Freedom to offend online to be banned

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

galljga1 wrote: »
    Yeah, that is about it. Not sure that's the road we should take. Where do we stop? What's offensive? What's not?

And that's the crux of the issue. What may offend you may not offended me, What offends one group my not offend another it's all subjective cultural personal. There is no way of governing it apart from basic stuff like Incitement to hatred/Violence. stuff like that.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,937 ✭✭✭galljga1

And that's the crux of the issue. What may offend you may not offended me, What offends one group my not offend another it's all subjective cultural personal. There is no way of governing it apart from basic stuff like Incitement to hatred/Violence. stuff like that.

Which brings us neatly back to square one: I don't think we need further legislation.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 679 ✭✭✭Boring username

Are we just having a go at Fidelma Healy Eames today because it is the trendy thing at the moment, or will we be challenging the mods here on boards.ie who are well able to ban people using the 'offensive' excuse?
    There is one mod in particular who bans people and shuts down threads because they claim 'offence' when it suits them.

Are we just having a go at Fidelma Healy Eames today because it is the trendy thing at the moment, or will we be challenging the mods here on boards.ie who are well able to ban people using the 'offensive' excuse?
    There is one mod in particular who bans people and shuts down threads because they claim 'offence' when it suits them.

Why not size 7 ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

..So, if BOLD is shouting, is size 7 screaming at the top of your lungs?

Edit: Anyway, mostly we're just discussing the practicality and implications of such a bill.

Samaris wrote: »
    ..So, if BOLD is shouting, is size 7 screaming at the top of your lungs?

Edit: Anyway, mostly we're just discussing the practicality and implications of such a bill.

Zero practicality. if we start to go all China on the old internet watch all the MNC go bye bye.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2, Paid Member Posts: 24,082 ✭✭✭✭Akrasia

Is this bill the reason I've been seeing stories about politicians being "bullied" and "abused" online popping up over the past few weeks?

It's the start of a slippery slope if this goes through. The reason the internet works is because, for the most part, it's a free for all. Whatever your viewpoint or opinion, right or wrong, you can post it without the worry of it being deemed too offensive.

It's a 'chilling effect' on debate. If someone on the pro choice campaign decides to set up a blog exposing the hypocrisy of a member of the pro-life campaign (lets say a prominent figure who rallies against abortion but has had multiple abortions herself) the blog could be shut down on the basis that he/she
    ' persistently shares malicious electronic communications regarding another shall be guilty of an offence.

(2) For the purposes of this section an electronic communication shall be considered malicious where it intentionally or recklessly causes alarm, distress or harm to the other.

The 'lawful excuse' section essentially puts the burden of proof on the defendant to prove that he she had a good enough reason to post that content to justify the 'alarm, distress or harm' it causes to 'the other'.

The John Waters thread on the A&A forum on this website could be a target of this kind of legislation. Do the posters on here have 'lawful excuse' to have a thread specifically to mock this man's 'journalistic' output? We might not be 'intentionally' causing him harm or distress, but are we 'recklessly' causing alarm or distress or harm?

Ban billionaires

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,920 ✭✭✭freedominacup

Phoebas wrote: »
    So you think we shouldn't try to legislate against online bullying of children for fear that it would the slippery slope to outlawing political opinion!

At risk of breaching the Act, you that is really stupid.

You can't legislate against the online bullying of children. What you can do is control the sale of devices which can access the Internet to minors. You can legislate that all such devices are sold with the highest possible level of controls on what type of content they can access as default settings. If a parent then buys such a device and reduces these settings they have no one to blame but themselves if their child accesses sites or content which might be upsetting or unmoderated.

Parents need to parent not look for someone to blame. Parents of the current crop of teenagers don't have any excuses. We've been fluting around on the internet since college, we know what's out there and how to control access.

Bills like this are just playing to the cheap seats and placing means of controlling information in the hands of people with no compunction about abusing this control.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,373 ✭✭✭Phoebas

FHE should just be muzzled and shipped back to whatever ****e hole she crawled from.

Not a great argument against the curbing of freedom of speech.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 81,060 ✭✭✭✭biko

Ridiculing Senator Fidelma Healy Eames is not offensive. Her politics are offensive.

To learn who rules over you, simply find out who you are not allowed to criticize.

You can't legislate against the online bullying of children. What you can do is control the sale of devices which can access the Internet to minors. You can legislate that all such devices are sold with the highest possible level of controls on what type of content they can access as default settings. If a parent then buys such a device and reduces these settings they have no one to blame but themselves if their child accesses sites or content which might be upsetting or unmoderated.

Parents need to parent not look for someone to blame. Parents of the current crop of teenagers don't have any excuses. We've been fluting around on the internet since college, we know what's out there and how to control access.

Bills like this are just playing to the cheap seats and placing means of controlling information in the hands of people with no compunction about abusing this control.

We already have legislation covering offline bullying, so of course you can legislate against the online bullying of children. Its only a question of how far the legislation should go, how effective it can be and what, if any, additional powers go along with the legislation.

Now, the idea that the solution to online bullying is that you restrict access to devices or restrict access to the internet using content controls just doesn't sound realistic to me. We've had parental control software for ages now and it just hasn't been effective. Kids are, by and large, more au fait with the technology than the parents who are trying to place restrictions on it.

I do agree that this bill (and its sponsor) is playing to the cheap seats. That's not to say that we shouldn't attempt to legislate against severe forms of online bullying - the kind of bile that has led to suicides in this country.

biko wrote: »
    Ridiculing Senator Fidelma Healy Eames is not offensive. Her politics are offensive.

To learn who rules over you, simply find out who you are not allowed to criticize.
    That rules out Fidelma. I've never read anything about her that wasn't critical.

Would that be Redacted then :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,234 ✭✭✭✭Cee-Jay-Cee

FFS the people of Ireland are fully to blame for this horses**t. They had a choice to get rid of this shower of idiot wannabe/failed politicians and they voted to retain them. We will have to put up with crass ill-thought out proposals from
    arseholes until the question is put to the people again in a hundred years time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,059 ✭✭✭✭osarusan

Eames always strikes me as somebody who just 5 minutes earlier was told about an issue for the first time by somebody whose position is an extreme one. She blindly accepts that version as the complete truth and starts her kneejerk campaigning accordingly.

I've never heard/read anything from her that convinced me she actually knew very much about any issue she was campaigning on - about either the issue itself or the current laws relevant to the issue.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,085 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

If she's successful many of us may be loosing our jobs too!

There's no way a social media or online business that has any kind of comments system could function in Ireland under that kind of legislation.

Bye bye Google, Facebook, Twitter HQs, ... Adios data centres ....
    It would kill the likes of boards.ie and other forums. The journal comments section .. Waterford Whispers would have to operate in exile.

Basically this proposed law has the potential to cost tens of thousands of jobs, kill inward investment, destroy the country's reputation and send us back to the 1950s

It's pure hysterical, kneejerk nonsense!

We already have legislation covering offline bullying, so of course you can legislate against the online bullying of children. Its only a question of how far the legislation should go, how effective it can be and what, if any, additional powers go along with the legislation.

Now, the idea that the solution to online bullying is that you restrict access to devices or restrict access to the internet using content controls just doesn't sound realistic to me. We've had parental control software for ages now and it just hasn't been effective. Kids are, by and large, more au fait with the technology than the parents who are trying to place restrictions on it.

I do agree that this bill (and its sponsor) is playing to the cheap seats. That's not to say that we shouldn't attempt to legislate against severe forms of online bullying - the kind of bile that has led to suicides in this country.

We already have law's, Education is key the more you make something sound secretive and bad the more lightly said children are going to get on it. Plenty one can do on current devices to curtail activity without impacting the wider experience. Children need to be able to come to you and say they are being bullied.

I worries me still that Ireland's first though it to start censorship up again, That worked out well in the past. I get the feeling FHE missed the old RCC calling and if there was no internet she would be telling us the ills of TV/Films/Radio.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,106 ✭✭✭catallus

Power abhors a vacuum; are the legislators simply to abdicate their responsibilities to the citizens by ignoring the lawlessness of those who hide behind the "anonymity" of the net?

Are they to abandon the beauty of the web to the whimsy of cowardly trolls and bullies?

For shame.

Unfortunately the knee jerk reaction of commentators in this thread is as predictable and disappointing as usual; the soulless rejection of responsibility; the failure to see that their stance makes them as guilty as the most evil blackmailer, the most heinous bully.

SpaceTime wrote: »

There's no way a social media or online business that has any kind of comments system could function in Ireland under that kind of legislation.

It would kill the likes of boards.ie and other forums. The journal comments section .. Waterford Whispers would have to operate in exile.

Basically this proposed law has the potential to cost tens of thousands of jobs, kill inward investment, destroy the country's reputation and send us back to the 1950s

Never a truer word spoken. ;)

SpaceTime wrote: »

^ times 1000 She probably would go for a 2 tier internet though :pac:

We already have law's, Education is key the more you make something sound secretive and bad the more lightly said children are going to get on it. Plenty one can do on current devices to curtail activity without impacting the wider experience. Children need to be able to come to you and say they are being bullied.

I worries me still that Ireland's first though it to start censorship up again, That worked out well in the past. I get the feeling FHE missed the old RCC calling and if there was no internet she would be telling us the ills of TV/Films/Radio.
    Placing content controls (as you advocate) is also censorship.
    In a choice between censoring content and making people responsible for their content, I'd choose the latter.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,085 ✭✭✭SpaceTime

^ times 1000 She probably would go for a 2 tier internet though :pac:

Sure it's grand. We'll all just have to give up the auld whiffy-ing and become senators instead.

Placing content controls (as you advocate) is also censorship.
    In a choice between censoring content and making people responsible for their content, I'd choose the latter.

No, You censoring your own family's content is not the same as censoring everyone's. If I had no children why should my content be censored ?

Children need to be able to come to you and say they are being bullied.

If the only action available to a parent when their child is being bullied online is to restrict their access to the internet, then they might be less likely to open up to a parent?

If online bullies know that they can be held accountable for their content, they may think twice before hitting the post button.

If the only action available to a parent when their child is being bullied online is to restrict their access to the internet, then they might be less likely to open up to a parent?

If online bullies know that they can be held accountable for their content, they may think twice before hitting the post button.

They are accountable. We have laws.

No, You censoring your own family's content is not the same as censoring everyone's. If I had no children why should my content be censored ?

If you have no children, why shouldn't you be allowed to bully other people's children! :eek:

Err Why would I bully Children this is getting silly.

The content that I'm advocating restricting is online bullying of children.
    I think that the responsibility for bullying should be put on the bullies (by making them accountable), not on the bullied (by restricting their internet access).

• Closed Accounts Posts: 679 ✭✭✭Boring username

What is this 'offensive' bolloxology? You aren't 'offended' by anything. She's just talking out of her arse as usual. But there's nothing offensive about it, so let's not make this Americanised crap a regular thing here.

The content that I'm advocating restricting is online bullying of children.
    I think that the responsibility for bullying should be put on the bullies (by making them accountable), not on the bullied (by restricting their internet access).

They are accountable, FB, Twitter all them have features easily used to report. Bullies can be prosecuted under the law now. What more laws would one like ?