If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Theres always one clown that brings a guitar to a party

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

Aye, that's what I hated most about college. Pretentious pricks in wooly sweaters murdering Hey Jude, Son Of A Preacher Man and Wonderwall.

*shudder*

Aye, that's what I hated most about college. Pretentious pricks in wooly sweaters murdering Hey Jude, Son Of A Preacher Man and Wonderwall.

*shudder*

I was there in the early/mid 90s.

U2 "One", U2 "One", U2 "One", some mangled effort at "Stairway to Heaven", back to U2 "One"...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,979 ✭✭✭✭John_Rambo

Ponytail and goatee.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,533 ✭✭✭Donkey Oaty

Yez are all feckin Zulus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 540 ✭✭✭GreatDefector

anncoates wrote: »
    .....Greem Fields Of France/Foggy Dew/Auld Triangle etc.

Ugh

It's the most annoying thing that can happen in a pub.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 738 ✭✭✭tigerboon

Yez are all feckin Zulus.

If this is saying that, because we don't like some banjo picking gob****e murdering a crap middle of the road song at 2 in the morning, we have no culture then I'm ok with that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 679 ✭✭✭Boring username

And what's with all these miserable trad songs at a session? It's all

"The Tans came and shot my spuds,
    and me cattle fell off a cliff,
    like in the ending of The Field only worse,
    and the wife got leprosy and died too,
    on the night of the big wind struck so it t'was,
    Well I took to the bed for the rest of my days,
    oh and I'm a raging alcoholic too in case you didn't know"

A bit of optimism wouldn't go astray like.

• Users Awaiting Email Confirmation Posts: 5,620 ✭✭✭El_Dangeroso

They are not as annoying as people who use faux-gansta words.

Are we just all using the n-word casually now? Must have missed that email.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

• Closed Accounts Posts: 87 ✭✭Pumpkin PJs Fan No.9

Felt really uncomfortable with that too...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 13,925 ✭✭✭✭anncoates

I should point out I love all those songs I mentioned. I just don't want to told to whist by some cnut trying to sing them unless I've paid to hear them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 316 ✭✭Two Sheds

If you want to play the guitar in public, then learn it first. Maybe even take a few lessons. And strumming doesn't count as playing.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 284 ✭✭Jan Laco

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,867 ✭✭✭fancy pigeon

Worse is those cnuts that turn up in a bar for a trad session and start the shhhh sshhh to everyone having a laugh before they even came in,while they sing their hearts out about young Willie mcbride

Don't forget guitar wanker who sings trad songs/folk/rebel songs and gets everyone to clap along...

Do you not know the OP is in Wu Tang Clan (Ireland)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 912 ✭✭✭bmm

With the trend in small guitars, expect to see them on public transport and at your favourite chipper ;-)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

Sitting in the corner, spitting out tunes randomly to show off. Im sick of it niggas, sick and tired of it. Theres only so much Jeff Buckley I can listen to.

Favourites include:

Kings of Leon
    Jeff Buckley
    James Blunt

I blame the women, flocking to these with a wet stain like a snail following them. Thats great and all, you do what you gotta do to get that tail, but I came here to have the craic, a few beers and a laugh, not for you to have impromptu performances.

How do you guys feel? Are you one of them? If so, whats your motivation?:mad:

I think most people are just being polite TBH. I've been at house parties where someone started playing in the living room, without asking and when everyone was talking. Seriously egocentric.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,061 ✭✭✭✭mfceiling

steddyeddy wrote: »
    I think most people are just being polite TBH. I've been at house parties where someone started playing in the living room, without asking and when everyone was talking. Seriously egocentric.

The correct protocol there is to leave immediately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,243 ✭✭✭✭Jesus Wept

worse than hitler, and he was a bad egg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

mfceiling wrote: »

True but why should a whole room have to leave a party because of some d1ck.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 51,342 ✭✭✭✭That_Guy

Don't think I've been to a party where that's happened but it has happened in a pub.

Myself and a few mates having a laugh over a few pints. All of a sudden these lads walk in with instruments. We still sup away our pints only to be "shhhed" by all and sundry as we're forced to listen to a young lad from Skibereen getting tied up for stealing a spud or some shíte.

Wouldn't have minded but it wasn't advertised outside or inside the pub.

Needless to say we left soon after that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,897 ✭✭✭Means Of Escape

brevity wrote: »
    Yup, guitar guy is one of the worst at a party. Next up are the people who shush you and force you to listen to guitar guy.

And the said guitar guy does a bit of slow strumming with his eyes closed giving us the background to the song he wrote and uses the line "and it goes something like this"
    Followed immediately on the first sung note by raised eyebrows and protruding chin .
    Every time .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

I blame the women, flocking to these with a wet stain like a snail following them.

Ah, so what you actually mean is, you're pretty jealous of these people. ;)

He was

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,191 ✭✭✭Eugene Norman

mfceiling wrote: »

I quickly left a house I was renting when some tosser started playing at a party we were hosting once. Went to my then gfs house. Unknown to me my house mate also scarpered. There were only two of us renting at that time.

The party must have continued without us. To be fair they didn't wreck the place, probably Jeff Buckley sobered everybody up. Somebody even cleaned up a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,028 ✭✭✭One More Toy

I am how you would say, half-caste. So Ill nigga till the day I die foo!

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 96,078 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

You wouldn't find Hitler playing jungle music at three o'clock in the morning!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 604 ✭✭✭Vandango

Theres always one clown that brings a guitar to a party

There is and more often than not, the muppet can't play it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,871 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

You wouldn't find Hitler playing jungle music at three o'clock in the morning!

That's for sure!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 438 ✭✭brandnewaward

fills me with murderous rage everytime