emigrating - how did it work out for you?

• 15-07-2015 11:08PM
    Closed Accounts Posts: 113 ✭✭

Anyone ever forced or needed to emigrate for work?

How did you cope with homesickness and leaving behind your loved ones family, partner etc?

Do you regret it? Was it worth it?

I haven't had to yet, but may have to in the near future. USA most likely.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 27,944 ✭✭✭✭4zn76tysfajdxp

Emigrating is great craic. You meet new people, you're exposed to different cultures, you learn different languages etc.

People who complain about emigrating because they miss their "family" or "friends" are whingers.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,590 ✭✭✭theteal

Being brutally honest, 4 years ago when mrsTeal was offered a job on the edge of London I couldn't wait to pack in the job and get going. I'm still enjoying it and the only reason we're even thinking of going back would be if/when kids come along but that won't be at least for another year.

I'm only an hour from home so it barely counts as emigrating. I do miss the lads at home but there's always a WhatsApp chat going (seriously, everyday, talking sh!te!) plus everyone makes an effort to meet up when I do pay a visit back.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,986 ✭✭✭jacksie66

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭anto9

I have been back and forth over many years .Currently in Asia ,and missing Ireland a small bit at least .If i went back to Ireland though i know i would miss what i have now .I guess i will never be 100% content ,but can make do with 75% .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,299 ✭✭✭✭MadsL

Love it, lost my job twice in 12 months whilst in Ireland and apparantly I am 86% more likely to be unemployed in Ireland than the US.

Then again - on my fourth country that I've lived and worked in so I'm getting good at it :)

Worked out fine. No homesickness. Make good money. Have nice things.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 10,562 ✭✭✭✭Sunnyisland

I am gone since 94, with a small but important stay back at home for 4 years in 2006, I go back regular enough, but do feel more relaxed and pressure of when leaving Dublin Airport.
    I can't see myself ever returning to live full time back in Ireland, The weather just grates my cheese.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,296 ✭✭✭✭Jawgap

great would be my answer, although initially it was a wrench.

Left in late 1991 for the UK, this was pre-cheap Ryanair so getting home was a bit less easy.

By the time I moved back to Ireland in 2004 I'd lived / worked in the UK, US and Germany and become a naturalised US citizen!

Everyone has their own experience but initially when I went I spent time hanging out with the ex-pat community which I found was a mistake (others may disagree) as a lot were trying to recreate Ireland on foreign shores which just made me focus on what I was missing. So my advice would be, it's great to hang out with other Irish emigrants and be involved in 'Irish' activities, but be careful not to get drawn into sentimentality.

Also, whatever country you go to embrace at least some elements of their lifestyle - you never know you might just like it :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,453 ✭✭✭Shenshen

I came to Ireland 13 years ago and it worked out great.

Emigrating had always be my plan, I'm not overly fond of my home country. My original plan was to work in Ireland for a while, and then move on the Canada, but - well, met someone, fell in love, turned all conventional and married and bought a house.
    I can't say I miss my home country, I usually visit for a week every few years, just to remind me why I left. I love it here. Cheap taxes, great landscapes, never gets too hot or too cold, nice and relaxed place with not too many busybodies around. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

Moved to the UK 2 years ago, no regrets at all. Better job opportunities and we have a pretty comfortable life here. We're sport mad so London is a great place to be :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

Shenshen wrote: »

Emigrating had always be my plan, I'm not overly fond of my home country. My original plan was to work in Ireland for a while, and then move on the Canada, but - well, met someone, fell in love, turned all conventional and married and bought a house.
    I can't say I miss my home country, I usually visit for a week every few years, just to remind me why I left. I love it here. Cheap taxes, great landscapes, never gets too hot or too cold, nice and relaxed place with not too many busybodies around. :)

Oh boy, you've stirred a hornets nest with that one. I know it's cheaper a lot of other people know it's cheaper but the reality of it is people in Ireland that have never worked abroad don't think that.

kupus wrote: »
    Oh boy, you've stirred a hornets nest with that one. I know it's cheaper a lot of other people know it's cheaper but the reality of it is people in Ireland that have never worked abroad don't think that.

I know - people here really take it personal when you suggest that they are not in fact the victims of the most vicious tax regime ever in existence on this planet or any other. :)

Thanks for highlighting it to make sure nobody in this thread will miss that bit!

• Site Banned Posts: 2,922 ✭✭✭Egginacup

Found that friends and family visited me more when I was living abroad.

Owning a lovely 2 bed apartment in the centre of Amsterdam has its drawbacks. You find friends from home you never knew you had :P

Lived in the States for a few years. NYC. It's fine. I missed my brother and my mum. But Christmasses coming home were a big deal. Met up with loads of college mates who too were far flung.

Don't think I could cope with be in Oz/NZ or West Coast of US. That to me is just too far away from Ireland/mainland europe which is my spiritual homeland.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,244 ✭✭✭✭bnt

I had to emigrate for work in 1999 ... and I'm still in Dublin today.

Government resting upon the will and universal suffrage of the people has no anchorage except in the people's intelligence.

— Grover Cleveland

• Moderators, Arts Moderators Posts: 36,496 Mod ✭✭✭✭pickarooney

Grand. The climate, food, work/life ratio, education, health, sports, facilities are all much better here. I occasionally miss the people, that's about it.

Incidentally, what is your home country?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 558 ✭✭✭IrishAlice

It's so nice to read about someone coming to Ireland and for it to be so positive! I spend a lot of time thinking about how much I'd love to leave and forget to be thankful for the great things about this country.

Egginacup wrote: »

Incidentally, what is your home country?

Germany.

Germany.

Hmm.....I lived in Germany for 2 years and can't say I liked it that much. Just the debauchery of Karnevaal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,928 ✭✭✭✭rainbow kirby

My best mate from college is living in Karlsruhe now and loves it. He loves motorbikes, hiking and beer though and that seems to fit in well there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,448 ✭✭✭crockholm

I never wanted to leave,so when the post comes in about people missing their friends and family as "whingers" I felt it was a cheap shot.Spent 6 years abroad,got married to a furriner and had little furriner babies.There are absolutely amazing things to be seen outside of Ireland and it can certainly bring you on as a person,professionally or privately.There is no shame in being a home bird-the vast majority of people want to stay in or around their own locality.

Moved to London breifly about 7 years ago, never really wanted to go but I did. Lasted less than a year before moving back. Hated it and was torture for the time I was there and that's with coming home about once a month. Being close to family and friends is far too big a deal for me and I just disliked not being in Ireland full stop. Will never leave again except for a holiday.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,342 ✭✭✭fatknacker

The worst part is having Facebook and seeing some people at home jizzing themselves over all things Irish. Or things that are not inheritently Irish.

Omg, a flat bottle of 7up! Only Irish people understand what this means!!

Sheep walks into a bar. Only in Ireland!!!

Sun sets over a lake with a mountain. Sure, where would ta get it??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 Scipio_Hib

Anyone ever forced or needed to emigrate for work?

How did you cope with homesickness and leaving behind your loved ones family, partner etc?

Do you regret it? Was it worth it?

I haven't had to yet, but may have to in the near future. USA most likely.

Went to the UK - came back - went again - came back again in May.

It's worked out well......so far. London was as far as I got both time and it was great the first time around - but a bit of a drag the last time - probably because I was older and was going for work rather than work / play.

Good to be back - family stayed here for the second stint, so Ryanair's profits will be taking a hit!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,828 ✭✭✭5rtytry56

@FatKnacker post of the day.
    They wax lyrical about the most mundane banal pointless sh|t.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 166 ✭✭Herpes Cineplex

I know - people here really take it personal when you suggest that they are not in fact the victims of the most vicious tax regime ever in existence on this planet or any other.

No, but they are the victims who were forced to bail out the German bankers, their risky lending and stopped them from taking the hit. And I say that as someone who lives not too far from the EU hive of villainy in Brussels.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,740 ✭✭✭the evasion_kid

Jawgap wrote: »
    great would be my answer, although initially it was a wrench.

Left in late 1991 for the UK, this was pre-cheap Ryanair so getting home was a bit less easy.

By the time I moved back to Ireland in 2004 I'd lived / worked in the UK, US and Germany and become a naturalised US citizen!

Everyone has their own experience but initially when I went I spent time hanging out with the ex-pat community which I found was a mistake (others may disagree) as a lot were trying to recreate Ireland on foreign shores which just made me focus on what I was missing. So my advice would be, it's great to hang out with other Irish emigrants and be involved in 'Irish' activities, but be careful not to get drawn into sentimentality.

Also, whatever country you go to embrace at least some elements of their lifestyle - you never know you might just like it :)

Lived in the Bronx for four years and moved around other various us cities,a couple of years in Toronto too....biggest lesson I learned?..stay away from your own kind.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,300 ✭✭✭✭razorblunt

Been in the UK six years, buying a gaff this year. Will move back at some stage but not just yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,426 ✭✭✭Jamsiek

I've never been a home bird really.
    I went to university in Dundee and worked in Glasgow for 3 years and then in England.
    I was back in Ireland for a while but I had developed an interest in travelling so I could never see myself limited to one place.
    I'm in Vancouver, Canada now and I'm really settled here, my family visited me here and they loved the place too.

I think a good way to combat home sickness is to avoid thinking about home and focus on the positive things about your new place.
    I kind of see myself as having 2 lives, one here and another in Ireland when I go visit.
    I have no wish to move back TBH.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,419 ✭✭✭ToddyDoody

Never emigrated. The dole suited me just fine thanks