Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

DCM 2015: Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 907 ✭✭✭JMSE

Thanks for all the input there everyone, on the 10mile run almost a pb thing, well spotted, that pb was my only 10 mile race and so hopefully could be bettered.

Heres how I'm training, I check the clock on the wall and go out and do a rough distance, if I feel slow I run slow (kind of), if I feel energetic I push. I come home, check the time, later I'll use google maps to measure the distance and arrive at specifics. Also that run wasnt an LSR, it was done after a rest day so I thought I should be getting some miles in and also a bit faster.

Maybe I wont go with a plan, I dont know, I'm definitely going to take Dubgals advice on a 4th day. My plan until then so is to keep looking at plans, procrastinate like a mad thing, do the LSR, and build the miles up over the other 3 days to higher than the LSR but at the speeds you guys are recommending. Am just in from a shift that started at midday Tues and ended 0340 Weds so my window for running Weds is probably now shut.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭Chops1234

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    Ouch, that sounds painful (physically) and painful to the wallet. The most I've paid for an hour is €65 (and I'd hesitate to go back). But you think this particular one was worth it? What do most people pay?

We get €10 off with work in this place and then I claim €40 back from VHI so it only cost me a fiver. I went for an hours sports massage before and paid €50 but she wasn't a physio so couldn't claim back on this. I'd go back to her if I was paying for the full thing myself. I think €55/€95 are mental prices for half/full hour sessions!

Thanks so much for the replies lads, I really do appreciate you taking the time to help.

Up until Monday, I had full and complete trust in my trainer, which is why I hadn't even looked that far ahead in my plan. I didn't want to overwhelm myself with too much too soon and was working on the "one week at a time" approach. I guess I just had a freak out when I realised my miles weren't building the same as others but I'm reassured now and faith is fully restored. Stick with the plan, there's a reason I'm not going with a generic plan so I just need to keep that in mind.

Positive thoughts only from here on in :)

From now on, I'm going to try run as many of my runs as possible early in the morning (where normal life allows). I did this yesterday and Monday and found my appetite was back at normal levels with 3 meals and a snack had both days. I had said before that I was going to do this, and didn't, so early to bed for me from now on and out the gap by 6am :)

FeenaM wrote: »
    Just a quick question, anybody find their toenails on big toes are sore from long runs?

Have finally found the perfect pair of runners, all traces of previous niggles throughout body are gone and my toenails are sore!!! Just to add that the runners are not too small but they do have a supportive toebox area (as opposed to a roomy toebox) Any advice?

I did last year when I was training for the half, so longest run was 12 miles I think, they felt bruised quite a lot. I changed runners before my next half and I've never had toenail issues since that.

I know that it's one thing that I've been told over and over since I started running longer distances "tonenails are overrated, you don't really need them anyway" :D

Do you have other runners that you can try out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

JacEim wrote: »
    Sorry, didn't explain properly, was supposed to do the 3 x 2k, but at the end of the first 2k segment I did a Forest Gump on it and kept running for another 3k to give me a nice 5k burn.. ☺️
    No permission to change Master, I shall flagellate myself this evening as punishment 😬

Strides aren't part of my program, but might be an idea to integrate them into one of the midweek runs...
    Hehe no need...his time ;) My only thought was that the 2ks wpuld have had a specific purpose within your programme. Each session draws from the last one and has an eye on the next one. A properly structured training programme is like a chain of links, each linking onwards and keeping the whole structure stable and strong. The danger here, by arbitrarily inserting a last minute change of mind, is that you insert a clunky or weak link. Does that make sense?
    Just a quick question, anybody find their toenails on big toes are sore from long runs?

Have finally found the perfect pair of runners, all traces of previous niggles throughout body are gone and my toenails are sore!!! Just to add that the runners are not too small but they do have a supportive toebox area (as opposed to a roomy toebox) Any advice?

Have a look here FeenaM. Last years novices had the same prob (and the year brfore and the year before...:) ) As AMK says, it is a badge of honour really :D In my case, I needed to go up a size in shoe. I keep one pair of shoes for anything up to 6-8 miles and a bigger pair for anything over 9-10 miles. Your foot expands when running and I needed more room for longer runs. Everyone is different though. Some runners may unconsciously claw with your toes in a bigger shoe so that solution is not for everyone.
    JMSE wrote: »
    Thanks for all the input there everyone, on the 10mile run almost a pb thing, well spotted, that pb was my only 10 mile race and so hopefully could be bettered.

Heres how I'm training, I check the clock on the wall and go out and do a rough distance, if I feel slow I run slow (kind of), if I feel energetic I push. I come home, check the time, later I'll use google maps to measure the distance and arrive at specifics. Also that run wasnt an LSR, it was done after a rest day so I thought I should be getting some miles in and also a bit faster.

Maybe I wont go with a plan, I dont know, I'm definitely going to take Dubgals advice on a 4th day. My plan until then so is to keep looking at plans, procrastinate like a mad thing, do the LSR, and build the miles up over the other 3 days to higher than the LSR but at the speeds you guys are recommending. Am just in from a shift that started at midday Tues and ended 0340 Weds so my window for running Weds is probably now shut.

Hi JMSE, have a look at my comment to JacEim here. I would advise the same to you. A training plan will have a specific purpose for each run and session, each complementing the other and joining together to bring you on in purposeful increments. Have a think anyway. We'd be more than happy to help you out with fine tuning a specific plan for you for the next three months as a generic plan seems difficult with your work commitments.
    Chops1234 wrote: »
    We get €10 off with work in this place and then I claim €40 back from VHI so it only cost me a fiver. I went for an hours sports massage before and paid €50 but she wasn't a physio so couldn't claim back on this. I'd go back to her if I was paying for the full thing myself. I think €55/€95 are mental prices for half/full hour sessions!
    Sound much healthier! :D
    Thanks so much for the replies lads, I really do appreciate you taking the time to help.

Up until Monday, I had full and complete trust in my trainer, which is why I hadn't even looked that far ahead in my plan. I didn't want to overwhelm myself with too much too soon and was working on the "one week at a time" approach. I guess I just had a freak out when I realised my miles weren't building the same as others but I'm reassured now and faith is fully restored. Stick with the plan, there's a reason I'm not going with a generic plan so I just need to keep that in mind.

Positive thoughts only from here on in :)

From now on, I'm going to try run as many of my runs as possible early in the morning (where normal life allows). I did this yesterday and Monday and found my appetite was back at normal levels with 3 meals and a snack had both days. I had said before that I was going to do this, and didn't, so early to bed for me from now on and out the gap by 6am :)
    Ah good there on all fronts. As regards the mileage tracker, I'm in two minds about its value. If I could get ye all to look on it as motivation only, I would. I'm not keen on the part that encourages mileage envy. As has been pointed out, your plan is specifically for you and will work just fine...specifically for you :D

No more comparing lads! ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,630 ✭✭✭frash

Not that familiar with vlookups so could someone who is please tell me why my total mileage isn't increasing after entering in yesterday's run in week 8?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭denis b

This might sound simple but.... is it possible that your foot is slipping whilst running. I was advised to use the last eyeholes in the runner by creating a loop on each side. The opposite lace is then pulled through the loop on each side. Not sure what this is called but it has the effect of more rigorously securing your foot, and particularly your heel. Other lacing systems may also help.

The warmer weather and longer runs may also be contributing to foot expansion.

I tend to use slightly roomier runners for distance running.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,460 ✭✭✭Clearlier

frash wrote: »
    Not that familiar with vlookups so could someone who is please tell me why my total mileage isn't increasing after entering in yesterday's run in week 8?

That would be because I forgot to add this weeks mileage to last weeks. Fixed now! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,781 ✭✭✭eyeball kid

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    Good, pop in and let us know how it goes/went

Did a 10km at lsr pace yesterday evening. Knees feel ok actually today. I might do something similar on Thursday and then see how the lsr goes on Saturday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,324 ✭✭✭chrislad

Just finished my 8 mile session today (*drops mic*)

It went really well. I was out at about 6:45 which is very early for me, but I had gotten up early and got breakfast.

1 11:20 /mi
    2 10:01 /mi
    3 10:02 /mi
    4 9:43 /mi
    5 9:52 /mi
    6 9:42 /mi
    7 9:17 /mi
    8 10:16 /mi

I really felt good after it. I went a bit faster than PMP (10:18) but it's my one fast session so I don't feel too bad. I hit my old 5k race pace as one stage around mile 6 and felt really good, which is something that I couldn't have done before. I can't wait to finish this training and see my old PBs tumble :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,457 ✭✭✭ZV Yoda

Did 10km this am - still working on slowing down. Averaged 5:55/km, which is the closest I've gotten to the 6min/km lsr pace I should be doing. I'm confident I can hit the 6min/km on my 12 mile/20km lsr this w/e.

On the topic of shoe sizes... last week, I had my first ever gait analysis / fitting in Amphibian King. The fitter recommended I go up a full size (from 9.5 to 10.5). Initially, they felt a little bit clunky and I stubbed my toe a few times, but now that I'm used to them, I have to say they're really comfy on long runs.

Agree with Denis's point about the looping of the laces (I think it's called the "marathon knot"). I never did that before, but the Amphibian King fitter used that method & I've been doing it ever since.

Here's a good video showing how to do it.

Oh yeh, when I changed to the newer shoes it was after a gait analysis in Ambhibian King - I was in the right shoe for my foot but not for the distances. They laced my shoes up as above and that's what I've done ever since! I'm also in a size 6 where I'd normally be a 5-5.5.

Still have all my toenails. I do keep them as short as I possibly can too.

Ah black toenails, swinging mickys, body parts chaffing.

Running is so damn sexy :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭diego_b

5m done last night...avg was 9:18min/mi (4 of the miles were in my mp pace zone so around 9min/mi and even a few secs under).
    It should have been easy pace (10min/mi approx) but was running with a mate and went too fast so rejigging the midweek sessions for this week, the mp pace run scheduled for tonight is moving to tomorrow evening instead.
    My average heart rate was 152 which was inside my aerobic zone so wasn't overdoing it on that front at least so should be recovered quickly.

Tonight I'm going to do a proper easy 3miles, possibly with my wife so it could well be 11min+ miles but that will teach me for messing up last night!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 150 ✭✭Jotunheim

denis b wrote: »
    The opposite lace is then pulled through the loop on each side. Not sure what this is called but it has the effect of more rigorously securing your foot, and particularly your heel. Other lacing systems may also help.

Generally known as lock-lacing. Here's a diagram and some other options to play with that might help get the shoe working for you http://media.theathletesfoot.com.au/media/wysiwyg/images/LacingtechniquesTheAthletesFoot.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 545 ✭✭✭paulers06

Oh yeh, when I changed to the newer shoes it was after a gait analysis in Ambhibian King - I was in the right shoe for my foot but not for the distances. They laced my shoes up as above and that's what I've done ever since! I'm also in a size 6 where I'd normally be a 5-5.5.

Still have all my toenails. I do keep them as short as I possibly can too.

My feet grew half a size in Amphibian King too. When I started running in Asics Nimbus I was a 6.5, after a few years I moved to Asics Kayano size 7 and now I'm Saucony Ride size 7.5.

My next pair will be clown shoes at this rate

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

I go up a full size in running shoes too, am normally a 6 in non-running shoes but my Kayanos have always been a 7. Have never really had blister problems or toenail issues - have only ever lost one baby toenail in 7 years of running.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 232 ✭✭PJD

I have backed off running this week as I hurt my back moving furniture. Rookie error I know, but I have been through this before and I know the recovery involved. I have been to the chiropractor and now need to ice, recover and re-strengthen. The question then is what to do with my plan come the re-start? just continue, back off a few kms or increase to catch up??? pesky Swedish flat pack furniture!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭FeenaM

Thanks for the info re toenails :D

I think my last few pairs of runners were too loose/big and that was causing me to claw with my foot for grip so now that my runners give nice all over support, my toes aren't used to it. I'll try the lace thing and if that doesn't work I'll just have to be a slightly bigger pair for the longer runs. Those of you that had it before though, is it the sort of thing that your toes just toughen up to :eek: or do you reckon it would be ongoing if I don't find the root of the cause?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 150 ✭✭Jotunheim

I'll try the lace thing and if that doesn't work I'll just have to be a slightly bigger pair for the longer runs.

Before you buy bigger shoes, go to a decent running shop and get them properly fitted. Bigger shoes isn't necessarily the answer, when you buy a longer shoe everything else is bigger too, so the heel doesn't hold as well and the opening is longer and wider, allowing your foot to slip down the shoe and negate the extra length, or worse. It'll probably also negate the other features of the shoe and give you problems elsewhere. If a shoe doesn't fit properly, everything else about it is useless and keeping your nails may bring PF or blisters or something else instead. A different model of shoe, properly fitted, will probably yield more success that a bigger shoe of the same type.
    I would bet the lock-lacing will work for you. You only have to find an extra millimetre in the toe and you'll keep your nails, not the extra half cm or so that a full size will bring depending on your original size.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭FeenaM

Jotunheim wrote: »
    Before you buy bigger shoes, go to a decent running shop and get them properly fitted. Bigger shoes isn't necessarily the answer, when you buy a longer shoe everything else is bigger too, so the heel doesn't hold as well and the opening is longer and wider, allowing your foot to slip down the shoe and negate the extra length, or worse. It'll probably also negate the other features of the shoe and give you problems elsewhere. If a shoe doesn't fit properly, everything else about it is useless and keeping your nails may bring PF or blisters or something else instead. A different model of shoe, properly fitted, will probably yield more success that a bigger shoe of the same type.
    I would bet the lock-lacing will work for you. You only have to find an extra millimetre in the toe and you'll keep your nails, not the extra half cm or so that a full size will bring depending on your original size.

Thanks for that. Hopefully the lace lock will work!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 284 ✭✭Dow99

diego_b wrote: »
    My average heart rate was 152 which was inside my aerobic zone so wasn't
    There's a thing,,
    Where should our heart be for a LSR? Usually I would be between 150 - 160bpm on a LSR and anything over 170 I start to feel labored and uncomfortable.

On marathon day to be able to sustain a run for over 4 / 5 hours what should we be aiming our HR to roughly be?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

PJD wrote: »
    I have backed off running this week as I hurt my back moving furniture. Rookie error I know, but I have been through this before and I know the recovery involved. I have been to the chiropractor and now need to ice, recover and re-strengthen. The question then is what to do with my plan come the re-start? just continue, back off a few kms or increase to catch up??? pesky Swedish flat pack furniture!

That's a pretty, P. I suggest that you focus on the recovery and see how long that takes and then reassess where you are and the best way to get back into it. Hopefully, you can get it sorted quickly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

Going for a run tonight, planned 6 miles but will take it easy as I've been on a break for the last week! I think I'll make this a 'naked' run to make it more fun and put less pressure on myself to 'nail it'!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,460 ✭✭✭Clearlier

Jotunheim wrote: »

+1 to this. It could just be that the fit rather than the size that doesn't suit you. Some shoes will be wider and some narrower, some models make runners with different widths. Asics look fine on me but I know from bitter experience that they just don't fit properly and I get blisters.

As Jotunheim says if you can get yourself to a proper running shop you're likely to do better. Amphibian King are pretty good about returns too if you find out afterwards that they don't suit you (particularly if you've only run on a treadmill).

FWIW in addition to lock lacing I also follow this method of lacing. It takes pressure away from the top of the foot which is an area I've had problems with in the past.

P.S. This may well be stating the obvious a little but make sure that your toenails are cut short and don't protrude beyond your toe.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭diego_b

Dow99 wrote: »
    There's a thing,,
    Where should our heart be for a LSR? Usually I would be between 150 - 160bpm on a LSR and anything over 170 I start to feel labored and uncomfortable.

On marathon day to be able to sustain a run for over 4 / 5 hours what should we be aiming our HR to roughly be?

In my case I had a V02 max test done a month ago to establish my zones...

Low (Recovery) 89-150
    Moderate (Endurance) 150-161
    High (Tempo) 161-175
    Peak (Intervals) 175-180

At the moment most of my runs (barring recovery) are in the moderate zone but with the marathon pace runs towards the top end of that endurance zone for me. However I take this stuff with a piece of salt as well as how you're feeling on a day is as important as anything as for me avg heart rate just another guide like avg pace. I don't look at it too much when running now but check back afterwards to see. If I was feeling particularly good or bad on a run I might focus on it a bit more but I think there's a bit of tolerance up and down with zones above relative to factors like being in heavy training cycle, recovery, sleep, nutrition.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭KingMambo26

And that's without taking the smell after an LSR into account! :D

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 16,492 Mod ✭✭✭✭adrian522

There's a thing,,

Do you know what your Max HR is? without that it is really hard to say.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 91 ✭✭KingMambo26

Look ma! I'm naked!

So I finally did it and went for my first naked run last night in my new Saucony Iso Triumph. I nailed the pace when you look at the average. The individual splits tell a different story though.

Km Time
    1 06:03.8
    2 06:09.1
    3 06:19.7
    4 06:21.2
    5 06:10.3
    6 06:14.4
    7 03:49.3

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

There's a thing,,

These numbers vary widely from person to person.

My LSRs tend to be at about 140bpm with hard runs around 150-160. I've never seen my heart rate going above around 175.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,921 ✭✭✭Kennyg71

6.25 miles done 6.30 am yesterday 6 x 50m strides Mile 5 & start mile 6
    2.45 last 0.25
    Still trying to work out how to up load to strava, will ask MRSG to have a look
    Joined Strava group, but might as well be looking into a field trying to sync
    with my A/C

8 Miles tonight with MRSG after work so around 9.50 pace - 10min pace