Ireland booming again - do you see it?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,371 Mod ✭✭✭✭andrew

jaymcg91 wrote: »

The :confused: was just due to official forecasts (you did say 'Economists' : Bank of Canada, Australia, Roubini Global Economics), which don't forecast a recession for either of those countries. The articles you've posted are very much a 'well maybe kinda sorta', even more so than most forecasts. Not that it matters for us anyway, since it's the UK and America we trade with.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

I love the "I'm not personally feeling the effects of the upturn, therefore its not happening" comments...

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,371 Mod ✭✭✭✭andrew

GDP.PNG

Now you've all seen it

/thread

• Closed Accounts Posts: 16,391 ✭✭✭✭mikom

When my young lad makes a shite in his nappy he announces it by loudly proclaiming "Boom......... Boom".
    With that in mind I suppose you could say Ireland is "booming".

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 647 ✭✭✭RichardCeann

Regardless, Canada and Australia are small enough to be almost inconsequential to the global economy. A minor recession driven by falling commodity prices in those countries will be unnoticed in Europe.

Be noticed in Ireland when they cull the quotas for working holiday visas due to rising unemployment. The first round of Canadian working holiday visas for Irish citizens were snapped up in under ten minutes just last April. Still large numbers of young Irish people wishing to emigrate to these two countries and if their economies enter recession and unemployment rises, the drawbridge will come up.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,393 ✭✭✭DarkyHughes

There's an easy way to find out.

Get a straw, your & a line of coke. If the coke is good the economy is good if it's meh then then the economy is not so good.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Regional South East Moderators Posts: 28,725 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cabaal

Mesrine65 wrote: »
    Well my wage is down €100+ for the same job & now I have to work a 42 hour week as opposed to a 39 hour week (fúck you Croke Park agreement) :mad:

No boom here :(

But you essentially get that money back via your pension, so its not all bad

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,247 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

namloc1980 wrote: »
    More activity around for sure but alot of this growth is exports and the IT sector. I'm not seeing it in my wage. In fact things have got worse with property taxes, water charges, reduced tax credits etc mean less take home now than at the height of the recession.

The government is not the economy!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,247 ✭✭✭✭BoJack Horseman

There's an easy way to find out.

Get a straw, your & a line of coke. If the coke is good the economy is good if it's meh then then the economy is not so good.

One hopes Ireland has learned the mistakes of the past & all coke is now good.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,906 ✭✭✭Streetwalker

padd b1975 wrote: »
    Haulage industry is booming.

We have trucks parked up gathering dust for the want of drivers with international experience.

It would appear a nett wage packet of close to €900 per week if you stay out for a few weeks is not appealing to some.....hard to believe that.

900 a week ain't great for long haul tbh. Maybe you should up your rate?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,767 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

The government is not the economy!

10 out of 10 for observation, well done.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,097 ✭✭✭Herb Powell

I see us repeating the same fu*cking mistakes again and some of the same people (developers) are back involved.

Catastraf*ck. 2.0

Yup.

I'm far too young to have had anything to do with the last recession, and yeah, more people are getting work, it seems, anecdotally at least. But the housing situation is diabolical, and needs sorting fast, otherwise we're fuccked again.

Proper development is needed. Badly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,964 ✭✭✭✭Tony EH

Anybody calling our current situation a "boom" needs their head examined.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 12,622 Mod ✭✭✭✭Amirani

Tony EH wrote: »

What's your definition?

Ireland circa 2001 would be a good benchmark. ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

900 a week ain't great for long haul tbh. Maybe you should up your rate?

Yeah, there's always a better paid job out there, but the combination of easy routes,new and well maintained trucks and most importantly of all-office staff who treat drivers with respect is what appeals to me most.

The best thing about a booming industry is that you can pick and choose what sector appeals the most.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

Tony EH wrote: »

I'd call it an upturn. If unemployment fell to 4% again, I'd pull the b word out.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Sure we have white gold we will be fine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,363 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Saipanne wrote: »
    I'd call it an upturn. If unemployment fell to 4% again, I'd pull the b word out.

But a boom is the process of getting to that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,772 ✭✭✭mg1982

The world economy is still in precarious shape. I wouldnt like to be predicting how things will go over the next 5 years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,184 ✭✭✭✭Galwayguy35

Well it's better than it was 4 years ago anyway.

But you'll always have whingy fooks giving out about something, mostly the kind who vote for Murphy and Coppinger who want everything for nothing.

Saipanne wrote: »

It's a slight uptick as the OP mentioned. But nothing more. Better than were we were six months ago, but it's no "recovery" and it's no "boom". That's still way off.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,059 ✭✭✭Uriel.

But you'll always have whingy fooks giving out about something, mostly the kind who vote for Murphy and Coppinger who want everything for nothing.

Plenty of them around these parts

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,615 ✭✭✭Fox_In_Socks

"...train tracks are ching ching bitta cash, you what I mean?"

...not sure about heading out tonight, I've only 200 on me...

...if you don't get on the property ladder, where'll you end up? Carlow is only a 50 minute commute from Dublin city centre, you know...

...heading to New York there for proper jeans, jeez, it's ages since I've been. When? Oh, three months ago, I'd say...

...what, you're driving to races? Sure, there's a spare seat in the chopper, hop in! We can make _________and the lads in the tent before 5.30...

...I don't kno what a tracker mortgage is...

Let it begin!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 5,977 ✭✭✭SCOOP 64

padd b1975 wrote: »
    Yeah, there's always a better paid job out there, but the combination of easy routes,new and well maintained trucks and most importantly of all-office staff who treat drivers with respect is what appeals to me most.

The best thing about a booming industry is that you can pick and choose what sector appeals the most.

I think HGV driving as become a lot less attractive ,cost of getting the licence and the CPC every year now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,803 ✭✭✭Roanmore

Take a look at the comments on Breakingnews.ie, brings it to a new level.
    It's like everbody is trying to outdo each other with outrage and "witty" comments.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,981 ✭✭✭KomradeBishop

Duiske wrote: »
    Thing were bad enough at the start of the recession, but it was scaremongering like this that made the situation even worse. When people feel confident about the economy they tend to spend more into the economy and save less. It helps keep things ticking over. When harbingers of doom spread baseless ****e give their opinions it can lead to less spending. This is then seen as a contracting economy, people lose confidence and spend even less. A vicious circle.
    That's the 'confidence fairy' myth - i.e. "don't say anything bad about the economy or you'll ruin it". Remember Ahern telling naysayers to commit suicide, not long before the crisis hit?

The 'confidence' myth is used to 1: Marginalize and shut-down naysayers pointing out unsustainable economic conditions, and 2: To justify lying to the entire population when everything is falling apart, in order to hold up 'confidence'.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,462 ✭✭✭✭WoollyRedHat

Mr_Muffin wrote: »
    Gonna buy at least 5 houses when things get good again.

Ridicolous, where's the plans for a boat?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,981 ✭✭✭KomradeBishop

Our GNP - a more accurate indicator of our local economic conditions - was falling at the first quarter this year; what was the latest GNP figure for the second quarter?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,541 ✭✭✭Zonda999

Amen to that. These people would have you believe that statistics like this are government propaganda. Murphy and Coppinger wouldn't tell them anything otherwise, ignorance and disillusionment are to their benefit

http://blogs.wsj.com/economics/2015/07/30/is-irelands-economy-really-growing-almost-as-quickly-as-chinas/

On the actual subject matter, the above piece sums it up quite well, we are undoubtedly growing quite quickly. 6.5% year on year probably suggests that far bigger changes should be be seen on the ground than is actually taking place, but of course that figure is skewed by the unique make up of our economy. Then again, you have to realise we have a lot going for us at the minute, a weak currency, our main trading partners, (the UK & the US) doing quite well.

This government hasn;t got everything right by any means, but Irelands stable political landscape in the past few years has definitely helped our recovery. This strong growth was always coming according to Noonan, probably not as quickly as he hoped but he did predict this back a few years ago.
    Our GNP - a more accurate indicator of our local economic conditions - was falling at the first quarter this year; what was the latest GNP figure for the second quarter?

We won't know for another three months unfortunately. You are correct, but the general trend has been going up of late