1985 and the Moving Statues Phenomena

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Samaris wrote: »
    It's worth saying that prayers such as the Rosary, with its constant repetition , is the same as meditative trances around the world. It is intended to induce a calm and meditative state for later prayers. If you attempt to say the Rosary now, I can almost guarantee that you will probably find yourself saying it as you were taught in school when you repeated it as a group in a drone, with much more emphasis on the rhythm than the meaning.

And that is going to be the one thing I have learned today!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,937 ✭✭✭galljga1

It's worth saying that prayers such as the Rosary, with its constant repetition , is the same as meditative trances around the world. It is intended to induce a calm and meditative state for later prayers. If you attempt to say the Rosary now, I can almost guarantee that you will probably find yourself saying it as you were taught in school when you repeated it as a group in a drone, with much more emphasis on the rhythm than the meaning.

It just made me angry because it is nonsense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,910 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

the_monkey wrote: »
    Yep can you imagine any British people watching that report on BBC - laughing their asses off at a bunch of inbred illiterate paddies gawking at a statue .

Maybe....but none of them laughed as hard as I did at the antics around Princess Dianas death.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,606 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

It appears to be quite often the end purpose.
    Yer one in the video said she was walking and decided to say a few decades of the rosary.
    I've heard of folk talk about reciting the rosary.
    More often than not during those devotion things around the country it's the rosary that is being recited continuously.

If you were really into it I could see how it might induce a trance,but so would humming the birdy song.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 202 ✭✭Delphinium

Was in Cork at the time and went to see. Big crowd all staring at grotto. You could persuade yourself that the whole mountain was moving. Optical illusion if anything. Lots of prayers alright. Non believer so i was not moved!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,937 ✭✭✭galljga1

kneemos wrote: »
    It appears to be quite often the end purpose.
    Yer one in the video said she was walking and decided to say a few decades of the rosary.
    I've heard of folk talk about reciting the rosary.
    More often than not during those devotion things around the country it's the rosary that is being recited continuously.

If you were really into it I could see how it might induce a trance,but so would humming the birdy song.

Well fcuk you. That's stuck in my head for the day.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,389 ✭✭✭NachoBusiness

I remember some chap seen our lady in a ditch on the back roads between Blanch and Mulhuddart one day and came off his motorbike as a result.

It was headlines of the Sunday World and for the next year or more, every Sunday, hundreds of people would queue up on that part of the road to meet the chap, give him a few quid if he would lay his hand's on them or their wheelchair bound family members.

Was sometime in the 90s.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,085 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

Honestly, we don't get the right to sneer at American rednecks after seeing those 1980s clips!!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

It's not even an optical illusion, it's just simple headology.

I don't have much time for all this 'let's all laugh at how thick we were thirty years ago' craic, it smacks of smug condescension. Not many people believed in that bollocks back then, it was primarily a classic example of media hype and bad summer boredom in the pre interweb era.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

The House of Prayer place over in the west somewhere has gatherings where people say they see the sun dance and things like that. We might have moved on from 1985 but some people still have that gullibility and naivety.

There was a bit of general media hysteria in the mid 80s about moving statues though.

Only Fools and Horses even did a whole show based around Del Boy and a leaky church roof causing the Weeping Virgin of Peckham ... Flood of international media, lots of £££ ....

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Miracle_of_Peckham

eviltwin wrote: »
    The House of Prayer place over in the west somewhere has gatherings where people say they see the sun dance and things like that. We might have moved on from 1985 but some people still have that gullibility and naivety.

If you stare at the sun it will most certainly "dance". Your retinas have no pain sensors and it's just the visual sensation of them being over-stimulated and burnt out!

Most likely will cause permanent vision damage and possibly even blindness!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 18,299 ✭✭✭✭The Backwards Man

eviltwin wrote: »

Certain people will always believe the one person telling them what they want to hear over the hundred telling them the truth, tis human nature. It's why statements such as 'we've already paid for our water' and 'VRT is illegal' gain traction.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,489 ✭✭✭omerin

Wibbs wrote: »
    It was the last desperate death rattle of the Catholic church here. A loud, unsettling but final benediction.

The organisation or the devotees? I can't remember many if any priests or nuns that said they saw the statue move.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

I remember going to a grotto with my parents and a friend to see one of these statues. Most people there were saying they could see it moving, some could see a hologram of Jesus. I could see absolutely nothing, and was disgusted. My friend told me it was because I was wearing glasses! I remember hearing some fella set up a chip van near another statue in town. He knelt down at the statue and said he could see it moving. It drew a crowd, and he made a tidy sum selling chips and burgers :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 12,719 ✭✭✭✭fullstop

Weren't there ones crying blood in the 90s as well?! :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,266 ✭✭✭3rdDegree

kneemos wrote: »
    Reciting the hail mary repeatedly always struck me as just out there weird.
    Say a few prayers if you believe in it,but constant repetition I could never fathom.

God is very old and tends to forget stuff. That's why you have to repeat yourself.

I was 18 back when all this was going on. I came from a religious family, and like most people in the country, we all thought that if you stared at anything long enough, it would start to do some fairly strange things!

Back then no one outside of Ireland took much notice of anything we were doing, so I don't recall any sense of embarrassment. Just a feeling that these people were muppets.

Kind of similar to the idiots staring at the sun in Knock recently.

I also recall the jokes like the empty grottos with the "Gone to lunch" signs and the statues with the "Out of order" signs on them.

We weren't all mad, but enough of us were to scare the rest of us all a little!

When you think about it Ireland was one very weird place in those days!

Until 1980 condoms were basically illegal and not only couldn't be imported but couldn't be mentioned in publications!

In the mid 80s they were still incredibly tightly controlled.

You'd no divorce, being gay was illegal and the magdalene laundries were still busily doing the ironing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,439 ✭✭✭corner of hells

Its not rare for statues to move in Ireland , sure didn't Molly Malone move recently.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 898 ✭✭✭petrolcan

Yep it was 30 years ago that a craze swept

Of course the summer of 85 was one of the most inclement in recorded history, it was appalling. A summer without sun

Eh? The summer of '85 was great in Donegal. The sun didn't stop shining and the turf was easy won.

I do recall my elder brother attending the Jamboree in Portumna and coming back with everything caked in two inches of mud though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,995 ✭✭✭take everything

RomanKnows wrote: »

I'm always in awe at the names in Chris Morris sketches.
    Confiteor? Sublime.
    Love the oirish version of Ted Maul.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,370 ✭✭✭✭Son Of A Vidic

the_monkey wrote: »
    Yep can you imagine any British people watching that report on BBC - laughing their asses off at a bunch of inbred illiterate paddies gawking at a statue .

The same British people who bow down down to a family, falsely elevated to some superior status by a delusionary birthright. A birthright which claims they are superior in every way to the indigenous peasants. To make matters even worse, this family isn't even British. They're a bunch of clever Germans who changed their name from the House of Saxe-Coburg and Gotha, to the House of Windsor less than a 100 years ago. And they've been living off and making a bollocks off the British people ever since.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,681 ✭✭✭Fleawuss

The grip of nonsense like this on the country was astonishing to rational people then but back then the RCC ruled the roost. The further we get away from that rule the better but there's still a long way to go. And they haven't gone away you know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,477 ✭✭✭Oops69

fryup wrote: »
    1985 more like 1885

janey mac!! were really that backward??

we were the laughing stock of europe
    n
    We still are , play back Mattie mc grath or enda Kenny in the DAil and there's no difference from the councillor on the BBC tape 30 years ago

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,793 ✭✭✭Red Kev

I remember it well. Apparently these statues did more than just move a few cm. I heard a garda seargent's eye wittness account of how a holographic like image of a systue of mary was floating around the place in front of a crowd pf people. I think there is a gerry ryan interview with that guy somewhere.

There was an extract of that interview on Johnathan Bowman's programme on Radio 1 this morning at 8.30. Worth a listen to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,297 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

SpaceTime wrote: »
    There was a bit of general media hysteria in the mid 80s about moving statues though.

Only Fools and Horses even did a whole show based around Del Boy and a leaky church roof causing the Weeping Virgin of Peckham ... Flood of international media, lots of £££ ....

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/The_Miracle_of_Peckham

Wasn't it an Irishman that wrote the only fools and horses series?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,565 ✭✭✭✭steddyeddy

omerin wrote: »

The organisation or the devotees? I can't remember many if any priests or nuns that said they saw the statue move.

No but they did still keep saying Jesus rose from the dead and turned water into wine.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,297 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Fleawuss wrote: »
    The grip of nonsense like this on the country was astonishing to rational people then but back then the RCC ruled the roost. The further we get away from that rule the better but there's still a long way to go. And they haven't gone away you know.
    But the church had nothing to do or didn't want anything to do with moving statues ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 35,514 ✭✭✭✭efb

https://youtu.be/Z0GxvfcWT00

The tree stump in Rathkeele

The same British people who bow down down to a family, falsely elevated to some superior status by a delusionary birthright. A birthright which claims they are superior in every way to the indigenous peasants. To make matters even worse, this family isn't even British. They're a bunch of clever Germans who changed their name from the House of Saxe-Coburg and Gotha, to the House of Windsor less than a 100 years ago. And they've been living off and making a bollocks off the British people ever since.

Two bunches of muppets don't make one clever country!

These islands have a history of not being able to stand up to the establishment : the aristocrats, the church etc...