Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

DCM 2015: Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24 BobDylan

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    But mile 6 was really 11:09 right?! :eek: :)

Ha!.....no!
    It gets worse!! Ran what was meant to be a 4 mile recovery run with a friend this morning. The Garmin was in my pocket so ran by feel.
    Mile 1: 10:05
    Mile 2: 10:19
    Mile 3: 9:56
    Mile 4: 10:33
    Way too fast so the Garmin is staying on my wrist in future! Sorry Dubgal!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

Thanks dubgal. I read the piece the other day but then I just did what I normally do - go out and run normal pace! This planning and thinking my way through the sessions is new to me and I'm trying to adapt slowly!
    BobDylan wrote: »
    Ha!.....no!
    It gets worse!! Ran what was meant to be a 4 mile recovery run with a friend this morning. The Garmin was in my pocket so ran by feel.

That was a great post Clearlier put up on Monday, I hope you've all read it. The part in bold for me stands out and if you remember only this when you're running you'll stick to the right paces.
    For our purposes its between 45 and 90 seconds slower than marathon pace. As with all of your runs I recommend starting slowly and picking up the pace during your run so start off running at MP+ 90 seconds or even slower and if you're feeling frisky gradually pick it up a little to finish at MP+ 45 seconds. The key point to remember is that you'll get plenty of benefits if you go a little too slow but you'll lose a lot if you go a little too fast so better to err on the side of caution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

Ha!.....no!

This is what I'm afraid will happen to me too!! .......
    Firedance wrote: »
    That was a great post Clearlier put up on Monday, I hope you've all read it. The part in bold for me stands out and if you remember only this when you're running you'll stick to the right paces.
    For our purposes its between 45 and 90 seconds slower than marathon pace. As with all of your runs I recommend starting slowly and picking up the pace during your run so start off running at MP+ 90 seconds or even slower and if you're feeling frisky gradually pick it up a little to finish at MP+ 45 seconds. The key point to remember is that you'll get plenty of benefits if you go a little too slow but you'll lose a lot if you go a little too fast so better to err on the side of caution.

So I will chant that to myself tonight! Hopefully it will keep me slow and steady.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,779 ✭✭✭rovers_runner

For those familiar with last years course there are some welcome changes.
    Firstly the Meath St. section is gone in favour of the small climb on Patrick St. followed by a nice downhill on High St. & Bridge St.

The drags along the south quays and also into the park from Parkgate St are gone. Now we have a nice climb up into Stoneybatter and then a flat section around NCR and into park via North Rd. It's pretty much the same as the old marathon course for the section between NCR -> Furze Rd turn of years past.

Also the finish is basically one long straight run from Vincents to the finish line. Two flat miles is the incentive for anyone who is fit enough and paces the fosters Ave -> UCD flyover well.

A fair course and should be faster than last years for the elites.

1109nwk.png

2cxunie.png

Also for anyone interested in elevations it's just a rough draft without taking corners etc into account:

GMAP Pedometer mapping of Dublin Marathon 2015 course

Main climbs:
    About 70m overall in first 12km about 35m each of the two sections
    (Quays to NCR at 3km->4.5km)
    (Chesterfield Ave to Myos in Castleknock turn 7k->12k )

30m drag just after halfway over 2km
    (Dolphins Barn -> Crumlin Hospital 21km -> 23km)

30m drag before flat last last 5m
    (AppleGreen garage Clonskeagh to Fosters Ave 34km - 36km)

Other sneaky areas to look out for are the rolling hill from Kilmainham Jail to the SCR turn.
    Also after Chapelizod Village the hill after the N4 flyover on the way up to Ballyer.
    The UCD flyover which isn't really too bad but people always mention it, when you drive the N11 without taking the flyover you realise it's practically flat.

I actually can't think about where we've to run. It takes me long enough to drive from Stoneybatter to Fosters Avenue >.<

Best to include the course in your LSR on a weekend if possible, huge advantage to anyone in Dublin area.

I make use of the Luas stop at Milltown.
    If you run the course from the Aras to there it's your 15m LSR.
    If you run the course from the start line to there it's your 20m LSR etc.
    Also it means you can either LUAS to town/brides glen after depending on parking situation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

Best to include the course in your LSR on a weekend if possible, huge advantage to anyone in Dublin area.

Also it means you can either LUAS to town/brides glen after depending on parking situation.

+1 to this, you don't 'have' to but if you live in Dublin its a great way to vary your LSR route.

also guys remember, the streets are literally lined with people the whole way round cheering you on, it really makes a huge difference on the day to have that support.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,522 ✭✭✭neilthefunkeone

Able to do the 18-20 mile lsr's from Terenure to The entrance of phoenix park and then follow the route back to Terenure.. Works well..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 545 ✭✭✭paulers06

Spend one in every few weekends in Dublin and would like to run part of it for a LSR but would probably get lost if I tried. Would be really helpful if someone had a bit of time to kill and felt like setting it up as a route on Strava. I see previous routes for DCM are there. Wink wink nudge nudge

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,508 ✭✭✭ratracer

So, got todays run done, before the rain :).

Ran 6.5km around my usual route, and I must say I am pleased with how the time/pace is increasing wothout feeling like there is any extra effort being required.

Today's pace was :

Km 1 - 6.22mins/km
    Km 2 - 6.00
    Km 3 - 6.05
    Km4 - 6.16
    Km 5 - 5.52
    Km 6 - 6.15

LSR will be tomorrow, but next week I might try putting in a few Km at PMP during the midweek run. LSR of 14.5km will be the longest distance I have run in over 12 months, but I'm really looking forward to it (if the weather improves!!)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,460 ✭✭✭Clearlier

RonanP77 wrote: »
    Quick question (even though I'm not technically a novice any more)

I'm thinking of running in to work some morning next week, it's 19km with a few hills, one of them is quite long and very steep in places. I was thinking of doing it on Thursday, Wednesday is a Cross day so I'd rest instead to leave me fresh, probably skip the 5k run on Friday too. I'd be doing it at my easy pace so it'll take just over 2 hours. It's just for the hell of it and as a one off.

My first HM is in 17 days, it's the Breffni 3 Province Challenge, how much tapering do I need to do for it? The run to work would be 10 days before it, even though it would be done as a LSR, would that be too close?

I'm a little late to this one.

If the 19km run replaces a run of approximately that length that you would regularly do then ten days is loads to recover. Even if you generally do a long run of 20 - 25km then you should be well recovered in time for the half. The reason for not doing it would be if it is likely to take too much out of you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

For those familiar with last years course there are some welcome changes.
    Firstly the Meath St. section is gone in favour of the small climb on Patrick St. followed by a nice downhill on High St. & Bridge St.

The drags along the south quays and also into the park from Parkgate St are gone. Now we have a nice climb up into Stoneybatter and then a flat section around NCR and into park via North Rd. It's pretty much the same as the old marathon course for the section between NCR -> Furze Rd turn of years past.

Also the finish is basically one long straight run from Vincents to the finish line. Two flat miles is the incentive for anyone who is fit enough and paces the fosters Ave -> UCD flyover well.

A fair course and should be faster than last years for the elites.

1109nwk.png

2cxunie.png

Look like good changes... nice to see it taking in more of the Northside too!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 224 ✭✭Stevo1983

Haven't followed the plan on here but the miles are ticking along nicely.
    5 weeks into my plan and I've kept up with it.
    Make sure to invest in proper running socks though. I picked up the wrong pair last Saturday morning ( still half asleep ) and they went down to under my heel causing the back of my feet to rub against my trainers and to leave two nice cuts.

I got compression socks but I've yet to wear them in public due to my muffin top knees :o

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,462 ✭✭✭TheBazman

nop98 wrote: »
    Great to see everybody's reports and I'm really glad to see positive physio-reports all around!

I did the 6M, with 4M at PMP run today.

In order to not confuse the poor oxygen-starved brain during the run, I had converted it into km's:
    > 1km w/u
    > 7km PMP (5:35 min/km [8:59 min/mi], so anything between 5:30 and 5:40 would be OK).
    > 2km c/d

I found myself in Dun Laoghaire for the afternoon and had thrown the running gear in the car, in case I had an hour to spare at the end of the day. Turned out I did and I found myself galloping up and down the West pier, and it's little brother, the West pier jetty.

Km-splits:
    1: 6.00
    2: 5:21
    3: 5:37
    4: 5:30
    5: 5:31
    6: 5:31
    7: 5:34
    8: 5:29
    9: 6:04
    .8: 6:00

Apart from the first km "at pace", the rest was spot on. :D I did notice that the faster km's required more effort compared to the easy or LSR pace (in terms of slightly more work for the lungs). But it was no bother at all to keep the pace, in fact I had to keep myself from going too fast. Running on the pier was great because of the slight breeze, it kept things nice and cool. The surface is quite uneven, tho - so it took a lot of concentration to run safely.

I bought myself a fancy "visor" to act as sweat-in-the-eyes prevention yoke, which worked a treat, also for the sun. The poor thing is probably designed to be worn around a fancy golf-course somewhere. Sorry about that, visor, but you're a runner's gadget now.

A funny moment: Upon seeing the 7-km split, I said "like an effing clock!" out loud without even thinking about it (nobody around thankfully, it was at the end of the jetty). Funny what those endorphins do to you.

Niggle-alert remains for the right calf, it remains very tight. I have a date with my foamroller later.

Tell me more about the visor. I've the same problem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Also for anyone interested in elevations it's just a rough draft without taking corners etc into account:

GMAP Pedometer mapping of Dublin Marathon 2015 course

Main climbs:
    About 70m overall in first 12km about 35m each of the two sections
    (Quays to NCR at 3km->4.5km)
    (Chesterfield Ave to Myos in Castleknock turn 7k->12k )

30m drag just after halfway over 2km
    (Dolphins Barn -> Crumlin Hospital 21km -> 23km)

30m drag before flat last last 5m
    (AppleGreen garage Clonskeagh to Fosters Ave 34km - 36km)

Other sneaky areas to look out for are the rolling hill from Kilmainham Jail to the SCR turn.
    Also after Chapelizod Village the hill after the N4 flyover on the way up to Ballyer.
    The UCD flyover which isn't really too bad but people always mention it, when you drive the N11 without taking the flyover you realise it's practically flat.

Oh God ..... Have a nervous pain in my tummy now .... This makes it a bit real :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

TheBazman wrote: »
    Tell me more about the visor. I've the same problem.

Picture, thousand words:

http://www.backcountry.com/images/items/900/UND/UND0526/BLA.jpg

Crucially, it has an adjustable band. I left it as loose as I could and found the whole thing comfortable to wear, and not annoying. Believe me, I find things annoying pretty quickly, so that's a rousing endorsement.

I ran on a pretty warm afternoon and didn't have the usual sweat pouring into my eyes (still a little bit). The visor was pretty drenched tho, so it did do the trick. I'm sure it'll suffer from it, so I imagine it'll have a limited lifespan.

I took it off once during the run, just to cool down the part of the head that's covered by it (just the forehead) and that was a pleasant experience. But it wasn't too hot to wear.

I plan to wear it on all my long or mid-long runs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

Change of plans...I'll do my 6 mile naked run tomorrow.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭diego_b

Did the 1m w/u 4m pace 1m c/d this evening, felt alright starting off but worse as the run progressed. Fairly well jacked after it so gonna go to be fair early tonight
    Splits
    10:05
    9:04
    9:09
    8:55(small bit of a wind behind me)
    9:22(decent cross wind and was just wishing the 4th pace mile over)
    10:39
    It's like I've lost the ability to run fast with all the slow running.

Couple of 10ks done this week and have managed to slow down 10-20 secs per km, probably need to slow a little more. Still have a niggling hamstring injury that I've been going to the physio for. He had given me the okay a few weeks ago to build back into the running but there hasnt really been any progress. I'm off on holidays tomorrow for a week - was going to bring my running gear to get a few runs in, however I think it's best to rest for a week and just do my core work/stretches instead. Hopefully a break will see some improvement in the hamstring.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

diego_b wrote: »

Don't worry. This is not the case.
    I have never done anything but marathon training and my 5k is arguably my strongest pb. Just keep doing the runs at the prescribed paces and when the day comes that you need to go faster, you'll surprise yourself and be well able to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 44 betty swollox

wow these weeks are flying by..

with the fingal 10k this weekend i decided to run my lsr today. I live in Lucan and have pretty much exhausted all my routes so decided to take a spin down to Pheonix park. 2hr 10 min run in the lashing lashing rain, i was the only eejit out there :), so if anyone was driving or cycling through the park between 3 and 5 today and managed to see a drowned rat in a orange adidas rain jacket i'm afraid that was me. In fairness though i really enjoyed it and will definitely be taking myself down there for my long runs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭diego_b

Thanks, it's only when I go look at the split times in K's it kinda shocked me. It's since starting the marathon training that I've gone to miles so kinda put my previous normal efforts (all in K's) to bed for now. But in my case tonight my best 5k time was 26 and a half mins. My 5K pb is 22:51mins!
    I am giving my trust to the plan and hope to stay the course!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭yaboya1

But in my case tonight my best 5k time was 26 and a half mins. My 5K pb is 22:51mins!

Glad to hear it.
    If you start running 5k pbs on marathon training runs I'm pretty sure Dubgal72 will kill you, so its also good for your health ;)

Picture, thousand words:

http://www.backcountry.com/images/items/900/UND/UND0526/BLA.jpg

Crucially, it has an adjustable band. I left it as loose as I could and found the whole thing comfortable to wear, and not annoying. Believe me, I find things annoying pretty quickly, so that's a rousing endorsement.

I ran on a pretty warm afternoon and didn't have the usual sweat pouring into my eyes (still a little bit). The visor was pretty drenched tho, so it did do the trick. I'm sure it'll suffer from it, so I imagine it'll have a limited lifespan.

I took it off once during the run, just to cool down the part of the head that's covered by it (just the forehead) and that was a pleasant experience. But it wasn't too hot to wear.

I plan to wear it on all my long or mid-long runs.

Cheers - I think i'll have to make do with a full cap as I'm follically challenged so if there's any bit of sun I'm goosed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

It felt a bit like in the movies. 2 or 3 very long seconds during which I remove various boys from my foot, cursing silently, check it, check it again, curse some more, and... nothing. Foot is fine. Lucky escape. DCM is still on. :cool:
    That painted such a picture! Phew :)
    RonanP77 wrote: »
    Quick question (even though I'm not technically a novice any more)

I'm thinking of running in to work some morning next week, it's 19km with a few hills, one of them is quite long and very steep in places. I was thinking of doing it on Thursday, Wednesday is a Cross day so I'd rest instead to leave me fresh, probably skip the 5k run on Friday too. I'd be doing it at my easy pace so it'll take just over 2 hours. It's just for the hell of it and as a one off.

My first HM is in 17 days, it's the Breffni 3 Province Challenge, how much tapering do I need to do for it? The run to work would be 10 days before it, even though it would be done as a LSR, would that be too close?
    As Clearlier and nop said, there is a danger it might leave you whacked if you're not used to it....or you go too hard. You're not that used to road running so that would be the main concern for me. I would prefer you to build up your road running incrementally. Are you planning to carry gear etc? That would be another no for me, too much danger of chafing and imbalancing. If it's a one-off and just for the hell of it, maybe leave it til after the half?
    chrislad wrote: »
    My left shin is giving me next to no pain. The right is fairly okay. I get the odd twinge but nothing that disrupts me. My main concern is keeping the legs stretched at the moment. The 3 mile I did yesterday was horrible, legs felt very tight. They felt much better tonight, and I plan to do my 3 mile recovery in the morning. It might be a bit too soon, but I've a sports massage booked for 12:30 tomorrow before I do the 13 miles at the weekend. Physio adjusted my insoles too, so they're feeling much more supportive for my shins, which is helping.
    Do tell the massage therapist about the long run/race won't you and he/she can adjust the intensity accordingly. Let us know how it goes tomorrow :)
    Stevo1983 wrote: »
    Haven't followed the plan on here but the miles are ticking along nicely.
    5 weeks into my plan and I've kept up with it.
    Make sure to invest in proper running socks though. I picked up the wrong pair last Saturday morning ( still half asleep ) and they went down to under my heel causing the back of my feet to rub against my trainers and to leave two nice cuts.
    Great to hear from you Stevo. Ouch about the blisters, but now is the time to be finding out what works for you ;)
    Mrs Mc wrote: »
    Oh God ..... Have a nervous pain in my tummy now .... This makes it a bit real :(
    Yes but put those fluttering a away for now, hear?! We'll talk more about controlling those nerves in a couple of weeks :)
    Did the 1m w/u 4m pace 1m c/d this evening, felt alright starting off but worse as the run progressed. Fairly well jacked after it so gonna go to be fair early tonight
    Splits
    10:05
    9:04
    9:09
    8:55(small bit of a wind behind me)
    9:22(decent cross wind and was just wishing the 4th pace mile over)
    10:39
    Nope, you listen to that yaboya. He comes out with some sensible things now and then :p
    TheBazman wrote: »
    Couple of 10ks done this week and have managed to slow down 10-20 secs per km, probably need to slow a little more. Still have a niggling hamstring injury that I've been going to the physio for. He had given me the okay a few weeks ago to build back into the running but there hasnt really been any progress. I'm off on holidays tomorrow for a week - was going to bring my running gear to get a few runs in, however I think it's best to rest for a week and just do my core work/stretches instead. Hopefully a break will see some improvement in the hamstring.
    Hope the rest sorts you TB. Happy holidays...fwiw I'd slip the runners in...just as a little comfort blanket ;) Will you see the physio when you get back?
    yaboya1 wrote: »
    Don't worry. This is not the case.
    I have never done anything but marathon training and my 5k is arguably my strongest pb. Just keep doing the runs at the prescribed paces and when the day comes that you need to go faster, you'll surprise yourself and be well able to.
    Yup, living proof. Thanks P :)
    wow these weeks are flying by..

with the fingal 10k this weekend i decided to run my lsr today. I live in Lucan and have pretty much exhausted all my routes so decided to take a spin down to Pheonix park. 2hr 10 min run in the lashing lashing rain, i was the only eejit out there :), so if anyone was driving or cycling through the park between 3 and 5 today and managed to see a drowned rat in a orange adidas rain jacket i'm afraid that was me. In fairness though i really enjoyed it and will definitely be taking myself down there for my long runs.
    Well done but make sure you recover well between now and Sunday. Doing a lsr as well as the race wasn't necessary as the race will induce different sorts of stresses and adaptations. My bad, should have made that clearer :o
    Thanks, it's only when I go look at the split times in K's it kinda shocked me. It's since starting the marathon training that I've gone to miles so kinda put my previous normal efforts (all in K's) to bed for now. But in my case tonight my best 5k time was 26 and a half mins. My 5K pb is 22:51mins!
    ^ + v = yup and yup ;) better believe it :D
    yaboya1 wrote: »
    Glad to hear it.
    If you start running 5k pbs on marathon training runs I'm pretty sure Dubgal72 will kill you, so its also good for your health ;)

Thanks dubgal. I read the piece the other day but then I just did what I normally do - go out and run normal pace! This planning and thinking my way through the sessions is new to me and I'm trying to adapt slowly!

I've dropped the trx and circuits and am now just running 4-5 times a week, following the plan. Maybe my body needs to get used to this and it's something I hadn't acknowledged.

I'll look at bringing in those stretches for the hamstrings. I'll try to do a short review of the half to see what feedback I can get. Thanks again!

Thanks chilli, IMO a weekly circuits class would be a great support for running so no need to drop that completely. Don't know about TRX but if you enjoy it, carry on. As the plan for the marathon intensifies, you may feel the need to prioritise running but at the moment, no need to jettison all your 'extra curricular' activities :)

Ha!.....no!

Aha y'see BD, this tells me exactly the opposite of what you are telling yourself :D
    I am hearing that you are over-reliant on the digital-dictator. By now, you should have a fair idea 'by feel' what your slow pace feels like and the fact that there is such a discrepancy tells me you are relying too much on the garmin to tell you how you feel. You felt good on the recovery run and that's ok but you haven't got in sync with your inner metronome.
    We can all run faster but we need to practice going slower for longer and you can use a gps watch to do this for you...or you can be a better runner by training yourself to do it as well ;)

Because you didn't get it right first time is no reason to give up...give it another try. The marathon wasn't trained for in a day ;)

Thanks for all that rovers_runner! And absolutely, get to know that course if you are in any way in a position to. Flying visits to Dublin? Get on that route :) We'll be co-opting inviting Tunguska nearer the time to repeat his legendary course overview from last year nearer the time. No pressure T ;)

Oh and talking of Tunguska, remind me to start a pain management discussion soon :eek: