Cruel reality of life for Gardai

• 08-07-2015 04:58PM
    Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,119 ✭✭✭✭

TheStar - Cruel reality of life for Gardai
    As I sit at home writing this I know I’m risking my job by attempting to tell the truth about what it’s like to be a member of AGS in 2015.
    I have been a member of An Garda Siochana for over a decade.

Having our wages cut so much that gardai are forced to sleep in their cars so they will have enough fuel to be able to go to work day in and day out. I’m not ashamed to say I’m personally struggling to live day to day money-wise.
    I’ve gone days eating cereal so my kids can eat a proper meal.
    I’ve struggled with everything from having tax on my car to having food in the presses at home.
    I know lads out of work that are on better money unemployed than I am at work and they’re able to go for a pint on a Saturday or Sunday night.

Previous 80 page thread Garda Sergeant can't afford food

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,870 ✭✭✭✭Generic Dreadhead

Anyone know what a Guards Salary is? Any guards in here? What would one with 10 years experience be on?

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 6,311 Mod ✭✭✭✭mzungu

One of the hacks at the Star having a stab at fiction again I see.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 31,119 ✭✭✭✭snubbleste

If he's a garda for over ten years, it means he earns gross a minimum of €42,138 basic + allowances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,227 ✭✭✭✭Guy:Incognito

Cormac... wrote: »
    Anyone know what a Guards Salary is?

**** all

Or loads.

Depends on where on the scale. Starting out as a trainee is sub 20k I think. Or was years ago. Its still just under twice what you'd get as a first year apprentice mind.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 38 SmilesInMass

Yeah, I work 3 days a week as it's all my job can give me right now and I'm by no means living it large but I'm doing fine all the same. What kind of lifestyle is he living if that's what he has to do? Seriously doubt his pay package is looking anything like mine as well..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,495 ✭✭✭✭eviltwin

snubbleste wrote: »
    If he's a garda for over ten years, it means he earns gross a minimum of €42,138 basic + allowances.

I'm surviving on a lot less than that. I'd like to see his outgoings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,114 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Cereal? Well for some..

eviltwin wrote: »
    I'm surviving on a lot less than that. I'd like to see his outgoings.
    Kids, car & food is all the article mentions.

I have those too and so far we've never had to live on cereal. I presume he has a mortgage, that might be part of the problem. I do laugh at his comment about being better off on the dole, he should try it, he'd get a land.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭Kalyke

Give over.... Substitute Gardai with nurse, teacher, electrician etc... Not to mention the unemployed. Forgive me if I rest my melancholic violin for this one. Unless he wants a hand with the repayments on his "buy to let"(s)..

eviltwin wrote: »
    ... I presume he has a mortgage..
    Ah ah, you cannot presume that. It is not in the article.

People saying they can survive on less, would you be willing to swap jobs with them? If the answer is no, then it means they earn either the right amount or nowhere near enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,486 ✭✭✭✭For Forks Sake

Unless he's converted the car into a dwelling, he either has mortgage or rent commitments, which were conveniently omitted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

Ah the annual poor mouth brigade is ramping up again.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,151 ✭✭✭kupus

I think it was when I read it last year and the year before and the one before that....the only thing that changes is the date and time of the article plus a few parts of it

People saying they can survive on less, would you be willing to swap jobs with them? If the answer is no, then it means they earn either the right amount or nowhere near enough.

I wouldn't be a guard. Nothing to do with the money though, I just have no interest in it.

Unless he's converted the car into a dwelling, he either has mortgage or rent commitments, which were conveniently omitted.
    ah ah you cannot assume that, it is not in the article :cool:
    However, you can assume he gets a rent allowance of €4,018 pa

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 8,224 ✭✭✭Going Forward

That's exactly why you can presume it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭anto9

He ''SHOULD''be doing ok at least on E 40,000 plus .Something is grossly wrong with his money management. ( i can guess but wont say as i don't know for sure ) .I am of the opinion (i may be wrong though ) ,that Police in the UK earn a fair bit less .

>>you can assume he gets a rent allowance of €4,018 pa <<...most people working don't get any rent allowance .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,068 ✭✭✭Specialun

****as he sits into his 2014 bmw****

As some said it could be a complete fabrication by a reporter knowing it would wind up some people bit like your one in the Sunday independent.

Even if it is true he/she does not represent every Garda some might be doing grand some in-between and some barley getting by but don't let that stop anyone vilifying them all.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,945 ✭✭✭enricoh

When is the annual moanfest that is the gra taking place. I can only assume this is to ramp up public sympathy for a big payrise.
    Wheel out Paul Williams with a non story about the anger in the force for a few minutes on rte news should help too.
    The psni are on a lot less, have a fraction of the allowances n have to check the motor for booby traps every morning.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,507 ✭✭✭Buona Fortuna

I'd like to give him a Gardai hug.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 883 ✭✭✭anto9

Just saw another longer thread about a Garda Sargent on this Forum ,who can not get by on E65,000 a year plus .Spare me the bull**** please.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 7,624 ✭✭✭Little CuChulainn

Silly article.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,124 ✭✭✭joe swanson

Why not quote the whole article instead of a small snippet?

Gives a bit of context.

Why not quote the whole article instead of a small snippet? Gives a bit of context.
    Because it's ~1000 words.
    And I really wanted to concentrate on the cereal aspect.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 1,587 ✭✭✭Pocoyo

The gardai want a bigger piece of the pie after all they are the ones doing Enda Kenny's dirty work.
    Shower of morons attending meter installations over serious crime its pathetic,You'd imagine some form
    of moral objection would enter their heads they dont give a **** about their duty to the public.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,114 ✭✭✭✭wp_rathead

Pocoyo wrote: »
    The gardai want a bigger piece of the pie after all they are the ones doing Enda Kenny's dirty work.
    Shower of morons attending meter installations over serious crime its pathetic,You'd imagine some form
    of moral objection would enter their heads they dont give a **** about their duty to the public.

ughhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh

please no Irish Water craic

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,351 ✭✭✭Ray Palmer

He seems very worried about being caught doing something. There really isn't anything I do while working that I would get fired for. What is he doing?