Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Liverpool FC News/Gossip/Rumours Summer '15

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

brevity wrote: »
    I think I enjoyed football when all this **** was kept under wraps. Ignorance is bliss sometimes.

Time to just focus on the results and tactics I think.

Aye, you can still enjoy it. Just stop giving it attention.

I've definitely taken a step or two back when it comes to all of the rumours and social media stuff in recent years. No point getting caught up in speculation and all that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,477 ✭✭✭✭Knex*

Moreno to be thrown under a bus in tomorrows papers I'm guessing :pac: for speaking out in defence of Mario. :P

Moreno: Liverpool FC striker Balotelli has been harshly treated by his critics
    “I think he’s unfairly maligned,” Moreno said.

“He’s a very relaxed guy. He never bothers anyone. He could be a great striker. He’s got the tools.

“Things haven’t gone well for him here. He’s really struggled to score goals. ‘This had never happened to me before,’ he told me

http://www.liverpoolecho.co.uk/sport/moreno-liverpool-fc-striker-balotelli-9847506

"He's got the tools, but feck all production".

Yeah, that's pretty much the issue there, Alberto.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,799 ✭✭✭corwill

Jesus, how many more interviews by players having a cut off the club do we need to see this year? Sterling, Enrique, Skrtel, Moreno, anyone else?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,043 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Talk of Borini going back on loan to Sunderland. Christ.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,014 ✭✭✭garra

corwill wrote: »
    Jesus, how many more interviews by players having a cut off the club do we need to see this year? Sterling, Enrique, Skrtel, Moreno, anyone else?

Yeah its getting ridiculous at this stage. End of last season we had Sterling exposed on social media with his hubbly bubbly / laughing gas / whatever the kids call it, then we had Balotelli supporting Sterling on social media after Sterling and his agent gave the ol 2 finger salute to the club, now we have Moreno publicly supporting his team mate in defiance of a clear stance by the club that the player is not wanted at the club.

Mind you I'm not surprised by Moreno's actions, as soon as you see a footballer wearing outlandish baseball caps you know there is trouble ahead (Moreno, Stelring, Balotelli, even Shaqiri dons a wide-brimmed muppet boy baseball cap).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,846 ✭✭✭✭Liam McPoyle

OwaynOTT wrote: »
    He will be shortlisted as number one in a years time.

When he has signed for Real Madrid.

United sell to Madrid.

You guys sell to Barca.

Don't mess with the system!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Wouldn't care if we got rid of Moreno, his defending is as good as his dancing!

Been an absolute liability since he arrived!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

I really wish he'd just f*ck off for good!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

United sell to Madrid.

You guys sell to Barca.

Don't mess with the system!

Liverpool have actually done more business with Real Madrid than Barcelona

Owen, Arbeloa, Alonso v Masch, Suarez. Macca was a free agent so doesn't count.

While in an eerie echo Liverpool have beaten Real Madrid three times v two for Barcelona.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,560 ✭✭✭✭martyos121

Playing for that team is punishment enough, hopefully he takes the FIFA player with him.

• Site Banned Posts: 2,094 ✭✭✭BMMachine

I really dont understand the hate levelled at Borini & Enrique. They didnt work out, so what? Its not their fault if clubs dont want them or whatnot, we arent privy to whats going on there. They tried, they wanted to play at a high level and it hasnt worked out. Why hate them for it?
    Balotelli on the otherhand? an active liability and all round eedjit, hate him all you want :p

LuckyLloyd wrote: »

Ultimately though, this is a pointless angle of debate given the entrenchment of the 'pro' and 'anti' Rodgers camps. Whatever the rights and wrongs, if we win lots of games this year these decisions will be held up as examples of Rodger's decisiveness when provided with greater control and his ability to breathe confidence into his preferred players. If we don't win enough games and the players fail to be offloaded for good fees, the decisions will be held against him.

People really need to chill out on all this stuff. The data is coming. Before that data comes you aren't going to turn anyone's initial opinions on our transfer moves / squad management / tactics / etc around.

Given the above I'm surprised to read the below. The leak could be from any of the staff, playing or coaching staff. I'm struggling to see how anyone impartial or unbiased could credit this unedifying behaviour to an individual.
    LuckyLloyd wrote: »
    If the manager is leaking things to the press (and I would reach that conclusion) it's clearly unedifying behaviour. But again, no doubt 'pro' Rodgers people will tell you that's modern management and how the game needs to be played, etc. You wouldn't have seen Kenny doing it, that's for sure.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,906 ✭✭✭✭rob316

Galling considering we accepted a £14m offer for him last summer :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,963 ✭✭✭54and56

Dickerty wrote: »
    Of course he does! Won't get the same wages elsewhere, so will steal another year then get a nice fee for a free transfer... :mad:

Steal another year by honoring his contract? What sort of logic is that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,963 ✭✭✭54and56

rob316 wrote: »
    Galling considering we accepted a £14m offer for him last summer :(

Why is it galling? Do you think people should be traded like pieces of meat against their will?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,715 ✭✭✭✭SlickRic

To be fair...the leaks are getting ridiculous.

I'm not blaming any individuals as we've no idea, but when was the last time you heard stuff coming out of Utd, City or Chelsea similar to what's been coming out of Liverpool recently?

We can call Sterling, Enrique and the like unprofessional, but every club has players who aren't particularly happy. The club should be able to keep the lid on it all.

In fact, in Utd's case, their fans have been absolutely loving how secret all their business has become.

As Lloyd said, none of it will ultimately matter if we're successful. However, it'd be nice if our business was more private than it seems to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,637 ✭✭✭BMJD

Is it that far fetched that a couple of "journalists" take a look at the team sheet for one match, note who isn't there, then construct stories about how they've had a bust-up with the boss, or on the verge of a move to Roma? The club is damned if they do and damned if they don't with this issue; if they respond then it adds some credibility to the story, if they ignore it then they obviously have something to hide.

Moreno and Enrique probably just gave simple, honest answers to a couple of questions and its been blown out of all proportion for no reason other than to get a reaction from the likes of us on here.

It's mostly complete horsesh1te, it's not worth getting worked up about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,740 ✭✭✭✭MD1990

brevity wrote: »
    I think I enjoyed football when all this **** was kept under wraps. Ignorance is bliss sometimes.

Time to just focus on the results and tactics I think.
    immediately thought of this song when u said that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,158 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

Moreno to be thrown under a bus in tomorrows papers I'm guessing :pac: for speaking out in defence of Mario. :P

Moreno: Liverpool FC striker Balotelli has been harshly treated by his critics

http://www.liverpoolecho.co.uk/sport/moreno-liverpool-fc-striker-balotelli-9847506
    He should really be keeping his mouth shut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,043 ✭✭✭✭Utopia Parkway

Coutinho left out of the latest Brazil squad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭Jon Stark

He should really be keeping his mouth shut.

Fair play to him tbh. He'll probably pay the price of crossing Rodgers but at least he's sticking up for a team mate and friend.

Mario has become a convenient scapegoat for a season that was a shambles from top to bottom.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,836 ✭✭✭Sir Gallagher

Why is it galling? Do you think people should be traded like pieces of meat against their will?

Galling because we could have got 14m for him now it looks like we're getting nothing? Not that hard to wrap your head around is it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭MonkeyTennis

Moreno has said precisely f*** all. Slows news day lads.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 40,059 ✭✭✭✭Harry Palmr

Coutinho left out of the latest Brazil squad.

No wonder Kaka was so full of nice chat about Coutinho - he's replaced him!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,906 ✭✭✭✭rob316

What :confused:

Galling that we will probably get nothing now, he contributed nothing last season and we could have gotten £14m last summer.

rob316 wrote: »
    What :confused:

Galling that we will probably get nothing now, he contributed nothing last season and we could have gotten £14m last summer.

Shame on you, being concerned with the best interests of the club you support, rather than the precious, sensitive feelings of some multimillionaires passing through and being made even wealthier as they do so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,861 ✭✭✭Mr.H

Only if they are sh1t :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61,272 ✭✭✭✭Agent Coulson

Maybe throwing all these players under the bus is Brendan's way of learning how to park the bus when needed in games :)

I hear the bus is going to thrown under Sakho.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,066 ✭✭✭Washington Irving

mormank wrote: »
    Didn't we sign Morientes in the January transfer window, Fifa comes out around September so his move to Liverpool wouldnt have had any effect on the Fifa cover.

It was released in October those days and the move was already well in the works before January.