Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

FSA FPL Rate My Team Thread 2015/16

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,256 ✭✭✭✭Lemlin

I've had another look over this concoction that I did at the weekend and made one change:

Myhill
    Ivanovic Kolarov Huth (Muniesa, Saylor)
    Hazard Walcott Sterling Milner (Fletcher)
    Rooney Lukaku Sakho

I'm fairly happy with it to be honest. I have absolutely no plan on how to get Aguero in though. I might just downgrade Ivanovic/Lukaku to someone 2.5 mil cheaper and then Rooney to Kun. Looks the easiest way to do it.

The parts I am potentially thinking of changing and would like feedback on:

Muniesa/Huth - are they a decent 4.5 mil rotation? I want a Leicester defender and Huth is a good price and playing for the Tinkerman who plays defensive so is there any better rotation option than Stoke available?
    Lukaku - I'm not overly happy with him but I'm thinking about freeing up .5 of a million somewhere so he can be Benteke in the second week. That said, Tekkers and Milner could be Liverpool overkill.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 934 ✭✭✭JamBur

Maybe downgrade Krul as you have Courtois & use the extra 0.5 to upgrade midfielder, maybe Sterling for Firmino? At least he's a proven PL player & might get some goals/assists while Aguero is out.

Not bad suggestion, although I think Sterling is more at risk of rotation\subbing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,073 ✭✭✭✭PARlance

stephenl15 wrote: »
    Right lads, about time I posted my team, please critique! I have given plenty of my own advice so far on this thread so it'd be nice to get something back :D
    Capture_zpskjkx8qw4.png

GK

Ruddy, Butland - Rotate very well early on

Def

Ivanovic - traditionally explosive starter, get burned every year by him. Easily downgradeable if it doesn't work

Cedric - 5.0 for nailed on attacking saints defender, no brainer

Martin, Francis - Norwich Bournmouth rotate well. Will try not to double Ruddy with Martin

Huth - Very good fixtures, set piece threat nailed on for 4.5

Mid

Walcott - Fantasy gold, extremely explosive, first name on my team sheet with Rooney.

Hazard - Mostly the fear of going without

Mané - Between himself and Siggy good vs bad fixtures. Explosive. Was on Siggy for most part due to his fast start despite bad fixtures last year but Mane edged it lately.

Zaha - IMO best pick at 6.0 or less. Should have a key role for Palace. Potentially explosive.

Wanyama - Serious lack of 4.5 mids. This could be anyone. Got a goal or two last year and nailed on.

FW

Kane - Edges Benteke as nailed on, main striker 90 mins per match and good fixtures.

Rooney - Guaranteed spot in my starting team. Main man up front at United with Schneiderlin, Schweinsteiger, Depay and Pedro providing ammunition! Opening day captain.

Sakho - PL pedigree edges it over Deeney or Wilson for me.

0.5 ITB. Only problems are Costa and Aguero. Costa is gettable by downgrading Sakho to Deeney and upgrading Kane but I think I'll go without due to Haz and Ivan. Aguero is a wait and pray job.

With Aguero on the Horizon, is your team too balanced?
    Rooney, Walcott & Hazard all seem like they're firmly in your plans... so getting Aguero in seems like it could be a 2-3 transfer move. Is there a plan there?

I would also have a slight concern over your "explosive" midfield. On it's day it could give you 50+ points but there could be a few 8 pointers as well.
    All 4 blow hot and cold imo, to varying degrees obviously.
    Hazard & Walcott can't be argued with but Hazard can frustrate with a spell of poor weeks, Walcott could frustrate with a few games with limited game time.
    Mane & Zaha offer more hope than anything for me. I don't see them as consistent performers but I do seem them potentially racking up big scores from time to time.
    If it was me, I would prefer to see a steadier player or two in there with Hazard & Walcott with a Mane to a Henderson type move.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,479 ✭✭✭Invincible

km79 wrote: »
    it's pretty much come down to this
    A :Ivan huth along with darmian PVA and targett
    B : Ivan huth along with Kos Coates targett
    C: Ivan huth along with mert cedric and Staylor
    which is best?

A, looks more flexible, option of Ivan & Darmian, PVA/Huth compared to Ivan & Kos, Huth/Target.

I like PVA's attacking prospects.
    Coates &Targett starters?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,886 ✭✭✭stephenl15

Thanks guys :)
    Good team I'd change Martin to another 4.5 as he is a bit of a waste of a rotation option if you don't want to double up. A Sunderland defender maybe even pva at 5 or as you don't want to really use Martin you could take the punt on gomez.

Yeah I actually realised that after I posted, bit stupid of me :) i'll be getting another 4.5 def anyway i'll need to find another decent 9.0 rotation.
    Nuts102 wrote: »
    Use the 0.5 to upgrade Wanyama to Scott Sinclair maybe he has been impressive in pre season and more attacking.

Also think with the starting fixtures and going by pre season Maharez is a better option than Zaha starting off.

I'll rarely be playing my 5th mid so don't really believe in spending any more than 4.5. Think there was a ffs members article last season where he had some ridiculous touches in the box stats, plus I think Palace will have a v. good season think I'm gonna go with Wilf Zaha :D
    FHFC wrote: »
    Very strong team. Nothing to criticise in any of the players selected. Be a bit wary of Wanyama as he's the highest owned cheap mid afaik and could incur price drops if he ends up beibg benched the odd time.

You've identified the potential problem yourself imo. Its harder to fit Aguero in when you have the money spread around the team with a big hitter like Ivan in defence and Haz in midfield.

If you really want to have a route to get Aguero without a GW2 or 3 wildcard try starting with him in the team, take him out and put the surplus into a luxury player somewhere who you can downgrage.

That's what has led me to a very cheap defence, extra big hitters in midfield, one of whom can go to an on form 6 or 6.5 mid to accommodate Aguero.

Very good point on Wanyama, out he goes :) also frees up a Saints spot in case I want Pelle or somebody going forward. I think I'm gonna stick with Ivan and see how it plays out first couple of weeks. Always said I was going to start with him after 3(?) amazing season starts in a row.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,320 ✭✭✭v3ttel

Ivanovic - traditionally explosive starter, get burned every year by him.
    Walcott - Fantasy gold, extremely explosive, first name on my team sheet with Rooney.
    Mané - Between himself and Siggy good vs bad fixtures. Explosive.
    Zaha - IMO best pick at 6.0 or less. Should have a key role for Palace. Potentially explosive.
    Rooney - Guaranteed spot in my starting team. Main man up front at United with Schneiderlin, Schweinsteiger, Depay and Pedro providing ammunition!

FC MurderDeathKill seems adequately prepared.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,022 ✭✭✭✭Iused2likebusts

Lucas Hood wrote: »
    Is Martin really a risk?

He played 90 mins in 45 league games + 3 playoff games as last season mainly at Cb. Captain an all I'd assume he'll be starting?

The op has Ruddy as GK so I was thinking having Martin aswell is a bit much. The op mentioned he was rarely going to use Martin for that reason so I'd feel in his situation he is a bit of a waste and could afford a risk on someone like gomez.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,866 ✭✭✭Raoul

Thanks guys :)

Yeah I actually realised that after I posted, bit stupid of me :) i'll be getting another 4.5 def anyway i'll need to find another decent 9.0 rotation.

I'll rarely be playing my 5th mid so don't really believe in spending any more than 4.5. Think there was a ffs members article last season where he had some ridiculous touches in the box stats, plus I think Palace will have a v. good season think I'm gonna go with Wilf Zaha :D

Very good point on Wanyama, out he goes :) also frees up a Saints spot in case I want Pelle or somebody going forward. I think I'm gonna stick with Ivan and see how it plays out first couple of weeks. Always said I was going to start with him after 3(?) amazing season starts in a row.

Who do you go with if you don't have Wanyama?

PARlance wrote: »
    With Aguero on the Horizon, is your team too balanced?
    Rooney, Walcott & Hazard all seem like they're firmly in your plans... so getting Aguero in seems like it could be a 2-3 transfer move. Is there a plan there?

I would also have a slight concern over your "explosive" midfield. On it's day it could give you 50+ points but there could be a few 8 pointers as well.
    All 4 blow hot and cold imo, to varying degrees obviously.
    Hazard & Walcott can't be argued with but Hazard can frustrate with a spell of poor weeks, Walcott could frustrate with a few games with limited game time.
    Mane & Zaha offer more hope than anything for me. I don't see them as consistent performers but I do seem them potentially racking up big scores from time to time.
    If it was me, I would prefer to see a steadier player or two in there with Hazard & Walcott with a Mane to a Henderson type move.

Good point, definitely food for thought regarding the hot and cold, you're spot on. Mané is the one most at risk there after that, but I don't think I fancy Henderson over Mané as a fantasy asset. Maybe Sigurdsson or Payet? Zaha, I'm just being drawn to him at 5.5 :P

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,834 ✭✭✭podge018

Wouldn't worry about Wanyama price dropping, he's only in most teams to fill the spot, nobody is going to be looking at him saying "only another 2pts this week, he has to go". Also he's unsellable for the purposes of raising money. If, however, another 4.5m player erupts on to the scene then you'll be able to get him in yourself with a straight swap.

Raoul wrote: »
    Who do you go with if you don't have Wanyama?

Any other 4.5 really :P Fletcher, Surman, Bentaleb, Westwood

podge018 wrote: »
    Wouldn't worry about Wanyama price dropping, he's only in most teams to fill the spot, nobody is going to be looking at him saying "only another 2pts this week, he has to go". Also he's unsellable for the purposes of raising money. If, however, another 4.5m player erupts on to the scene then you'll be able to get him in yourself with a straight swap.

But if he drops, and a 4.5 prospect emerges a la Sterling a few seasons back, it's a two transfer thing rather than 1 even if it's 4.4 vs 4.5 at this early stage it might aswell be a 0.5 drop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,834 ✭✭✭podge018

but I'm saying I can't see him dropping. Why would anyone sell him?

v3ttel wrote: »
    FC MurderDeathKill seems adequately prepared.

Hahaha now I did not realise those horrific overuses :P

Higher owned players are much more prone to price drops. Injury, new prospect maybe. Better safe than sorry :D

Thanks for the reply. I just noticed, probably be dodgy having 2 Sunderland defenders in my team.

What about Cedric? I see you have him in your team (as do a few people) he's also £5.0m I think?

Yeah Cedrics a great shout IMO :) Yeah plus it's hard to see who's 100% nailed on in the Sunderland defence apart from Van Aanholt

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,747 ✭✭✭Ziegler1988

Is Wanyama highest scoring 4.5m from last season? If so, a lot of the 20% ownership will be causals and they are prone to transfer him out (even at a hit) for whatever 4.5/5m scores in GW1

Think I'm priced out of Aguero unfortunately. Would require Sakho to Deeney, Ivan to Azpi and Mané to Henderson in order to upgrade Kane to Aguero. Don't think I'm willing to do that :(

Is Wanyama highest scoring 4.5m from last season? If so, a lot of the 20% ownership will be causals and they are prone to transfer him out (even at a hit) for whatever 4.5/5m scores in GW1

I can see Darren Fletcher getting his head onto a corner as we speak.

Fletcher 55 points vs Wanyama's 80.
    But Fletcher had limited game time with United, only joining WBA last Feb.

I can see Darren Fletcher getting his head onto a corner as we speak.

Fletcher 55 points vs Wanyama's 80.
    But Fletcher had limited game time with United, only joining WBA last Feb.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,195 ✭✭✭Colking

I did this for the laugh but ........

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,830 ✭✭✭Cookie_Dough

Yeah Cedrics a great shout IMO :) Yeah plus it's hard to see who's 100% nailed on in the Sunderland defence apart from Van Aanholt

Might have another re-think this evening. Don't really feel comfortable with any Sunderland defenders TBH. Might sacrifice PvA for Cedric or Alder.

Wonder if Alder would be a definite starter for Spurs. So much indecision...it's much more difficult to pick a decent team this season. Alot of players have shot up in value.

Cheers for your advice.

Colking wrote: »
    I did this for the laugh but ........

Activate All Out Defense chip

Might have another re-think this evening. Don't really feel comfortable with any Sunderland defenders TBH. Might sacrifice PvA for Cedric or Alder.

Wonder if Alder would be a definite starter for Spurs. So much indecision...it's much more difficult to pick a decent team this season. Alot of players have shot up in value.

Cheers for your advice.

Yep it'll likely be Trippier Alder Vert Rose as the first choice back 4. I'd have both over PVA. Both better teams than Sunderland

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,830 ✭✭✭Cookie_Dough

Yep it'll likely be Trippier Alder Vert Rose as the first choice back 4. I'd have both over PVA. Both better teams than Sunderland

Cool, I will be ditching PvA for Alder. I'm also not fully happy with my midfield.

Another brain melt tonight for me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,790 ✭✭✭Benimar

Think I'm priced out of Aguero unfortunately. Would require Sakho to Deeney, Ivan to Azpi and Mané to Henderson in order to upgrade Kane to Aguero. Don't think I'm willing to do that :(

He has WAT, cpl, WHU, tot, NEW, BOU between GW 4-9. There is at least 4 of those games where he probably be highly captained.

This isn't aimed at you in particular, but anyone who goes without (a fit and firing) Aguero for those games is asking for heartache.

As he hasn't been injured, part of my thinking when picking my team is to ensure I can get Aguero in with a max 2 transfers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,413 ✭✭✭✭Father Hernandez

jenno86 wrote: »
    mh4sc3.png

Opinions please!! :D

Who would you swap Affellay for?

This is one of the better teams I have seen. Although if you have a plan for Aguero, how do you intend on transferring him in? I would probably go for Wilson over Deeney especially agaisnt a poor Villa side this weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 286 ✭✭cremeegg

Schmichael (big fan of Leicester last season and think tinker-man can keep it going)
    Morgan (big fan of Leicester last season and think tinker-man can keep it going. the big lad got me a few goals last year.)
    Clyne (was diamond for Southampton)
    Phil Jones (guaranteed to play in the man utd team?)
    sterling (has to seek repair his reputation and in a significantly improved team)
    walcott (justify your new contract ya little bolliX. supposed to play through he middle)
    hazard (complacency the only danger for this man)
    henderson (take a lot of free kicks, captain and leader)
    rooney (last big season for rooster. again more central and better support from midfield this year)
    metrovic (a fcuk it ya need one wildcard.. will want to impress as new hero around the toon)
    giroud (imagine playing in fromn of ozil carzola sanchez walcott ramsey..has to be goals in him worried he may not play though)

brady ...freekicks
    baker..4.0
    mariappa...4.0

well lads do yere worst? where am i going wrong?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,710 ✭✭✭✭Paully D

Anyone who doesn't have Aguero from gameweek 4 (presuming he's fit) is playing the wrong game IMO. He'll be absolutely essential.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,042 ✭✭✭zl1whqvjs75cdy

Just did my team there but thought I'd contribute a bit before I put it up. Agree with the bit about Aguero, as soon as he's back I'll be looking to get him in. The most obvious move is Sterling to a 6.5 and then upgrade Rooney. I'd imagine that will be a popular one so sterling owners would want to keep an eye on price movements that week. Depending on how the season starts another popular swap could be Hazard to Fab which frees up 2.5 to upgrade Rooney to Aguero.

This also definitely seems like a season for early wildcard with both Costa and Aguero out and so many new signings floating around. I also don't think I like the new chip system. The game is always part luck but this year the leagues could be decided by who plays a lucky chip. Captain with hatrick and triple chip ~ 60 points. You make a balls of the captain selection that week and score 4. 55 points is a lot to make up. Not a fan.

/musings.