Cruel reality of life for Gardai

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,801 ✭✭✭✭suicide_circus

1800 wrote: »
    I know older teachers on figures around 100k and over once their side work like grinds, exam correcting, exam making, exam monitoring and other handy numbers are thrown in. Thats before some of the gold plated pensions come into play. Obviously not all of them are doing that work but alot of the better teachers who are bothered are. I've heard of some teachers even quitting the profession because their side work such as grinds was so lucrative they didnt need to work anymore.

All of this income tax free of course. Other teachers in the political sector have even more handy cash in the door but I wont even waste time going there. But certainly younger teachers and graduates now will suffer because of the unions abandoning them.
    Yep, public service unions threw the younger cohorts of teachers, nurses, gardai etc under the bus in order to protect the bloated and overpaid older cohort. True colours shown.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,309 ✭✭✭T-K-O

Civil servant puts on the poor mouth, yawn.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 1800

Yep, public service unions threw the younger cohorts of teachers, nurses, gardai etc under the bus in order to protect the bloated and overpaid older cohort. True colours shown.

In the coming years there will be more Irish nurses in England than Ireland. The population replacement will be on sale to the lowest bidder ie whatever nationality can tolerate the crap pay, hours and treatment the best.

Whats sad is how many good young people this country has lost due to profit margins at the top and ill treatment of our own young.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Santa Cruz wrote: »
    Whats the problem with a bit of enterprise once they are tax compliant and not whinging?
    There are thousands of people with rental properties, doing nixers etc. And those who havent are the usual begrudgers who wont get off their arse and expect society to susbidise them

I have no problem with it its the only way to live in this country

but please dont put on the poor mouth while you are doing it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 24,461 ✭✭✭✭darkpagandeath

I thought civil servants were getting a pay rise ? Is this the same kind of article that had the kids in blackrock college ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70 ✭✭eisen1968

Yeah couldn't agree more. We had the opportunity to protect those young people and we didn't. Instead we just talk ****e on boards and it makes us feel a little bit better about our own miserable lives.

The amount of people sleeping in their cars these days is unreal. I have yet to see anyone or know of anyone who has seen this. Is there a special area they all go to ?

Reminds me of the cruise ship that docked in Dublin about six weeks ago. Full of Germans, a stage was set up at the dock and as they disembarked they were treated to riverdance. Yes riverdance. Not high profile germans, just ordinary germans on a cruise that docked in Dublin for a few hrs. And we rolled out the big licky irish tongue and licked their german arses as they got off the boat.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 46,938 ✭✭✭✭Nodin

eisen1968 wrote: »
    Reminds me of the cruise ship that docked in Dublin about six weeks ago. Full of Germans, a stage was set up at the dock and as they disembarked they were treated to riverdance. Yes riverdance. Not high profile germans, just ordinary germans on a cruise that docked in Dublin for a few hrs. And we rolled out the big licky irish tongue and licked their german arses as they got off the boat.

......there's maybe a point in there, but no divination method available to me has found it. Perhaps you might enlighten me?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,805 ✭✭✭LeBash

Pocoyo wrote:
    Shower of morons attending meter installations over serious crime its pathetic

Why is that pathetic. Look at it from the government's point of view. Secure a revenue stream or arrest a person that will cost the state on either a long or short term basis.

Morally wrong but that's clearly what they are prioritising.

At this moment from what I see AGS are revenue collectors. Traffic is more lucrative than violent crime.

Back to topic, 40k isn't that much if he is in certain circumstances, car payment, mortgage, maybe he's not married, USC might be higher.

Granted if he isn't in all those brackets then he's blowing money in the wrong places.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,628 ✭✭✭Señor Fancy Pants

Dance Paddy Dance

Were you on the boat Heir eisen?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,114 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Eh? Did you post this in the right thread? :confused:

Dance Paddy Dance

.......tourists pay money to go on cruises. Shows and the like are often included. Whats your point? What has it to do with the OP?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,038 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

shine on you crazy diamond

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,598 ✭✭✭✭Aidric

Wasn't there a similar article wrote by a Guard a few years back and publicized in the Independent or maybe the Times?

Cut your cloth to suit your measure and all that. I'm sure in there are plenty pertinent details withheld from this article in the true style of tabloid journalism. I don't suppose this guard took out a few mortgages off the back of his generous state salary. No? Probably not.

Point is, we don't look after our own in this country. That Garda is eating cornflakes because his taxes and yours and mine were spent on entertaining Germans as they got off a cruise ship. How much do we owe again?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,297 ✭✭✭✭Sam Kade

Aidric wrote: »
    Wasn't there a similar article wrote by a Guard a few years back and publicized in the Independent or maybe the Times?

Cut your cloth to suit your measure and all that. I'm sure in there are plenty pertinent details withheld from this article in the true style of tabloid journalism. I don't suppose this guard took out a few mortgages off the back of his generous state salary. No? Probably not.
    I would put on a bet with you that a garda didn't even write that nonsense more than likely a journalist trying to improve sales of their sh1t rag;)

Aidric wrote: »

Theres no details and it seems to tick rather a large number of rabble rousing boxes. Too large a number, in fact. I'd be surprised if it was written by a Garda at all.

Point is, we don't look after our own in this country. That Garda is eating cornflakes because his taxes and yours and mine were spent on entertaining Germans as they got off a cruise ship. How much do we owe again?
    Cornflakes are expensive and nutritionally bad, they're not for a garda that works 24, 7, 365 ;)

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭jonnny68

Certain Gardai seem to take great pleasure in inflicting pain on water protesters , many videos ive seen they look to be provoking people into a reaction, although in fairness they do have a tough job with the amount of junkies and general scum around thesedays, i highly doubt they would last 2 minutes in any other country but Ireland...land of cesspit and corruption.

Now johnny read the rest of the **** ive just written. Don't even think what ive written has anything to do with anything. Something to do with coppers and cornflakes and germans .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,114 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Whats that got to do with the price of cornflakes.

This is now my new catch-phrase

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,670 ✭✭✭jonnny68

jaysus........

Cornflakes expensive so garda should have no bother buying proper food instead ;) Moral of the story if you want to make it believable at least do a bit of research beforehand. Do you get it now?

Get what?
    I suggest you go for a lie down it will do your brain good :)

That's what a copper said to me last night

If that Guard really exists then he is eating cornflakes because he is an idiot who has no idea how to manage his money. There are hundreds of thousands of people in this country earning a hell of a lot less and living on it, the reason is that unlike so many guards they didn't buy three or four houses with the hopes of making a fortune renting them out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,520 ✭✭✭trashcan

Sam Kade wrote: »
    Cornflakes are expensive and nutritionally bad, they're not for a garda that works 24, 7, 365 ;)

That's the bit that horrrified me. They must all be exhausted, the poor buggers:p

If that Guard really exists then he is eating cornflakes because he is an idiot who has no idea how to manage his money. There's are hundreds of thousands of people in this country earning a hell of a lot less and living on it, the reason is that unlike so many guards they didn't buy three or four houses with the hopes of making a fortune renting them out.

Last article I read about this BS had the Garda's kids in Blackrock college.. And the wife was a nurse they were on over 100k between them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,453 ✭✭✭Icepick