Student set alight in a nightclub, guy who did it gets 5-year sentence

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 415 ✭✭shampoosuicide

Irish logic - sure it was only a bit of craic:rolleyes:

not really what i'm saying, i've emphasized the stupidity of it throughout the thread. it's possible to feel sympathy for both, idk. it sounds like it's something that's weighed on his conscience. maybe i'm a 'vile scumbag' for thinking that? idk.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 388 ✭✭Gooners

Tombi! wrote: »
    Both of them are students; I assume the poster feels sorry for the victim

Yes he says that BUT .........No buts about it.

The OP says this was a prank gone wrong. As if that makes it less than it would be otherwise. This was an adult who took a lighter to another person's clothes and tries to pass it off as a prank. FFS

This is on a par with a person who gets in a car drunk and hits a pedestrian. Is that a prank? Is that ok?

He placed a lit flame against something that was VERY OBVIOUSLY flammable, what in the absolute f*ck did he foresee?

ok then, let's say what happened was exactly what he foresaw. why did he do it then? no motive, they were complete strangers. he'd have to be (a) a complete sociopath or (b) mentally ill, i don't really think he's either.

not really what i'm saying, i've emphasized the stupidity of it throughout the thread. it's possible to feel sympathy for both, idk. it sounds like it's something that's weighed on his conscience. maybe i'm a 'vile scumbag' for thinking that? idk.

He doesn't deserve sympathy. He knowingly set someone on fire, causing burns over 75% of his body (just picture that, go on), ran, had to be convinced by his friends to turn himself in, and then denied doing it intentionally for a long time.

How does this not sound like a vile scumbag who should be locked up for the rest of his days?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭Electric Sheep

If it weighed on his conscience, it does not seem to have affected his academic performance - or his ability to give an apology until the last minute.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭Tombi!

Gooners wrote: »

The OP says this was a prank gone wrong. As if that makes it less than it would be otherwise. This was an adult who took a lighter to another person's clothes and tries to pass it off as a prank. FFS

This is on a par with a person who gets in a car drunk and hits a pedestrian. Is that a prank? Is that ok?

Hey, I'm tired; I said "I assume". I'm not agreeing with the OP or anything.

ok then, let's say what happened was exactly what he foresaw. why did he do it then? no motive, they were complete strangers. he'd have to be (a) a complete sociopath or (b) mentally ill, i don't really think he's either.

I think he's definitely one or the other.

it's not ok at all but people do it a lot(minus the hitting a pedestrian if they're lucky), so an interesting analogy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 873 ✭✭✭Icemancometh

Judging from the incredibly moving victim impact statement, the apparent lack of remorse seemed to be a large part of the victim's suffering. He referenced it several times, and noted the lack of any form of an apology. Also incredibly, the accused waited until the eleventh hour to admit culpability. You's think that if it was a "dumb prank" as has been suggested, then he would have tried to help, or at least done something other than run away. The act was appalling, but his behaviour after was equally reprehensible.

I think he's definitely one or the other.

fair enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,798 ✭✭✭✭hatrickpatrick

Dealing is a non violent crime. You are having a giraffe.

Dealing in and of itself is indeed non violent. IF dealers commit specific violent crimes as well, then those are violent crimes. But many people go to jail for dealing even if they've never laid a hand on someone.

it's not ok at all but people do it a lot(minus the hitting a pedestrian if they're lucky), so an interesting analogy.

So people doing it a lot makes it ok. And if they hit someone and that person screams in agony and is disfigured and is put in a coma and possibly cannot follow their career choice afterwards is it just bad luck because a lot of others did the same thing and nothing happened?

:D 'it's not ok at all' - literally the first 5 words of the post you're replying to.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,973 ✭✭✭RayM

If a person commits a crime when drunk, then their actions should automatically be considered premeditated. If you choose to drink alcohol, in the full knowledge that it makes you behave stupidly, then that decision should be treated as an aggravating factor in any subsequent crimes (whether serious or minor).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 103 ✭✭jjC123

5 years for BURNING SOMEONE ALIVE is a joke.

And no apology until 3 years later? Fcuk him, 20 years wouldn't be enough, let alone 5.

:D 'it's not ok at all' - literally the first 5 words of the post you're replying to.

The first 5 words followed by the word BUT. When a person uses but in that context it almost always means some mitigating circumstances for what happened. Except in this case a lot of people don't do it. A lot of people so not take a lighter and set someone alight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,381 ✭✭✭✭Allyall

RayM wrote: »
    If a person commits a crime when drunk, then their actions should automatically be considered premeditated. If you choose to drink alcohol, in the full knowledge that it makes you behave stupidly, then that decision should be treated as an aggravating factor in any subsequent crimes (whether serious or minor).

Then that would apply to everything, drunk or not.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

it's easy to underestimate people's stupidity - i don't think he foresaw him being engulfed in flames, no.
    Can someone who is brainy explain to me how he would not have foreseen the result of his actions because my dopey mind fails to see it. This guy was intelligent and in the third year of a corporate law degree
    Garda McHugh said the accused was a third year student at NUIG at the time, studying corporate law. He had gone on to do his LLB in UCC and
    had just finished a Masters in Law in Trinity.
    This person should be stripped of all his qualifications and barred for life from practising law or from working in any professional capacity.
    Dealing in and of itself is indeed non violent. IF dealers commit specific violent crimes as well, then those are violent crimes. But many people go to jail for dealing even if they've never laid a hand on someone.
    So dealing drugs that go on to kill people or are bought by violent people who rob shops and mug people to buy drugs is perfectly ok?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

only 5 years for attempted murder ?

Allyall wrote: »
    Then that would apply to everything, drunk or not.

Not really. Drink adds an extra layer of premeditation to a crime. The otherwise perfectly law-abiding 'model citizen' is fully aware that alcohol makes them behave badly, but decides to get drunk regardless. By drinking at all, they're effectively making a calculated decision to put their enjoyment ahead of other people's well-being.

Serious crime aside, people are generally far too tolerant of alcohol-related bad behaviour... not only violence and criminal damage, but also less serious offences like littering and noise pollution.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Nidgeweasel

A student, probably absolutely rotten, in Galway at Haloween.

"There's a buck covered in cotton wool, light abit of his costume there for the craic."

Clearly just a young lad, locked out his mind, that made a terribly stupid mistake which got drastically out of hand. Not mentally ill, not a sociopath- just young, full of beer and stupid.

Sad case. Two lives wrecked.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,621 ✭✭✭Nidgeweasel

only 5 years for attempted murder ?

Christ.

Not really. Drink adds an extra layer of premeditation to a crime. The otherwise perfectly law-abiding 'model citizen' is fully aware that alcohol makes them behave badly, but decides to get drunk regardless. By drinking at all, they're effectively making a calculated decision to put their enjoyment ahead of other people's well-being.

Serious crime aside, people are generally far too tolerant of alcohol-related bad behaviour... not only violence and criminal damage, but also less serious offences like littering and noise pollution.

Too much.
    Anger adds an 'extra layer'
    Sadness add an 'extra layer'

- Emotions can add an 'extra layer'.

It may not be the alcohol at all. The alcohol maybe accentuates it.

If you have a hard on against alcohol, then you probably won't make any fair points.

Too much.
    Anger adds an 'extra layer'
    Sadness add an 'extra layer'

- Emotions can add an 'extra layer'.

It may not be the alcohol at all. The alcohol maybe accentuates it.

If you have a hard on against alcohol, then you probably won't make any fair points.

I don't have a hard on against alcohol - I just have a raging soft-on for those who consume it in the full knowledge that their resultant actions may negatively affect others.

A student, probably absolutely rotten, in Galway at Haloween.

"There's a buck covered in cotton wool, light abit of his costume there for the craic."

Clearly just a young lad, locked out his mind, that made a terribly stupid mistake which got drastically out of hand. Not mentally ill, not a sociopath- just young, full of beer and stupid.

Sad case. Two lives wrecked.
    I hope I never meet you in a Halloween nightclub party.

Let's not overreact now. Nobody got hurt... well, apart from the guy who did. Apart from the guy who lost 70% of his skin, ended up in an induced coma and suffered life-changing injuries, nobody got hurt. Bitta craic, like. Where's the harm?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,499 ✭✭✭Carlos Orange

He placed a lit flame against something that was VERY OBVIOUSLY flammable, what in the absolute f*ck did he foresee?

He probably didn't foresee that the home-made sheep costume had been made using highly flammable glue. He should have foreseen that trying to put someone on fire was going to end badly,perhaps not as badly as it did.

I don't have a hard on against alcohol - I just have a raging soft-on for those who consume it in the full knowledge that their resultant actions may negatively affect others.

But that doesn't mean that if they commit a crime (litter or fighting etc..) it should be considered pre-meditated..
    You could apply that to somebody who leaves their house in a bad mood, or someone who drives after being upset.

But that doesn't mean that if they commit a crime (litter or fighting etc..) it should be considered pre-meditated..
    You could apply that to somebody who leaves their house in a bad mood, or someone who drives after being upset.

Alcohol-related antisocial behaviour is a big enough problem in this country to justify making an example of perpetrators.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

Christ.

Christ what ? What does one expect to happen when one lights a person on fire ? What is ones intention ? Unless one suffers from a severe mental impairment one can imagine the outcome.