If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Tipping Away...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 233 ✭✭Outside

Thanks TbL, better watch the long runs for sure. If my understanding of the threshold running is correct from reading Daniels book, I messed up that session by doing the first couple too quick and struggling to complete final one. Apparently threshold running is pretty ineffective and possibly pointless having to struggle to keep pace for the final one.
    HR for T's:
    177 (hard effort and possibly out of fuel)
    I'll try make it more like 6:20/mi for a while.

Saturday 11th - 4.2 mi
    E - 4.2@7:25/mi
    A bit worse for wear today. I wa also down for volunteering to marshall at the Aquathon from 12:30 - 3 (actually 4pm). I signed up for it during the week and thought I'd like to see the race anyway so it'd be a good way to clear the head from the previous nights antics but the weather was especially horrific. Felt pretty bad for the organisers but they've had it pretty good the past few years I was told so your bound to get caught out in a bad one in Galway every now and then.
    Got out for a jog then after that to warm up some bit and legs were tired but the wedding dancing last night helped recovery for sure. The jagar bombs...not so much.

Sunday 12th - 4.6 mi
    E - 4.6@7:30/mi
    Legs a lot better today. Out last night again for another engagement party. This is getting out of hand. Burning candle at both ends comes to mind so kept it easy.

I've Q1 out of the way this week already so Q2 will be Wednesday morning hopefully and then next weeks Q1 on Saturday morning in Brighton. Yet another wedding so I'll try fit it in before breakfast and more wedding antics. I'm thinking now my blog should be be titled: "Four weddings and a Marathon".

Monday 13th - 10.9 mi
    AM E - 5.4mi + 10xstrides
    PM E - 5.5 mi

Tuesday 14th - 4 mi
    E 4@8:03/mi

Wednesday 15th - 15.5 mi
    Planned: JD 14WTG Q2: 8E - 6 x (1km I w/2:30min jog) - 1E
    It went: 8@7:34/mi - 1km splits(3:35, 3:31, 3:34, 3:34, 3:33, 3:30) - 2.4@7:16/mi

I checked the bible and for my current training VDOT, 1km I's should be 3:37 per rep. I felt this was a bit soft considering recent 5km race a few weeks ago so decided 3:35 might be more apt. First rep felt really easy, then got a little cocky on 2nd rep so I tried to keep rest at or just below 3:35. Finished up with a 3:30 fairly comfortably so happy out with how that went. Jogged back home the 2.4mi from track and legs felt good. Smashing weather so didn't mind that at all.

Thursday 16th - 5.4 mi
    E - 5.4@7:54/mi runmuting, bike at work so can cycle home.

Wedding in Brighton this weekend and with a 17mi E run planned, I might as well use it for a little sightseeing.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,477 ✭✭✭youngrun

Outside wrote: »
    Wednesday 15th - 15.5 mi
    Planned: JD 14WTG Q2: 8E - 6 x (1km I w/2:30min jog) - 1E
    It went: 8@7:34/mi - 1km splits(3:35, 3:31, 3:34, 3:34, 3:33, 3:30) - 2.4@7:16/mi

I checked the bible and for my current training VDOT, 1km I's should be 3:37 per rep. I felt this was a bit soft considering recent 5km race a few weeks ago so decided 3:35 might be more apt. First rep felt really easy, then got a little cocky on 2nd rep so I tried to keep rest at or just below 3:35. Finished up with a 3:30 fairly comfortably so happy out with how that went. Jogged back home the 2.4mi from track and legs felt good. Smashing weather so didn't mind that at all.

Thursday 16th - 5.4 mi
    E - 5.4@7:54/mi runmuting, bike at work so can cycle home.

Wedding in Brighton this weekend and with a 17mi E run planned, I might as well use it for a little sightseeing.

Some good running here

you seem to be running better than your target

Perhaps a race would be good to recalibrate where you are at- are these built into programme. No point underselling yourself!

youngrun wrote: »
    Some good running here

you seem to be running better than your target

Perhaps a race would be good to recalibrate where you are at- are these built into programme. No point underselling yourself!

Having a look at whats on the way in the plan, I'd be slow to increase too much. The last couple of Q runs were relatively soft compared to whats on the way. The next Q1 after this weekend is 17 mi with 14 at PMP, ouch.
    Ideally I'd like to do Dublin Rock and Roll as a good few club mates heading up but I've a good mates wedding on the Saturday so no real point in heading up.

It looks like I'll be racing Charlaville Half marathon on Sept 20th so that will give me a fair idea. Then again, it's too late at that stage to re-adjust so I'll have to play it by ear before then...hopefully I can get in one or two races in the mean-time as I def need to practice at least.

Friday 17th - 5.3 mi
    E - 5.3@7:40/mi runmuting

Saturday - 12.2 mi
    E - 12.2@7:23/mi
    This was meant to be Q1 of the week with 17 mi Easy planned. I ended up sleeping in after late arrival into Brighton so made the most of the time I'd left myself and got 12.2 mi done with some sightseeing on the Brighton waterfront. I won't get this done tomorrow post wedding madness so that's a missed session, ah well. I won't beat myself up about it too much. The next few look tough.

Sunday - 0 mi
    Great day yesterday at the wedding so a little worse for wear today. We all met up at the Cock Inn (heh) outside Lewes and got a traditional roast beef pub grub dinner. Yorkshire pudding, red cabbage, the works. Great weather to boot. Job.

Monday - 10 mi
    E - 10@7:11/mi
    Nice early morning run before being back to the grindstone. Tired this morning but gradually came round as the run progressed. Gonna be a long day at work though...

This week should see me do a tough looking Q2 on Wednesday morning then a fairly hefty 17 mi with 14 mi at marathon pace on Saturday morning. Hmmm...

Tuesday 21st - 4 mi
    E 4@7:54/mi + 8x strides

Wednesday 22nd - 14.7 mi
    Q2 Plan this week: 40min E - 3T - 2min rest - 2x(2T - 1min rest) - 2E.
    And it went: 40mins@7:44/mi - 3@5:57/min - 2@6:01/min - 2@5:55/mi - 2.4@7:21/mi
    avgHR for T runs: 176, 182, 184.
    Happy with that. The past 7 days of E running and a missed session on Saturday really shows. Kept the effort just about uncomfortably hard for the 3 runs and wasn't completely wrecked at the end. A lot easier to get HR to 180 this time.
    Today also marked the Galway Arts Fest's Skywhale's final flight so as I was running towards down the prom at around 7am you could see her in full flight over the city. Very Surreal. I was giving out stink coming up to the fest about this Skywhale but it seems to have won me over and I felt a slight sense of loss as it passed.

I'll try get next weeks Q1 in on Saturday morning.

Outside wrote: »
    Tuesday 21st - 4 mi
    E 4@7:54/mi + 8x strides

Wednesday 22nd - 14.7 mi
    Q2 Plan this week: 40min E - 3T - 2min rest - 2x(2T - 1min rest) - 2E.
    And it went: 40mins@7:44/mi - 3@5:57/min - 2@6:01/min - 2@5:55/mi - 2.4@7:21/mi
    avgHR for T runs: 176, 182, 184.
    Happy with that. The past 7 days of E running and a missed session on Saturday really shows. Kept the effort just about uncomfortably hard for the 3 runs and wasn't completely wrecked at the end. A lot easier to get HR to 180 this time.
    Today also marked the Galway Arts Fest's Skywhale's final flight so as I was running towards down the prom at around 7am you could see in in full flight over the city. Very Surreal. I was giving out stink coming up to the fest about this Skywhale but it seems to have won me over and I felt a slight sense of loss as it passed.

I'll try get next weeks Q1 in on Saturday morning.

Good running again , how do you find the early morning runs , hard work running tempo pace at 7 am I imagine

No beating around the bush here but the main issue with the morning runs are the bowels. I try get up 30-45mins before start, have porridge and some water then hope for the best it works out. All these morning run's start out easy so just use that to loosen out. Made good use of one of the porta-loos on the prom during the easy 40mins.

Thursday 23rd - 4.7 mi
    E 4.7@7:16/mi + 8 x strides
    Legs surprisinly good, evening run so I had cira 36 hours of recovery.
    Spotted the Sky-whale again this morning on a sneaky flight, yesterday was meant to be the last?! They lied to us!

Friday 24th - 4.2 mi
    E 4.2@7:48/mi
    Legs a little dead this morning, probably still half asleep so trotted around the city in the beautiful weather nice'n'easy.
    Tomorrow mornings plan is 17mi with 14@ PMP. Oh boy.

Saturday 25th - 18 mi
    Plan this weeks Q1: 1E - 8M - 1E - 6M - 1E
    It went: 1@7:33/mi - 8@6:23/mi (HR170) - 1@7:37 - 6@6:23/mi (HR171) - 2@7:48/mi
    Conditions were perfect for this, sun shining, not a puff of wind and felt great. This is off the back of an easy-ish week, only 48 mi last week in the plan and also missed the last Q1 so wanted to make sure I nailed this.
    Plan was to just go on effort and keep an eye on HR. 170 feels about right for M pace, comfortably hard where I still need to concentrate on arms. Ideally I'd like to keep the same pace but instant pace running around the tracks and trails of Dangan doesn't work at all so just ignored it. I was ideally going to try run as close to 6:30 as I could thinking that the effort might be too hard to do that but to my surprise on reaching the end of the 1st 8mi@M pace, I did it in under the plan of 52 min in 51:05. So the 1E mile ticked by and then straight into the final 6. Again just concentrating on moving arms and keeping HR under control around 170. A bit trickier this time to keep it that high and I suspect I was running out of energy after 1.5hrs. So interestingly by going on effort and keeping an eye on HR and hit the exact same pace for both sessions, nice!

Pleasantly surprised I managed 6:23 pace when only a few weeks ago at the same effort and HR it was 6:40, this muscle super-compensation is great!

So going forward I think I'll stick to doing the M pace session off of perceived effort and HR so come a month before DCM I'll have a fair idea of what I can sustain.

Sunday 26th - 10 mi
    E - 10@7:26/mi

Monday 27th - 10.6 mi
    E - 10.6@7:34/mi

Tuesday 28th - 4 mi
    E - 4@7:14/mi

Wednesday 29th - 14 mi
    This weeks Q2 Plan: 4E - 3T - 3minsE - 2x(2T - 2minsE) - 1T - 1E
    It went: 4E@7:53/mi - 3T@6:10 - 3minE - 2T@6:08/mi - 2minE - 2T@6:12/mi - 2minE - 1T@6:00/mi - 1.3@8:13/mi
    I had this week off work so ended up heading home (out in the country in West Cork). Nowhere really nearby that has flat open roads so this was just done on a hilly 1 mi out and back run by my house. Pace suffered as a result for sure but hills will hopefully be of some benefit to the legs. Not an easy session at all and glad to get that out of the way.

Thursday 30th - Rest

Friday 31st - 6mi
    E(ish) - 6@6:30/mi
    On the way back up to Galway I stopped off in Cork city for a grub and a pint with friends on Thursday night so ended up running with a mate on Friday morning who's tapering for Dublin Ironman next weekend. Didn't really mind what we did and left it up to him as once as it wasn't too long. Ended up running marathon pace straight up for 6 mi. Not ideal but legs felt good and nice to chat and run a new route.

Another week of training chalked down!

Saturday 1st - 16.2 mi
    Q1 Plan this week: 12E - 3T - 1E
    It went: 12@7:22/mi - 3@6:12/mi - 1.2@7:56
    Glad to get this done. Bust week around home and visiting people and another wedding today after a day at the Galway Races yesterday. Decided to try squeeze this weeks Q1 this morning as this wedding is going to knock a bit out of me for sure. Felt like I had plenty of energy but the 3T was pretty tough. It felt faster than 6:12's to be honest but I'd say legs still a little tired from yesterdays 6mi marathon pace and a week of 60 mi (peak of plan). Again, glad to have that under the belt. Another wedding next weekend, then 30th, then electric picnic in early Sept so after that I'll properly knuckle down diet-wise and hopefully put in a good half marathon in Charleville.

Sunday 2nd - 6.6 mi
    E - 6.6@7:19/mi

Monday 3rd - 9.1 mi
    E - 4.8@7:08/mi - 9x Hill Strides in Dangan - 4.3@7:15

Tuesday 4th - Zero
    Intended to get out for an E 4mi after work but arrived home to dinner on the table. I though better of telling herself that I've to go again! Not too stuck for mileage this week so I'll give today a rest.

Wednesday 5th - 8.2 mi FAIL!
    What a miserable morning.
    Q2 Plan was: 8E – 5x(1km I – 2min jog) – 4x(400m R – 400m jog) - 1E
    It went: Interestingly.
    So had to be in work for 8:30am, cycling so knew I had to start this session early if I wanted to get it done this morning. So out the door for about 5:20 am and started off nice and easy for the 8E part. Wet and windy, great. Did a 4 mi loop coming back down the prom with the wind when I was passing close by my apartment when up ahead I noticed two dogs looking a bit flustered. I hindsight I should have turned around there and then but thought it’d be grand, the owner must be nearby anyway. Got closer and realised I was on my own at 5:50 am with a friendly looking Labrador and a not so friendly looking Alsatian. Not good. The two dogs spotted me and ran straight for me. Not good again. I slowed up to a very slow jog in the hopes that they’d back down and let me by. The Alsatian had other ideas and kept coming closer, barking, what felt pretty aggressively to me. I had jogged passed at this stage but the Alsatian was getting way too close for my liking so I turned around and stopped to face him. The Labrador had no real interest but the Alsatian looked like he meant business so not taking any chances I shouted and threw up the arms and he backed off but as I turned around to jog off he came towards me again, barking and growling. I was on the prom at this stage and jumped off onto the rocks by the sea. So worst case, in my tiredness, I thought I could jump into water and swim away. The Labrador I could probably win round but I did not fancy my chances against an Alsatian. I walked along the rocks for a bit towards my apartment (about 200m away at this stage) but the Alsatian kept watching from above and following me from the prom. Keeping my composure I hit the stop on my Garmin. This may take a while. Looking around for some help there was no one and it was lashing it down. What a situation. I knew the very worst thing you could do is try and run so I picked up 4 or 5 rocks. If he really wanted to get to me, I’m sure he could have easily so maybe he was just spooked. With no other real options, I just walked up the rocks confidently (inwardly, not so confident) towards the mismatched pair. They came pretty close again but never too aggressively this time and I kept walking with the head down. I’m sure the Labrador wanted to play fetch at this stage when he saw the rocks. God only knows what I would have done with the rocks, as if they’d have helped against an Alsatian but it was somewhat comforting. Still walking, trying to avoid eye contact, head down, getting closer to the apartment the Alsatian stopped barking and just walked beside me. I felt bad then carrying the rocks in my arms so threw them to the side. Got inside the apartment and breathed some sigh of relief! I’m not a nervous person at all around Dogs but that really did spook me. I’ve grown up around dogs all my life!

I didn’t get up this early for no reason, had a glance out the window and saw no sign of the dogs, so I hopped into the car and drove to Dangan where I originally hoped to use the track. My plan was to finish off the 8E by running 4 mi out to Dangan but decided I could just drive out and finish it off there. So I finished off the 8 miles around Dangan, but stomach not great after all the excitement at this stage. No open toilet in sight either so thought I chance working away at rest of session anyway. Got to the track and the gate was locked, darn. That was the final straw. Even if I had gone ahead I was going to be late for work at this stage anyway so knocked the session on the head and went home and got ready for work.

So summery of session: 8.2@7:54/mi

I’ll try again tomorrow afternoon when track will be open for sure.

Not sure if I can upload images but just remembered I was wearing HR monitor during dog incident, fight or flight in action! Straight up to Marathon Pace HR without evening jogging!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,140 ✭✭✭martyboy48

That's what you get for going out running at that ungodly hour :D:D
    Frightening the poor little pooches :D

martyboy48 wrote: »
    That's what you get for going out running at that ungodly hour :D:D
    Frightening the poor little pooches :D

Hah ha, I'v learned my lesson for sure, too early this time! A dodgy morning stomach and being frightened like not is not a good combo! Take 2 at this session this evening!

Nice work on the recovery, keep it nice and easy for a while!

Thursday 7th - 16.8 mi
    So take 2 on yesterdays fail. Plan called for: 8E – 5x(1km I – 2min jog) – 4x(400m R – 400m jog) - 1E
    And it went: 8.3@7:12/mi - 1km splits: 3:30, 3:31, 3:29, 3:31, 3:26 - 400m R's: 74, 76, 74, 70 - 2.4@7:09/mi

Some change from yesterday mornings disaster! Weather was stunning this evening, when it's good its awesome! So really enjoyed the 8E and found myself having to hold back from going too fast. The 5x1km intervals went nicely, felt easy but saved something in the tank for 400m R's. 400's were nice and controlled just concentrating on keeping cadance high and good form. Then for the last 400m I went all out and clocked 70s so happy out with that. Ran home from track with pretty tired legs but a nice clip too so very happy with all that.

Plan going nicely so far, loving the flexability of it. A long road yet but touch wood, legs are good for now, ie no injuries. Thats the main thing for sure!

In other news, I have new shoes!! Mizuno Wave Universe. Felt so nice this evening wearing them for the first time. Very light and room-y. A nice change from the last two pairs of New Balance Minimus I've had.

Can't beat the good weather.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭dintbo

Some great running there. I think I'd be more scared of that session than ant dog I've ever come across on my adventures :)

Hah, their not too bad if you take it one session at a time, the E running is meant to feel easy so never too wrecked getting to the start of the intervals. My last Q session was Saturday so a nice break in between of easy running.

Friday 7th - 4.1 mi
    E - 4.1@7:12/mi
    8am Run from the prom, through town and back out, what a morning, bliss. Legs tired alright. Wedding again today, last one of the year, here we go again!

Saturday 8th - 0 mi
    Wedding yesterday, great night but paying for it today. Not cut out for this anymore. No running, just feeling very sorry for myself.

Sunday 9th - 18.6 mi
    Q1 Plan this week: 18mi steady
    Ended up: 18.6@6:59/mi

Headed out towards Dangan to do a few loops there to make up the 18mi. After 5 miles I ran into Gary and Lloyd, Gary just after winning the streets yesterday in 23:53, well done! So joined in with them as it seemed a similar pace to me. The 18 mi passes a lot faster with company so glad of it. Pace picked up towards the end so I was in or around marathon pace for the last few miles for sure. Nice progression run, started out at 7:30 and finished up in or around 6:20's. Felt good, warm so was thankful of a drop of water when I got back home.

Monday 10th - 8 mi
    8@7:21/mi
    Lovely run, legs tired from yesterday but still moving OK. After work run and just grabbed a quick slice of bread and peanut better and out the gap. Tired and very low energy at the start but felt great again at the end of this.

Tuesday 11th - 4 mi
    4@7:59/mi
    Felt slow as a wet week, I don't think I actually woke up until mile 2, early run before work. No angry stray Alsatians. 9 strides thrown on at the end. Hopefully Q2 tomorrow evening after work. I think weather looks, dare I say it...good?? Shock, horror.

Wednesday 12th - 16 mi
    Q2 this week is a doozey: 2E - 12M - 2E
    This many M paced runs this far out from the race seems unusual but then again who am I to be questioning Jack Daniels. Trust the plan!
    So it went: 2@7:22/mi - 12@6:15/mi - 2@7:16/mi

Perfect conditions for it this evening after work so no excuses. Out the door and before I knew it was was into the 12 mile PMP session around Dangan. Again for this one I used a 4mile loop I've made out around the trails and pitches of Dangan. Relatively flat course bar one stinker of a hill half way around the loop. Its very short though.

As I mentioned before, instant pace around Dangan doesn't work too well with all the twists and turns so just kept HR in the low 170's for the 12 miles. This seems to correspond to a comfortably hard pace for me and by the end of the 12 miles I was certainly feeling it. Possibly borderline uncomfortable towards the end but I'm sure thats what the session is meant to do.

Delighted with pace for that when I stopped the watch, keeping the HR in the low 170's was fairly do-able, well for the first 8 or 9 anyway.

So officially at the half way point in the plan now, progress with M pace so far:
    June 14th: 12M @ 6:45 with avgHR at 172
    July 4th: 11M @ 6:38 with avgHR at 173
    July 25th: 14M @ 6:23 with avgHR at 171
    Aug 12th: 12 M @ 6:15 with avgHR at 173

Looks like plan is certainly doing something good. My marathon pace has come on leaps and bounds since Day 1 of the plan back on June 14th. I didn't expect that so possibly will revise goal. Sub 2:45 might actually be a realistic target with another month of solid sessions. It seems to work well to stick to low 170's for Marathon pace and then low 180's for T pace.

Really gagging for a race at this stage but schedule is fairly full for next few weekends. Contemplated driving to Clonmel for the half on Sunday but the spin would be >2hrs each way so can't justify that. The weekend after that I'm out to Connemara to Dilisk Food project for some birthday grub, the big three O. Then official 30th shindig the weekend after at home where a few of us are coming together to organise a race for charity and have a little party after: https://www.facebook.com/thesheepsheadchallenge?fref=ts
    So if anyones in the area, call in! It'll be fairly low key/experimental race but all money goes to charity so everyones a winner!
    Then the weekend after that I've Electric Picnic. That be an endurance event in itself.

So my next official race will be Charlaville Half marathon, I just booked on today so really looking forward to that to test out the new legs. Hopefully in Sept/Oct I can stop being so social and actually watch what I eat and drink, that should set me up nicely then for Dublin hopefully!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,674 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

Any chance you have glasses, I saw a lad tipping around Dangan yesterday at what looked like a decent pace?

Really solid progress.

TbL

Cheers TbL, nope I don't have glasses! Keep looking! Well cross paths some day for sure! Oddly enough, I think I know what you look like, I'll give you a "TbL!!" and see if you react, haven't spotted you yet in Dangan!

Very impressive running on a trail circuit, plus the improvement of 30 seconds per mile. You have a lot of talent it seems .
    You are operating at 2.43 pace which is surely worth 2.40 on a road +race scenario . You should be aiming at 2.45 I think.
    A race will tell you more though have you a ten k or half planned .

youngrun wrote: »
    Very impressive running on a trail circuit, plus the improvement of 30 seconds per mile. You have a lot of talent it seems .
    You are operating at 2.43 pace which is surely worth 2.40 on a road +race scenario . You should be aiming at 2.45 I think.
    A race will tell you more though have you a ten k or half planned .

Cheers youngrun. Ya if I had one handy for Sunday I'd do it but nothing close-by it seems bar a fun-run 5km in Kilcornan Woods. No real benefit to me. I'll tip away with what I'm doing for now, the next few weeks could be a little broken but will try keep up both sessions. My next race is Charlaville half so I'll be looking for a good time there all going well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,674 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

O, what's your target for Charleville?

TbL

From the gospel according to JD, for a 2:45 marathon I'd want to be sub 79. That seems a pretty big ask but worth a shot for sure so in our around 78-79.

Thursday 13th - 3.9 mi
    Easy 3.9@7:30/min
    Legs pretty tired from yesterdays effort but no pain so alls good!
    Friday 14th - 6.1 mi
    6.1@7:17/mi + 8 x Hill Strides in Dangan
    Saturday 15th - 0 mi
    Charity 50km cycle for cancer care west in the morning and had weeks mileage covered so just rested up for tomorrow.
    Sunday 16th - 19.7
    19.7@6:47/mi
    A little off piste from the plan here. This was meant to be Q1 this week but Gary invited me on some of his long run so decided its not everyday you get invited on a long run with a 2:17 marathoner so jumped at the chance. His plan was 3 hrs at roughly 6:55 pace so he was going to do an hour before he collected me then I'd do my 2hrs and we collected Keith on they way for his 90mins. Didn't feel great at the start, straight into 7:00/mi so took a good 30mins for legs to come round but by the time we collected Keith we ticked along nicely at 6:50/mi around Dangan chatting away. The miles flew by with a little company and by the time we dropped back Keith we were in or around 6:30 pace. To keep that pace for the last few miles I was working hard, HR was in or around 180 for the last 3 miles so really feeling it. That's pretty much T effort level but slower pace due to me pretty much running on fumes.

Ideally I don't think I should have done a session like this, possibly more harm than good but I was careful to listen to legs/feet and made sure I wasn't working hard enough to injure myself. Next few Q session will be interesting. I was happy being able to keep effort level and HR that high towards the end of the session but I was on the limit for sure without gels/water. Might have to take the next Q session a little easy to make sure I'm fully recovered, I'll play it by ear.