Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Cork GAA Discussion Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 388 ✭✭Gary Neville

This is hilarious. The players were massively found out yet again at this level. The majority of players that played tonight are not related to top senior intercounty footballlers. The utter inability to kick a football are criminal. Cubby is gone but who ever comes in will be stuck with the same dross to pick from, a handful of exceptions aside.

You should report it to the Guards so.

Cop on to yourself - that's a disgraceful way to behave.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,741 ✭✭✭dirtyden

STB. wrote: »
    She really is a one trick pony

She is an awful interviewer.

Two stock questions really.

The winners get asked have they answered their critics and the loser are they going to resign. She has the subtlety and tact of a pitbull.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,097 ✭✭✭Hitchens

Cahalane seems to be a very timid type player but he gets himself sent off with a flick of a hurley and his wrist.
    the ref was completely wrong to book him for that, he's allowed play the ball with his hurl and it's up to his opponent to protect his hand if he's going to catch

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,845 ✭✭✭Hidalgo

DellyBelly wrote: »
    To be honest he brought them to within a second of winning an all ireland and won a munster title last year so to say he is too nice to manage a mediocre does not run true. In fact I think he has done far better than he really should have with that bunch of players.

Whilst true you'd have to now wonder if JBM has brought this group as far as he can and is a new voice now needed?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 107 ✭✭It makes sense

Not sure about bringing O'Neill back if Cadogan was not going to play bring in another forward like for like rather than change the defence which has done well last few matches especially Walsh at half back with Ellis sweeping and cooper at midfield seems a strange call to me will be interesting to see whether they line out as selected-

what I said yesterday

Unfortunately we looked all at sea from the first minute and the goal I do not know why we did not stick to the shape which has won us the last two games cooper, Cahalane, Lawton, Ellis all looked lost such a shame for the season to go like that without a fight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,276 ✭✭✭thinkstoomuch1

A devastating loss
    Completely cleaned out and Galway changes the script with pace and width and didn't go direct
    Physical destroyed cork in the tight exchanges and never recovered from the goal and it was awful defending

Walsh was cleaned out and poor
    Cahalane played okay unlucky ist yellow and second one awful Walsh pass

Galway missed lot wides so worse score line showed

Huge set back in result isn't unexpected in could happen but the manner defeat is

Jbm surprised me staying on
    I think hes taken team far he can limited under age
    Unlike football there's little under age success and no all ireland medal winners football have around eight
    To say this worst football is just nonsense when football humiliation by Kildare who are poor and Galway while I'd remain be convinced can beat tipp etc Galway always any given day good

Galway evens win this
    Cork football one to three or so win football with four points spread

Murphy was good at half back Harnedy again always outstanding lehane horgan tried hard

Jbm hasn't won all ireland has huge tactics limitations but if tomas mulchay wants job rather jbm every and any day week

Ideal world pat mulchay with Wallis and pat Hartnett come in

Cork eleven years no all ireland and huge huge problem still

Jbm said he stay on but I'd wonder when dusts settle
    If wants finish term he will as no management ever sacked by cork
    Cork were outthought on the line and too many matches up lost

Lawton had good game shouldn't be subbed
    I'll say one thing fair play jbm give interview
    Were still waiting for the football crowds yet you couldn't get them away from the media when they winning games

Awful day for cork hurling

Hidalgo wrote: »
    Whilst true you'd have to now wonder if JBM has brought this group as far as he can and is a new voice now needed?

Cork needs new voice now and jbm over achieved cork and made them better were when he joined but Cork need tactical manager

Alf Tupper wrote: »
    Will someone please pick poor TTM up off the floor!

You really have an obsession with me more than posting at this stage and great see how quiet you were waterford lost munster final and humiliation under twenty one start studded team
    I don't see how your gloating with respect in waterford will loose kk and congratulations on win v Dublin but I said yes win that
    But don't get carried away in ye got best draw
    Would ye beat Galway
    I'd wonder
    Kk will knock ye out so common courtesy your remark here I'll repay same remark you give me when kk beat waterford two weeks
    Ye made hard work of Dublin
    Kk are waiting

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 355 ✭✭sean mac

fair play to JBM for having the grace and courtesy to face the cameras and not react to that stupid ****ing question p.s. RTE this is not premiership soccer, would ye do it to a rugby manager?
    His example is in stark contrast to the football management who couldn't stay out of the media after the flash in the pan draw in killareny but are now gone to ground........a reflection on them

sean mac wrote: »
    fair play to JBM for having the grace and courtesy to face the cameras and not react to that stupid ****ing question p.s. RTE this is not premiership soccer, would ye do it to a rugby manager?
    His example is in stark contrast to the football management who couldn't stay out of the media after the flash in the pan draw in killareny but are now gone to ground........a reflection on them
    Absolutely and you would think they are just letting dust settle probably want another term or else doing a root and branch review before they make a decision

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 899 ✭✭✭FrKurtFahrt

dirtyden wrote: »
    She is an awful interviewer.

Two stock questions really.

The winners get asked have they answered their critics and the loser are they going to resign. She has the subtlety and tact of a pitbull.

That's as may be - but she asked the question that was going through the mind of everyone watching. JBM was vulnerable and raw and possibly in shock - however, I thought the question was valid.

She entitled to ask it I see no problem there
    Football management would been asked same if they had courtesy do an interview
    Not even one them done it
    Pretty poor imo

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 216 ✭✭N20

sean mac wrote: »

He said he couldn't wait for next year - he didn't say he was staying on :-|

Struck me as a man who'd had enough !

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 35,016 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

N20 wrote: »

Struck me as a man who was píssed off!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

What we need is a strike, that great idea that changed cork gaa for ever and now we are reaping the rewards

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 347 ✭✭commonsense.

N20 wrote:

I agree. Just listen to what he said (and read the body language). Why remain in charge of a squad when you don't believe have what it takes to win an AI.
    And tellingly he appeared for interview without displaying any sponsors logo. As far as I'm concerned it's a given, JBM will not be Cork manager 2016.

A deeply depressing day for Cork hurling. Never before have I seen a Cork hurling team capitulate in such a tame manner. The total lack of fight and early acceptance of their fate was sad to see.
    While the CCB are ultimately the architects of Cork's hurling collapse at all levels, JBM has to accept some responsibility for the MANNER of today's defeat. It seemed to me even he had lost faith based on today's evidence.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3 Red Exile

I don't post too often but enjoy reading everyone's opinions. In relation to the hurling, I said after the Munster Chanpionships defeat to Waterford that we really didn't have the players and I was not convinced there is any other hurling messiah out there internal or external to make it all come right. JBM said it today in that interview when he said that possibly we don't have the calibre of player. I agree that possibly he needed to do tactics more, but in my view, tactics and blanket defence in particular is something teams do when they don't have the players good enough to do what they should be doing. At the end of the day, all tactics go out the window if players are not good enough and committed enough to beat their man. In conceding the first goal today, tactics or no tactics, it was simply awful defending. Where we are today is as a consequence of years of lack of success at underage level. I grew up in the sixties when it was a given that Cork almost yearly contested All Ireland finals in both codes. JBM owes Cork nothing but be careful of messiahs and people that have all the answers. I have no doubt that JBM is look forward to next year as being a year of peace and quiet without the hassle of trying to resurrect Cork Hurling. I do think however that he should have a role to play going forward at some level given his record and the respect he has. As regards the football, we should have the players given our underage successes to at least compete, it seems to be that this is a management issue. I think Cork football always had a psychology issue and it needed someone in the past like Billy Morgan who was a force of nature to deal with it. I think we could do with an outside manager, if all these Kerry fellas are concerned about us, maybe they might help us! Certainly, I think someone like Jack O'Connor could help to sort us out. Or how about Tomas O'Shea, certainly one for the future. Finally, I believe Cork will come good again, there are no simple answers but good planning, organisation and hard work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,097 ✭✭✭Hitchens

re the Cantwell interview, notice the lovely smile JBM gave her at the end ...........gentleman always

from a KK man :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,201 ✭✭✭lukin

We don't have the players,it's as simple as that.We are about the fifth or sixth best team in the country.KK,Tipp,Galway and Waterford are ahead of us.We need another golden generation like the one of Ronan Curran,John Gardiner,the O' Connor twins and Joe Deane. We'll win an All-Ireland again but I don't know when.Ten years now since the last one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,371 ✭✭✭zetecescort

keep going wrote: »
    What we need is a strike, that great idea that changed cork gaa for ever and now we are reaping the rewards

keep saying it, somebody will bite:rolleyes:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

Strike off to bed will you.

http://www.the42.ie/donal-og-cusack-frank-murphy-2237222-Jul2015/
    Whether your Cusack fan or not is irrelevant he's right

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 102 ✭✭youngbob

Poor display tonight. JBM went back to 15 vs 15 after winning the last 2 games playing with a sweeper. When I mentioned he wasn't going with a sweeper earlier in the week I was rubbished for listening to 'pubtalk'. Some players aren't up to it as was shown tonight. If Cuthbert did what JBM did & changed a winning formula he would be hounded but all I can see is people praising him for the way he handled his interview. he's saying now we don't have the calibre of player, should he first ask do we have the calibre of management that will stick by his squad who 2 wks ago gave 'superhuman' effort.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,437 ✭✭✭Gael85

http://www.the42.ie/donal-og-cusack-frank-murphy-2237222-Jul2015/
    Whether your Cusack fan or not is irrelevant he's right

Fair play to Cusack speaking out. County board need to reflect on their structures on a bad weekend for Cork action.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 11,561 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hammer Archer

Mod: It's generally not a good idea to post the same fishing attempt twice in a couple of hours. Enough of that.

youngbob wrote: »
    Poor display tonight. JBM went back to 15 vs 15 after winning the last 2 games playing with a sweeper. When I mentioned he wasn't going with a sweeper earlier in the week I was rubbished for listening to 'pubtalk'. Some players aren't up to it as was shown tonight. If Cuthbert did what JBM did & changed a winning formula he would be hounded but all I can see is people praising him for the way he handled his interview. he's saying now we don't have the calibre of player, should he first ask do we have the calibre of management that will stick by his squad who 2 wks ago gave 'superhuman' effort.
    From what I could see Ellis played the sweeper
    Nobody neglected that jbm was at fault and I said he should go
    With greatest respect compare Cuthbert jbm is apples oranges
    Point being made jbm gave interview
    What did cuthbhertt crowd do

Jbm got it wrong absoultey
    But he's done way more for cork hurling then cuthbhertt done football to be fair now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 571 ✭✭✭Figsy32

youngbob wrote: »

Cork 100% used Ellis as sweeper until about 10 mins into the 2nd half when we were chasing the game. It was the same system as before.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,034 ✭✭✭Amprodude

Gael85 wrote: »
    Fair play to Cusack speaking out. County board need to reflect on their structures on a bad weekend for Cork action.

Yeah but he spoke out last year too after the Tipp game and 11 months later we are back to square one again with another toasting in the field of play. We will be having the same conversation again next year. That panel needs to be cleared out now bar 4-5 of current players and new players needed ASAP.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

Mod: It's generally not a good idea to post the same fishing attempt twice in a couple of hours. Enough of that.

My apologies, genuine did not intend to post it twice

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 35,016 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Cusack had a right cut off the Don and his stooges and it is very hard to argue with him. A passionate man that knows Cork gaa very well. Not too sure about his school/teacher analogy ( Cuthbert won't be impressed:mad:) but I do think he is right on the money. Will the clubs act now or will the top table weather the storm and we will have more of the same next year.