Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Liveline Thread 17/06/2015 to date

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,829 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

Ah well; so-long Service Dogs Ireland, it was grand knowing you (or not).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,190 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

Ha ha, a "so to speak" right back at Joe.

So to speak. Joe won't like that hijacking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,756 ✭✭✭Pretzill

Haven't heard all of this but what happens to the dogs they send back?
    Have a sinking feeling about this company - but dogs do poo & pee and rip up things etc - you need to be committed to having a dog - sound like these people were sold a pup litterally!

Not all dogs make good service dogs and they require a lot of training - you'd never expect to get a puppy - some people are easily taken in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,339 ✭✭✭✭2smiggy

odds an 'Laura' with a border accent ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,278 ✭✭✭kirving

Was listening to this in the car until a few minutes ago. Yeah, 6k is a lot to pay to get a dog trained. But in reality, how does that compare to what a Guide Dog costs to train (a good portion of which I believe is homed with families for free).

If a man dealer garage charges me €100 an hour labour, 6k will give me 60 hours. Can you turn a dog into a medical device (wtf Joe) in 60 hours? 120 hours? 180 hours? That hourly rate is dropping fast.

I have no experience with dogs, but I don't think you can train anyone or any animal on a one to one basis to the level expected for that kind of money.

Let's see how Joe treats this caller, supporting Service Dogs Ireland.

We have two Golden Retrievers. They're not trained service dogs, but they do love children. They just couldn't eat a whole one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,886 ✭✭✭✭Roger_007

A service dog for PMT?

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

Roger_007 wrote: »
    A service dog for PMT?
    PTSD silly

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭Mike Guide 69

Permanent PTSB???

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,190 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    GDY151

You would NOT be able to join the Armed Forces if:

You have a diagnosis of epilepsy or
    You have had more than one seizure since your sixth birthday

https://www.epilepsy.org.uk/info/employment/uk-employment-restrictions/army-navy-air-force

Was listening to this in the car until a few minutes ago. Yeah, 6k is a lot to pay to get a dog trained. But in reality, how does that compare to what a Guide Dog costs to train (a good portion of which I believe is homed with families for free).

If a man dealer garage charges me €100 an hour labour, 6k will give me 60 hours. Can you turn a dog into a medical device (wtf Joe) in 60 hours? 120 hours? 180 hours? That hourly rate is dropping fast.

I have no experience with dogs, but I don't think you can train anyone or any animal on a one to one basis to the level expected for that kind of money.

exactly, but he is taking the money claiming they can train them, for what is a lot of money

Checks for dog pooh under car before moving off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,829 ✭✭✭✭Dan Jaman

I'd say there's still some people not too far away do all that checking every day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,756 ✭✭✭Pretzill

And that's why you never see a puppy guide dog leading someone - months of training and then I'm sure a few visits to the potential owner to aclimatise etc. It would be the luck of the draw with these lads coupled with inexperienced ownership and a 6k bill for starters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,228 ✭✭✭dinneenp

Jesus, he's still on about the dogs! surely time to move onto another topic (no offence for people who are affected by this company)

snubbleste wrote: »
    PTSD silly

Oops!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,539 ✭✭✭Mike Guide 69

"Aye nae a puppy"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭Tiger Mcilroy

So the dog hasnt been trained yet?...hows this a positive for the euro service dogs crowd...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,420 ✭✭✭✭sligojoek

dinneenp wrote: »
    Jesus, he's still on about the dogs! surely time to move onto another topic (no offence for people who are affected by this company)
    Yea. The hatchet job has been done. Move on.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,039 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,117 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

What about all the people holding on waiting to talk about schoolbooks?

I thought the Scots were supposed to be canny?

they gave her an untrained puppy ? what exactly is she happy about ? This sounds bizarre really

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,379 ✭✭✭CarrickMcJoe

€1500 to put a dog on a ferry...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 787 ✭✭✭folamh

How does Harry not know his position in the company? And how can he not know what qualifications his trainers have (despite advertising this on the website)? And then not knowing what Joe was referring to about the legal staff? Even the shoddiest scam artist would know to prepare before going on the radio...

More than a few typos on the website btw, very unprofessional. http://www.topdogtraining.ie/our-staff-2/

Sounds like she bought a puppy. Pure and simple. She's shelling out money into the future for a puppy. Nothing more or less. Desperate stuff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,887 ✭✭✭signostic

translator
    Scottish to english...

an = and

anymair = anymore

auld = old

aw = all

awn = own

ay = yes

cannae = cannot

coont = count

dae = do

daen't = don't

daith = death

dee = die

deid = dead

dee'd = died

didnae = did not

disnae = does not

doon/doun = down

fou = full

g** = go

geit = get

gie = give

hae = have

hauf = half

heid = head

hoom = home

h*** = hour

licht = light

ma = my

mak = make

nae = no / not

niver = never

oor = our

oot = out

o = of

pairt = part

richt = right

shuid = should

shouder = shoulder

tae = to

tak = take

thae = those

thare = there

thay = they

the day = today

the nite = tonight

wad = would

wye = way

wi = with

ye / ya = you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,562 ✭✭✭Tiger Mcilroy

This positive story is actually making things worse for michael...no training she basically paid 2k for a puppy to be transferred to scotland..its almost like they are scamming this one..