Fleadh Cheoil 2015

• 05-08-2015 11:03AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,015 ✭✭✭

Well folks its that time of year again. It's Fleadh time, for people that don't know its the biggest free party in the UK and Ireland. Even if you don't like trad, there are raves, metal bands, solo singers all kind of madness, Saturday 15th Of August is the evening to hit it. Don't bother with pubs, get yourself a slab of cans and just stand on the street and watch 1000,000 people go mental.
    So good people of AH lets be having you !

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,473 ✭✭✭Wacker The Attacker

go on the fleadh ceoil

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Is it all over the UK and Ireland - or just in Sligo?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

Don't think I've said "let's be having you" in my life.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,095 ✭✭✭MonkeyTennis

a 1000,000 you say?

Your'e on!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Where is it taking place?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,379 ✭✭✭donegaLroad

420,000 showed up to the Fleadh in Derry.. Id say you could easily get 200,000+ in Sligo, especially if there are extra flights into Knock.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,272 ✭✭✭Henlars67

There was a great buzz around for it last year from the Thursday on.

The first few days of it were pretty quiet.

The fleadh would be great if it weren't for all the trad.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Barely There

Irish trad music must be one of the most boring music genres.

All instruments seem to play the same notes and the same simple melodic motif is repeated over and over without any variation in pitch or rhythm until the 'song' eventually ends about 20minutes later.

I suppose if you've drunk enough pints of Guinness you'll get some enjoyment from it.

Personally, it bores me to tears and I could thing of nothing worse that spending a number of days engulfed by diddley-eye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,775 ✭✭✭✭kfallon

Sligo is the only place I ever stayed up all night just so I could get out of it as early as possible the next day!

Has it improved in the last ten years?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

If I was going I'd spend a few quid in the local establishments, and not be running about the place with a bag of cans. If I wanted to be a cheap knacker I'd stay in the house.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,283 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

Where is it taking place?

Sligo in 2014 and 2015.

http://www.fleadhcheoil.ie/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,679 ✭✭✭Crooked Jack

Absolutely love the Fleadh. Great craic. For one of the biggest festivals in Europe it's surprising how many people have never heard of it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭chair28

Why mention the UK as part of your post?
    Don't understand why lately we are linked with the UK for everything we do. "UK & Ireland" is everywhere

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,015 ✭✭✭6541

If I was going I'd spend a few quid in the local establishments, and not be running about the place with a bag of cans. If I wanted to be a cheap knacker I'd stay in the house.

Noting like a can of Tennents Lager and a spliff on the street.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,251 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Was at the one in Derry two years ago and I can safely say it was the best weekend I ever had anywhere in Ireland.

Missed Sligo last year as I had a wedding and am itching to go this year but started a new job recently so don't think I can.

It's the Fleadh's loss me not being there :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,283 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

kfallon wrote: »
    Sligo is the only place I ever stayed up all night just so I could get out of it as early as possible the next day!

Has it improved in the last ten years?

Yes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,312 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

All instruments seem to play the same notes and the same simple melodic motif is repeated over and over without any variation in pitch or rhythm until the 'song' eventually ends about 20minutes later.

I suppose if you've drunk enough pints of Guinness you'll get some enjoyment from it.

Personally, it bores me to tears and I could thing of nothing worse that spending a number of days engulfed by diddley-eye.

I take it you're more of a 1D fan then?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,679 ✭✭✭Crooked Jack

chair28 wrote: »
    Why mention the UK as part of your post?

I assume because there are fleadhanna held all over britain and Fleadh Cheoil is the biggest festival in Ireland or Britain but not quite Europe.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,481 ✭✭✭Barely There

I take it you're more of a 1D fan then?

Obviously.

That's the only alternative to trad music after all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,015 ✭✭✭6541

So here is my Fleadh:
    Landed in Sligo Friday, Found a bit of waste ground outside the town. realised I forgot my tent so my bed was gonna be my car.
    Got a rake of cans and walked around the town. Then took a yoke and headed to the gig rig. Then back to the car for the night.
    Woke up on Saturday morning and went down to a shop and stole a tent. Put up this tent and headed for town with a few more cans.
    Ended up in a pub until 4:30 am shifting some overweight bird. Suffering today.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,096 ✭✭✭✭the groutch

So just like every other music festival then.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 746 ✭✭✭Mr Rhode Island Red

Irish music is easy to play...very accessible stuff. But can also sound dreary as sh!t
    But it's hard to play well. There isn't a huge amount of scope for ornamentation and putting your own personal spin on things. So any Irish music player that can get an audience going is a rarity.