glen Road, is at an almost 90 degree angle and leads to the foot of the mountain. When I ran the route a few weeks ago, this is where my sciatica flared up, so I had already made the decision to walk the worst part of this, I walked fast enough that I was passing joggers, and others who had stopped to walk.

Mile 5-6
    THE MOUNTAIN >.<
    There are only a small number of runners who will actually run the mountain, it's very technical, and very difficult to comprehend the terrain until you're on it. There are very few opportunities to overtake others here, so you are at the mercy of those ahead of you, and as I had taken it handy earlier on, I was stuck behind some slower runners here. I overtook whenever there was a chance, and I ran at every opportunity, I was the only one at that stage doing so. I still lost a lot of time up here, much more time that I would have liked.
    I tried taking smaller steps to keep my quads from doing too much work, I knew that I had a steep and technical ascent ahead, as well as a undulating roads once off the mountain. My runners were slipping sideways on my feet the entire time which was difficult to deal with, a lighter show would have been better I think.

The ascent is difficult, but it's downhill right? I ran this as quickly as I could, but it started to rain and the stones got slippy, at one point I felt my ankle twinge and thought feck this, I'm walking. So this was a mixed effort, running anywhere I felt safe, walking elsewhere.

Mile 7-8
    Once off the mountain, it's straight into another hill, steep enough and tough on the legs, the reward is a little downhill but it doesn't last long!! I felt my sciatica in my hip niggle here so I moved over to the other side of the road where the camber gave relief. The rolling hills for the next while are tough enough on the legs, I got a sudden cramp right up into my calf which stopped me right in my tracks with a yelp. It sorted itself pretty quickly and I was back at a jog again. I took a walking break after the next water station and did a quick body scan to make sure everything was feeling ok. I had niggles in a few places, but nothing to worry about. At the top of the final peak, I could see the sea and knew I was nearly home with little over a mile to go, straight into a steep downhill which just feels lovely, you get a nice recovery here.

Mile 9 - finish
    A long drag back out the main road here, I didn't have much left in my legs to push hard but I was feeling happy that I had gotten this far without hurting anything. This brings you into another hill but you know once you get to the top, you're downhill all the way to the finish.

The entire way since I came off the mountain, people were cheering for Maria, I turned to her on the final hill and laughed "I wish my name was Maria" She told me not to stop that she was following my footsteps. So on I went. The finish line seemed to be in sight forever, and about 200 metres from the line I heard people cheering for Maria again, I was fecked if she was beating me now so I booted it over the line. I was grinning big as I did so - stark contrast to my sobs of relief last year. I did almost puke however (sorry!).

I didn't beat my time from last year, which really was such a pity, because I did so much better than last year, but I think it was purely down to losing time on the mountain moreso this year than last.

I had a good chat with myself just as I came to the top of the mountain, that I wasn't doing this race next year. But of course afterward I thought that maybe if I have it as my goal race net year, and specifically train for it, it might be nice. Reminding myself that sure I was only back running hills a few weeks ago since injury!!!!

Post race pints turned into one pint and a couple of vodkas and soda water, my tummy was very sick all evening and still is. Body is tired today. My hips are very very stiff and my quads and calves are tired.

30 minute recovery run to be done later.

My car is parked 10 miles away, I actually took a notion earlier to jog out and get it :o There's something actually wrong with us lads, we're all fcuked in the head!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Well done whoopsa makes the FD sound like an easy jog compared to the hills and downhills you had to suffer. Enjoy the recovery today and congrats.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭denis b

Whoopsa.... well done. You showed great control and decision making with so much to adapt to as well. Remember this success and tuck it away for your next venture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭Toulouse

Mrs Mc wrote: »
    Oh my god ! Was having a lie in this morn after FD yesterday. Awake since 7.30 am my body is saying its LSR day get up !!! :(

Me too! Woke up hungry at 6.45am, not impressed. O_o

On the other hand, the body feels fine! Rolled and Deep Heated the calf last night, same again this morning.

Then went to the gym and did 4km slow on the dreadmill as it's pretty wet down this part of the country. Calf held up fine, no pain at all to run but still a little tender when I go poking and prodding at it. Did a little work out then and home now having a cuppa! Yay :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭Toulouse

My car is parked 10 miles away, I actually took a notion earlier to jog out and get it :o There's something actually wrong with us lads, we're all fcuked in the head!

Haha! Well done G, so so happy for you!

That reminds me of a t-shirt I saw yesterday during the FD which said 'Running is a mental sport.....and we're all insane.'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭diego_b

That sounds like a nuts race course in fairness!! Great running and sounds to me like you managed it very smartly and played the risks correctly, there's bigger fish to fry and you're coming off the race in good shape. Well done again!

Toulouse wrote: »
    Me too! Woke up hungry at 6.45am, not impressed. O_o

On the other hand, the body feels fine! Rolled and Deep Heated the calf last night, same again this morning.

Then went to the gym and did 4km slow on the dreadmill as it's pretty wet down this part of the country. Calf held up fine, no pain at all to run but still a little tender when I go poking and prodding at it. Did a little work out then and home now having a cuppa! Yay :D

My advice would be to avoid poking and prodding at it for a couple of day so ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Kennyg71

Murph_D wrote: »
    That really is a great time, G. Sorry for addressing you by surname only afterwards, my brain was still a bit fried! And fair play to the Mrs for the great support on the course.

Thanks D, no worries, I call people wrong name & get blanks on
    Names all the time, Mrs has even said she may run next year &
    Was impressd by how well everyone seemed to cope with distance.

She may catch bug yet😄

Mrs Mc wrote: »
    Well done G and big shout out to no 1 supporter today Mrs kennyg !!!

Well done yourself on PB, no bother to you. Had to Taxi MrsG out
    Last night in return for all support, she still can't raise head, told
    Her she wouldn't feel as bad if she had Run 10 miles😋

Went out at 9.30 this morning for 6 miles recovery avg. 10.20, much
    easier slowing down after yesterday's Race, little later than last few
    Weeks LSR. Just had a tought this time last year 6 miles was my long
    run, now just short recovery run,after few Months training , how far
    We have come already.

this week was easy training week, according to plan, did early run
    Tuesday morning, then Physio Tuesday evening, got good pounding,
    maybe to good, was sore all week, busy in work, had to go places
    Straight after runs, no excerise done, little stretching, no iceing
    was not looking forward to FD on Saturday.

Had bath with Epsom salt Friday evening, some stretching, foam rolling
    remind my self, it is days & weeks before this week that will count.
    have look at boards, seems not only one having bad week, maybe these
    Easy weeks, not all cracked up to be, or maybe phantom tapering pains
    Fear of not being prepared.

Got to Park in plenty of time, mile or so Warm up some stretching, feeling
    More confident, had decided to try for 80 mins. So get into sub 80 section.

Race gets going.
    Mile 1. Running feels easy, see runners I know passing, tempted to follow
    But decide to hold back, lucky as first mile clocks in at 7.38
    Well ahead of pace.

Mile 2. Meet another runner I know, kind of know their pace & they said
    Trying for similar time, chatting away pace drops to 8.10

Mile 3&4 friend had stitch so pace drops to 8.20 & 8.08 stop to walking
    Pace at water stop, as per marathon plan, nearly caused pile up, will
    Have to invest in hazard lights.

Miles 5,6,7 start to run on myself get into good rythem 8.01
    8.0 & 8.0 got some inside info, of 2 mile drag down at mile 6,beginning
    To think it's a myth, until come to water. Station at mile 7 where nearly
    Cause another pile up, stopping to walk through water station, see drag
    Down where was told could pull back bit of time, it was more like half
    Mile before we exit park to pretty flat section.

Mile 8. Get slight twing in back, run, tall & relaxed mantra pops in to
    Head, concentrate on form & run it off 7.47

Mile 9 hit hill felling good, but takes toal, get shout out & get bit more
    Energy 8.13

Mile 10. Need to put bit work if want to hit A Goal, so speed up a bit, see
    A runner stopped about 100 m ahead, tell him half mile to go, don't loose
    It so close to finish, he picks up at my pace & we drag each other for couple
    Mins, then he hares off for finish,I let him go, then get shot from FBOT & get
    Bit more out of legs 7.47

Meet guy who had stopped, he told me he was going for75 mins & had
    Burned him self out, he was on second stop feeling sorry for him self
    He ended up finishing under 80 mins & thanked for encouagement &
    Said 79 mins better than 85 the way he felt at time, he finished strong
    And did not think he had anything else in him when he stopped. So
    advice on having secondary goals, good advice if not going well on the
    day, so head does not go down.

Good to meet other Runners, most who where very happy with days
    Work, and Novice Runners, who all seemed to have good runs despite
    Pre race jitters.

And glad to say Nights drinking took more out of MrsG than race took
    Out of me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Toulouse wrote: »
    Haha! Well done G, so so happy for you!

That reminds me of a t-shirt I saw yesterday during the FD which said 'Running is a mental sport.....and we're all insane.'

Nice to meet you and various other novices yesterday. Well done everyone and nice flapjacks!! Glad I got there before Singer polished them off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

10 mile LSR done this morning. Nothing remarkable about it except for a 3 mile split streak. Also, had a gel with me but didn't take it as I didn't feel I needed to.

Mile 1: 16:28 warm up
    Mile 2: 15:15 part warm up
    Mile 3: 14:38
    Mile 4: 14:38
    Mile 5: 14:38
    Mile 6: 14:43
    Mile 7: 14:54
    Mile 8: 14:59
    Mile 9: 14:52
    Mile 10: 16:18 cool down

Miles 7 and 8 were slower as I couldn't help but gawk at the triathlon taking place on Chesterfield Ave.

Got home, stretched, showered, recovery etc. Had a nap as I'm doing something tonight and wanted to be well rested; had a dream about running! There's no escape! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

It's a bit of a come-down, from 10 hard, satisfying miles with 1000s of others, to 5 miserable recovery miles all on my own in soaken wet local park. Not to mention the lack of flapjacks after! Oh well, such is the life of a DCM novice :)

Great weekend of running, folks, and thanks for all the race & LSR reports, I really enjoy reading them! Week 10 starts tomorrow, I try not to think of the 19M LSR :eek: (Friday afternoon for me, as I have visitors all weekend).

I am half jealous to be missing the DCHM, and the flapjacks and pints after. Then again, mobfromcork and I can have a pint in Cardiff on all your PBs!!