Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

DCM 2015: Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭aquinn

Jesus DG you just had me racing to the kitchen to make sure that I actually had porridge. I was really enjoying my Cornetto up to that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

BIRDCAGE1 wrote: »
    Thanks for the advice guys, sounds like I'll be racing it so. I'm following a plan published in the Irish Runner magazine that takes into account all the Dublin races, so there is recovery etc built in.
    I will definitely try and meet up with you guys, it would be great to put a face to the names on here.

Me too Birdcage myself kennyg and PJD also following that plan. See you tomorrow.

Thank you, I just picked up my race pack and I'm sick with nerves. My trainer has given me a plan for it, which is ultimately to keep a fair amount in the tank during the first 10km - which is almost all very much uphill and includes the mountain and also the descent. I can then "race" the last 6km to the best of my ability, this is mostly a rolling road which I found really tough last year. Your quads are wrecked at this point. There's a steep but of downhill then before you're straight back into a long drag with a bit of a hill up to the last km where you get to run downhill to the finish.

I'm to ignore times and splits and concentrate on not injuring myself!

I'm pretty worried, it's getting so close to the big day now and after my 5 mile disaster, I'm bricking it for this, I'm panicking that if I have a bad day out tomorrow my confidence will be knocked for the big race. I know this isn't an ideal prep for the marathon but it is what it is and hopefully I won't be too disappointed (or injured!!) by the time I get to the finish. If my sciatica flares up I'm out, I won't push through actual pain, as I need to keep in my head that this isn't the endgame.

Didn't mean for that post to be so long, sorry, just getting thought out.

Best of luck in the morning everyone, you'll be home eating big dinners by the time my race starts :)

Best of luck whoopsa hope it all goes well tomorrow.

Toulouse wrote: »
    Good luck everyone!!

Flapjacks are done, just hope they hold together.

They look yum ! Looking forward to the finish line already ! See YA tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭Emsy 1

Good luck guys have a great race tomorrow. Whoopsa do'nt worry u will do fantastic u have the hard training behind u believe in yourself... best of luck wish I was there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭FeenaM

Best of luck to all racing or even just running tomorrow. Hopefully see you at the finish line ðŸ˜

It's probably a bit early to be discussing outfits for the marathon but I just found the nicest shorts in the Nike store in Blanchardstown for 12 euro. So comfy, with little pockets and I think they look good. Think I might even go back and get another pair. Anyway just thought I'd share as I find it hard to find nice shorts ðŸ˜

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭aquinn

FeenaM wrote:
    It's probably a bit early to be discussing outfits for the marathon but I just found the nicest shorts in the Nike store in Blanchardstown for 12 euro. So comfy, with little pockets and I think they look good. Think I might even go back and get another pair. Anyway just thought I'd share as I find it hard to find nice shorts ðŸ˜

Fair enough but try them out first. My friend bought Nike tempo shorts and they laced her last year very unexpectedly as she hadn't worn them in training. She'd used same style before with no issues.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭diego_b

I'm running in Nike Distance shorts as well for my LSRs and planning to use them for DCM. Like those they have nice pockets on the side and a zip pocket for my phone on the back. Got them in that Nike shop also about 6 months ago.

Good luck to you too Whoopsa!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

Not very interesting meta information: this appears to be the busiest DCM Novices Thread ever!

2009: 77 pages in total.
    2010: 240 pages in total.
    2011: 195 pages in total.
    2012: 181 by now, 416 in total.
    2013: 249 pages (though there was a abandoned thread...)
    2014: 155 by now, 421 in total
    2015: 219 pages by now!

Conclusive evidence that I will do anything other than go to bed early the night before a race.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,254 Mod ✭✭✭✭Dub13

Singer wrote: »
    Not very interesting meta information: this appears to be the busiest DCM Novices Thread ever!

2009: 77 pages in total.
    2010: 240 pages in total.
    2011: 195 pages in total.
    2012: 181 by now, 416 in total.
    2013: 249 pages (though there was a abandoned thread...)
    2014: 155 by now, 421 in total
    2015: 219 pages by now!

Conclusive evidence that I will do anything other than go to bed early the night before a race.

All the kool kids use 40 posts per page....;) So only 82 pages so far for me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,460 ✭✭✭Clearlier

Thank you, I just picked up my race pack and I'm sick with nerves. My trainer has given me a plan for it, which is ultimately to keep a fair amount in the tank during the first 10km - which is almost all very much uphill and includes the mountain and also the descent. I can then "race" the last 6km to the best of my ability, this is mostly a rolling road which I found really tough last year. Your quads are wrecked at this point. There's a steep but of downhill then before you're straight back into a long drag with a bit of a hill up to the last km where you get to run downhill to the finish.

I'm to ignore times and splits and concentrate on not injuring myself!

I'm pretty worried, it's getting so close to the big day now and after my 5 mile disaster, I'm bricking it for this, I'm panicking that if I have a bad day out tomorrow my confidence will be knocked for the big race. I know this isn't an ideal prep for the marathon but it is what it is and hopefully I won't be too disappointed (or injured!!) by the time I get to the finish. If my sciatica flares up I'm out, I won't push through actual pain, as I need to keep in my head that this isn't the endgame.

Didn't mean for that post to be so long, sorry, just getting thought out.

Best of luck in the morning everyone, you'll be home eating big dinners by the time my race starts :)

Hey whoopsa, not sure if you're really tripping or just have a few pre-race nerves?

You might want to consider ditching your watch completely for this race. Instead you can really focus on your effort levels making sure that you get the right amount out of yourself at the right time. Measure success by how well you judge your effort. You won't be perfect but you will learn a lot about what you can and can't do.

Good luck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

Good morning! Good luck everyone racing today!! I'll see some of you at the Frank Duffy and Whoopsa, I am cheering you on in spirit! Remember, you are a better runner than you think! I agree, ignore the watch and run to feel the wind on your face. Smile like the dickens and make everyone else wonder what's your secret! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,413 ✭✭✭Toulouse

Morning all!

Why am I so nervous about this one?

All set anyway, just have to put on my gear and go.

See ye at the end!

Special good luck to Whoopsa. Whatever happens, just look on it as something new that you can learn about yourself today. I know you will be awesome.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,462 ✭✭✭TheBazman

Best of luck to everyone, and try to enjoy it. Not doing this one as doing the Dublin City Triathlon tomorrow (boo hiss....but it's only the supersprint).

Clearlier wrote: »
    Hey whoopsa, not sure if you're really tripping or just have a few pre-race nerves?

You might want to consider ditching your watch completely for this race. Instead you can really focus on your effort levels making sure that you get the right amount out of yourself at the right time. Measure success by how well you judge your effort. You won't be perfect but you will learn a lot about what you can and can't do.

Good luck!

Thanks clearlier, I'm going to wear the watch BUT I have turned off everything on it, so I will only be able to see the time (as in the clock time), I won't get any lap notifications etc but at least I can look back over it when I upload it. So no different to just wearing a regular watch :)

Have a great race everyone!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭KingMambo26

Good luck on the race today everyone! You'll smash it! I'll be wearing no 2605. if anyone sees me wondering at the end of the race like lost child kindly direct me to the responsibile adult with the flapjacks

Toulouse wrote: »
    Morning all!

Why am I so nervous about this one?

All set anyway, just have to put on my gear and go.

See ye at the end!

Special good luck to Whoopsa. Whatever happens, just look on it as something new that you can learn about yourself today. I know you will be awesome.

Me too nervous pain in my tummy :(

I know I look like I'm checking out people's bellies but really I'm just looking for your race numbers! :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,324 ✭✭✭chrislad

Best of luck to everyone racing today! Just in from my 14m LSR, which was my fastest to date at PMP plus 30 or so.

Nice easy afternoon now!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭frash

Good luck to all running today.

Just in from a hilly 12m LSR on the Mizen Head.
    Stopped off for a snack of blackberries along the way.

33m for the week - longest yet.

Holidays rock!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

nop98 wrote: »
    There's an online tracker, too: http://track.rtrt.me/e/TDL-DUFFY10M-2015

Just bumping this up.
    Singer is No 14
    Nop No 4119

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    Just bumping this up.
    Singer is No 14
    Nop No 4119

Singer estimated finish time 68 mins :cool:
    Nop on track for nearly 10 min PB :):)

Singer's in... unofficial 70:28, I think we can safely say he slashed his PB!!!
    And yep, looks like Nop got his 10 min PB!
    Can't find anyone else so far :(

Woh woh PB 1.34.41 home to put my feet up now. Big shout out to Toulouse for keeping me company on the route. Great day on the PP. Will post splits later great to catch up with the boardies a put a few more faces to names.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,781 ✭✭✭eyeball kid

Thats some going for the lads. Great times!

Did my lsr of 14miles (22.5km) today. Miscalculated the route and ended doing (23.5km) but feel really comfortable at the end. Averaged around 6:21 mins per km which is still too quick but I have no doubt I'll be slowing down for the 19 miles next weekend.

Well done on everyone racing today. Hope it went well for you all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭Chops1234

Well done everyone on the race morning. Great morning for it. Up at 8 for breakfast and then was dropped to the Castleknock gate around 9:15 so plenty of time to walk up, use the loo etc

Forgot to turn my watch on so have no idea of split times but official chip time was 1:32:41 so I'm delighted with that. Reckon my first few miles were under 9mins but felt myself slowing down after mile 5. Missed the 8 mile marker so was dying to see mile 9!! That last hill was a bit of a killer but there was a woman chatting to herself near me saying "you can do this" so I pretended she was talking to me :-)

Am saving my Kinder Beuno from the goody bag for after dinner tonight :-)))

Well done to everyone.

EDIT: Just checked my split times online. First 5 miles were 8:57 and last 5 were 9:36. So average was 9:16. Seeing as how I haven't ran fast in what feels like months, I'm thinking the plan must work lol!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,457 ✭✭✭ZV Yoda

1:27:12! I'm chuffed with that time. Knocked 12 mins off my previous 10 mile PB (last year).

While it was a bit outside my stretch target of 1:25, I was delighted to finish under 1:30 given the really humid / muggy conditions. I struggled big time for the first 5 miles in the heat.

Other good points - I ran a negative split (by 47 secs) and finished strong with a 5:16 final km.

Fair play to everybody else - looks like some really great times coming in.

Lap Pace
      1 5:35 /km
      2 5:39 /km
      3 5:25 /km
      4 5:23 /km
      5 5:19 /km
      6 5:28 /km
      7 5:26 /km
      8 5:26 /km
      9 5:13 /km
     10 5:15 /km
     11 5:16 /km
     12 5:22 /km
     13 5:19 /km
     14 5:33 /km
     15 5:40 /km
     16 5:16 /km
     17 4:09 /km (120m)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭Chops1234

Fantastic times - well done guys!

Well done everyone! It was brilliant to watch the race and cheer people on! Really amazes me when I see all the determination and focus on people's faces when they head for the finish. Gives me goose bumps!

Great to meet everyone afterwards too! Toulouse, the flapjacks were amazing, thank you so much for bringing them and sharing!

Speaking of flapjacks, for the 1/2 marathon I volunteer as tribute flapjack baker! I'm not running the 1/2 but like today will come along and cheer. I'd love to be on flapjack duty too. :D

Really proud of all you guys today! You rock!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 329 ✭✭Nappy

Delighted with today's run. Came in at 80:34. My last post was after the 5 mile and I was unsure if I could double that distance. I felt great for entire run and am pumped for half next month. Nice collection of t shirts accumulating too. Hope everyone's run went good!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 139 ✭✭BIRDCAGE1

Well done again to everyone today on the race. Really sorry I wasn't able to met up afterwards [ needed to head straight after race as one of the kids had a birthday party to go to, so time was short] will definitely meet at the next one.
    Anyway I had a great race, came in at PB 1:36:54. I'm glad I took the advice on here and raced instead of ran. All my laps were under the 10 mins except for Lap 9 [the hill, or just after anyway]
    Splits
    1 - 9:20
    2 - 9:44
    3 - 9:47
    4 - 9:48
    5 - 9:34
    6 - 9:38
    7 - 9:57
    8 - 9:44
    9 - 10:04
    10 - 9:30

I had a bit of a panic'y start to the day when we all got in the car and realized it had a puncture - plus the wife's car had no petrol. A quick car change and petrol stop didn't make us too much later then planned.

Only negative on the day [apart from lack of water cups ], was that after the race my right foot felt a bit uncomfortable - I figured it was just the insole was riding to one side or something. When I got home and took off my shoes and socks I discovered a 1 inch diameter blister on the arch of my foot just below the ball !!!!!! I'm not due to train again until Tuesday so I'll see how it is then.

Is it weird that I'm already looking forward to the Half Marathon........