Woman fined €800 for posting pic of police car

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

People are fined everywhere every day of the week, what's so special here? Is it because no one expects the Spanish imposition?

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,490 ✭✭✭✭beertons

Is this a walking joke?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,007 ✭✭✭knird evol

knird evol wrote: »
    So all disabled people are incapable of getting out of a car.
    What is the point of them getting into it then. Or going some place.

I think you're working off a very narrow definition of disabled.[/QUOTE]

How does your imaginative meme relate to the text you highlighted ?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 3,404 ✭✭✭Justin Credible Darts

Wright wrote: »
    #1. American
    #2. Irish

English police are gentlemen in my experience. Very friendly.

so were the ones arresting the guildford four, birmingham 6 and countless others.
    A close family friend died in a police cell, which was not uncommon back then, and being a paddy in the wrong place at the wrong time could mean years in prison thanks to the corrupt british system

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

so were the ones arresting the guildford four, birmingham 6 and countless others.
    A close family friend died in a police cell, which was not uncommon back then, and being a paddy in the wrong place at the wrong time could mean years in prison thanks to the corrupt british system

And this has what to do with the article you posted exactly?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

So all disabled people are incapable of getting out of a car.
    What is the point of them getting into it then. Or going some place.

I think you're working off a very narrow definition of disabled.[/QUOTE]

How does your imaginative meme relate to the text you highlighted ?

Until evidence of Disabled people being out on the beat being presented I will go with the general assumption that what ever form of disability one has you cannot be a beat cop. And hence not be driving a Patrol car around.

And this has what to do with the article you posted exactly?

I was replying to a poster, has nothing to do with your moaning.
    But if you really want to stay on topic why did you not speak about that very same topic instead of helping derail the very thing you are complaining about.

I hope this answers your question, have a nice day.

Until evidence of Disabled people being out on the beat being presented I will go with the general assumption that what ever form of disability one has you cannot be a beat cop. And hence not be driving a Patrol car around.

A marked police car is not necessarily a response car or 'patrol' car as you say. 'Disabled' doesn't mean paraplegic. In this case of this story on the law of averages no doubt it was some lazy bstard who took the spot. But your discriminatory attitude is wrong. And lot's of disabled people work in various police forces and no doubt the spanish.

• Hosted Moderators Posts: 23,490 ✭✭✭✭beertons

There was a story about him in the gardai magazine a few years ago. I have it at home somewhere, I was in scouts with his son so my uncle gave it to me.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,120 ✭✭✭Wright

The ones that stole TV's in support ?

Ah yeah that's who we're talking about, that handful of people, not the thousands out there all the time protesting. Nope. Wouldn't be talking about them at all sure.

A marked police car is not necessarily a response car or 'patrol' car as you say. 'Disabled' doesn't mean paraplegic. In this case of this story on the law of averages no doubt it was some lazy bstard who took the spot. But your discriminatory attitude is wrong. And lot's of disabled people work in various police forces and no doubt the spanish.

sure....

Wright wrote: »
    Ah yeah that's who we're talking about, that handful of people, not the thousands out there all the time protesting. Nope. Wouldn't be talking about them at all sure.

You mean the thousands rioting ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,532 ✭✭✭delahuntv

Sorry, we saw you being attacked but because the only parking space was a disabled space, we couldn't help you because some effing eejit will take a photo and a tabloid newspaper will create a story about it.

I agree with that new law - it would stop the "mightier than though" and "pc" brigade and Facebook whiners with their little stories to suit their agenda.

sure....

You'd be the one to know

Yeah I would I read the article.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 415 ✭✭FelineOverLord

I don't really understand all the criticism for Irish guards. We've been the victims of crime on several occasions and have always found our local gardai extremely helpful, professional and friendly. When you're being terrorised by scumbags you're bloody relieved to see the friendly faces of your local guards.

Yeah I would I read the article.

I said know whether you discriminate.
    That's hardly in a newspaper article is it.

I said know whether you discriminate.
    That's hardly in a newspaper article is it.

How can I discriminate against a made up shoe horn about Disabled police ? If one read the article one would have seen the police officers were not disabled. Instead of jumping on discrimination that is not there.

I don't really understand all the criticism for Irish guards. We've been the victims of crime on several occasions and have always found our local gardai extremely helpful, professional and friendly. When you're being terrorised by scumbags you're bloody relieved to see the friendly faces of your local guards.

many a time a pissed up garda was the scumbag, many many stories of their behaviour have made the news for all the wrong reasons.

There is many a good lad, and they have a tough job,maybe it is lack of motivation due to finance cut backs, or the ever annoyance of seeing scum breed scum and seem like they are fighting a losing battle,, but they should at least give a toss, most seem like they cannot be arsed unless its a working man or a water protester

How can I discriminate against a made up shoe horn about Disabled police ? If one read the article one would have seen the police officers were not disabled. Instead of jumping on discrimination that is not there.

the article doesn't change your view that a disabled person should not drive a police car.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,928 ✭✭✭Renegade Mechanic

Bio Mech wrote: »
    That is completely untrue. It's not an EU directive it's a local law.

Local laws can be overruled by EU law. This isn't. I personally promise this is going to happen. Much as I hate it.
    €600,000 fine for protesting? Name me a government that wouldn't kill for that kind of control. Tax going up to 40% on everything earned? Vat going to 30? If such a thing were to happen then you had better not protest it..

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,120 ✭✭✭Wright

You mean the thousands rioting ?

No, the thousands protesting. Maybe you should actually watch some news.

London/L.A.= Riots

These are protests. With isolated pockets of violence to be sure.

the article doesn't change your view that a disabled person should not drive a police car.

Where did I say that ?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 415 ✭✭FelineOverLord

many a time a pissed up garda was the scumbag, many many stories of their behaviour have made the news for all the wrong reasons.

There is many a good lad, and they have a tough job,maybe it is lack of motivation due to finance cut backs, or the ever annoyance of seeing scum breed scum and seem like they are fighting a losing battle,, but they should at least give a toss, most seem like they cannot be arsed unless its a working man or a water protester

We've needed the help of our local guards in the past month and I can't fault them. I don't envy them their jobs, it's certainly not a job I'd like to do, especially not with the amount of criticism they get.

Er.... Well.... How many handicapped soldiers are there, spraying and praying in Iraq or Afghanistan??? You do realise it's ok to not be right for the job, yes? That in the real world some people are naturally excluded from certain things? I'll never be an astronaut for minor personal reasons. Does that mean I should sue Nasa for discrimination?

Clearly :P

It's always handy to read the article as well before shouting discrimination. :)

Where did I say that ?
    be given a desk job.

You said they couldn't deal with a crime if they couldn't get out of the car.

Clearly :P

It's always handy to read the article as well before shouting discrimination. :)

I don't get it. A disability isn't some badge of shame, used to keep "untermensch" out of certain aspects of society.
    A disability is just that. A disability. A restriction. I think nothing different of a disabled person, but at the same time, I understand and accept their limitations beside a fully able bodied person. It's not bad, it's just what it is!

There is disabled people serving in police forces and armies.

You might not know as much about the real world as you think.

You said they couldn't deal with a crime if they couldn't get out of the car.

Ah here lad.. What's the first thing you have to be when you hop out of a squad car? Faster than what you're chasing. That's just common sense.