Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Target Practice

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Deadly will do! Thanks :D

Aqua jogging, who'da thunk it?! Made my way to the pool this morning and met coachy for my first introduction to aqua jogging.

He explained the basics, tightened the flotation belt and off we went. It took a couple of lengths to get my form right: keep upright/straight, pretend you're jogging on the spot, running arm drive, up on your toes, higher knee lift than normal...and a few reminders after that but I loved it!

I feel nicely zapped now and full of the possibilities of integrating this into my weekly routine. I think I may have found 'my' cross training :D
    Coachy explained how it can be used to simulate a running double day; aqua jog in the morning, run/jog in the afternoon and also how you can do strides, sprints, tempos and intervals in the pool. Crazy **** eh?!

Lovely crowd in the pool too, we met a guy who each length insisted on updating us on his calorie usage (5) and his meal plans for the day after he had created his calorie deficit (I think we may have done more lengths aqua jogging....:pac: ) and all this for €2.50!

I'm hooked, lined and hopefully not sinkered :eek:

I have also been very virtuous on the rehab and core side this week: 2xDs core and all the prescribed rehab exercises done to plan. I even refrained from opening a bottle of plonk last night as we're going to a party Saturday night :cool:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭career move

Sorry to hear that you're on the sidelines but way to go with the cross-training! You should get yourself a bike ..... :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,936 ✭✭✭annapr

Sorry to hear that you're on the sidelines but way to go with the cross-training! You should get yourself a bike ..... :D

Back to the darkside with you!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭career move

annapr wrote: »
    Back to the darkside with you!!!

Are you tempted to get a bike and some Lycra yourself Anna?!

hell no! just running is hard enough for me! :p

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,355 ✭✭✭Bungy Girl

Nice pool hustlin' DG ;)! I remember sharing a lane in the Westwood 50m pool with Mary Cullen a few years ago and she was motoring along with the aqua-jogging gear. Didn't do her any harm anyway :D.

Hehe...I have one ;) (not a bike like yours, more of a bone shaker tractor :D )
    hell no! just running is hard enough for me! :p
    I wouldn't recommend any dark siding, you know me, I'm a monogamous runner but this was FUN! (Of course it was, there was running involved :D )
    Bungy Girl wrote: »
    Nice pool hustlin' DG ;)! I remember sharing a lane in the Westwood 50m pool with Mary Cullen a few years ago and she was motoring along with the aqua-jogging gear. Didn't do her any harm anyway :D.
    Hehe bet she was lapping the swimmers :) I did get quite a few funny looks, like 'ah bless look she's doggy paddling' :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,676 ✭✭✭ThebitterLemon

FairPlay DG,

I had to do that after a bad hamstring tear and I hated every minute of it.

It's supposed to be very good for keeping your cardio up but I never took to it.

Gluck with the recovery.

TbL

FairPlay DG,

I had to do that after a bad hamstring tear and I hated every minute of it.

It's supposed to be very good for keeping your cardio up but I never took to it.

Gluck with the recovery.

TbL

Thanks TbL, a large part of it really, is that I am getting to 'run' in some sort of fashion :D:D Great to see you on the way back!

*brushes dust and cobwebs off from the depths of page 10638283 of the training logs*

So, may as well carry on the pretence of a training log...

Sat 27 June
    Strengthening/rehab exercises done. Pretty sure didn't fit in any DS core, was too busy buying a top to wear to the party that night which I didn't wear anyway.... :rolleyes:

Sun 28 June
    Oh the joys of being on rehab with a hangover on a Sunday and NO LSR to do, early or late :cool:
    Felt quite muzzy until 3pm when I got guilted dragged let's face it, i was guilted into going to the swimming pool with kids and two extra cousins for 'swim for all time' (meant to be cheap/kids free but had to buy four swimming hats as I managed to lose ours after aqua jogging on Friday :o ).
    Was given a free pass to sneak off to the 'big pool' for 15 minutes of aqua jogging yay. Returned to give Himself a turn for a few lengths but he got sidelined back in the splashing pool while all four of ours decided they needed a wee one after the other...oops. Was it bad to feel so happy I got my 15 minutes in first?!

Weekly total: argh
    Breakdown:
    1....1!!! Running day: 1 double day including a DNS race
    1 rehab session with coachy
    Several pulled hairs and gritting of teeth
    Numerous icing sessions and more hair pulling
    2 aqua sessions and vigorous polishing of halo.

Back to it this week on Wednesday or Thursday, fingers crossed. It has been working. A hugely noticeable improvement over the last few days.

Week beg Mon 29 June

Mon 29

Rehab exercises x2 sets
    DS core (15 reps, had been up to 25, I am so cross with myself. 15 reps are manageable now so will move up to 20 reps next week)
    45 minutes of aqua jogging:
    Saw a gap in the evening schedule and hared out the door like a startled rabbit to get my fix up to the pool. I planned 50 minutes but got there a bit late. About 10 minutes in I had a brief 'ooh this is a bit...emmmm...monotonous, HOW long left, could do with some headphones here...'* but that passed and all of a sudden 45 minutes was in the can. Cycled home and tried to beat the lights at one point. Could. Not. Do. It...so job done really ;)

*anyone tells the novices this, I will never talk to you again :p
    If you're a novice reading this...You can't believe everything you read ;)

what, you made them get out of the pool to wee? ;)

Haha brilliant...next time ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

of course she did :eek::eek::eek::eek::eek: glad I don't live in D3 :D

Anna, just out of curiosity and not for any particular reason where do you bring the kids swimming ?

Week beg 6 July 2015

Here goes ;)

Last week saw my RnR extended due to swollen glands and a sore throat. By Friday, I had beaten the fecker-lurgy to touch and headed out for a coachy-prescribed easy 30 mins.

Post run stretching and cream for the stopwatch/technology-induced rash Myrtl saw me a lot happier than the previous 10 - 10 :eek: - days. I was sooo tempted to do another 30 mins on Saturday but decided to do it coachy's way :rolleyes: I got out again Sunday, under time pressure, but the thought of posting 3.75 miles or so for my weekly total kicked my ass out the door. So my weekly total for last week is 7.5 miles or thereabouts..... Want a breakdown? Whistle.....

So the last week has seen me prioritise:
    - rehab exercises; have worked up to 3 sets of 15 reps every second day (double/single calf raises-heel drops and goblet squats. My ass is going to be so firm less jelly like ;) )
    - core; back to the DS core and loving it
    - mobility; Myrtl sorry I left you so long honey
    - priopreception yokies....

and to be incorporated regularly:
    - aqua jogging twice weekly if poss
    - once weekly modified rehab with weights
    - pliometrics when ankle strength fully rehabbed

Rest day today but got the go ahead from coachy to run every second day this week and to increase each run by 5 minutes. Oh the joy from little things :D

Goblet squat?? Is there wine involved?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

I.E going on the lash in the pub with the same name on the Malahide Rd!!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,009 ✭✭✭Firedance

tang1 wrote: »
    I.E going on the lash in the pub with the same name on the Malahide Rd!!

Or drinking from a wine goblet....

Genius! I'll be doing my Hic squats five times a day now!!

w/b Mon 6 July

Mon 6
    Rehab...I think...and a bit of cycling hither and thither

Tue
    40 mins easy followed by
    Myrtl
    DS core
    More cycling, nothing serious, I am not defecting.

Wed
    Rehab and a bit of cycling from A to B
    Watched a duathlon on Bray beach in the evening (cycled there and back ;) ). Crazy feckers.

Thur
    Not a great run. Cycled to the local park where the club do the Thursday session, planning to just run for 50, maybe 60 minutes if everything felt ok. My hip has been niggling lately, even with all this rest and several physio 'releases' but it seems to have morphed into a trapped nerve, at least that is what it feels like. I called it a day after 45 minutes. Will book a chiro appt Monday. Bloody bloody ageing body failing me. Bloody bloody wallet not on auto-replenish :mad: :rolleyes:

Fri
    Rest. Don't think I managed any rehab either :o Yup, just remembered. Out and about with the kiddos all day.

Sat
    50 minutes aqua jogging. This was tough enough, mentally - most of it - and physically, last five minutes. I felt I was losing co-ordination and put that down to tiredness. Felt nicely zapped after. Had cycled there so popped into Aldi after to get supplies. Did the usual, overloaded my shopping bags and cycled home at a snail's pace....thoroughly zapped :D

Sun
    Planned:
    Rehab
    Core
    Easy jog 20 mins
    ...did not happen due to nephew's 15th birthday-afternoon-party thing....
    Hip however was a lot better after the pool session yesterday.

So I suppose I am ticking over after a fashion however am starting to get bored...can't wait to get the hip unlocked (anyone got the code?!) and get back into it. Bungy girl, your 40.5 miles last week made me weep :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,121 ✭✭✭tang1

I dont know if your using one, i was given a resistance band to build my hip strength up when it was giving me bother last winter. Helped me no end and built strength up in the hip.

tang1 wrote: »
    I dont know if your using one, i was given a resistance band to build my hip strength up when it was giving me bother last winter. Helped me no end and built strength up in the hip.

Thanks tang I'll look into that. Can't have you getting too far ahead of me :p:D

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    Bungy girl, your 40.5 miles last week made me weep :D

I'm sorry :o. I think I'll be the one weeping at the end of this week - 45 miles is the target and it's definitely unchartered territory :eek:

Is it today you're going to the chiro ? Hope he sorts you out. Is the achilles ok at least ? It'll all come together soon enough I expect, just a pain in the proverbials waiting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭hillsiderunner

Ah dammit :(. Hope not too much longer of the cross-training ...

(I will admit there was a green tint in my eye reading BGs weekly mileage, you're not alone)

Bungy Girl wrote: »
    I'm sorry :o. I think I'll be the one weeping at the end of this week - 45 miles is the target and it's definitely unchartered territory :eek:

Is it today you're going to the chiro ? Hope he sorts you out. Is the achilles ok at least ? It'll all come together soon enough I expect, just a pain in the proverbials waiting.
    Oooh talk about twisting the knife in :D:D no, haven't booked yet, will do it tomorrow and hopefully have an appt Wednesday. It really is a pain in the ass actually :D
    Ah dammit :(. Hope not too much longer of the cross-training ...

(I will admit there was a green tint in my eye reading BGs weekly mileage, you're not alone)
    Thanks hilly, it'll be grand. I did have to cop myself on while out for a 30 min shuffle this evening 'I'll NEVER run again....' 'Shut up you silly woman' :D

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,420 ✭✭✭Ososlo

Very frustrating for you DG. Fair play to you for keeping up the positive outlook. It is but a momentary blip in proceedings. You'll be back faster and fitter than ever in no time. None of us have any doubt about that at all:)

If you're defo going to Morton Games on Friday week drop me a pm beforehand. It'd be nice to finally meet up!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,768 ✭✭✭✭Murph_D

Hang in there DG. Been in tht "I'll never run again" mindset myslf but this too will pass! Besides, how can you have time to mentor AND run? (Ah yes, Ososlo will meet you and give you all the answers).:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,704 ✭✭✭✭RayCun

when 'not running' starts to feel as natural as 'running' is when I get worried

RayCun wrote: »
    when 'not running' starts to feel as natural as 'running' is when I get worried

so, no need to worry yet DG! but hope you get it sorted.