Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Rangers FC On Field Gossip & Rumour Thread 2017 Mod Note in OP(Updated 14/08)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,839 ✭✭✭Jelle1880

Looked offside for Miller, but it counts. 1-5.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,704 ✭✭✭Broxi_Bear_Eire

Lovely skill from Oduwa ball cut back Miller sticks it in. Probably should have been chopped off but feck it 5-1

And Tavernier scores a 6th which is chopped off for offside while he was on :p

edit: And now another goal given offside.

Oduwa just completely made a mockery of that defender, immense confidence :D

1-5 FT.

I cannot believe the nonsense that is being spouted about Oduwa's flick yesterday some of the comments in the Scottish press are laughable.

About 1.07 is the flick the thing is as good as it was to see stuff like this tried I would really hate to see the uproar if a goal had came about because of it

The daily Record giving the Alloa full back a full back page+ to spout his pish is a joke.

t8kqq1.jpg

When Mackay-Steven, McGeady,... used to do something similar the papers were creaming themselves over it (and rightly so imo, it's why people go to watch football).

Jimmy Johnstone, Jim Baxter, Gazza,... used to do some things like this as well to have a bit of a laugh, and they were lauded for it.

But now because it's some young player full of confidence it's a disgrace ?
    The media are a bunch of spineless wasters if this is what they think.

On another note: Seems like we'll be getting 2 more loanees, one is rumoured to be John Swift from Chelsea, the second one is an Arsenal player.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,165 ✭✭✭Savage Tyrant

I do remember Bobby Petta taking a bit of flack for "showboating" during a match against your old team... And again Ryan Giggs during a game for Man Utd when he trapped a ball between his knee and his chest... But I agree the criticism is moronic, his team were winning and winning handy. Of course he should feel like he can take a chance and display a bit of flair. It's those little things that then inspire confidence in the next games... Big difference if it was in the last few minutes and they are 2-1 down or drawing and looking for a winner.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,221 ✭✭✭bobbysands81

Jelle1880 wrote: »
    When Mackay-Steven, McGeady,... used to do something similar the papers were creaming themselves over it

McGeady did it week in week out at the highest level of Scottish football and in the Champions League.

Apples and oranges.

McGeady did it week in week out at the highest level of Scottish football and in the Champions League.

Apples and oranges.

With about the same end product as Oduwa.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,311 ✭✭✭✭weldoninhio

Jelle1880 wrote: »
    With about the same end product as Oduwa.

Let's see how may champs lge or prem games Oduwa gets.

Arsenal youngster Gedion Zelalem coming on loan it seems.

• Administrators, Computer Games Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 32,832 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Mickeroo

Very promising player, still very young so will be interested to see how he does, if the above news article is anything to go by he might rub the Scottish press up the wrong way though :pac:

Mickeroo wrote: »
    Very promising player, still very young so will be interested to see how he does, if the above news article is anything to go by he might rub the Scottish press up the wrong way though :pac:

That's what I read, seen as a huge talent.

Just curious if he'll handle the physical game in the Championship, doesn't look the biggest of players :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,014 ✭✭✭Eirebear

Apples and oranges.

Well, let that be a warning to any young footballer wanting to make a name for themselves and try to entertain those watching.
    Unless you have a track record at the highest level, then you are absolutely fair game for the hacks in the press, along with those in the field.

Ludicrous argument

Ayr Utd away in the Petrofac Training Cup tonight

Rangers: Foderingham; Tavernier, Ball, Wilson, Wallace; Shiels, Holt, Walsh; Oduwa, McKay, Clark.

Subs: Kelly, Miller, Waghorn, Kiernan, Law, Halliday, Aird.

Hopefully a good game here

Rangers go two up with a finish from Clark after 12 minutes and a second from MacKay after some good play between him and Walsh

Just saw the penalty foul on Oduwa, how can you not give that ?

Quarter final draw for the PTC today

Rangers v Livingstone

Ties scheduled for Saturday 10th October but don't be surprised if its an early kick off or the tie is moved to the Sunday for TV

A great loan signing for the club in the Arsenal youngster Gedion Zalalem for the season. It was confirmed early morning.

Rangers pull off signing coup as highly-rated Arsenal youngster Gedion Zelalem agrees season's loan deal
    08:43, 22 AUGUST 2015 BY RECORD SPORT ONLINE
    THE 18-year-old playmaker has joined on a loan deal until the end of the season but won't face Hibs on Sunday.

From the Guardian article:
    Under new ownership and management, Rangers – for so long a toxic headline – look like a functional soccer side again. While McCoist’s side was a mishmash of washed-up and worn-out names, Warburton’s team are dynamic, incisive and exciting – making them the perfect fit for Zelalem. Scottish soccer is better than is often credited, but it’s also true that at such a level the German-born USA youth international would be a shining star in a winning team – and nothing builds confidence and stature like winning. In soccer terms, a move would appear to suit all three vested parties.

So excited to see him play.

Rangers v Hibs today this should be good game.
    More or less the team I expected to start though I thought Miller would come off the bench

Rangers: Foderingham, Tav, Kiernan, Wilson, Wallace, Halliday, Holt, Law, McKay, Waghorn, Miller

Subs: Kelly, Ball, Hardie, Clark, Oduwa, Shiels, Walsh.

Hibs: Oxley, Gray (capt), Hanlon, Fontaine, Stevenson, Fyvie, McGinn, Henderson, Carmichael, Boyle, Cummings

WHAT A ****ING GOAL!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

A feckin beauty

Well we will take that thought it was not a bad game overall. From our point of view we need to tighten up at the back and we need to capitalise on the chances we are making

Delighted with the result, not so much with the quality of play (especially the first half).
    Hibs haven shown they won't be pushovers, should be a good fight for promotion I think.

Tell you what, I'm not entirely sure where Celtic done us the biggest favour today.
    Removing Scott Allen from the equation, or adding Henderson to it! :pac:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Eirebear wrote: »
    Tell you what, I'm not entirely sure where Celtic done us the biggest favour today.
    Removing Scott Allen from the equation, or adding Henderson to it! :pac:

Fairly sure Liam Henderson has won more SPL medals than Rangers.

He's out on loan to slum it for first team football, i think he'll return to Celtic a much better player than he left but you go ahead and delude yourself that Rangers came out better for not signing their no.1 target this summer.:pac:

Who did ye sign on loan again? :D

Dempsey wrote: »

He's out on loan to slum it for first team football, i think he'll return to Celtic a much better player than he left but you go ahead and delude yourself that Rangers came out better for not signing their no.1 target this summer.:pac:

Not even going to talk about your first bit of nonsense.

Honestly did you se Henderson today got to say he either let the occasion get to him or he had s bad day or he doesn't have it. At the moment I can't say which because I didn't follow his career when at Celtic to be fair I won't really follow it at Hibs either. Also pretty sure you know exactly who we have on loan so your point escapes me.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,553 ✭✭✭✭Dempsey

Not even going to talk about your first bit of nonsense.

Honestly did you se Henderson today got to say he either let the occasion get to him or he had s bad day or he doesn't have it. At the moment I can't say which because I didn't follow his career when at Celtic to be fair I won't really follow it at Hibs either. Also pretty sure you know exactly who we have on loan so your point escapes me.

No nonsense at all, he's won titles whereas the current Rangers setup has bought x amount of titles because they bought intellectual property of another one. You are smart enough to understand that.

Henderson has potential, like the Arsenal u19 player you have loan. No, I didnt see his performance today but my point is that over the course of a season, playing, whether it be struggling or performing well, at a senior club will be clearly be of more benefit to him than picking splinters out of his arse on the bench at Celtic.

Dempsey wrote: »

Oh look, in his rush to get a 'Rainjurs ur deid' comment in, Dempsey once again shows his inability to comprehend a simple post.

You'll note that not only have I suggested that Celtic got a fine player in Scott Allen, y'know..the bit about him being taken out of the equation and all that.. but also that I never said anything about the player that Henderson may or may not develop into.
    The key word there was 'today'. You see, where Allen ripped us a new one last season, Henderson found himself missing two real chances, one of which could be described as a sitter.

So yeah, my point again, in simple form, just for you

Allen not playing = Hibs weaker = favour.
    Henderson playing poorly = Hibs weaker = favour.

What Zelalem signing on loan for Rangers has to do with any of that, I'm unsure.
    Maybe you can help there?