If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Theres always one clown that brings a guitar to a party

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,212 ✭✭✭libelula

I am how you would say, half-caste. So Ill nigga till the day I die foo!

Who in the hell uses this phrase anymore?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,949 ✭✭✭Mesrine65

libelula wrote: »
    Apparently half caste people find it appropriate terminology ;) :P :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 87 ✭✭Pumpkin PJs Fan No.9

"Niggas", apparently?

"???"

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Someone who is really pissed drunk and is trying to say they are half plastered?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,143 ✭✭✭eviltimeban

Guitar guy is normally rubbish as he's just looking for attention, rather than really trying to get a singalong going.

PIANO GUY, now that guy is a hero. Getting 'round the piano for an ol' knees up is the proper way to do it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,557 ✭✭✭the_monkey

I was in a pub once and some nob end brought a guitar in and started to strum away, we thought it was an act hired by the pub, but no just some ginger tosser looking for attention - actually could have been Ed Sheeran ...

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 14 ISIS are sound

Funny thing I've found most girls hate the guitar wanker since the music has to be turned off to accommodate his bull**** and most chicks just want to get drunk and dance.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

I got into a nasty altercation with some jerkoff playing music at a party once, he was a thirty something year old loser still trying to act a teen. All the people there thought he was this legend who hitches lifts around the country and busks and we were all supposed to be respectful and listen to his bull**** stories and music. I just thought he was a complete pervert and a saddo.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,626 ✭✭✭Choochtown

I'm a guitar-wanker and I'm getting great entertainment from this thread.

It's a great way of life to be honest. Loads of attention from honeys, free pints in the pub. What's not to like? I would only bring a guitar if I'm asked to by whoever is throwing the party or by the pub (in which case it's free booze and food for the evening)

I haven't ever been asked to stop playing-usually the opposite. As for jealously, I've only noticed it once. Three lads at a house party were a bit put out by the lack of attention that they were getting so one of them came over (was sent over) and asked if he could play. Cue 15 minutes of the first 10 seconds of "Stairway to Heaven" over and over again! Made me (an average player/singer) look even better!!

Enjoying the hate. Keep it coming!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 542 ✭✭✭dont bother

fvckin retards. i HATE this sh!te... the age of the guitar is long dead. stick on a bit of fetty wap or drake if you want b!tches flocking...

loser behaviour only done by little ugly minger "Tucan" type gobsh!tes who havent a note in their head and can';t everr actually SING with their songs... then what's the point? attention whores.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭MonkeyTennis

fvckin retards. i HATE this sh!te... the age of the guitar is long dead. stick on a bit of fetty wap or drake if you want b!tches flocking...

loser behaviour only done by little ugly minger "Tucan" type gobsh!tes who havent a note in their head and can';t everr actually SING with their songs... then what's the point? attention whores.

Bitter at all?

not at all... i just really dislike little irish men and their guitars and curly golliwog looking wool hair and ugly faces.

these "women" that flock to these idiots - they're usually wooly irish girls.

be my guest... take them ALL!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,752 ✭✭✭Thud

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭Areyouwell

At a party once and I noticed the arrival of guitar wanker and watched as he left his guitar under the stairs. Knowing what was coming later, my best mate and I then procededed to cut the strings off his guitar.:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,967 ✭✭✭Pyr0

Areyouwell wrote: »
    At a party once and I noticed the arrival of guitar wanker and watched as he left his guitar under the stairs. Knowing what was coming later, my best mate and I then procededed to cut the strings off his guitar.:)

Sound lads, nice one..

Using what?

I smell lies

Me too.

"Hey pass me those industrial wire clippers from your back pocket whilst you keep watch on the stairs"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭Means Of Escape

not at all... i just really dislike little irish men and their guitars and curly golliwog looking wool hair and ugly faces.

these "women" that flock to these idiots - they're usually wooly irish girls.

be my guest... take them ALL!

Add to that the token shark tooth/zen symbol hanging from a leather strip high up on chest
    Tartan style "lucky shirt"
    Scruffy shoes
    Five or six wrist bands of various colours and designs
    A silver pinky ring that has blackened the finger due to poor quality
    Cargo pants with worn leg ends
    One long discoloured thumb nail
    Adjust strings accordingly to allow people to settle as the guitarist "attempts" a version of Gordon Lightfoot's If you could read my mind"
    Wait patiently for the extra long guitar solos between verses to end

Hope a someone pulls out spoons to dilute the horror

No one hates the guitarists but get annoyed when they truly are punching way above their weight and force their mediocre ability on people .

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Barely There

I just grabbed the guitar and smashed it over Guitar Wanker's head.

Honky Tonk Man style.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭One More Toy

Add to that the token shark tooth/zen symbol hanging from a leather strip high up on chest
    Scruffy shoes
    Adjust strings accordingly to allow people to settle as the guitarist "attempts" a version of Gordon Lightfoot's If you could read my mind"

No one hates the guitarists but get annoyed when they truly are punching way above their weight and force their mediocre ability on people .

Think I have just found my Minister for the Environment

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 55,410 ✭✭✭✭tayto lover

"I hear the train a-coming
    it's rolling round the bend
    and I ain't seen the sunshine
    since I don't know when ...."

Great auld nights with the guitar man in our local.

Ya can't beat it lads.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 397 ✭✭Areyouwell

Choochtown wrote: »
    Using what?
    I smell lies
    Choochtown wrote: »
    Me too.
    "Hey pass me those industrial wire clippers from your back pocket whilst you keep watch on the stairs"

Wow! What's all the knicker twisting about? My mate got a combination pliers from his brothers shed. The party was in his brothers house.

Hopefully ye can calm yourselves now, because I never intended to casue such distress.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,440 ✭✭✭The Rape of Lucretia

Serious amount of jealousy going on in here, lads.

If someone can play guitar and the majority of people at the party want them to play, what's the problem?

That would be no problem. But your 'if' condition is never true - only guitar **** think the majority of people at the party want them to play. The rest just want him to shut up, and are thinking who the feck does he think he is bring along a guitar thinking the rest of us want to hear him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,009 ✭✭✭✭wnolan1992

I think most of the hate is from people who are pissed off that they can't use a guitar to get laid/get attention/get free food and drink.

I know that's my motivation for hating the guitar-wielding, Wonderwall-playing c*nts anyway.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,643 ✭✭✭valoren

Nothing worse than some gowl 'singing' with that pained, tortured face and voice, implying that he is a sensitive soul and in touch with his 'feelings'. GTFO.

"No alarms....and no surprises.....no alarms and no surprise....please....siiiiiiiilence.....*pluck-pluck-pluck*....."

And how come it's always fellas. Guitar Wankerettes are a rare breed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 269 ✭✭Public_Enema

Wow! What's all the knicker twisting about? My mate got a combination pliers from his brothers shed. The party was in his brothers house.

Hopefully ye can calm yourselves now, because I never intended to cause such distress.

Had to laugh at the response alright. You'd swear you needed an oxy acetylene torch to cut a few strings.:rolleyes:

Scruffy shoes

BRILLIANT. Very accurate

Hopefully ye can calm yourselves now, because I never intended to casue such distress.

Well you could have hid the guitar in the shed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,988 ✭✭✭CFlat

Breaking guitar strings isn't difficult and you don't need a pliers or anything. Just keep winding up the machine heads until the strings break.

I used to play alot of music back in the 90s with bands etc. I f**king hated going to house parties cause when you arrived someone put a guitar in your hand and said something like, its ok Cflat is here lets get this party started.

All I wanted to do was get pissed and talk sh!t. Sometimes guitar ****$r doesn't have a choice.

BTW strumming a guitar is most certainly playing, as long as you do it well.

Oh and I remember many years ago bringing my then GF to a party, I started playing, looked around and realised she was being chatted up by a lad. Guitar ****$r doesnt always get the girl either.