Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin GAA Discussion Thread MOD WARNING POST #2944

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,664 ✭✭✭donkey balls

Just heard that the match is sold out,I was checking out tickets.ie the other day and they only had upper tier and some Nally tickets left.
    Just as well I have the Parnell pass really looking forward to the match.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,569 ✭✭✭✭ProudDUB

Shurrup Flukes. Don't be giving away all of our secrets.

I'm a big fan of Meaghers too. It's so big, it never seems as jammers as other pubs in the area & generally seems to be all Dubs people. Not that there is anything wrong with "visitors", but sometimes, you just want to be with your own.

I have fond memories of the place after the 2011 final. There was a rumour going around that the lads may bring the Sam in. (Was told that it was/is Tony Hanahoe's local and that is what the teams that he captained did, when they won silverware. I think that's how the rumour started.) It seems a daft idea now, but back in 2011, it's not like we had a lot of practice in knowing what to do after an AI win. :o

I think I ordered a large brandy to settle the tummy. It was in bits all day long with nerves. Then somebody arrived with a few bottles of champagne from the off license and the brandy was quickly forgotten about. :D

I love going to the Clonliffe House before the game. It's not exactly the most salubrious spot around, but I love the buzz from it being right at the heart of all the action. Also love standing outside it, about an hour before throw in, cold Corona in hand... suddenly you hear the sirens off in the distance, you see the flashing blue lights approach & the bright yellow high viz vests on the Guards. Then you hear it, the roar of the motor bikes of the Garda escort & then you see it, those magic words Dublin Senior Football Team lit up on the front of the bus. Your heart literally stops for a few seconds.

The bus stops, as the stewards remove the barrier at the bottom of Clonliffe Rd. You see the faces of a few of the players up close. You know they see you too, but they aren't really seeing you. Their minds are far, far away, focused on the field of dreams just up the road, but you raise your bottle anyway, in silent salute. Maybe one of these days, you'll get a nod back....

It never gets old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,005 ✭✭✭✭Flukey

Well, well, well ProudDub, there's us been drinking in the same establishment, and we didn't know it. :) We'll have to arrange to meet in Meaghers after the semi-final so. As for the Clonliffe House, some of the guys certainly used to go in there before and lots of us after, but as you say, it is not the most salubrious spot, so we've moved on to Meaghers now. Were you there when the boss man gave his speech of thanks to the customers after the quarter-final? He actually gave it twice, presumably so the later arrivals could hear it too. Unfortunately, on neither occasion did it finish with the words "Drinks are on the house." Maybe after the final. :) As for me giving away too many secrets, don't worry about that. A bit like Meaghers, its almost all Dubs in here. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,952 ✭✭✭✭Stoner

Plenty of secret readers here Flukey.
    The Kerry and Mayo lads read every scrap looking for evidence of our legendary cockyness to fuel a victory over our over hyped team ;)

I suspect Yop and spegilite set up an RSS feed for the Mayo management team for immediate updates

Keane searches for any superlatives whatsoever to stick on the wall in killarney

Anyway
    Word on the street is Barney Rock is back training with the senior panel. He was the best ever. He's lost a bit of speed but he's full of good ideas. We'll win with him. Unbeatable.

Ok so. Since I'm on nightwatch with the little fella.

Brady, along with Kilkenny is imo our most improved player this year going on league form. Seems to have lost out completely to Fenton but I never saw him as a real option at midfield to begin with. This year he was at the same pace as the rest of the team so he's demonstrated that he can fit in.
    I had it in my mind that he'd be handy against Donegal as he's experienced.
    However, if we play a sweeper on AOS he'd be handy imho. He'd be more difficult than most of our options to brush aside like McHugh was.

We are missing that tough steady sub since Cullen retired. I think he's our best candidate but he hasn't been needed in the championship.
    We are also missing the legendary physicality that Brennan has that Corny and I spoke about so much. Brady has a bit of that in him. I wouldn't have bastic in that category as he's too close to starting. Wasn't it 2012 that he was getting into the game vs mayo only to be subbed, he fielded a terrific ball and more or less left the field straight away.

Disappointing minor semi-final today. We had the winning of it. We gifted them some scores, silly turnovers and the like. We have a lot of them that will still be minors next year, so there is scope to build on this.

The senior match was a cracker, best match of the year. To think too, that we should have beaten Galway on the first day. We were a lot better than the hammering they gave us in the replay. The pace of today shows us the level we have to get to at this stage of the year.

As for boozers, a couple of us ended up in the aforementioned Briody's, not for the first time let it be said. A few other Dubs there, and some others.

Stoner wrote: »
    Anyway
    Word on the street is Barney Rock is back training with the senior panel. He was the best ever. He's lost a bit of speed but he's full of good ideas. We'll win with him. Unbeatable.

With Jimmy Keaveney coming out of retirement, Barney is going to find it hard to get into the team. Jimmy was going well in training. Big decision for Gavin. Does he go for a guy with the same name as himself or the father of a guy already on the team? Tough one. At least Brian Mullins returning will help sort out our problems at midfield.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,481 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

Just heard that the match is sold out,I was checking out tickets.ie the other day and they only had upper tier and some Nally tickets left.
    Just as well I have the Parnell pass really looking forward to the match.

This can't be true? I want to go but I'll be pissed off if this is sold out already. They rarely sell out this quick but then again it's the 2 best supported counties.

Flukey wrote: »
    With Jimmy Keaveney coming out of retirement, Barney is going to find it hard to get into the team. Jimmy was going well in training. Big decision for Gavin. Does he go for a guy with the same name as himself or the father of a guy already on the team? Tough one. At least Brian Mullins returning will help sort out our problems at midfield.

Bernard Brogan is going to go drilling for oil again. I can feel it in me waters. But the really scary thing for the opposition, is that Kieran Duff is re growing his beard. I'd be seriously ****ting myself I was them.

The really scary thing is how Andy Kettle, Dave Billings and Heffo are now working together. So we'll now have help with any high balls heading towards the heavens in midfield.

RoyalCelt wrote:
    This can't be true? I want to go but I'll be pissed off if this is sold out already. They rarely sell out this quick but then again it's the 2 best supported counties.

Yes season tickets, Parnell passes and the mayo equivalent are all maxed out , possibly there'd be 8k gone straight away.

Tyrone have lots of season ticket holders too so that might go the same way.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,593 ✭✭✭DoctaDee

Flukey wrote: »
    Disappointing minor semi-final today. We had the winning of it. We gifted them some scores, silly turnovers and the like. We have a lot of them that will still be minors next year, so there is scope to build on this.

Both forward lines were carrying huge threat yesterday, I thought after Tipps initial ascendancy that the young lads settled down well and upto around the 40 min mark were just shading the game. Big problems then going scoreless for over 10 mins in a 60 minute game. Will be interesting to see how the youngsters develop - I thought Considine from Crokes has the hallmarks of being a big physical full forward in the years to come.

On a side note it was encouraging to see a good few northside clubs being represented again .. the likes of Na Fianna, Craobh Chiarain & of course the boys out in the sticks Maurs & Mearnogs. Nothing to be down about at all they gave it a good run

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,347 ✭✭✭Kavrocks

DoctaDee wrote: »
    I thought after Tipps initial ascendancy
    You mean after the ref gave them 2 very soft frees and robbed us of a point.

All in all though, Tipp were far better than us in the last 10 minutes and deserved their win. It does show a lot of promise for us in the future though, hopefully we won't lose too many to football and can foster some of the talent that was out there.

DoctaDee wrote: »
    On a side note it was encouraging to see a good few northside clubs being represented again .. the likes of Na Fianna, Craobh Chiarain & of course the boys out in the sticks Maurs & Mearnogs. Nothing to be down about at all they gave it a good run

Funny, I was just thinking the very same thing during the team announcements. (I went in yesterday, to give my heart some good practice for the Mayo game. :p ) There were a couple of Whitehall lads on the team too, weren't they?

Indeed there was PD (sorry omitted Daire Gray)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,590 ✭✭✭CurryFlavoured

Should there be more tickets released? Sold out very quick.

I'd be curious to know if the Mayo Co Board are going to take up their full allocation of Hill tickets, like they did for the AI final back in 2013. Take away our 16th man and all that. Coz that worked out for them oh so well 2 years ago. :D

Should there be more tickets released? Sold out very quick.

Dowrit ... only returns I'd say at this stage .. will be later next week before any light is shone on that tbh. Ticket office for PP holders only starts doling them out from next Tuesday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 52 ✭✭EnergyBlaster

Kavrocks wrote: »
    You mean after the ref gave them 2 very soft frees and robbed us of a point.

All in all though, Tipp were far better than us in the last 10 minutes and deserved their win. It does show a lot of promise for us in the future though, hopefully we won't lose too many to football and can foster some of the talent that was out there.

As far as I know, from another site what I can gather is that all those playing were mainly hurlers

ProudDUB wrote:
    Funny, I was just thinking the very same thing during the team announcements. (I went in yesterday, to give my heart some good practice for the Mayo game. ) There were a couple of Whitehall lads on the team too, weren't they?

I did the same took a count . Very even spread, good news for the county.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,088 ✭✭✭✭BonnieSituation

Slattsy wrote: »
    Greatshoutforstout have a good website and twitter for Guinness updates.

Best pint in Dublin at the moment and has been for a while now is Walshes in Stoneybatter.

In the City Centre The Auld Dub do a phenomenal pint, but the price is off-putting. Bowes on Fleet Street next best.
    Followed in 3rd by The Dame Tavern.

Sorry for derailing the thread lads but in response to Slattsy from last Friday I ended up in Walsh's on the way to Ryans and the Royal Oak (the lad I was with wouldn't come into O'Gara's.

First time I darkened the door since the Ulster Final 2011. Pint was daycent anyway. Not as sour as I remembered.

---

Anyway, as you were...

ProudDUB wrote:
    I'd be curious to know if the Mayo Co Board are going to take up their full allocation of Hill tickets, like they did for the AI final back in 2013
    They had the minors then too. Tip and Kildare will follow the traditional path I'm sure.
    I'd say Kildare will get some support from Dublin.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,467 ✭✭✭Oasis_Dublin

Yesterday's defeat was essentially just like the Leinster final defeat. No belief in the last ten minutes.

Frustraing the amount of times we attempted to play short balls out defence, coughing up a few points. The short puck outs also cost us dearly, with at least 1-1 coming from us trying to be too clever with the ball. Considine was very good in the first half, but they didn't use him in the second-half.

Was there ever a time when northside clubs weren't represented on Dublin senior hurling teams?!?

I'd doubt it but off the top of my head the 2 Na Fianna lads - Barrett & Boland were the only representatives last time out v Waterford ?

No but there was a time that there were far more from the north side pointing at good development on the Southside and decline on the northside no ?

Eoghan Ruadh traditionally drew their players from the Stoneybatter area historicaly they had decent success and took players from church street to cabra cross were, they did well across all grades and genders even winning all Ireland senior camogie championships.
    Very few players from that part of the city now.
    The area produced hurlers like Joey Towell
    http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=706.10;wap2

It's sad to see the decline in hurling in that part of the city , clubs like Finbarrs have brought things on but a large part of traditional northside Dublin hurling has declined imho. I guess like many areas if you plotted a graph of this vs the drop in Christian brothers teaching in the schools you'll find a pattern. But that's a different story!!!

Was it ten years ago or more that Ballynoden and O'Tools were contesting senior county championship finals regularly That was possibly a turning point I remember Ballyboden had something like 8 lads on the senior intercounty panel .

Since then the Southside clubs have produced some all star players and Dublin have picked up some silverware.

All in all it can only be good to get some of the other clubs producing more players that can compete at a higher level again.

No but there was a time that there were far more from the north side pointing at good development on the Southside and decline on the northside no ?

Eoghan Ruadh traditionally drew their players from the Stoneybatter area historicaly they had decent success and took players from church street to cabra cross were, they did well across all grades and genders even winning all Ireland senior camogie championships.
    Very few players from that part of the city now.
    The area produced hurlers like Joey Towell
    http://gaaboard.com/board/index.php?topic=706.10;wap2

It's sad to see the decline in hurling in that part of the city , clubs like Finbarrs have brought things on but a large part of traditional northside Dublin hurling has declined imho. I guess like many areas if you plotted a graph of this vs the drop in Christian brothers teaching in the schools you'll find a pattern. But that's a different story!!!

Was it ten years ago or more that Ballynoden and O'Tools were contesting senior county championship finals regularly That was possibly a turning point I remember Ballyboden had something like 8 lads on the senior intercounty panel .

Since then the Southside clubs have produced some all star players and Dublin have picked up some silverware.

All in all it can only be good to get some of the other clubs producing more players that can compete at a higher level again.

Yeah the Larriers and Craobh provided decent numbers to the set up 15 years ago .. now with Mick Carton going there's no representative from O'Tooles. The only beacon Northside is Na Fianna, I think they're competing well underage (the only NS club to win minor titles recently) but really the focus this side of the water is football .. and thats just the way it is ..

Well the 61 team had about 7 lads starting from Vincents. Franner Whelan from Eoghan Ruadh started too. Would be interesting to check that out. They lost to tip by 1 point in the AI final.

Ill look up the the breakdown on that team.

I'd be fairly confident that all around the NCR , Aughram street , Abour Hill , stoneybatter was mainly hurling for long periods.

Well the 61 team had about 7 lads Vincents. Franner Whelan from Eoghan Ruadh started too. Would be interesting to check that out. They lost to tip by 1 point in the AI final.

Ill look up the the breakdown on that team.

I'd be fairly confident that all around the NCR , Aughram street , Abour Hill , stoneybatter was mainly hurling for long periods.

You've just reminded me of the Foleys with Vins and Des in particular who played Railway Cup in both codes on the same day. .twas early 60 too

the line up on the day.
    No clubs though . Jimmy Grey was from Galway. So we'd be looking for a breakdown of the outfield players. I dont know how many of the Vincent's lads were from Dublin, I assume 100% .

We have Fran Whelan

The 6 Vincent's lads are
    source

Des, lar Foley
    Liam and Des Ferguson
    Noel Drumgoole
    Shay lynch

This app is gone to the dogs, I've given up trying to get it to hold links and quotes

the line up on the day.
    No clubs though . Jimmy Grey was from Galway. So we'd be looking for a breakdown of the outfield players. I dont know how many of the Vincent's lads were from Dublin, I assume 100% .

I wouldn't have thought Jimmy Gray was a mudblood ? .... I remember reading only 1 true blue has an AI hurling medal the rest were mercenaries ;)