What was your least favorite subject in school?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 280 ✭✭sm213

Irish was my worst subject and I hated it. It has never made any sense to me. And I can do French and German grand don't know why I couldn't do it.
    Chemistry teacher for lc was a sexist male appendage.
    Never listened or helped when I had a problem. When asking questions in class his go to phrase was the boys will know this. I dropped to ordinary and got a c teaching myself the course.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

Patww79 wrote: »
    On no you didn't!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,764 ✭✭✭mickstupp

Irish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 26,611 ✭✭✭✭OldMrBrennan83

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 45 OiL RiG

+1 for Irish. Worst 40 minutes of my day for 6 years.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,962 ✭✭✭r93kaey5p2izun

PE definitely. Hated the whole ordeal.

I also disliked JC Business Studies (so dull, though the accounting part wasn't too bad) and Geography. In hindsight I regret dropping Geography. It was learning about developing countries that I hated but I actually really enjoyed physical geography and maps. I think I'd have enjoyed it at LC. I love learning about earthquakes, volcanoes, weather now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 668 ✭✭✭Coopaloop

Maths for sure, but funny enough I am now an Underwriter.
    I enjoyed telling my old maths teacher that when I bumped into her a few years ago, I was always too relaxed for her in school.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,226 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Cspe, sphe.

Is that some sort of new fangled dyslexic studies ?

I am not allowed discuss …

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,436 ✭✭✭c_man

At the time it was Irish, I hated it. Wish I had it now though.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,452 ✭✭✭✭The_Valeyard

jmayo wrote: »
    Is that some sort of new fangled dyslexic studies ?

Cspe = civics

Sphe = social studies

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,226 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

Cspe = civics

Sphe = social studies

Oh right.
    When I was in school many moons ago we did some sort of civics class, but a bit like religion it wasn't a proper examinable subject.

Oh and social studies was oogling girls or drunkedly spluttering at them at the local disco after a feed of drink at one of many pubs that served underage kids before they let in the local guards for a few pints after closing, which was an hour later than legally allowed anyway.

And from what I remember most of the girls were lesbians as they hadn't any time for the lads.;)

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Irish and religion - total waste of time in both cases.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,244 Mod ✭✭✭✭yerwanthere123

Chemistry. No interest, didn't need it and above all else hated it, but was forced to do it due to the stupid block system we had in our school. Did it at ordinary level for the leaving cert... and got an F.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,794 ✭✭✭Aongus Von Bismarck

I decided to take Chemistry instead of History for the LC. I did relatively well in it, but I really didn't enjoy it. Taking on Physics and Chemistry along with Mathematics and Applied Maths was overstretching myself. Should have picked History to break things up.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,867 ✭✭✭eternal

Chemistry. No interest, didn't need it and above all else hated it, but was forced to do it due to the stupid block system we had in our school. Did it at ordinary level for the leaving cert... and got an F.

I did honours Chemistry and was a nightmare student. I'd say it's cos I was good at Maths that I blagged through it. It was hell.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭Tigerbaby

Irish.

back in the days of black and white..

Got the cr*p beaten out of me for saying "tá mé fear".
    and other vile verbals and physicals. beaten with hurls, bamboo canes and dusters.

detested the language because of the people that taught it.

cannot hear of "Peig" without a twitch in my eye and and urge to take up automatic weapons.

d'aul bitc*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 501 ✭✭✭huey1975

It's funny how it appears to be evenly split between Irish and maths.
    I would guess that we all use maths everyday and most of us don't use Irish once a year. I didn't hate Irish when I was at school but now I resent every minute I spent studying it and I will do my best to save my son from similar torture.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 598 ✭✭✭Tigerbaby

huey

its funny, despite the abuse I suffered, that I dont hate the language itself.
    I'm talking back in the dark '70's here.

I detested the Gaelgeoirs though. Those pious, condescending, sadistic pr*cks.

They destroyed the love of a unifying language. Our language.

What I would give to speak in my own groove, vibrant and modern.

Not covered in a shawl and huddled around a turf fire.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,736 ✭✭✭Irish Guitarist

P.E. Not being good at sports gave the rest of the class yet another reason to mentally and verbally abuse me, not that they needed much reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 242 ✭✭actuar90

Religion, Irish and history. Never liked any of them

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,047 ✭✭✭GerB40

Religion because despite the fact that it was my strongest subject, I was an affirmed atheist which annoyed me coz I believe in history and geography but I was fair shyte at both.. I loved winding up the teacher though because I honestly think I knew more than she did on the subject and it was clear her heart wasn't in it...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

P.E. Not being good at sports gave the rest of the class yet another reason to mentally and verbally abuse me, not that they needed much reason.

Oh yeah PE, or as I as used to call it, an ego boost for the slow kids...

You can climb a rope- wow!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

Once we had this project where we had to make this ceramic elephant and we had eight weeks to do it. It was a lamp and when you pull the trunk the light was supposed to come on but I couldn't get the light to come on. I got a F. Never got a F in my life. I only signed up for the course cause I thought it would be an easy way to maintain my grade point average.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

Irish was an irrelevance. Beneath contempt would best describe my attitude to that.

As for least favourite - physics....I know gravity exists, the fact I can't prove it and log it doesn't mean it stops existing - I'm not that important. When's lunch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,133 ✭✭✭FloatingVoter

Once we had this project where we had to make this ceramic elephant and we had eight weeks to do it. It was a lamp and when you pull the trunk the light was supposed to come on but I couldn't get the light to come on. I got a F. Never got a F in my life. I signed up for the course cause I thought it would be an easy way to maintain my grade point average.

If instead of a trunk, we suggested another organ and I told you to say "..in the spirit of Marcel Duchamp" when hauled before the head torturer this would have been a better memory.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,081 ✭✭✭ziedth

Irish for me. I actually somehow managed to just stop going to class in sixth year. I literally couldn't put two words together but was what I would call above average at everything else apart from English which I was also poor enough at.

I did foundation level Irish and still managed to get like a D2 not understanding a word of it by using reasoning ticking the right boxes and so on. Best thing I ever did because from 1st to 5th year my confidence was just shot because everyone knew how awful I was at it and as we know kids that age aren't exactly supportive.

Probably was the hardest thing I went through in school so I reckon all in all I got away with allot.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

Maths.

Does number dyslexica exist? Is it even a thing? Because if it is I'm sure I have it. I was quite good at basic maths, like finding out the value of depreciation and medians and when maths was just about finding a number.
    Not all this bolloxology of finding x and the iotas and imaginary numbers and stupid ****ing formulas.
    I did ordinary level for leaving cert and hated it. 6 classes a week, and I would show up for maybe 1 or 2. I would go to the study hall, go down the canal line, hide in the bathroom, go to career guidance, go to sick bay, or just not even bother going to school at all.
    5th year summer exam I got 12%. Last exam before holidays, attempted the first question, couldn't concentrate, said **** it. Drew a really impressive Winnie the Pooh, wrote my name and handed it up.
    Obviously I failed in my mocks and my teacher took me aside to tell me a) if I put as much work into maths as I did my eye makeup that I'd fly it.
    B) she knew I was able for it because on both papers, question 1 was always the only one I could attempt and I always got full or nearly full marks in it, so she thought I was capable but lazy. And c) she enquired as to whether I assumed divine intervention would play a part of my passing maths in the leaving cert. did I think it was going to suddenly come to me the morning of my exam?

Based on that conversation and my mocks results she recommended I do foundation. That seemed to be the kick I needed, the shame of sitting with everyone else doing foundation (in my class they were all the thick people) and so, I spent 2 hours every Saturday in grinds, and passed ordinary level maths (with a D!)

History - no interest. Only did it because I got kicked out of biology. Spent the entire two years reading novels and drawing pictures of hitler. History teacher on occasion would ask me to read, and would tell me what book (we had 4) and what page we were on in the same sentence, so he knew I didn't pay any attention.

Religion - after a furious row with one of the religion teachers, my mother ended up going into school and demanded I be either put in a different religion class (there wasn't one) or let me use it as a study period. Got away with it in 5th year and was put in a different class for 6th year.

French and German - awful, no interest, learned nothing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 686 ✭✭✭Putin

Russian

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,328 ✭✭✭conorh91

Maths.

Does number dyslexica exist? Is it even a thing? Because if it is I'm sure I have it.
    I was tempted to ask that too. There is such thing as dyscalculia, but that involves an inability to perform arithmetic which I didn't suffer from, and it sounds like you didn't suffer from either. The parts I couldn't grasp were mostly calculus and trigonometry.

I got an A in everything except Maths, where I got an awful mark, even at ordinary level. I actually resent people telling me I didn't try hard enough, or it was all in my head. I know how hard I tried.