Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

DCM 2015: Mentored Novices Thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

Well done on all the pbs today guys & gals! Hope you're all celebrating & having a well earned rest :) really lovely to meet Mrs mac, Toulouse, denisb & great to see you again nope. I was going to sample the flapjacks (they looked lovely) but couldn't get past FBOT to grab one :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

Race week

Last week was a heavy week (my first over 50 miles), so it was nice to take it easier this week. I only ran on Tuesday (a fast 7'43 6.5 miles), Wednesday (8'40 9 miles run commute home) and then a slow 3.5 miles (9'26) on Friday evening to loosen up the legs.

Race day

Woke up at 7, hung out with the 1 year old, made a large bowl of porridge with honey and peanut butter in it. Had a cup of coffee and sipped on some water. Arrived at the Phoenix Park pointlessly early (8.40) and strolled around for a bit before getting changed into running shoes and dumped the bag. Did a brief warm-up (maybe .5k) and headed into the first wave (despite aiming for well under 80 minutes, I still get a little bit of imposter syndrome being surrounded by the club runners etc.).

Race plan: Pretty much the same as the Fingal 10k - find a comfortable enough pace, stick with it and try not to die at the end. Last year I ran this in 1:30:30, but I had to walk a bit on the hill after the 8 mile mark. Oh and smile, etc. :)

The 10 mile distance is interesting, as it's the one I've now done the most - I did last year's FD in 1:30 and the Trim AC 10m in Feb in 1:18, so it's the best benchmark I have for my progression since starting running.

1st mile: 7'01
    The start wasn't very congested, I didn't need to do much ducking and diving. The pace wasn't taxing, feeling good. Conscious of not going flat out down Chesterfield.

2nd mile: 6'53

Still ticking over, and feeling good going past the zoo.

3rd mile: 6'58

Around here I ended up running shoulder to shoulder with a female club runner for a mile or two. It's nice to go with somebody at your pace for a while. I ended up going ahead, breaking up our short term relationship. I got a compliment for having a "great smile" at the water :) (I was smiling, it wasn't sarcasm)

4th mile: 6'57

It got a small bit congested here on the path, but slowing down slightly suited me.

5th mile: 6'49

Breathing got a little uncomfortable, but just worked at it and ended up feeling grand.

6th mile: 6'49

? Only interesting part is an identical mile split.

7th mile: 6:59

Definitely feeling it now. Tummy got a little uncomfortable, but passed some wind and all was right with the world again :)

8th mile: 7:02

Effort increased out on the road, knowing the hills were coming up didn't help. Fortunately not too windy.

9th mile: 7'30

Bloody hill. I had to walk a bit on this last year. I went in fast enough on the first slope up, but then ran out of juice. Got passed out a good bit here and breathing again got a little difficult. One of the passer-outers gave me some encouragement as he sauntered on by, so I must have looked/sounded miserable :)

10th mile: 7'15

The general misery continued until the last third of a mile, everybody sped up so I followed suit. It felt good finishing up with 1:11ish on the clock. Definitely couldn't do much right after, other than be delighted to not be running :)

Target time: 1:13ish
    Actual time: 1:10:30 :)

Obviously very happy with the time. Vdot nicely creeping up, now 48.4 :)
    My Nike app reckoned the first 10k was faster than the Fingal 10k (42:54!).

Post-run was great, nyomed 3 of Toulouse's flapjacks and generally hung out with and had great chats with the Novices gang :D The flapjack baton has been officially passed on to TFGR.

Took ages to drive out of the park. You can't win them all :)

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    Singer estimated finish time 68 mins :cool:
    Nop on track for nearly 10 min PB :):)

Singer's in... unofficial 70:28, I think we can safely say he slashed his PB!!!
    And yep, looks like Nop got his 10 min PB!
    Can't find anyone else so far :(

My shameful positive split out in the open like this :(;) :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

Great day out and a shiny new PB of 1:18:56 :)

Really nice to finally meet-up with some of the fellow Novices and several other boardsies. Toulouse, your flapjacks are delicious!

I wrote some more about the race on my training log here, in case you're interested..

Oh, and a "lesson learned": keep the toenails short. Nuff said.. :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭denis b

Thank you , thank you, thank you Toulouse for those flapjacks (I pb'd and had three!!!!!!!!). Great to put a few more names to faces and glad to see that the event worked out for everyone. As an even older and more considered runner said to me as we waited for the start " any day you can get out of your bed and line up for a race like this is a good one".

I had never run a 10 mile race before and fed my 10km Fingal time into McMillan. Suggested time was 1.18.37. I decided to try for that and used it to pace myself through the course. I managed to steal a few seconds on the more favourable parts of the course and got in at 1.18.00 on the button. Managed a 15 second negative split (bit marginal I imagine) which I was happy with considering we had a fair kick up that last hill for the guts of a km.

On Reflection: my runners are perfect, carried a water bottle belt and used it, could have gone out maybe 5 secs per km faster for the first 7km and should have pushed on for the 2 km run outside the park. I had steadied up a little trying to keep something in reserve for the hill. Plenty learnt and am really believing in the "run slow to run fast". The legs felt good throughout the race and I think the endurance is improving. This is what I would have been most concerned about.

Splits Time Cum. Time Avg HR Cadence
    1 4:45.4 4:45. 148 167
    2 4:54.7 9:40. 152 168
    3 4:56.3 14:36 153 169
    4 4:52.6 19:29 155 169
    5 5:01.3 24:30 156 170
    6 4:59.6 29:30 158 170
    7 4:55.3 34:25 158 170
    8 4:47.7 39:13 159 171
    9 4:54.2 44:07 159 171
    10 4:47.2 48:54 158 171
    11 4:46.5 53:41 159 171
    12 4:44.7 58:26 158 171
    13 4:55.8 1:03:21 160 171
    14 5:02.9 1:08:24 163 170
    15 4:56.5 1:13:21 167 172
    16 4:29.0 1:17:50 170 171
    17 0:13.7 1:18:03 174 157

Time Distance Avg. HR. Max HR
    Summary 1:18:03 16.06 271 4:52 158 175

denis b wrote: »

Time Distance Avg. HR. Max HR
    Summary 1:18:03 16.06 271 4:52 158 175

Very nice consistent times and great negative split! Not easy on that course. At least that's my excuse :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭denis b

Singer wrote: »
    Very nice consistent times and great negative split! Not easy on that course. At least that's my excuse :)

And a serious congrats on your pb. You had time to cool off and look very relaxed by the time the rest of us arrived.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Great run in the PP today, great to meet up with everyone and thanks to Toulouse for the flapjacks they were yum. Time 1.34.41 PB for me, splits are below

1 mile 9.18
    2 miles 9.40
    3 miles 9.32
    4 miles 9.34
    5 miles 9.10
    6 miles 9.24
    7 miles 9.05
    8 miles 9.16
    9 miles 10.01 (the dreaded hill !!!)
    10 miles 9.28

Up at 6.45 am should have been up at 6 but set my mid week alarm instead of my weekend alarm, so was a little stressed that I was behind in my schedule but that was me just being a bit dramatic and it all worked out grand. Had my porridge, cup of tea and did my stretches. Heading over to the PP with FBOT and got my race instructions. Met up with the St Annes Park run gang and did a 1 mile warm up before the race. Met Toulouse in the 2nd wave and we set off . Kept a reasonably steady pace for the run, legs felt good. Was delighted to have Toulouse's company from mile 5 on didn't notice the miles then. I lost her on the hill where the legs just got too tired to keep the pace. Was delighted with my finish time. I was worried about being able to run faster after the running slow over the past few weeks but as DG assured us stick to the plan and it will all work out. A good days work. Enjoy the weekend everyone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭Toulouse

Aww thanks everyone, glad you enjoyed them and nobody objected to the prunes (they can be polarising!).

Big thanks to Mrs. Mc for the company, wasn't having a great time of it up until we met again at mile 5 so huge kudos for the help!

My week was a bit strange. Did 6.5 miles on Tuesday and hurt my calf. Stretched, rolled and rested for the remainder of the week until this morning. Also my diet re-jig is not really agreeing with me so have been very bloated and uncomfortable all week, that is getting the boot this week!!

Last night I was restless. Made the flapjacks, did my batch cooking for dinner for the week, got all my gear organised and eventually sat down to relax at about 10pm. Slept fine and then this morning was up at 7am to have breakfast (porridge, banana and chia seeds). I also had a big cup of strong coffee which I don't normally have but didn't really have an option (draw conclusions from diet re-jig above).

Mooched around the house until leaving at 9am to head over to the park. I jogged the last mile to warm up taking care not to upset the precious cargo (flapjacks) I was carrying. It was really warm and not the warm I like but muggy and sticky. I was sweating after a mile at 12min/mi pace! Dropped my bag and spent about 20 mins searching for the loos. Queues were big but moved pretty quickly and I bumped into my boss. Was good to see a familiar face and when we entered Wave 2 I also met Mrs. Mc. We got a bit lost then between the waves and suddenly we were off, I hadn't even heard the starting announcement.

Mile 1: 9:36min/mi
    I have to admit, I wasn't feeling the love. I told Mrs. Mc to do her own thing and off she sped. This mile was right on pace for me but I'd decided that if I had to do 10 like that one then it was going to be a rough day at the office. Having said that I also reminded myself that it would take a little while for the the endorphins to kick in so I just put my head down and kept on keeping on.

Mile 2: 9:46min/mi
    Another tough mile. There was an upward drag at the Zoo that I wasn't prepared for. I was too tuned into my watch and I knew it. Seeing that little 'behind pace' message was not helping me. Still I philosophised that even if this mile was crappy, that didn't necessarily mean that the next one would be.

Mile 3: 9:32min/mi
    Started to feel a bit better. The route was quite crowded but already there were people starting to stop and walk. I checked in with myself, my breathing and form were good. I decided to stop checking the watch. I was starting to feel better.

Mile 4: 9:32min/mi
    More of the same really, kept catching glimpses of Mrs. Mc's arm shooting up from the crowd in front, waving to people she knew, and it made me smile. Didn't bother to get any water as it all seemed to be big bottles and I wouldn't have been able for it. My calf had also started to hurt but I said hello to the pain and kept going.

Mile 5: 9:21min/mi
    From here on in is what I like to call the Mrs. Mc effect. Finally caught her and even though I always thought I liked to run my own race it was fantastic to have her company. Pace picked up a bit.

Mile 6: 9:15min/mi
    We were tipping away now even though I thought this part of the course was very congested and difficult to run on. I told Mrs. Mc about my calf and she gave me some tips to loosen it up which worked for a bit.

Mile 7: 9:03min/mi
    Got a little sip of water at the station. We were flying now coming out of the park and it was nice to be out on the road outside with plenty of room to run. I know this part well so knew how far we had to go.

Mile 8: 9:15min/mi
    I decided to take a gel in anticipation for the uphill drag that I knew was coming up. It was the first time to try the Isogel type of gel but it went down okay and anyway, it's all practice for the big day. (Thanks to PJD for the suggestion).

Mile 9: 9:37min/mi
    The calf was screaming at this stage but there was no way I was listening to it. I saw the uphill and just had to start passing people. Apart from the pain in my leg I felt good.

Mile 10: 8:31min/mi
    I knew there was only 1 left so I might as well go as fast as I could. I reflected that there was no point thinking that I could have done more afterwards. It would be too late by then. As one of the supporters said 'there are no miles after this' and she was right. Finished strong. Had no idea what time as I'd long stopped looking at my watch.

Result: PB: 1:33:24

Headed off to meet the gang and get the flapjacks. Was great to see you all!!

Happy with the result, gives me a good idea of what I need to do for the Half and makes me feel that yes, I think I can do the marathon in the time that I want to. Thanks to KennyG, Nop and FBOT for the advice and encouragement.

Walked home and stretched my calf. Now that I've sat down for a bit, it's getting sore but I'm not concerned about it and it's not the same place that I hurt the first time or indeed the same place that hurt earlier this week. Think I might book myself in for a sports massage as I think I could do with it. Will look after it for the next couple of days and if I think I need the physio then I'll go but I don't think I will.

Didn't die. Finished smiling and sprinting. Not injured. Legs don't work.

Having guinness. Can't talk.

Race report probably tomorrow.

Cheers
    https://scontent-fra3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xfp1/t31.0-8/11950169_10153663319040984_3852747408231062342_o.jpg?efg=eyJpIjoidCJ9

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 259 ✭✭duffer247

Hi All
    Well done to everyone. I was hoping on saying hello but it was fairly chaotic after the finish line, especially as I was staring at people's hands to see if they were eating flapjacks!! next time hopefully
    Anyhow it was fairly warm this morning but didn't affect me too much. My watch was acting up prior to race so I planned to think less about times and get the head up and enjoy. Really enjoyed it today and found it a really good distance. Leaving the park out on the road around mile 8 was a bit uncomfortable and I was strangely glad to turn in even I was met with the hill.
    Finished bang on 1.30 and would've been happy with anything under 1.35 so it feels great.
    1 9.06
    2 9.14
    3 9.13
    4 8.59
    5 8.50
    6 8.44
    7 8.50
    8 9.03
    9 9.23
    10 8.32

Cheers
    https://scontent-fra3-1.xx.fbcdn.net/hphotos-xfp1/t31.0-8/11950169_10153663319040984_3852747408231062342_o.jpg?efg=eyJpIjoidCJ9

Yeah!!!! :D:D:D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

Toulouse wrote: »
    Yeah!!!! :D:D:D

+ 1 to that :) well done!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,781 ✭✭✭eyeball kid

Cheers

Ah, the post race pint! Is there anything more refreshing?

I agree! Screw flapjacks, I want beer after the half ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭PJD

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

I agree! Screw flapjacks, I want beer after the half ;)

In past years we always met in Ryans of Parkgate street (opp Heuston) after the half. Just saying :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 10,854 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

denis b wrote: »
    As an even older and more considered runner said to me as we waited for the start " any day you can get out of your bed and line up for a race like this is a good one".

I didn't realise TbL was running today.

Nice run, sir. Good to meet you afterwards.

Singer wrote: »
    7th mile: 6:59

Definitely feeling it now. Tummy got a little uncomfortable, but passed some wind and all was right with the world again :)

The world would be such a better place if all problems could be solved in this way. :pac:

Well done, B, that's a fantastic improvement over last year. Be sure to take it easy now for the next week and a bit though!

Kudos.

nop98 wrote: »
    Oh, and a "lesson learned": keep the toenails short. Nuff said.. :D

Ouch! I've definitely been there. Good to meet you after, and well done in the race.

menoscemo wrote: »
    In past years we always met in Ryans of Parkgate street (opp Heuston) after the half. Just saying :)

This is turning into the best day ever!

Good run this morning, cake and ran into Gordon Darcy this afternoon (BIG Leinster fan) and the possibility of beer after the Half this evening. Well happy :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,915 ✭✭✭✭menoscemo

This is turning into the best day ever!

Good run this morning, cake and ran into Gordon Darcy this afternoon (BIG Leinster fan) and the possibility of beer after the Half this evening. Well happy :D

Great hopefully it happens as I'll be pacing 1:50 in the Half :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Kennyg71

Had to collect kids, home, shower, ice dragged around pavilions.
    Time today 80.06 mins

Well done FBOT on naked run & thanks for shot out at end,found
    Little more, didn't know I had.

Post more tomorrow, well done all novices & good meeting up,
    Lovely flapjacks tolouse

Aww thanks everyone, glad you enjoyed them and nobody objected to the prunes (they can be polarising!).

The flapjacks were great, but your report is even better - you set out at your own pace, easing into it, and when you caught up with Mrs Mc the pair of you seem to have worked really well together, picking up the pace and helping each other with the pain. Great final mile too, very well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭FeenaM

Well done to all! Sounds like a very successful day for the DCM novices :)

Was great to see a few of you (albeit briefly as I didn't want to miss my lift and have to run home :eek:) after the race.

I'm delighted with my time of 75.49 and especially because I wasn't absolutely wrecked when I finished and no sign of any niggles, etc. Funny how my opinion of a successful race has changed in the past few weeks!

I'm not great with the race reports but there were two things that I might share so that you might all learn from my mistakes (this could be a fairly common theme with me).

Firstly, I popped two gels in my lovely new shorts, one in each pocket, and at the first roundabout didn't one fall out! Wasn't too put out as I had another gel and had a bit of a laugh about it with some lads running beside me. Didn't I only then pull out the other to hold it in case it fell out too, saying 'It's ok, I have another' as I proceeded to then throw it in the air behind me. Shhhhiiiiiit!!!! But it was ok because I managed to find one when we returned to the roundabout 5 miles later! Happy days :D

Secondly, my watch went crazy at about 6 miles and started telling me I was running 4 min/mls and that I was at mile 11, etc so luckily I am fairly ok with running naked as it was useless to me.

All in all, it was a nice race and I'm looking forward to the Dublin Hm (and the Dingle Hm in two weeks, even though I'm not racing it).

Now for a nice glass of kale juice :pac::pac::pac:

Kennyg71 wrote: »
    Time today 80.06 mins

Lovely flapjacks tolouse

That really is a great time, G. Sorry for addressing you by surname only afterwards, my brain was still a bit fried! And fair play to the Mrs for the great support on the course.

menoscemo wrote: »

Well who are we to mess with tradition we must take the baton and carry on !!!! :)

Kennyg71 wrote: »
    Time today 80.06 mins

Lovely flapjacks tolouse

Well done G and big shout out to no 1 supporter today Mrs kennyg !!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭JacEim

Congratulations to everyone on their fantastic PB's / personal achievements / just getting it done or whatever other positives people took from the race today!!!! (Even the flapjacks seem to be a highlight!!!)

Weekly report:

This has been an up and down week for me. Training for this program has really been by the book for me. I'm following the program and probably doing a couple of miles more per week than the program calls for. I've also gotten comfortable with the fact that I can run all my runs a little faster than the program calls for (which will hopefully give me some cushion in the race!)
    This week I was planned for some recovery after my HM race last weekend and then a couple of tempo sessions mid week which I flew through despite the exertions of the HM, and gives me great confidence that my body can sustain the training levels.
    HOWEVER.... I've been getting a funny feeling in my chest since Tuesday..
    It feels like my heart is racing a little bit and while not painful or anything it just feels odd!!. Was away all week so when I got home yesterday I put on my HR strap and lay down on the bed. Interestingly when I had the feeling that the heart was racing my HRM was reading 48 bpm!!! On one level I was thinking that this was great, my fitness levels must be pretty good at the moment, but still worrying that I'm feeling like this. I slept till 10am this morning and I had a nap for an hour with my son this afternoon before my LSR - perhaps I have a virus or something!!
    Didn't tell the better half yet (I'm a man so obviously ignore any signs or symptoms of something being wrong!!)

Today was a 16m run - longest run I've ever done by 2m. Didn't get out till 4.30 and had read a good few of the reports from today which really gave me an adrenaline shot going out the door!

Felt great on the run and had to consciously slow down. Did the first 8m in 1.08.21 (8.33 average) and felt good. Planned negative split again but didn't want to push too hard.
    Took two gels with me today for the first time. Had one at 10m and one at 13m. Really felt a boost from them - how am I going to manage 6 of them in the race :)
    Second 8m in 1.04.43 (8.05 average) for a total time of 2.13.16 for the 16m.
    Legs felt strong and I think I could have done another 2-3 miles at the same pace!!!

Heart is still fluttering again this evening, but am going out for beers with friends. Am thinking I need a trip to doctor on Monday.
    Anyway, I might die.... But I did 16M today and it felt great, Yippee!!!
    Enjoy a celebratory beer / wine / ice cream or whatever tonight - you deserve it!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,237 ✭✭✭AuldManKing

FeenaM wrote: »

I'm delighted with my time of 75.49 and especially because I wasn't absolutely wrecked when I finished

you nailed it today and I reckon there's another couple of mins in it for you as you looked very fresh at the end.
    1:40 for the HM??