Field Day.

• 02-08-2015 01:01AM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,605 ✭✭✭✭

Tis the season of the Field Day around the country,well groomed dogs,beautiful babies and guess how many pennies in a jar.
    Must be quite a surprise for some that come across these well hidden fields of gambling,boozing and air rifle shooting.
    What's the oddest thing you've seen in your parish Field Day?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

kneemos wrote: »
    Tis the season of the Field Day around the country,well groomed dogs,beautiful babies and guess how many pennies in a jar.
    Must be quite a surprise for some that come across these well hidden fields of gambling,boozing and air rifle shooting.
    What's the oddest thing you've seen in your parish Field Day?

Beautiful babies? All babies look like giant mutated potatoes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,511 ✭✭✭Old Perry

Or completely normal wet teabags

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Speak for yourself , I was a beautiful baby , I'll have you know.

Anyway I was at a village field day years ago when an unexploded grenade was found in a hedge by some kids.

D'army bomb disposal team rocked up with all their fancy stuff and poked around at it for a few hours before deciding it was harmless.

Next year I didn't go to the field day so I never found out if it was any better.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,558 ✭✭✭✭dreamers75

wtf is a field day?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,605 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

dreamers75 wrote: »
    wtf is a field day?

Aha.A novice to the dens of inequity.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

wtf is a field day?

Its where people get to show off their odd shaped vegetables , nothing more funny than a bollix shaped potato. Also kids get to finger each other and get drunk on hot cans of harp and where members of local communities get to kick the heart out of each other in a game of football refereed by a priest.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 462 ✭✭wylie

wtf is a field day?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,439 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

The Rathdowney fashion show -

"Sure they all have lovely bottoms"

It's also where I learned how snax are made, and swiped a handful with the guy chasing after me. I didn't know then that they needed hot oil to puff up, saliva just was never going to work. I practically ran a marathon for nothing! Surprisingly fit fcuker for a fat lad :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,534 ✭✭✭gctest50

wtf is a field day?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 150 ✭✭Jotunheim

Field days don't exist, they are a figure of speech meaning something you must deny others, eg "keep it to yourself, if the media found out they'd have a field day", or "tighten up the defence or the striker will have a field day".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,035 ✭✭✭uch

I take it that this is a Culchie only thread

22/25

• Closed Accounts Posts: 462 ✭✭wylie

uch wrote: »

Thats racist;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Birr's 'Vintage Week' launched tonight. It's nice stuff with all sorts of cultural events and boring parades with agricultural steam contraptions. There's a carnival in town for the week for the young, ass and cart rides around the town for kids and their folks are also on offer. Discover south Offaly, a beautiful part of this island.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

Kiss me arse

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Never heard of them called a field day before. But the farmers wives association (or whatever they are called) usually have a stall with the best scones in the county. Love one of them now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,499 ✭✭✭✭DEFTLEFTHAND

Menas wrote: »
    Never heard of them called a field day before. But the farmers wives association (or whatever they are called) usually have a stall with the best scones in the county. Love one of them now.

Irish Countrywomens Association (ICA), a sexist organisation, the Lions Club (it's not the Lioness club) had to admit female members so why can't I join them?

God dam it makes me angry.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 32,688 ✭✭✭✭ytpe2r5bxkn0c1

I've lived in the country for over 70 years and we have never had a field day. The OP sounds a bit like the school sports days but surely not in August. Field days? Never heard of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,745 ✭✭✭dirtyden

I've lived in the country for over 70 years and we have never had a field day. The OP sounds a bit like the school sports days but surely not in August. Field days? Never heard of them.

They are called festivals around here. Is a field day not a UK thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,605 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

dirtyden wrote: »
    They are called festivals around here. Is a field day not a UK thing?

Maybe it's a Wexford thing,but every parish has a fund raising field day.
    The Fr Ted sketch was based on it.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 270 ✭✭Dr. Zaius Dr. Zaius!

kneemos wrote: »
    Maybe it's a Wexford thing,but every parish has a fund raising field day.
    The Fr Ted sketch was based on it.

Yeah same in Carlow. You literally spend the day in a field.

The local school/hurling club or whoever has a fundraising day, with everyone from the villiage helping out. My local one was great. Thered be a big cake sale, toy sale, guess the amount of sweets in a jar, loads of games, competitive races for the children, and parents. It was really successful too, they always raised a few grand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,473 ✭✭✭✭Super-Rush

Spiderbaby

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,585 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Father Ted Crilly: This sounds terrible to say but if you take...
    Father Ted Crilly: this baby's facial hair, this baby's moustache and this baby's sideboards, I think you'll get...I think you get Pat Mustard!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,678 ✭✭✭TrustedApple

They used to make a small pen in witch you would buy a square and if the sheep shi.ts in that square you win lol.

They also have a yearly crazy boot race in witch people would make rafts out of what ever and race them down the river and to be fair it's quite fun to watch as you be watching the boots falling over and sinking lol.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,043 ✭✭✭Berserker

Never heard of this. Is it a RC thing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,292 ✭✭✭✭Timberrrrrrrr

If all babies and brides are beautiful then where do ugly wives Come from? :confused:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 31,693 ✭✭✭✭looksee

Irish Countrywomens Association (ICA), a sexist organisation, the Lions Club (it's not the Lioness club) had to admit female members so why can't I join them?

God dam it makes me angry.

Have you actually tried? Come back when you have tried to attend a meeting and been thrown out.

Edit, actually, thinking about it, don't bother. I tried it (as a woman) and found it very stultifying and unwelcoming unless you are a 3 generation local.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,043 ✭✭✭Truckermal

Also known as sports days but yeah it's cruise control to drink like a hoor. .

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 12,561 Mod ✭✭✭✭byhookorbycrook

A field day is not like a country show, field days tend to be quite local and have a lot less competitions but does have things like 3 legged races, egg and spoon, perhaps a tent with the burco boiled staffed with the ladies who bake. The bouncy castle and dunk tank have also featured in later years.

"Field Day @ Sallins Gaa,
    Bouncing castles & Slides, Wet sponge throwing, Hook a duck, Penalty kicking, Mini Golf, Basketball, Hurling target board, Beat The Beep, 2nd Hand Book Stall, Pony Rides, Ice Cream van, Tea & Food stalls, Shop, Races including Egg & Spoon & Three legged & Sack races. Darts, Strong Man Competition, Guessing Games, Fun Stalls, ect... Ps. Bring Sun Cream for the whole family. " would be a good example of a typical field day.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 99,585 Mod ✭✭✭✭Capt'n Midnight

Keats and Chapman once lived near a church. There was a heavy debt on it.

The pastor made many efforts to clear the debt by promoting whist drives and raffles and the like, but was making little headway. He then heard of the popularity of these carnivals where you have swing-boats and round-abouts and fruit-machines and la boule and shooting galleries and every modern convenience. He thought to entertain the town with a week of this and hoped to make some money to reduce the debt.

He hired one of these outfits but with his diminutive financial status he could only induce a very third-rate company to come. All their machinery was old and broken. On the opening day, as the steam organ blared forth, the heavens opened and disgorged sheets of icy rain. The scene, with its drenched and tawdry trappings, assumed the gaiety of a morgue. Keats and Chapman waded from stall to stall, soaked and disconsolate.

Chapman (unwisely, perhaps) asked the poet what he thought of the fiesta. ‘A fête worse than debt,’ Keats said.

Chapman collapsed into a trough of mud.

— ‘Carnival’, The Various Lives of Keats and Chapman, by Flann O’Brien.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,873 ✭✭✭Borzoi

uch wrote: »

Sheep racing

D24