Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

DCM 2015: Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,970 ✭✭✭aquinn

FBOT01 wrote: »
    Ouch....that hurt :D

Ouch indeed, poor M, only trying to help. DG S*itlisted now.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,306 ✭✭✭Myles Splitz

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    Have you had a look at the Hadd article yet? It wil explain to you why you are coming at marathon training from the wrong angle. Training for a marathon is a different kettle of fish. Fast running will not a fast marathoner make. Long and slow miles will get you there in better condition than too many too fast.

Been a while since I read that article yet reading it now it makes even more sense than it did previously*.

A tip to runners here (all levels not just the novices). Don't be afraid to leave the ego at the door and build the foundations from the very bottom up, don't skip ahead.

* Might be because I am implementing similar approach myself at the moment as part of base training for the up coming year

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 361 ✭✭mobfromcork

If anyone more technologically minded then me would like to have a quick look at the DCM 2015 Novice mileage tracker spreadsheet, I think there has been some changes in either columns Q,R,S,T where the 'weekly total' and 'Total distance covered since week 0' miles are or else in the order the names are down on the spreadsheet. I'm afraid to go messing around with it as I don't have much experience with spreadsheets etc

Much obliged

Mob

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

FBOT01 wrote: »
    Ouch....that hurt :D

Heehee. I - intentionally - did not 'name and shame'....you, however, felt the need ;):p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

Greetings from the tip of the Beara peninsula. Here with the family for a week. So far, I've managed two easy 5Ms and a tempo 8M. The scenery is breathtaking!

Tomorrow a rest day, and I'm prepping, with some apprehension, for the 17 miler which I'll do on Thursday a.m. Very a.m. I might add. I hope to run all the way too Dursey Island, (take a selfie), and run back.

Saturday, if the long suffering family agrees, will see me and the better half checking out the Bere Island Parkrun.

Internet very scatty, so little chance to post, like, kudos much, or help out with the spreadsheet.. Hope everyone's training is going well!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,460 ✭✭✭Clearlier

If anyone more technologically minded then me would like to have a quick look at the DCM 2015 Novice mileage tracker spreadsheet, I think there has been some changes in either columns Q,R,S,T where the 'weekly total' and 'Total distance covered since week 0' miles are or else in the order the names are down on the spreadsheet. I'm afraid to go messing around with it as I don't have much experience with spreadsheets etc

Much obliged

Mob

I had a look. I'm guessing that the concern you had was about the running totals?

I've made some changes which are bringing up the correct totals from last week but haven't been able to test how robust the changes are as there are people in there at the moment. When it's free I'll take a longer look.

For anyone who is interested (and in particular whoever is creating the new weeks) I've put in a vlookup which I'm hoping will allow for sorting but I'll test that later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,781 ✭✭✭eyeball kid

Much obliged

Mob

Not sure who it is but someone is looking at it now. Seems to be nearly fixed. Fair play to them! They look to be adding in a vlookup query to match the name with the previous weeks data which should stop these kind of errors when someone changes the order of the names.

Edit - I see it was Clearlier! Well done. Had a quick look and changed the sorting of it and it seems to retain the right data in each users rows. Its probably the best way match data from table to table.

Thanks lads,

Plan for next few weeks attached. Would love your thoughts :)

edit: whoops - hang on!
    Done!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,508 ✭✭✭ratracer

For the more experienced male runners on here, Ahm, any particular favourite/recommended compression underwear? Ya know, to keep things from swinging.....as the runs get longer I'm literally finding this to be a pain in the b****!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 785 ✭✭✭Notwork Error

ratracer wrote: »
    For the more experienced male runners on here, Ahm, any particular favourite/recommended compression underwear? Ya know, to keep things from swinging.....as the runs get longer I'm literally finding this to be a pain in the b****!!!

Can't beat going commando. I wear racing shorts with a built in lining to keep anything from popping out for a peak. The lining is like a baggy y front and is perfect. Compression jocks would be a no no in my book as you need a bit of room to breathe. If you are getting a lot of chafing, some bodyglide or Vaseline before the run should do the job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,324 ✭✭✭chrislad

I got a pair of Nike Pro Combat shorts. They have a lining that keeps everything in its place, and never had any issues with chafing or anything, even without the use of the auld lubrication.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

Looking into Sports Massage but wondering how long is a suitable session? Is an hour too much? Should I get it the day before a long run or the day after?

Day after definitely. Your legs will be a bit like lead the day after a session so you don't really want that on the long run plus you will get more benefit in terms of recovery if you have it the day after the long run. Can't answer how long it should be as that will depend on how tired or how tight the muscles are and whether you want a full body deep tissue. Maybe try the hour first and get some feedback from the therapist.

Body can react differently with different people. If it is your first massage I would probably say 2 days before any sort of quality session (I include Long Runs here) as a precaution. It won't do you any harm or impact the effects of the massage but it just may not be the best you will feel on the run.

In terms of how long most therapists will either dictate the length of the treatment or operate on a treatment by treatment basis and address your needs as best possible. In this incidence normal treatments can last 40-80 minutes depending (1st one generally will take a bit longer as the therapist will generally do some assessments for range of motion and neurological and orthopaedic testing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭Chops1234

I got a half an hour one done the Tuesday after the R'n'R. (Used The Physio Company) I told her that I'd ran and that my quads were hurting a bit. She advised because it was just half an hour, she would just work on them so she spent 15 mins on each leg. It was really sore but felt great the following day! It was €55. The hour long session is €95 I think.

Asked her should I come in after the 10 mile race next week but she said only if I felt I needed it. To concentrate on stretching at home and using the foam roller. I will go for another after the half in Sept and then before DCM I think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,508 ✭✭✭ratracer

Can't beat going commando. I wear racing shorts with a built in lining to keep anything from popping out for a peak. The lining is like a baggy y front and is perfect. Compression jocks would be a no no in my book as you need a bit of room to breathe. If you are getting a lot of chafing, some bodyglide or Vaseline before the run should do the job.

It's not chaffing I have a problem with, it's the swinging, so commando is definitely not an option, need more support there!!
    Now I know why my wife goes on about sports bra's all the time ;)

chrislad wrote: »
    I'm trying to be organised with work so I'm cycling this morning, running 4 miles easy tonight, then the pace run down tomorrow. I'm dreading the pace run as I normally do it in the evenings. Hopefully energy levels won't be too low!
    Chrislad, hope this isn't too late for you. I presume from the above you're doing this on the run to work in the morning and you're not used to morning and/or running on empty running?

You can approach this in a few ways:
    - go empty
    - get up earlier and have a light breakfast
    - have a banana or something half an hour before
    - have a fry and a pint of lager*

Make sure you have a drink of water at least.

If this is your first time doing a session early and/or empty, dial back your expectations. Keep an eye on the pace by all means but focus on effort and don't be too hard on yourself. It may be a shock to the body but you will soon get used to it :)

Let us know how it goes won't you?

And well done, all good for marathon training as guess what time the marathon is at......?! :D

*one of these methods is least preferable ;)

It's not chaffing I have a problem with, it's the swinging, so commando is definitely not an option, need more support there!!

If you want to run a marathon, you're going to have give up your diginity:D...jk kind of. honestly, the lining you get in racing shorts will keep everything tucked in and somewhat in place. Just make sure you get a good fit and it'll do the job.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,460 ✭✭✭Clearlier

This is probably a good question to ask on the random questions thread.

I haven't ran since last Thursday. Knees feel ok today. Going to do an easy run this evening and see how they feel.
    Good, pop in and let us know how it goes/went
    frash wrote: »
    Seems to be ok now.
    Did 3 * 4m easy last week with an 11m LSR at the weekend.

Back out at lunchtime today hopefully.

Tried to book a sports massage with ecoli but he's gone & broken his collarbone! :eek:
    Ah good and I know, how bloody inconsiderate of him :eek: :p
    jake1970 wrote: »
    The trip to the physio seems to have sorted me out.
    Regular physio visits should be scheduled into all marathon training plans:)
    They absolutely should. Put your physio on speed dial peeps*

*that super-quota usage was especially for you Adrian :D

Chops1234 wrote: »
    I got a half an hour one done the Tuesday after the R'n'R. (Used The Physio Company) I told her that I'd ran and that my quads were hurting a bit. She advised because it was just half an hour, she would just work on them so she spent 15 mins on each leg. It was really sore but felt great the following day! It was €55. The hour long session is €95 I think.

Asked her should I come in after the 10 mile race next week but she said only if I felt I needed it. To concentrate on stretching at home and using the foam roller. I will go for another after the half in Sept and then before DCM I think.

Ouch, that sounds painful (physically) and painful to the wallet. The most I've paid for an hour is €65 (and I'd hesitate to go back). But you think this particular one was worth it? What do most people pay?

Whoopsie, TFGR and ratracer, I think you've had some great advice to your queries today and I don't think I can add anything (especially to your query ratracer, sorry :p ).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

Ouch, that sounds painful (physically) and painful to the wallet. The most I've paid for an hour is €65 (and I'd hesitate to go back). But you think this particular one was worth it? What do most people pay?

€45 for an hour (physical therapy) or €50-€60 for a hour's sports massage. Couldn't justify €95 unless it included a new pair of legs, preferably faster than mine ;);)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 161 ✭✭JacEim

Busy, busy weekend - kicked the last of the visitors out yesterday. It is amazing how much food and drink 21 people got through in our house at the weekend (and I was trying to be good!!!)

After switching my long run to Friday I took Saturday off and then did 6.8m in 60 mins on Sunday evening. Yesterday I did a slow 7 miles in 68 mins, Legs felt dead but was happy for doing them afterwards.

Today I bought 2 new pairs of runners (I'm worth it - right?), and amazingly felt a bit better heading for my run ��
    Was supposed to do 1m w/u followed by 3x 2k @ 10k pace with 400m jog recoveries and then 1m c/d
    After I had the first 2k interval completed I felt very good and decided to keep going and did a straight 5k in 22:40, followed by by a long c/d for a total of 10k in 57.25. It felt great to be doing really long strides for a change - it seems like I'm really opening up the quads / hams etc which I'm not getting to do on the slower runs. My breathing was not completely relaxed, but neither was it in any way laboured during the 5k - perhaps all this training is having some effect ��
    Perhaps I'll pay for this, but am trying to run by feeling as well as by the program.
    The rest of the week is mostly slower runs as I'm supposed to run a HM race this weekend. The only / closest one I can find to Cork is in Clonmel and not sure if I'll get the visa to travel so might have to settle for racing against myself on Sunday morning...
    Onwards and upwards everyone - every mile makes a difference!!!

Busy, busy weekend - kicked the last of the visitors out yesterday. It is amazing how much food and drink 21 people got through in our house at the weekend (and I was trying to be good!!!)

After switching my long run to Friday I took Saturday off and then did 6.8m in 60 mins on Sunday evening. Yesterday I did a slow 7 miles in 68 mins, Legs felt dead but was happy for doing them afterwards.

Today I bought 2 new pairs of runners (I'm worth it - right?), and amazingly felt a bit better heading for my run 😏
    Was supposed to do 1m w/u followed by 3x 2k @ 10k pace with 400m jog recoveries and then 1m c/d
    After I had the first 2k interval completed I felt very good and decided to keep going and did a straight 5k in 22:40, followed by by a long c/d for a total of 10k in 57.25. It felt great to be doing really long strides for a change - it seems like I'm really opening up the quads / hams etc which I'm not getting to do on the slower runs. My breathing was not completely relaxed, but neither was it in any way laboured during the 5k - perhaps all this training is having some effect 😀
    Perhaps I'll pay for this, but am trying to run by feeling as well as by the program.
    The rest of the week is mostly slower runs as I'm supposed to run a HM race this weekend. The only / closest one I can find to Cork is in Clonmel and not sure if I'll get the visa to travel so might have to settle for racing against myself on Sunday morning...

JacEim wrote: »

Today I bought 2 new pairs of runners (I'm worth it - right?), and amazingly felt a bit better heading for my run ��
    After I had the first 2k interval completed I felt very good and decided to keep going and did a straight 5k in 22:40, followed by by a long c/d for a total of 10k in 57.25. It felt great to be doing really long strides for a change - it seems like I'm really opening up the quads / hams etc which I'm not getting to do on the slower runs. My breathing was not completely relaxed, but neither was it in any way laboured during the 5k - perhaps all this training is having some effect ��
    Hi JacEim...21 people?! :eek: So you'll be hosting the novices reunion then....?! :cool:

Just curious why you swapped the 2ks for a 2k and 5k? What was the logic behind the progression/structure etc? What I am really saying is...did you get permission to arbitrarily change?! ;)
    Also, do you include [URL="Strides http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=96006214&postcount=1087"]strides[/URL] in a weekly run at all? That could satisfy your 'need for speed' and stretch your legs out. They also get your legs revving up on tired legs at the end of a run.

Thanks lads,

Plan for next few weeks attached. Would love your thoughts :)

edit: whoops - hang on!
    Done!

Looking at the plan I have a fair idea of your trainer. Looks like a solid plan and based off the feedback it seems like a fairly sensible approach for you. In terms your fear about lack of long runs and being aerobically fit enough I reckon you won't have anything to worry about. Trust the training

Hi JacEim...21 people?! :eek: So you'll be hosting the novices reunion then....?! :cool:

Just curious why you swapped the 2ks for a 2k and 5k? What was the logic behind the progression/structure etc? What I am really saying is...did you get permission to arbitrarily change?! ;)
    Also, do you include [URL="Strides http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showpost.php?p=96006214&postcount=1087"]strides[/URL] in a weekly run at all? That could satisfy your 'need for speed' and stretch your legs out. They also get your legs revving up on tired legs at the end of a run.

Sorry, didn't explain properly, was supposed to do the 3 x 2k, but at the end of the first 2k segment I did a Forest Gump on it and kept running for another 3k to give me a nice 5k burn.. ☺️
    No permission to change Master, I shall flagellate myself this evening as punishment 😬

Strides aren't part of my program, but might be an idea to integrate them into one of the midweek runs...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 137 ✭✭FeenaM

Just a quick question, anybody find their toenails on big toes are sore from long runs?

Have finally found the perfect pair of runners, all traces of previous niggles throughout body are gone and my toenails are sore!!! Just to add that the runners are not too small but they do have a supportive toebox area (as opposed to a roomy toebox) Any advice?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,447 ✭✭✭FBOT01

JacEim wrote: »
    Sorry, didn't explain properly, was supposed to do the 3 x 2k, but at the end of the first 2k segment I did a Forest Gump on it and kept running for another 3k to give me a nice 5k burn.. ☺️
    No permission to change Master, I shall flagellate myself this evening as punishment 😬

Strides aren't part of my program, but might be an idea to integrate them into one of the midweek runs...

This wasn't part of your program either was it :D