If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Beef General Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,743 ✭✭✭CloughCasey1

leg wax wrote: »
    last of the pt bulls gone yesterday
    508kg 1430
    478kg 1290
    422kg 1160
    391kg 1100
    266kg 740

Your happy out so.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,239 ✭✭✭Willfarman

Was the last one a late calf or a bad un?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 14,241 ✭✭✭✭Kovu

What are cows like at the minute? Have one here that we're fed up of, even though she's a good breeder. Has broken at 40 days and is a bit of a loon when trying to round her up. What are the blood rules re factory. She has never been blooded.

Is she fit? She has got no meal and calf still on her but ready to wean. would a few weeks in a shed make her over fat?

I know nothing about putting animals to the factory so help me out lads!!

onDz2LPl.jpg
    UovWzlQl.jpg
    qZZn1z9l.jpg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,522 ✭✭✭Grueller

Kovu wrote: »
    What are cows like at the minute? Have one here that we're fed up of, even though she's a good breeder. Has broken at 40 days and is a bit of a loon when trying to round her up. What are the blood rules re factory. She has never been blooded.

Is she fit? She has got no meal and calf still on her but ready to wean. would a few weeks in a shed make her over fat?

I know nothing about putting animals to the factory so help me out lads!!

onDz2LPl.jpg
    UovWzlQl.jpg
    qZZn1z9l.jpg

Fine cow kovu. She looks well fleshed to my eye anyhow. Blood her and away with her asap imo. I killed one lately in no better condition and got €4.30 a kilo. Let her on when prices are still strong.

Grueller wrote: »
    Fine cow kovu. She looks well fleshed to my eye anyhow. Blood her and away with her asap imo. I killed one lately in no better condition and got €4.30 a kilo. Let her on when prices are still strong.

You got a good price there!
    Will she still have to be blooded for the factory? Am also waiting on two other cows, if they repeat, they can join her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,901 ✭✭✭mf240

No blood needed for factory.

mf240 wrote: »
    No blood needed for factory.

At all? She was born in 2010 and escaped it all these years.

Yip. No blood for factory. Only mart or private sale.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

A mate of mine brought 3 like her(maybe not as good ) to the mart last . I'll ask him and report back . I'd say she is grand for factory and would save you the price of blooding her . But then again someone might give better money in the mart and get more weight on her themselves

Bullocks wrote: »
    A mate of mine brought 3 like her(maybe not as good ) to the mart last . I'll ask him and report back . I'd say she is grand for factory and would save you the price of blooding her . But then again someone might give better money in the mart and get more weight on her themselves

True, but I think she'd go overfat very quick as she's put up that on grass alone while feeding a brute of a blue heifer. Ask and let me know though! I suppose I could feed her in the field for a few weeks with a bucket. Save hardship of the shed.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,296 ✭✭✭leg wax

Willfarman wrote: »
    Was the last one a late calf or a bad un?

reared on a teat ,always struggling .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,556 ✭✭✭simx

You got a good price there!
    Will she still have to be blooded for the factory? Am also waiting on two other cows, if they repeat, they can join her.

ThAts an outstanding price imo best I heard for a R grade cow is €4.10, would you not mart her? Could be better off, good cows very much so in demand, looks fine for flesh to me

simx wrote: »
    ThAts an outstanding price imo best I heard for a R grade cow is €4.10, would you not mart her? Could be better off, good cows very much so in demand, looks fine for flesh to me

Cost of blooding, mart fees, day spent in the mart.....easier to send her one way with a haulier who builds up loads to send in.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,434 ✭✭✭cute geoge

I have often sent the odd cow to factory with haulier ,sometimes i am happy and more often not
    That cow could carry more weight imo and would fly in the mart at the moment
    As far as i know bruc. testing is to be done away with shortly ,vet told me only waiting for our minister coveney to anounce it.
    I have a few to mart myself and am holding tough until then

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,010 ✭✭✭visatorro

Kovu wrote:
    Cost of blooding, mart fees, day spent in the mart.....easier to send her one way with a haulier who builds up loads to send in.

yeah but the dealer will get a better price than you for himself in factory. so he can give more in the mart iykwim? sometimes you get more in the mart for a factory fit animal

visatorro wrote: »
    yeah but the dealer will get a better price than you for himself in factory. so he can give more in the mart iykwim? sometimes you get more in the mart for a factory fit animal

Ya but unless theres someone to bid against him he wont .

In the local mart the dealers stand back for each other for every other lot.

That plus the cost of blooding and call out fee for vet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,173 ✭✭✭✭Muckit

True, but I think she'd go overfat very quick as she's put up that on grass alone while feeding a brute of a blue heifer. Ask and let me know though! I suppose I could feed her in the field for a few weeks with a bucket. Save hardship of the shed.

Well fleshed facory fit cows are a great trade in the marts atm. There's is a big variation in the price you will get for cows in different factories. Some specialise in them. Others don't want to know. My advice for what it's worth, is It will pay you well to blood her and sell hard through the ring.

Factory in Moyvalley, among others, is good for cows. Dealers buying through the ring will put a few together and get them going on a load. They can afford to pay you more than you would get selling direct to your local factory.

Also she could just as easily go north with your marts proximity and the strong sterling against the euro.

Some very good points for both. Damn.....I was expecting to be told outright what to do :pac: I suppose I could get onto a vet who's a mate of mine and ask him to blood her when he's in the area. Would save us a call out fee as he expressed an interest in her calf last time he was here, kill two birds with one stone.
    Going to put them in today and wean her, calf is Nov so well fit, reckon she's about 340kg or so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 46 keysersoze1

do not send a cow to the factory that's suckling a calf...you'll get her price in the mart at the moment dealers or no dealers

I know that, hence her being weaned. Both the father and myself have experience working in factories but not for a few years.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭leoch

are the factories that dodgy that a dealer will get more for ur cattle in the factory than urself i thought the grading machine would be the same for everyone

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,514 ✭✭✭tanko

leoch wrote: »
    are the factories that dodgy that a dealer will get more for ur cattle in the factory than urself i thought the grading machine would be the same for everyone

A dealer who can put a lorry load of cows together might get 420c/kg but a farmer bringing one cow might get 400c/kg. It's nothing to do with the grading machines.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

Are prices gone this crazy have not been in a mart in ages. But looking at DD at present some lads that are buying are going to get a scalding. Both lots of cattle are more than likly 2017 factory cattle. Some lads are buying for the sake of buying

http://www.donedeal.ie/beefcattle-for-sale/fr-bulls/9925977?offset=22
    http://www.donedeal.ie/beefcattle-for-sale/9-british-frisian-bulls/9973619?offset=9

Are prices gone this crazy have not been in a mart in ages. But looking at DD at present some lads that are buying are going to get a scalding. Both lots of cattle are more than likly 2017 factory cattle. Some lads are buying for the sake of buying

Hopefully they are as I've a few going tomorrow.
    Both sets would have been got for 480 last yr. B&W will be first to take hit in a slump. We bought an 20mt old well made frx for 815 last yr. Will know the result of that by Monday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,870 ✭✭✭Cavanjack

http://www.donedeal.ie/beefcattle-for-sale/9-british-frisian-bulls/9973619?offset=9
    Would anybody really pay those prices. Is it more a case of lads chancing their arm? The country must be full of fr bull weanlings like above, many of which were kept on to drink milk. These will surely hit the marts in the coming months and early next year and the a#$e (if they have any) will fall out of them

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭AP2014

Seems they are from talking to lads going to marts. Absolutely crazy. I have a lanky HEX that was thrown in from dealer this year. He would be around 400kg. I am thinking of letting him go soon as prices seem mad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 971 ✭✭✭Count Mondego

Don't think that is happening. Was in Gort mart last night.

Ch hf 300kg €940 - Nice animal
    Aax nov/14 355 €985
    Bax jan/15 280 €850

They're mental prices alright but there was value in year and a halves. A pen of lovely CH heifers came in, 8 together about 450kgs. They went for 1050 which was actually good value for their quality. Though it was ridiculous to put 8 in the ring together, how many lads were there for 8?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,326 ✭✭✭Farmer Pudsey

Don't think that is happening. Was in Gort mart last night.

Ch hf 300kg €940 - Nice animal
    Aax nov/14 355 €985
    Bax jan/15 280 €850

They're mental prices alright but there was value in year and a halves. A pen of lovely CH heifers came in, 8 together about 450kgs. They went for 1050 which was actually good value for their quality. Though it was ridiculous to put 8 in the ring together, how many lads were there for 8?

All you need is two

Lmx feb 14 540kg 1340
    Bbx apr 14 520kg 1350
    Lmx jan 14 505kg 1390
    Bbx apr 14 530kg 1240

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,090 ✭✭✭AP2014

Lmx feb 14 540kg 1340
    Bbx apr 14 520kg 1350
    Lmx jan 14 505kg 1390
    Bbx apr 14 530kg 1240