Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

*********Motors Chat - Round 9 *********

If you're looking at UK imports, why not go to the UK and buy it over there? Much less likely to have been clocked on the way over. More choice too, they tend to buy much more estates than Irish people.

Wouldn't know where to start, to be honest. Is it simply a case of buying it and ferrying it back and VRTing it?

I'd be fearful of, like today, seeing a car online, thinking "that'll do" and then travelling over to see it is actually in tatters when viewed in person.

I'm sure there are workarounds of this, but I'm not clued in enough. With the GBP V EUR at the moment not being great is it still worth doing?

Also, where would you look? (both in terms of websites and in terms of whereabouts within the UK is practical for getting in and out with a car? I believe UK sites ask for a postcode to help narrow results?).

I wouldn't be dead set against it if I could get a decent car (C5?) in my budget.

EDIT: Found this:

http://www.motorcheck.ie/blog/buying-car-uk-where-start/

Looking now but will head to bed shortly. Might turn into a real thing though! (buying in the UK)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,845 ✭✭✭Noccy_Mondy

Also, where would you look? (both in terms of websites and in terms of whereabouts within the UK is practical for getting in and out with a car? I believe UK sites ask for a postcode to help narrow results?).

Autotrader.co.uk would be the most common.

They might prompt a postcode, but that's only used so they can give you an indication of how far away the car is from you. Just google "sample uk postcode", pop that in, and browse away

Anyone hear of Pheonix motors in Dublin. Passed by (and stopped in traffic outside it for about 5 minutes) a few weeks ago. Looked like a kip. That is all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,551 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Phoenix motors, Phoenix motor centre or Phoenix motor company?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,957 ✭✭✭Kopparberg Strawberry and Lime

Anyone hear of Pheonix motors in Dublin. Passed by (and stopped in traffic outside it for about 5 minutes) a few weeks ago. Looked like a kip. That is all.

He's been there a while now at conygham road.

Not a bad guy to deal with at all. Chatted with him a few times. He's happy to admit his cars are UK imports mostly.

He took over from the two brothers from sarsfield and rents that lot of them but he hates the sarsfield boys so i agree with him.

He can do a good deal and seems to have a regular customer base. Hes there a few years now just can't remember exactly how long. But he does seem to be able to move cars quick.

1 man job with a few cleaning lads working for him.

In saying all that i never bought from himself so can't say too much really

Motor company I think, basically once was a petrol station, with the canopy remaining, cars jammed in around it.

On another note, I won a 20 euro voucher for a valet.

He's been there a while now at conygham road.

Ya that must be him so. I was trying to remember all the dealers as I passed by them, that's the only one I could remember, only came to me now strangely.

I think it was a bit further out that road that there was a plethora of ramps, fair annoying altogether.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,657 ✭✭✭CIP4

Had a painful morning of suit shopping this morning. Got sorted after anyway damn interviews and there suits hopefully get a good bit of wear out of it for graduation etc.

Fuel Light is almost on in the megane after a lot of unexpected driving yesterday so need to fill that today it's going to be an expensive week :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

Filled the car this week with Esso instead of my usual Maxol as it was at 136.9 when I got it. What a load of crap it is. Usually get about 160/170 miles by the time I reach half a tank, this time on Esso fuel I'm only getting about 120 and that's with the same driving/style. Definitely going to stick with Maxol/Topaz.

CIP4 wrote:
    Had a painful morning of suit shopping this morning. Got sorted after anyway damn interviews and there suits hopefully get a good bit of wear out of it for graduation etc.

You better have got a nice suit! That's one thing I'm so finicky about, a good fitting suit

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,642 ✭✭✭Deco99

Best place for headlight bulbs? Usually get em in halfords but one goes every few months.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 73,551 ✭✭✭✭colm_mcm

Get different bulbs. Haldords do heavy duty bulbs that won't go as often.
    Obviously check that there isn't an earthing/corrosion problem as well.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,487 ✭✭✭Pov06

colm_mcm wrote: »
    Get different bulbs. Haldords do heavy duty bulbs that won't go as often.
    Obviously check that there isn't an earthing/corrosion problem as well.

Exactly. If the bulb contacts are oxidised the contacts will heat up and burn the bulb quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,900 ✭✭✭✭bear1

A question I suppose is more directed to the Polish lads on here.
    I heard that RHD cars are now legal in Poland and seeing as I'm still here I'm thinking of doing it so that I don't need to pay road tax and most likely ass raping insurance premium in October - not to mention the NCT.
    Is it a straight forward process? Do they also have the rule here that if I've owned it for a while then re-registering it will be for free?
    Or, would it worth my while more to just stick it online and see what I could get for it?
    Was checking online and my type of car can fetch to twice the price of an Irish equivalent.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 16,620 ✭✭✭✭dr.fuzzenstein

Deco99 wrote: »
    Best place for headlight bulbs? Usually get em in halfords but one goes every few months.

After an expensive few months of replacing bulbs on a nearly weekly basis I found out that they like to be replaced in pairs. Fords are especially bad for that. Now I will get at least a year or two out of them. And that is with Halfords bulbs.

You better have got a nice suit! That's one thing I'm so finicky about, a good fitting suit

Its a nice one alright wasn't going to go buy a cheap one. I wasn't even going to bother with a suit for the first interview just pants, shirt and tie. But then I heard they are hiring after first round interviews in some cases so I need to go all out and they basically said you have to have a decent suit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,642 ✭✭✭Deco99

After an expensive few months of replacing bulbs on a nearly weekly basis I found out that they like to be replaced in pairs. Fords are especially bad for that. Now I will get at least a year or two out of them. And that is with Halfords bulbs.

Thanks I was just goin to ask about changing both

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,015 ✭✭✭✭Mc Love

NCT would make you laugh. Failed me for a chip/scratch in windscreen. A friend filled it in, went back the next day and they said get a new windscreen, I went yep and didnt even bother looking at it. Passed me.

OH's door handles were sticking, failed her too. Went home, splashed a bit of WD40, went back next day and passed the car.

Surely it would have been easier to just pass the two cars!

I was flicking through done deal and seen this estate said that might do kkv low price too then I seen the mileage ffs I considered mine to be on the high side at 125k km this one same year 295k km 70k km a year is fair going.

http://cars.donedeal.ie/cars-for-sale/2011-megane-estate/9944735?sv=1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,251 ✭✭✭pippip

Mc Love wrote: »
    NCT would make you laugh. Failed me for a chip/scratch in windscreen. A friend filled it in, went back the next day and they said get a new windscreen, I went yep and didnt even bother looking at it. Passed me.

OH's door handles were sticking, failed her too. Went home, splashed a bit of WD40, went back next day and passed the car.

Surely it would have been easier to just pass the two cars!

No, it was better you repaired them, why should they have passed you with a chip in your windscreen. Door handle, maybe but if limited access I'd want it repaired to.

Mc Love wrote:

Just as well they passed you. I'm assuming you're on about the mondeo? Them heated front windows are hundreds and hundreds to replace!

I cracked the heated screen on my focus 2-3 foot crack across it and the insurance replaced it with a heated one again no questions asked so kind of doesn't make any difference really well unless you have no windscreen cover I suppose.

I noticed the other day when I was testing the waters for my insurance renewal that the online form with 123.ie asks have you had any claims in the last 5 years including windscreen claims?

Will have to test it next time to see if it affects premium.

CIP4 wrote:
    I cracked the heated screen on my focus 2-3 foot crack across it and the insurance replaced it with a heated one again no questions asked so kind of doesn't make any difference really well unless you have no windscreen cover I suppose.

Forgot about windscreen protection. That doesn't affect ones NCB?

Didn't effect mine but maybe it depends on the company. Even with Tpft you can normally add windscreen cover for 30 quid or so it's worth it I think. Although I always think a vehicles factory windscreen is better than any replacement you'll get of autoglass and the like unless you buy a genuine which means you end up putting money towards it as insurance companies won't cover the full price of genuine ones.

pippip wrote: »
    I noticed the other day when I was testing the waters for my insurance renewal that the online form with 123.ie asks have you had any claims in the last 5 years including windscreen claims?

Will have to test it next time to see if it affects premium.

Just tested it there and premium went up by 30euro just saying I had a 200euro windscreen claim. So if you have to put that down for five years after you've claimed that 150 you've handed back to them assuming you have no more in the meantime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,480 ✭✭✭YbFocus

The annoyance when one buys facelift kidney grilles, they arrive and you realise you have pre's and they ain't interchangeable :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,302 ✭✭✭Supergurrier

YbFocus wrote: »
    The annoyance when one buys facelift kidney grilles, they arrive and you realise you have pre's and they ain't interchangeable :(

*Laughs Maniacally*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,875 ✭✭✭Foxhole Norman

YbFocus wrote: »

Bitta duct tape, be grand.

Ah I think he'd be better of using cable ties no point in being rough about it :pac: