So I recently met a girl......

• 08-07-2015 03:26PM
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 76 ✭✭

Just as the title says, but the only problem is she has a boyfriend. We went out for a meal a few weeks ago, and during the meal she made reference to the fact that she's in a relationship,only once, besides that she was flirtatious and really engaging and it almost seemed like a date.

We met again today, and no word about her boyfriend this time,we spent most of the afternoon together.It seems that she's enjoying the company, and so am I, and I'm beginning to like her, I'm not sure what's happening, or going to happen.

Does anyone have any advice? any tactics or guidance?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 23,646 ✭✭✭✭qo2cj1dsne8y4k

If she cheats with you she'll cheat on you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,737 ✭✭✭mawk

Are you willing to:

be comforting when he is hurling abuse at her and making harassing phonecalls at 1am?
    Or
    Be suddenly ignored when she chooses him over you?

If so then go ahead

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,849 ✭✭✭professore

She might be lying about the boyfriend. Either way bad news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,830 ✭✭✭Cookie_Dough

How did you end up going for a meal? Did you/ her think it was a date? I wouldn't trust a girl that would go for 1 on 1 (secret?) dinners with another guy.

Even if she dumped the bf and got with you, how do you know that she wouldn't begin going for meals with other guys? Unless of course she is completely oblivious to you fancying her. Either way I think she's playing you

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,063 ✭✭✭Dick phelan

Yep and who's to say he's the only one she's meeting with behind her boyfriends back, You could never trust them knowing their proven to cheat.

Leave her alone, she's taken and there's plenty of other women out there for ya.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,368 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Thread title promised much, Op delivered so little.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Run.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 1,707 ✭✭✭arayess

This is not true. It's possible not a given

There are plenty of marriages out there that began as an attached person meeting somebody else.

Op do what you want , it's your life.
    If you want her , go get her.

Don't let the morality of the worthies on the internet stop you.
    If she loves her bf she'll turn you down and you'll have your answer.
    Life great when you know where you stand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,035 ✭✭✭uch

Kidnap her and Marry her, sure it'll be great craic

22/25

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,937 ✭✭✭galljga1

Go for it dude, life's too short.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,373 ✭✭✭✭foggy_lad

Irishguy16 wrote: »
    Just as the title says, but the only problem is she has a boyfriend. We went out for a meal a few weeks ago, and during the meal she made reference to the fact that she's in a relationship,only once, besides that she was flirtatious and really engaging and it almost seemed like a date.

We met again today, and no word about her boyfriend this time,we spent most of the afternoon together.It seems that she's enjoying the company, and so am I, and I'm beginning to like her, I'm not sure what's happening, or going to happen.

Who paid for the meal?
    Does she see you as just a friend?
    Does she think you are gay so not worried about you hitting on her?
    Why waste your time on someone who is with another person?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,034 ✭✭✭mad muffin

I dont see what the problem is? Sex without the commitment.

Gowan boyo!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,952 ✭✭✭aujopimur

Get the ride, then run.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 456 ✭✭NotCominBack

I can't work out whether the op is 6 or 60, because of this, "I'm out"

Post partially taken from dragons den

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,312 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

What are her initials? I think I know her.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,443 ✭✭✭✭endacl

Maybe she was referring to the fact that she's in a relationship with you, op, and you're a wee bit slow on the uptake?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,328 ✭✭✭Magico Gonzalez

I know plenty of long term couples, song with kids who met when the one or the other was in a relationship with someone else.

Don't drag it out any further though. Next time, tell her how you feel, what you want etc.

If she's into it, she'll dump the jockey, if not, cut and run.

Dead simple. Get to the point, sharpish.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,866 ✭✭✭Fat Christy

Maybe she just wants to be your friend?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 19,889 ✭✭✭✭The Moldy Gowl

Don't be that guy.

Don't go home wrecking for a girl. It's not worth it. Get her to breakup with him first if anything.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,870 ✭✭✭✭Generic Dreadhead

Don't be that guy.

Don't go home wrecking for a girl. It's not worth it. Get her to breakup with him first if anything.

Homewrecking! :pac:

She's probably having a few casual dates with some guys, nobody said she's married, 3 kids, mortgage, holiday home etc.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,544 ✭✭✭Samaris

Are you comfortable putting yourself in a position where you're falling for a girl who's with someone?

If it was me, I'd be putting some distance in there or else placing her firmly into the friendzone until such a time as she is unattached. Anything else is just setting up three people for heartache. The ultimate responsibility is hers, she's the one that's attached, but really, you know about it now, so there's a certain onus on you to have some cop on.

• Banned (with Prison Access) Posts: 367 ✭✭justchecked

Impregnate her and have the rival male spend his resources on raising your child.
    This way your genes will be passed on to the next generation. Also, angry pirate her on your last fling. Then move on to a new pasture where the females are not related to you prior conquest.

Was her boyfriend coming back from the bar with her drink?

Did he hit ya a dig and tell ya to stay away from his woman before whisking her away?

Thought that was par for the course now no?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 4,882 ✭✭✭Saipanne

I met my current girlfriend when we were both seeing other people, although neither of us were in a "relationship". Anyway, I don't regret my actions and neither does she!

I'd say try see how it goes, but don't jump in there. Maybe she'll leave him for you instead of cheating.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,264 ✭✭✭BQQ

I bolded the relevant parts.
    Welcome to the friendzone, sir. Hope you enjoy your stay.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,439 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

You hardly need to be told to ask her what's the story with her and her boyfriend?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭Ethel

Sure. what are you in it for? (1) One nighter? (2) tap every now and again when you can't pull? or (3) a relationship?

She seems bored with her current relationship if shes out wining and dining with you and flirting. If you're on for option one or two, well you're as bad as her. Both aware there is a boyfriend in the frame, so I don't expect either of you to do the right thing. In this case, do what you like - let the hormones take over.

Option three, tell her to end it with himself and you'll take her on. I wish you a happy and loyal union. I just hope she doesn't get bored again.

Ethel wrote: »
    tell her to end it with himself and you'll take her on.

For just the summer or evenings and weekends too?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 758 ✭✭✭Rakish Paddy

aujopimur wrote: »
    Get the ride, then run.

Hit it and quit it, bro.