Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

DCM 2015: Mentored Novices Thread

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,324 ✭✭✭chrislad

Just finished my LSR.

1 10:54 /mi
    2 11:25 /mi
    3 11:39 /mi
    4 11:51 /mi
    5 11:57 /mi
    6 11:30 /mi
    7 11:18 /mi
    8 11:27 /mi
    9 11:38 /mi
    10 11:48 /mi
    11 12:06 /mi
    12 11:50 /mi
    13 11:45 /mi
    0.1 11:07 /mi

I started off a bit faster that I thought, so spent a mile or two bringing myself back into pace. Stayed fairly steady for a while, then hit a big hill that I wasn't expecting on a new route! The fact that it was fair windy and raining didn't help either.

Overall, I felt quite good. I got a little tired around mile 10 and I slowed a bit but picked up a little bit near the end. Like diego, that .1 had to happen :D

Feeling a bit stiff now, so hopping into the bath and doing a few stretches after before covering my shins in ice for the evening! :D

I didn't go into my threshold heart rate once, with 70% temp, 30% moderate, so I'm happy with that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,781 ✭✭✭eyeball kid

diego_b wrote: »
    All in all I was out running for 2hr 24mins which by just over 24 mins is the longest I have ever spent running.

Actually, that was the same for me today. Longest time I've ever been out running as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,386 ✭✭✭diego_b

Actually, that was the same for me today. Longest time I've ever been out running as well.

Very good, I find it running like that as I was going a bit slower than the last two LSRs I did....find time proper setting a HR zone....could run all day that.
    Actually I must edit my post for gel and food stuff I did. Wasn't even that hungry at the end and in the past I would be famished.

I must start thinking about fuel for the day. During my first HM training I used lucozade and the occasional gel but I always stopped to take them, on the day of the Dublin HM last year, I took at gel and drank the lucozade provided while running. They did not agree with me at all and I ended up completely doubled over with cramps :(

The next HM I did I just drank the water on the route, and that was grand, though I was starving by the end.

I really don't know what to be taking. I make my own kind of energy balls, I wonder if they're the think to take? I've no idea.

Also, has anyone used the flipbelt? They had them at the marathon expo last year and the look really comfy. I can't really bear feeling things on me, and I would be very aware if anything was in any way uncomfortable or rubbing or anything.

God I love this thread.

I must start thinking about fuel for the day. During my first HM training I used lucozade and the occasional gel but I always stopped to take them, on the day of the Dublin HM last year, I took at gel and drank the lucozade provided while running. They did not agree with me at all and I ended up completely doubled over with cramps :(

The next HM I did I just drank the water on the route, and that was grand, though I was starving by the end.

I really don't know what to be taking. I make my own kind of energy balls, I wonder if they're the think to take? I've no idea.

Also, has anyone used the flipbelt? They had them at the marathon expo last year and the look really comfy. I can't really bear feeling things on me, and I would be very aware if anything was in any way uncomfortable or rubbing or anything.

God I love this thread.

I've never done the sports drinks on the runs, normally only do water or the High 5 Zero stuff (I feel like I am promoting companies here a bit sometimes but anyways it's not intentional).

I don't think I will be carrying water on the race day as normally during races I grab a bottle and hang onto it in my hand until I've had enough. During the DCM there is water pretty often it seems. For training I am using this Nike belt but for the race I will use this Ron Hill cargo belt plus the shorts I run in now have pockets too.
    Hard to know food wise but starting to ask around people I know who've done the distances, one lady in my club uses fig rolls so said I'd try them out today. Another chops up mars bars but that would be sickening I think.
    You want something pretty small and energy rich I'd guess, making your own no doubt best to have exactly the way you like.

The flip belt I was reading up on and I think it might annoy me a bit (would want to try it on before buying so would buy instore, not that the others are perfect but if I need to I will ditch them...can adjust them is size also.
    I think getting that flip best off or getting access to stuff in it could be tough. I currently carry my phone on my arm, ideally I'd leave my phone at home but I think it's silly to run to far off places on your own without having it. I also like the idea that I can contact people or be contacting by people. My wife will no doubt use Find My Friends on the day to see where I am.
    I record on my runs on the Nike plus app on that plus using my watch to record separately (in miles), that'd my reference if needs be also during a run.

I don't carry anything with my. Just wear my watch. I'll have to figure out something though for when I'm on call during my long long runs. Pain in the bum.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭It wasnt me123

I currently carry my phone on my arm, ideally I'd leave my phone at home but I think it's silly to run to far off places on your own without having it. I also like the idea that I can contact people or be contacting by people. My wife will no doubt use Find My Friends on the day to see where I am.
    I record on my runs on the Nike plus app on that plus using my watch to record separately (in miles), that'd my reference if needs be also during a run.

I also carry my phone on my arm - for emergencies - I get the odd text saying "where are you" but I actually ask people not to text me when I'm running - I don't like the distraction. I use a garmin to record my run and I use a water belt like your Nike belt, but I got mine in Aldi/Lidl which cost a 1/3 of the price of Nike. I like the look of the flip belt, but its fierce expensive, I couldn't justify that price.

I did use Gels if I was running over 10miles but I'm now training myself not to use anything, I carry one just in case, but haven't taken one yet. I put a Nunn tablet in the two small bottles of the belt and rely on the water at races for extra hydration, I haven't needed the extra water on training runs. I've used the belt for quite awhile and don't even notice it now.

I have a HM in Cahir tomorrow, so I'll see if I'm hungry after the race - though they are providing a 2 course meal afterwards, so that's something nice to look forward to.

I use a water belt like your Nike belt, but I got mine in Aldi/Lidl which cost a 1/3 of the price of Nike.

Lucky for me that I picked the Nike belt up in a bargain basement bin (had to dig deeper for the bottles) and think I got it for a tenner so not too bad.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,585 ✭✭✭nop98

RonanP77 wrote: »
    Right, here goes........

After much soul searching, reading back through what I said at the start of this thread and on my log along with a good chat with my wife (plus paying attention to advice given to myself and others on here) I've come to the conclusion that I'm not ready for a marathon this year..

What a pity to hear that Ronan, but it sounds like it's the right decision. Good luck with your training for the shorter distances (for now) and the longer ones soon after.

And if you're serious about calling up in October, I am sure Firedance will have a job for you at the Novices Aid Station at Mile 15.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,371 ✭✭✭Phoebas

Took first sip of water at 3 miles and one half a fig roll, gel then at 5 miles plus more water and probably a slug of high 5 drink soon after, another piece of fig roll at 6 miles and some water, same again at 9 miles.....10 mile mark I took my other gel and some water, noted the water was starting to taste a bit manky (guessing I didn't rinse the washing liquid out very well so ditched the rest of the water then). Took the last piece of fig roll at 12 miles and a small bit of high 5 plus two (red) mini jelly babies. More food than I ever had on a run before but I was not hungry when I finished nor did I have any real muscles soreness during the run or afterwards.....would know I was out running but I am grand out.
    That sounds like a mobile picnic :D

I've been wondering about food fuel. I'd been kinda convinced by the training with no food arguement (something along the lines that if you don't eat during a long run it would train the body to store more glycogen in the muscles and liver; this energy being readily available, so the body doesn't need to metabolise food or fat for energy).

But, for novices running a marathon, does this matter so much? There will be no shortage of gels on the day, and jellies, and maybe bananas and even fig rolls (possibly even Jacobs ones). From what I read, the capacity of glycogen stores is limited anyway, so other energy sources need to be tapped during a long race.
    So, really, is this training the body to increase glycogen storage capacity thing a marginal - and therefore, elite - concern?

I did my 21km / 13M in three parts today:

> 8km @ 5:54 min/km [5M @ 9:29 min/mi]
    > 5km Cab parkrun @ 5:27 min/km [3.1M @ 8:46 min/mi]
    > 8km @ 6.04 min/km [5M @ 9:45 min/mi]

Not a perfectly executed LSR but it was nice to run with other folks during the parkrun, and say hello to fellow boardsie FD. I did get a short breather in between the "thirds" but made up with somewhat faster than LSR pace.

I learned a few things:
    > I used an Isogel to keep me going during the last 5M, and that seemed to work, as I wasn't ravenous when I came home.
    > Dubgal is correct when she warns against doing long-runs in a race setting. I had to hold back big time during the parkrun and still went too fast
    > I also got myself a tiny water bottle (that wraps around the hand) and hairband-yoke altho the latter wasn't needed and has already been confiscated by the daughter.

I have to say I am a little philosophical about the marathon training. I have gone from "I am training for a marathon!" (chirpy, enthusiastic voice) to "I am training for a marathon.." (somewhat more worried and tired voice).

I am guessing I thought I'd go seamlessly from running half-marathons (5 in the past 15 months) to the full. It's simply the next step up, right? Well, this maybe so, but I am starting to realize the size of the step, and the effort it is / will be to take it. I read all the (heated) debates if folks are ready for a marathon and I don't think I've ever asked myself that question. It was just the next a-goal after running the CNM half, I signed up without much thought, and now, too my surprise, I'm finding myself worrying about running. That's totally new. How to fit in the next mid-week run, does my knee hurt, did I drink enough in the last hour, etc. My family are great and supportive, by the way, which is really a help.

Do you know the FOMO acronym, fear-of-missing-out? I think I have FOFOTW, fear-of-falling-of-the-wagon. It was that which kept me going through last week's LSR (this week's LSR was fine, coincidentally), and what kept me dragging out some mates last week for an easy 4-5M.

Don't get me wrong, I am enjoying it plenty, and learning loads about myself and about running and training, but I am worrying about it too. The latter comes as a surprise. Maybe that's the "respect the distance" part. I also see a couple of fellow novices struggling in the reports above, and I wonder, will it be me next.

Right. I had to get that off my chest. I am still fully committed and hope to be back to the chirpy voice soon enough. Does anyone else have similar thoughts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,324 ✭✭✭chrislad

nop98 wrote: »
    Does anyone else have similar thoughts?

Only every other minute :D

I'm very new to this running (as I said earlier, tomorrow is 1 year since I started C25K) - if you have told me then that I'd have a few half marathon distances under my belt, and be seriously contemplating a full marathon, I'd have had you committed! I'm feeling good (well, as good as you can be!) after the 13 miles today. Each LSR from here on in though is me running the furthest I've ever run so that's a bit daunting.

The ratio of actual essentials to flipbelt seems too high imo. I don't like to carry anything, but on the day I'm going to have to carry some gels and maybe some emergency cash, so I'll need a solution for that.

I did the Clontarf HM last week wearing a pair of shorts that didn't have pockets. I tucked a couple of gels into them, ate them during the race and tucked the empty(ish) wrappers back in again. I think I've discovered a replacement for what they use for the space shuttle tiles, made from dried in energy gel, sweat and polyester.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,796 ✭✭✭It wasnt me123

> Does anyone else have similar thoughts?

Yes, yes, yes.

I've limped around 1 marathon so I know what's ahead of me, and it scares the bejabus out of me - can I really put my poor, tired, old body through that again? Yes I can. I think the training plan I have now, which was tailored for me by a Club leader, will get me to the finish of DCM in better nick than when I finished London. I have more training buddies for this marathon, and we all have this thread, full of useful info.

I haven't signed up for DCM yet but I fully intend to do it (I'm looking for hotels at the mo) and I want to run it all and be able to walk upright after I finish!

I just booked the Fitzwilliam Townhouse Hotel for 2 nights. Less than 10 minute walk to start/finish/McGrattons. Perfect €385 b&b for 2 adults, 1 child - I might have two more for volunteer duties at the Novices picnic table at Mile 15

Does anyone else have similar thoughts?
    Great post btw.

Not yet. I've had to increase the frequency of my runs, but so far the distance of the lsrs hasn't gone beyond what I've done before, so while there's been some extra effort, it's been a time management problem more than anything else.

BUT - when I look at the increasing lsrs over the coming weeks that does scare me a bit. Most of us are going to be running distances we've never attempted before, and doing that again and again over the next couple of months. I've a feeling that things are going to start getting very tough very soon.

The increasing LSR length is a good one for testing the will power but the way I approach it is that I'm gonna run 13.1miles which I've done 4 times in the last 9 months (3 times in races) and have been fine with that. Just gonna do that each run now and add on the few miles each week to get to 15, 16 and so. Last week 10 miles felt tough around 9 miles, this week with a mile to go I found it tough for a min as had a drag up hill and into a head wind but still loved it. Earlier in the run on my own at 7 miles out the far end of Kerryhead peninsula I was thinking this is a bit mad but I love it.
    For the marathon I read a line last year that it's a 20 mile warm up with 10K race. I've done lots of 10K races, just need to prep my body for the 20 miles I'm going to do on the day before that point. My focus for now is do the training week by week, focus on doing the week you're on the best you can and all going well your body is able for it. Mentally it's going to be very hard at times but if my body plays ball I'll look be saying brain don't fail me now!

chrislad wrote: »
    Only every other minute :D
    Yes, yes, yes.

:) that's even more frequent than me!
    I might have two more for volunteer duties at the Novices picnic table at Mile 15

Good stuff!
    Phoebas wrote: »

Not yet. ..

BUT - when I look at the increasing lsrs over the coming weeks that does scare me a bit. Most of us are going to be running distances we've never attempted before, and doing that again and again over the next couple of months. I've a feeling that things are going to start getting very tough very soon.

Yes, that is exactly what I'm thinking about, too. I had a decent head-start on the required weekly distance but the program has caught up within 3 weeks :eek:
    The increasing LSR length is a good one for testing the will power but the way I approach it is that I'm gonna run 13.1miles which I've done 4 times in the last 9 months (3 times in races) and have been fine with that. Just gonna do that each run now and add on the few miles each week to get to 15, 16 and so. Last week 10 miles felt tough around 9 miles, this week with a mile to go I found it tough for a min as had a drag up hill and into a head wind but still loved it. Earlier in the run on my own at 7 miles out the far end of Kerryhead peninsula I was thinking this is a bit mad but I love it.
    For the marathon I read a line last year that it's a 20 mile warm up with 10K race. I've done lots of 10K races, just need to prep my body for the 20 miles I'm going to do on the day before that point. My focus for now is do the training week by week, focus on doing the week you're on the best you can and all going well your body is able for it. Mentally it's going to be very hard at times but if my body plays ball I'll look be saying brain don't fail me now!

Good stuff Diego, sensible approach. One mile at the time. I am starting to think the challenge isn't as much to finish the race. It's managing to get to the start-line at all.

B.t.w. I took the liberty to look-up the Kerryhead peninsula and it looks awesome. Lucky you!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 83 ✭✭Chops1234

Whoopsadaisydoodles - I have a flipbelt. Love it for longer runs. It doesn't move. I got it in The Run Hub. (Got a size M and I'd be a size 10 if that's any use to you) Can fit loads into it and you can't feel it.

However, I don't think I'll use it for the actual marathon as I won't be carrying phone/keys etc. Was going to just get one of those belts I've seen that just carry gels (I think - actually haven't really decided yet!!)

Thanks Chops. I might leave it then, because I would be thinking of it for race day and only using it on training runs to check it out before that. My mate has been stalking this thread (hi Lula o/) and says I can borrow her belt from last year and see how it feels so I'll do that for now :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,272 ✭✭✭Dubgal72

Thanks Chops. I might leave it then, because I would be thinking of it for race day and only using it on training runs to check it out before that. My mate has been stalking this thread (hi Lula o/) and says I can borrow her belt from last year and see how it feels so I'll do that for now :)

Wow, give myself the evening off and we're two, nearly three pages on :D Lots of really interesting posts, thoughts and comments there lads. I've a bit to add myself but will do it properly later.
    But, in case anyone fancies a bit of online shopping this afternoon, have a search for some Ron Hill shorts :) I got a pair (men's) from Amphibian King last year. They're the best. They have a key pocket and several open mesh pockets for gels/food balls etc. Have a look here too for some ideas.
    Your own food balls are a great idea whoopsa, don't forget our mantra 'Now is the Time' ;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,672 ✭✭✭hillsiderunner

Posting in here to ban myself from the pavements for now.

I was going out yesterday for a short little 4miler and had the usual thing of lacing-and-relacing the shoes, and the second time I tied up the left shoe it was just slightly too tight. Usually I have to re-adjust the left shoe about three times to stop the sock slipping down, so I figured too-tight is not that bad, so I left it as it was and ran down to Holyrood park to do laps of the playing fields. This weeks 'run on grass'. About half way through the run, I felt a bit of soreness of the foot, like the foot was sitting wrong in the shoe. It *even* crossed my mind I could stop and re-tie the shoe ... but there was only a mile or two left so I continued on. Stupid. Damage was probably already done but I wish I'd had the sense to stop to re-re-arrange it. Anyway back at my flat I realised there was still some soreness near the toe and specifically around the second/third metatarsal ... I was hoping it'd retreat overnight but no, it's still sore :(. Not agony, but sore on pushing off when I get up to start walking. That soreness goes away after a few steps, and I could probably manage the 12miles with being in pain (yes, I absolutely did think about doing that and staying quiet here :rolleyes:, 100% I thought about it). Anyway I'm posting this to stop myself.

I've done the pressing of the bones etc, and there is pain around the second metatarsal, but not sure if *on* the bone. And I can hop and it's not so sore. So I'm hoping it's just ligaments and not something more serious. A few years ago I suspected a stress fracture and when I went to the physio it was just a bit upset (caused by bad shoes). My hope is this might be the same but I'll hold off on running for now. I have a physio visit on Friday for the ribs so I can mention this if it's still a problem.

I'm annoyed with myself on this one. The problem with the ribs was bad luck, but this one is partly my own fault. *Three* stupid things:
    • Not undoing the shoes at the start and retying slightly looser
    • Not stopping to re-tie/check-things during the run when I felt the problem
    • Had been running an angled descent at the end of each loop to make the distance up to 1mile. It's an awkward way of running and I bet this caused the foot to get pushed into the wrong position. Idiot.

My very first LSR of the schedule, and I can't do it. By the way, on the question of angst/fear/demotivation of the longer mileage, there is *none* here, I'm dying to get stuck into it.

If anyone is wondering, the ribs are good. Not 100% yet, but a good bit better, and it think it'll be only a few days to perfect.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

LSR 8 Miles done and dusted, avg 11.08 pace . Was a bit wary of this run as it went so badly last week and was feeling very disheartened. Also after a weeks holiday in Portugal (with running of course) and I am sure a few lbs extra :( was not looking forward to this. Got home yesterday afternoon and a 4 mile was on the cards 1 mile slow 2 fast and 1 slow. This went well and I welcomed the cool on shore breeze of Clontarf coast compared with the 27/30 degrees of the recent weeks hol. The legs were a bit tight this morning so decided to spend 15/20 mins stretching before I went out. Not sure if it was the stretching beforehand as I would never spend this long stretching, but the run went well, was a lovely morning even decided I'd better start to build some inclines into my routes much and all as I love running along the coast in Clontarf its a very flat course so I looped up Watermill Road onto the Howth Road. Got a wave from KennyG also on his LSR. In comparison to last week the legs felt good, ran the 8 miles, enjoyed the run, no headphones and no pain, So lesson learned I guess is we will have bad days, they are just bad days, trick is to write them off as bad days and nothing more and move onto the next day. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭Chilli Con Kearney

Mrs Mc wrote: »
    LSR 8 Miles done and dusted, avg 11.08 pace . Was a bit wary of this run as it went so badly last week and was feeling very disheartened. Also after a weeks holiday in Portugal (with running of course) and I am sure a few lbs extra :( was not looking forward to this. Got home yesterday afternoon and a 4 mile was on the cards 1 mile slow 2 fast and 1 slow. This went well and I welcomed the cool on shore breeze of Clontarf coast compared with the 27/30 degrees of the recent weeks hol. The legs were a bit tight this morning so decided to spend 15/20 mins stretching before I went out. Not sure if it was the stretching beforehand as I would never spend this long stretching, but the run went well, was a lovely morning even decided I'd better start to build some inclines into my routes much and all as I love running along the coast in Clontarf its a very flat course so I looped up Watermill Road onto the Howth Road. Got a wave from KennyG also on his LSR. In comparison to last week the legs felt good, ran the 8 miles, enjoyed the run, no headphones and no pain, So lesson learned I guess is we will have bad days, they are just bad days, trick is to write them off as bad days and nothing more and move onto the next day. :)

Fair play Mrs Mc. Good to get back into it. I do my DCM training up and down clontarf too. Looking to bring in a few hills too as I've struggled on these in races. Any suggestions??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 301 ✭✭Chilli Con Kearney

Dubgal72 wrote: »
    Morning Chilli. Race strategy etc is all a learning curve but you're on the right track. Have a look here for this year's thread on marathon des escargots. If you have any questions during the week, Claud and others keeping an eye on the thread will be able to answer. The good news is that it's a flat course so you won't have to factor in hills etc in your race strategy :)
    As for food etc, carry on doing what works for you and if it ain't broke, don't fix it ;) 'Now is the time' to be fine tuning your approach ;)
    I would however beg ask you nicely to leave the headphones at home for the race. You will have a much better experience, I promise. You will be
    - more in tune with your breathing which will make you
    - more in tune with your body which will help you
    - to dial back the pace if necessary before it becomes a problem. Likewise you will be able to
    - increase the pace at your choosing and not be dictated to by 'the beat' :D
    - you will also be able to hear the stewards, marshals etc. V important ;)
    - you will be able to hear any runners approaching you from behind and therefore not get in their way ;)
    - you will be able to hear supporters cheering you on!! This is the best part :)
    Finally
    - I really really really don't want to have to disown anybody so early in the plan :D

Good luck!

So the marathon des escargots was well organised and run. Went without any music for the first time, which was interesting. Going to keep at it now. Might bring it for the odd training run now and again. Ran 1:41 which wasn't too bad. Not my best but I'm happy enough.

Well done to anyone who ran yesterday. It's another nice marker down. Now I'm firmly focussed on getting myself to training runs beyond the half mark. Hoping this will go ok!

Fair play Mrs Mc. Good to get back into it. I do my DCM training up and down clontarf too. Looking to bring in a few hills too as I've struggled on these in races. Any suggestions??

I also do my lsrs down around Clontarf and it is fairly flat.
    I wonder does this matter? If the purpose of the lsrs is to get lots of those slow easy miles in, is it ok (even good) to have them without hills, and try to get the hills in midweek?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,199 ✭✭✭denis b

Yes..... an LSR under my belt, and a post hols LSR at that. Hols straddled week 2 and 3 so I missed last weeks LSR but managed to get most of the shorter runs done. It was just too hot and hilly to attempt anything longer and I just did not feel confident enough to go any further. Todays run (another Clontarf seafront sunday morning shuffler - orange t-shirt) went really well.

Started off nice and handy but concentrated on form. Seems to be happening naturally as a follow on from the shorter runs and I think that this may be helping me to conserve some energy, or at least be more efficient. Every km or two I would check back on form and double check. Alternated this with watching other runners to see how they were doing. Anything to learn. I added in a loop of Dollymount and St. Annes Park to add variety which seems to be important for me to help in staying relaxed and interested. The different terrains were noticeable, particularly the soft sand exit!!!

Ran 6.14 mins/km which is slower than any LSR I have done in the past. Am very hopeful that the science behind this will work because I have struggled in the last 10km of previous marathon.

Hope everybody else has managed to get through their LSR and feel a little more confident in the process.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Mrs Mc

Hey Chilli up Watermill Road onto Howth Road up Killbarrick Road onto Malahide road and Collins Ave or Griffith Ave give decent inclines.... This is according to the hubby as I asked the same question as looking to start building in inclines myself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,776 ✭✭✭This Fat Girl Runs

11 mile LSR done. I've come to the gradual realization that I really enjoy the longer, slower runs. Felt really comfortable today and was quite happy to slog along for 11 miles. Could have gone further I think. Did feel like an idiot when I realized I've under-run my mileage this week.I was supposed to run 6 miles on Thursday, not 5. One missed mile isn't going to ruin things but still wish I had paid closer attention to my plan. I won't make that mistake again!

For fuel I did take a gel 20 minutes before I left for my run, mostly because I had forgotten to get a banana which is what I'd usually have beforehand. This is after having had overnight oats for breakfast at 6:40am.

Consistent splits again:

Mile 1: 15:30 (The first mile is nearly always my slowest mile)
    Mile 2: 14:26
    Mile 3: 14:49
    Mile 4: 14:49 (Had two energy jelly candies here, I kept thinking about fig rolls and was getting hungry!)
    Mile 5: 15:01 (Had a mild argument with my stomach here, it wanted to say it was upset but I disagreed. I won)
    Mile 6: 14:51
    Mile 7: 14:51
    Mile 8: 15:09 (Took two more energy jelly candies. Had to slow a little as they were sticking to the cling wrap)
    Mile 9: 14:45
    Mile 10: 14:53
    Mile 11: 14:30

I was aiming for a pace of between 14:40 and 14:50 so I'm really happy with my run today. Stretched well afterwards and now I'm just going to sit back, relax and enjoy the afternoon.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,415 ✭✭✭Singer

Weekly update on training log: http://www.boards.ie/vbulletin/showthread.php?p=96211484#post96211484

This week I didn't respect my body or training and boy am I feeling it now.

I was out running Monday - Thursday evenings, did some pilates on Wednesday morning and decided it'd be a great idea to play some 5-a-side soccer with work folks on Friday morning - I haven't played soccer since Xmas, deliberately been avoiding it in case I pick up a niggle or whatever. In addition to all this, I had a couple of pints out with my +1 to celebrate her coming back home on Tuesday (literally just two pints), we had friends just back from a year in the USA over on Thursday evening for dinner and wine and on Friday night I went out for dinner and to a gig, consuming a number of pints of beer (6 or 7? :confused:) on the way, getting home at 12.30AM or so. Also I got a cold last week that I moaned about on this thread. Each of these things seem like reasonable things to do as once offs...

Unsurprisingly I woke up yesterday feeling like I'd been hit by a bus. I'm well used to hangovers, but this was no simple hangover. I felt completely fatigued and exhausted, and my legs were super sore all day.

I did a 13 mile LSR today and I couldn't have run it any faster if I tried. My legs started off really sore thanks to the football, and though once they warmed the pain generally went away, they still felt like stumps and that I was running through sludge.

There are some pretty obvious lessons here... do think twice before doing what I've done! This week I'm going to take it pretty easy until I feel normal again. My secondary school principal once said about me that I'd figure out the most awkward way to get something done :D