Woman fined €800 for posting pic of police car

13»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 9,436 ✭✭✭cml387

I would certainly not put up a picture of a police car doing naughty things on facebook.
    Partly on the "don't fight city hall" principle, and secondly on the "you don't really want them on your case" principle.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,928 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

knird evol wrote: »
    There is disabled people serving in police forces and armies.

You might not know as much about the real world as you think.

In administrative, maintenance and many other roles. And deservedly respected they are too. I'm also relatively certain if they heard you fighting for some apparent right for a disabled person to work in first response and it's associated roles (which patrolling in a car would imply), you'd be lauged out of it.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭knird evol

In administrative, maintenance and many other roles. And deservedly respected they are too. I'm also relatively certain if they heard you fighting for some apparent right for a disabled person to work in first response and it's associated roles (which patrolling in a car would imply), you'd be lauged out of it.

Not every role is either a "desk job" /administrative or a response car.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

You said they couldn't deal with a crime if they couldn't get out of the car.

So I did not say they should not be driving then did I ?

There is disabled people serving in police forces and armies.

You might not know as much about the real world as you think.

Egg meets face....

Sooooo which of these officers in the article were disabled ?

Egg meets face....

Sooooo which of these officers in the article were disabled ?

Who said they were disabled?

#11 #13 .... I wonder who posted those.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,557 ✭✭✭the_monkey

Fernando Portillo, a spokesman for the local police, defended the polices' actions saying that the officers were parked in the disabled bay so that they could quickly attend an incident of vandalism near-by, adding that in an emergency police are allowed to park where they can.

Yeah right, they were in the local bar having some cervesa and a boccadillo con sobresada ....

PERO BUENO!!!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 166 ✭✭Herpes Cineplex

arayess wrote: »
    spain police are cnuts though , people moan about an garda but they've nothing on the spanish

They are a brutal shower of Kunts alright. Probably the worst in Europe.

#11 #13 .... I wonder who posted those.

You should learn to read. Those posts pose the question was the driver disabled. No conclusion is made. From there the conversation moves along the lines of your general prejudice and is only brought back to the interview when find the feet taken from under you and run out of rolleyeyes and facepalmes.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,120 ✭✭✭Wright

Egg meets face....

So are you ready to admit you called protests riots?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 25 DetroitSpinR

Personally I think this is wrong on many levels.

Then again the spanish cops and british cops are the only cops worse than the ones we have in this country

"The Citizens Security Law, also known as the “gagging law”, was implemented on 1 July and forbids the “unauthorised use of images of police officers that might jeopardise their or their family’s safety or that of protected facilities or police operations”. "

Does that mean that if I witness a Spanish cop raping a girl and I photograph it and then run for my life and hand the footage to the press....then I have broken the law?

arayess wrote: »
    rules is rules.
    she should have called the clampers.

spain police are cnuts though , people moan about an garda but they've nothing on the spanish

"rules is rules"?

Shouldn't the cop know the "rules" better than anyone?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 592 ✭✭✭JC01

http://www.independent.co.uk/news/world/europe/spanish-woman-fined-800-for-taking-picture-of-police-car-in-disabled-parking-space-10458699.html

Personally I think this is wrong on many levels.

Then again the spanish cops and british cops are the only cops worse than the ones we have in this country

How do you figure British and Irish police are in the top three "worst" police going? Ever been to South East Asia? Africa? Even America? By international standerds the Irish and Brit police forces are extremely constrained.

On topic I can see the sense in the basis for the law in a country with very serious organised crime syndicates all over the place but this is fairly taking the proverbial out of it. Cops were in the wrong.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,495 ✭✭✭✭Billy86

Yyeeeeeaaaaahhhhh.... about that...

I presume like most forces you would be given a desk job. There are criteria to meet in any force throughout the world.

It would stand to reason then that the cop also has the ability to read signs, check that he isn't in fact disabled and follow the law.....or is that just too much to ask?

Or maybe he's just lazy and thick.

Now if it was an emergency, I would hope that he would have parked in a convenient spot such as the disabled parking bay, left the flashers on and proceeded to the scene of the rumpus.

Doughnuts and flirting with Maria at the coffee shop seems more than likely.

And of course his family were in jeopardy as a result of the photo.

Wright wrote: »
    #1. American
    #2. Irish

English police are gentlemen in my experience. Very friendly.

Well you see, if you witness a crime, you stop the car, and get out of it.

Or, someone might call you to that crime first, then you do the above.

But surely if the cop whose car this was and who parked in a disabled parking space....if he was responding to a crime then there would be no need to fine the woman.

A simple explanation of "I took up this space as was necessary to respond to a crime" would have been sufficient. I would have thought so. Not an 800 euro fine.

Smells like camera-smashing to me except she wasn't caught camera in hand.

As for the law that backed up her punishment........laughable.

so were the ones arresting the guildford four, birmingham 6 and countless others.
    A close family friend died in a police cell, which was not uncommon back then, and being a paddy in the wrong place at the wrong time could mean years in prison thanks to the corrupt british system

But this is Spay-in!

'member that song "Guantanamera......ah-ee-ah, guantanamera"

....OK maybe a bad choice, but still.

I don't really understand all the criticism for Irish guards. We've been the victims of crime on several occasions and have always found our local gardai extremely helpful, professional and friendly. When you're being terrorised by scumbags you're bloody relieved to see the friendly faces of your local guards.

Yeah but, come on. This woman took a photo of a cop-car and then put it online. Personally, I think she should have been beaten to within an inch of her life, kids taken off her and husband waterboarded until he was brain-damaged.

800 quid fine?

What's the world coming to?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,120 ✭✭✭Wright

Double-triple-quaduple post. Multi-kill.

Someone flog this gentleman.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 604 ✭✭✭Vandango

I don't really understand all the criticism for Irish guards. We've been the victims of crime on several occasions and have always found our local gardai extremely helpful, professional and friendly. When you're being terrorised by scumbags you're bloody relieved to see the friendly faces of your local guards.

You're very lucky then. A friend of mine had her house broken into 5 months ago and apart from their intial visit to her house. She's hasn't seen sight nor sound of the cops since. In fact, they still haven't sent on her claim form to her insurer that they had to sign.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 415 ✭✭FelineOverLord

Vandango wrote: »
    You're very lucky then. A friend of mine had her house broken into 5 months ago and apart from their intial visit to her house. She's hasn't seen sight nor sound of the cops since. In fact, they still haven't sent on her claim form to her insurer that they had to sign.

In our case we were given the name of a guard who had responded to our call and we could liaise with him about our situation if we had any questions. Your friend should probably contact the station and inquire after her claim. It sounds like a long time to be waiting. All in all there isn't much for them to say once a statement has been taken and forensics have done their thing, unless someone is charged with something.