Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Off Topic Thread too point uh

SJW - Kony

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,308 ✭✭✭✭.ak

Also, I think there's absolutely no harm in this being blown out of proportion. If there's one thing I don't mind the PC brigade going to town on it's poaching.

It's sad to think that the West African Black Rhino is now extinct, in this day an age, that we can't stop poaching or the trade. The more people consider it a taboo the better.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,118 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

It's a waste of time highlighting the plight of the rhino when it's Chinese and Arab assholes who couldn't give a **** about anything who are providing them with a market.

One thing I never could get though is that, seeing as that 'medicine' is such obvious nonsense, why do they bother even obtaining the rhino horn. You could just sell the idiots any old ground up fingernails and they'd be none the wiser.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 37,978 ✭✭✭✭irishbucsfan

The thing is that there is legal hunting that is a positive thing for animals in the region. Rhinos for example are hunted legally in many countries and its positive for both the region and for the local species.

Illegal poaching is a completely different thing, and examples like this often serve to conflate the two and start a massive whirlwind of misinformation.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 29 esterhayes

There is a place for hunting as it contributes towards conservation.

Unless major steps are taken elsewhere(climate change), all this animal conservation will be way down the list of priorities in 50 years.

The thing is that there is legal hunting that is a positive thing for animals in the region. Rhinos for example are hunted legally in many countries and its positive for both the region and for the local species.

Illegal poaching is a completely different thing, and examples like this often serve to conflate the two and start a massive whirlwind of misinformation.

There's legal hunting of Rhinos? I thought all sub-species were on the endangered lists?

Fairly sure there's no legal hunting/culling of Lions anyway.

.ak wrote: »
    There's legal hunting of Rhinos? I thought all sub-species were on the endangered lists?

We'll there's various types of endangered lists, and being on an endangered list doesn't preclude hunting.

There's a very good episode of the Joe Rogan podcast where he interviewed a hunter who paid 350k for a license to hunt a rhino, and he gave a very solid account of himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,767 ✭✭✭✭molloyjh

I may be a bit soft but I have a real issue with anyone who kills anything for fun. I just don't see the need for it. If you want to have fun play a sport, learn a musical instrument or whatever. You don't need to murder other living creatures. And if you do then you need to have a long hard look at yourself.

The other issue here is as ak pointed out. We've hunted a number of species to extinction already. We shouldn't be actively trying to hunt yet more into extinction. The idea of culling is one thing, but lions don't need to be culled. And they sure as hell shouldn't be tempted out of preservation areas so that they can be killed in the manner this lion was.

There's a huge element of this thing being in fashion at the moment, like the same sex marriage referendum and God knows how many other campaigns like it. Some people will make a huge fuss over this one and forget about it in a few weeks time. But that doesn't make the act itself any more right or wrong.

There's a very good episode of the Joe Rogan podcast where he interviewed a hunter who paid 350k for a license to hunt a rhino, and he gave a very solid account of himself.

yeah, listened to that. A lot of good interesting points. It's not as simple as banning hunting and populations will increase.

Louis Theroux had a good doc about hunting too.

you can legally hunt any of the big 5(elephant, lion, rhino, buffalo, leopard) in south africa, in private hunting areas where populations are controlled and managed.

tophy hunting as a Conservation tool has a lot of merits.

personally i'd only kill an animal for food if ever.

esterhayes wrote: »
    you can legally hunt any of the big 5(elephant, lion, rhino, buffalo, leopard) in south africa, in private hunting areas where populations are controlled and managed.

it's all controlled and licensed.

Jesus that's ridiculous. Surely the culling of any animal that's on the endangered lists shouldn't be allowed.

That's like saying Zoo's are allowed to kill their animals because they breed them.

esterhayes wrote: »

tophy hunting as a Conservation tool has a lot of merits.

personally i'd only kill an animal for food if ever.

Not arguing, genuine question, but what are the merits?

The only thing I can think of is culling when population levels get out of control.

Not arguing, genuine question, but what are the merits?

The only thing I can think of is culling when population levels get out of control.

many people make the argument that putting a monetary value of the animals and gives ranchers an incentive to protect and breed species and maintain their populations.

if there is no financial incentive to keep an animal alive then it will be killed by poachers.

trophy hunting =/= poaching.

To me, to be honest, that sounds like a weak enough merit.

I'd love to see the actual breeding program numbers from these ranches.

But in general, I have no problem with hunting... I do a lot of big game fishing... but I suppose that's quite different. You're fishing for fish that you're allowed to, and where the animal is killed it is eaten afterwards and not wasted.

But the idea of killing something for it's horn, or skin, or head... I just don't get it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,169 ✭✭✭Wang King

Only in Detroit......

To me, to be honest, that sounds like a weak enough merit.

I'd love to see the actual breeding program numbers from these ranches.

But in general, I have no problem with hunting... I do a lot of big game fishing... but I suppose that's quite different. You're fishing for fish that you're allowed to, and where the animal is killed it is eaten afterwards and not wasted.

But the idea of killing something for it's horn, or skin, or head... I just don't get it.

A 2005 paper by Nigel Leader-Williams and colleagues in the Journal of International Wildlife Law and Policy asserted that the legalization of white rhinoceros hunting in South Africa motivated private landowners to reintroduce the species onto their lands. As a result, white rhinos increased from fewer than one hundred individuals to more than 11,000.

Leader-Williams's study also showed that trophy hunting in Zimbabwe doubled wildlife areas relative to state protected areas. The implementation of controlled and legalized hunting led to an increase in the area of suitable land available to elephants and other wildlife, which "reversed the problem of habitat loss and helping to maintain a sustained population increase in Zimbabwe’s already large elephant population."

A scientific study in the journal, Biological Conservation, states that trophy hunting is of "major importance to conservation in Africa by creating economic incentives for conservation over vast areas, including areas which may be unsuitable for alternative wildlife-based land uses such as photographic ecotourism."

Financial incentives from trophy hunting effectively more than double the land area that is used for wildlife conservation, relative to what would be conserved relying on national parks alone, according to the study published in Biological Conservation.

Trophy hunting has been considered essential for providing economic incentives to conserve large carnivores according to other research studies in Conservation Biology, Journal of Sustainable Tourism, Wildlife Conservation by Sustainable Use, and Animal Conservation.

Organizations that support trophy hunting as a tool for conservation include The National Wildlife Federation, The Wildness Society, The Izzaak Walton League of America, North American Wildlife Foundation, Outdoor Writers Association of America, Ducks Unlimited, The American Forestry Association, Wildlife Legislative Fund of America, Wildlife Management Institute, and The Wildlife Society.

According to the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service, trophy hunting "provides an economic incentive" for ranchers to continue to breed those species, and that hunting "reduces the threat of the species' extinction".

According to Richard Conniff, Namibia is home to 1,750 of the roughly 5,000 black rhinos surviving in the wild because it allows trophy hunting. Its mountain zebra population has also increased to 27,000 from 1,000 in 1982. Elephants, which are gunned down elsewhere for their ivory, have gone to 20,000 from 15,000 in 1995. Lions, which were on the brink of extinction "from Senegal to Kenya", are increasing in Namibia.

On the contrary, Kenya, which banned trophy hunting in 1977, has seen a 70 percent decline of wild animals according to Laurence Frank, a zoology researcher at the University of California at Berkeley and director of the conservation group Living with Lions. Because the government has no incentive to protect wild animals, effective enforcement on protecting animals has been a disaster according to Frank.

The National Wildlife Federation supports hunting because "under professional regulation, wildlife populations are a renewable natural resource that can safely sustain taking."

• Administrators Posts: 55,122 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Anyone else's car insurance gone up this year?

Mine is up by about 150 quid, can't get anyone to beat this increase though. :(

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Synode

awec wrote: »

Yep, up nearly €120. Very annoying. I've never made an insurance claim and I'm driving nearly 15 years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Mine's up by 100 quid on a small, old car. I'm just going to do what I do every other year, tell them to drop it again to what I paid last year or they can p1ss off. Fckin shysters, automatic increase every year and they'll get enough suckers who pay up without shopping around.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,967 ✭✭✭Synode

Zzippy wrote: »
    Mine's up by 100 quid on a small, old car. I'm just going to do what I do every other year, tell them to drop it again to what I paid last year or they can p1ss off. Fckin shysters, automatic increase every year and they'll get enough suckers who pay up without shopping around.

The problem though is when you shop around you'll be quoted the same prices, if not more. Motor insurance appears to have increased significantly across the board this year. I was shocked I couldn't find a cheaper quote

• Administrators Posts: 55,122 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭awec

Zzippy wrote: »

I tried this.

I shopped around, couldn't get a cheaper quote anywhere. Every other insurer would have me going up 300 or 400. Like Synode I was pretty surprised I couldn't get cheaper anywhere.

Phoned Liberty and tried to bluff it and they just said no, they can't go any lower. They put it up last year too and I got it down again by phoning, but seems there's no value to be had this year at all!

As the fellah on Joe Rogan's show pointed out, the idea that these animals are not eaten is often a complete myth, they're generally transported back to towns and shared out among the locals. Maybe not true for Lions mind you, the case of this latest lion is a clear crime.

http://edition.cnn.com/2015/05/20/africa/namibia-rhino-hunt-meat/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,920 ✭✭✭✭stephen_n

20% increase across the board with all insurance companies, no getting round this one. Some bull**** reasons to go with it but basically they all want to increase their profit forecasts to keep stock holders happy, the myth of capitalism!

stephen_n wrote: »
    20% increase across the board with all insurance companies, no getting round this one. Some bull**** reasons to go with it but basically they all want to increase their profit forecasts to keep stock holders happy, the myth of capitalism!

huh? :confused:

http://www.independent.ie/business/personal-finance/car-insurance-premiums-set-for-doubledigit-hike-30914706.html
    Insurers are losing money on motor policies due to higher levels of road fatalities, more collision and injury claims, and the added expense of lawyers getting involved in injury cases, experts said.
    nd Conor Faughnan of AA Ireland said he would not be surprised if premiums go up by more than 8pc this year. He said the increase in traffic volumes on the roads was leading to more accidents, while there was a rise in the number and cost of claims.
    "We also have a situation where claimants are drifting back to solicitors instead of going to the State's Injuries Board. That is very unwelcome."
    The Injuries Board was set up to remove the need for those making claims to use lawyers, which were adding up to 50pc to the cost of claims.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

I'm sat here procrastinating over a report I've to write.

I fecking hate having to write reports

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,169 ✭✭✭Wang King

Stheno wrote: »
    I'm sat here procrastinating over a report I've to write.

I fecking hate having to write reports

"The veh-hickle was proceeding in a north westerly direction and i observed the back seat pass-ingers behaving in a suspicious manner "

There, that's a good start Garda!

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 51,690 Mod ✭✭✭✭Stheno

Wang King wrote: »
    "The veh-hickle was proceeding in a north westerly direction and i observed the back seat pass-ingers behaving in a suspicious manner "

There, that's a good start Garda!

More like "the entire environment is a disorganised mess, cobbled together over a number of years."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,166 ✭✭✭✭Zzippy

Stheno wrote: »
    More like "the entire environment is a disorganised mess, cobbled together over a number of years."

The government?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,930 ✭✭✭duckysauce

have you tried quotedevil ?

https://www.quotedevil.ie/Car-Insurance-simple.php

They saved me a packet