Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Thread too point uh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,207 ✭✭✭durkadurka

CatFromHue wrote: »
    I thought the downturn in Leinster had finished you and rugby forever

Nah I always lose interest in this thread in the summer .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,417 ✭✭✭chupacabra

So i've been a long time iphone user, but i've recently become disenchanted (isnt that a nice word?) due to shítty battery life and my last one literally burning a hole in my pocket so its time to dip my fat toes into the Android market. Can anyone here recommend me a phone for the craic? I would trust you fine folks' opinion over various Google search results for "Android phone reviews". I was going to wait for the iphone 7 but I think its time to face facts... a phone is a phone is a phone. So what do you reckon?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

chupacabra wrote: »
    So i've been a long time iphone user, but i've recently become disenchanted (isnt that a nice word?) due to shítty battery life and my last one literally burning a hole in my pocket so its time to dip my fat toes into the Android market. Can anyone here recommend me a phone for the craic? I would trust you fine folks' opinion over various Google search results for "Android phone reviews". I was going to wait for the iphone 7 but I think its time to face facts... a phone is a phone is a phone. So what do you reckon?

I bought a mid-range new release Motorola when I moved to London 4 months ago and I couldn't be more put off Android. They're so much upkeep to keep from going slow. I'm an Apple man anyway but I'll be buying a replacement as soon as the new iPhone is released.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,741 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

If you're looking to get one from a bricks and mortars store, the Galaxy S6 is pretty good. Or else the OnePlus 2 is being released finally soon, there was a huge fan base for the OnePlusOne.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

I have the HTC One, great battery life and has never run slow or done anything remotely unco-operative. There's probably an upgraded version available now but I'd recommend it on my experience

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

I have the Samsung Note 4 because I have big pockets and nothing else to fill them with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,741 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

One thing I will say, is I got one of the chinese android phones, same kind of spec and all as the Galaxy S5/HTC One, but once I get my upgrade I'll probably go back to iOS, probably the iPhone 7 or a 6.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,878 ✭✭✭b.gud

If you want to dip your toe in the Android water but not spend too much and still get a top end phone I'd go for the Oneplus One. The two has just been announced but is a little more expensive haven't read any reviews so not sure what it's like.

One thing you said that you didn't like about the iPhone was the battery life well you won't have that problem either the Oneplus you'll get a day and a half to 2 days from a full charge depending on your usage. Really speedy processor, plenty of ram in it, good screen and a nice camera. Not bad for €300-350

OnePlus 2 doesn't have NFC. It's basically a brick, don't let yourself get caught in the same room as one, it's social suicide.

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 6,525 Mod ✭✭✭✭dregin

If a phones is a phone is a phone, why not just get a brick? I've been using a Nokia C101 for about 3 years now. Week long battery life. Have a tablet for the heavier stuff around the house and work, but the phone is perfect for when I'm out and about and in no need of apps.

dregin wrote: »
    If a phones is a phone is a phone, why not just get a brick? I've been using a Nokia C101 for about 3 years now. Week long battery life. Have a tablet for the heavier stuff around the house and work, but the phone is perfect for when I'm out and about and in no need of apps.

But how do you post on boards when you're on the train?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,003 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

This country can fcuk right off....it's about 2 degrees here and lashing rain.

Summer my hole...

mfceiling wrote: »
    This country can fcuk right off....it's about 2 degrees here and lashing rain.

Summer my hole...
    It's not cold. It's warm and humid as ****. BRING ON THE WINTER!!!

Also, do people not consider May day as the first day of Summer and the 3 months thereafter Summer? That would make August the first month of Autumn. This is definitely what I was taught growing up, but everyone else seems to have a different definition of what is/isn't Summer...

Ah that's a very controversial topic now. Is February Spring?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,320 ✭✭✭Teferi

It's currently 22 degrees where I am. I'm not built for this weather, gently sweating wherever I go.

Summer has always been June, July and August for me as I got 3 months summer holidays and they were it...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,003 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

Milan was a lovely 23-25 all day today. Everyone in shorts and t-shirt and enjoying the day. Land at dublin airport and the rain is hopping off the ground...I can feel the depression kicking in!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,169 ✭✭✭Wang King

One plus one, or the LG G3 from argos for about €320 sim free

• Administrators Posts: 55,122 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Summer = June, July and August.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,116 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

May, June and July are summer from the point of view of the old Irish calendar. The months and major festivals are based around that, presumably as that's when there's most light. The idea that 'summer' is warmer and drier is risible.

So they hired that ethnic cleanser guy. He lasted one day. Apparently he hadn't read his contract and thought he was on a 35 hour week...

Serious bullet dodged there, was supposed to bring a guest down my golf club today but he's rang and suggested a reschedule. Holy jaysus the weather is awful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,258 ✭✭✭✭Buer

Bolt wins the world title for a 3rd time. Pantomime villain Gatland finishes 2nd.

Only difference between them, to my mind, is that Gatland got caught.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,169 ✭✭✭Wang King

Buer wrote: »
    Bolt wins the world title for a 3rd time. Pantomime villain Gatland finishes 2nd.

I believe he's clean, think he's just a phenomenal athlete, himself & Rudisha... Just perfect athletes to my mind

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,636 ✭✭✭✭Tox56

It is pretty interesting that basically all of the top guys have been caught for something except him. You would think he'd need something to consistently beat them, but I'd still like to think you can just get natural sporting freaks so much better than everyone else, like Bradman in cricket or Gretzky in ice hockey, that drugs aren't necessary. Is he really so much better at passing drug tests that they'd catch all of those other top guys except for him?

Wang King wrote: »
    I believe he's clean, think he's just a phenomenal athlete, himself & Rudisha... Just perfect athletes to my mind

It's possible and I'd like to believe it. However, the improvements he made in his career, the people he has worked with....serious question marks for me. You don't go from being 21 years old and never having broken the 10 second barrier to breaking the world record at 22, in my mind.

He wasn't regularly running the 100m at that point which would explain a big improvement but at one point his PB went from 10.03s to 9.76s (the second fastest time in history) under a coach who had multiple sprinters caught in the past for doping. That's simply not feasible to my mind.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Zzippy wrote: »
    I have the HTC One, great battery life and has never run slow or done anything remotely unco-operative. There's probably an upgraded version available now but I'd recommend it on my experience

I have the HTC one M8 and the battery is diabolical.

That said I've three email accounts on push mail all the time.

The latest version is the M9

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

Anyone else getting a 503 error while trying to view threads or post replies?

On a side note I see Balls.ie are using boards for their content again! Even quoting Thomond!!

image_zpsyc6ovmid.jpg

stephen_n wrote: »
    Anyone else getting a 503 error while trying to view threads or post replies?

http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?t=2057481888

It's a widespread issue looks like.

Jordy Nelson looks like he has torn his ACL in pre-season game against the Steelers. Packers season might have just taken a massive blow (and Cobb's FF value might be about to blow up!)

It's possible and I'd like to believe it. However, the improvements he made in his career, the people he has worked with....serious question marks for me. You don't go from being 21 years old and never having broken the 10 second barrier to breaking the world record at 22, in my mind.

He wasn't regularly running the 100m at that point which would explain a big improvement but at one point his PB went from 10.03s to 9.76s (the second fastest time in history) under a coach who had multiple sprinters caught in the past for doping. That's simply not feasible to my mind.

From Reddit:

RIlmFuX.jpg