If we do not hit our goal we will be forced to close the site.

Current status: https://keepboardsalive.com/

Annual subs are best for most impact. If you are still undecided on going Ad Free - you can also donate using the Paypal Donate option. All contribution helps. Thank you.

Trivial things that annoy you part 479

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,495 ✭✭✭KatW4

In my case the house is always at it's worst when my mother makes an unannounced visit. Last time she called Mr Pumpkinseeds was on nights and I hadn't hoovered all week, the dishes weren't washed because he was asleep and the place was a general mess. Even though she didn't comment on it I could 'feel' the disapproval.

That sounds like my house right now! Thankfully my mum is much worse than me and never comments. It's other family members I have to worry about.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 157 ✭✭apieceofcake

Dropping an open box of Rice Krispies and watching them going everywheeeerrrreeeee!! Aargh :(

People who fart in public places and almost kill you with the smell :( hold it in!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,039 ✭✭✭✭retro:electro

When you put a bottle of wine in the freezer to chill and forget you left it there :(

Boyfriend went to the shop earlier for diesel and bought himself some softmints. What did he buy for me? Nothing!!!!
    Every time I go to the shop I buy him something nice. Every single time without fail. I'm not impressed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,080 ✭✭✭✭Maximus Alexander

KatW4 wrote: »
    Boyfriend went to the shop earlier for diesel and bought himself some softmints. What did he buy for me? Nothing!!!!
    Every time I go to the shop I buy him something nice. Every single time without fail. I'm not impressed.

Don't be upset, you just love him more than he loves you. :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 854 ✭✭✭dubscottie

People posting up crap about a lost dog in England or Australia on Facebook.. Like I am going to see it walking through Rathmines!! FFS

And the stupid new "self service" yokes in Tesco.. Who came up with that idea? A tiny shelf to put a baskets worth of stuff on.. ????

And people that are going to post "go to Lidl/Ald"i.. blah blah..

I have stopped talking about food as it is getting on my pisser that every conversation has a "OH you get that in lialdi for 26c, why do you still go to xxx when lidl etc has it for 3c"

Feck right off. Its my money and I will spend it how I want.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 5,080 ✭✭✭McChubbin

For some reason, I can't seem to use the "View All Posts by McChubbin" function on my profile. Anyone else having problems?

• Closed Accounts Posts: 854 ✭✭✭dubscottie

McChubbin wrote: »
    For some reason, I can't seem to use the "View All Posts by McChubbin" function on my profile. Anyone else having problems?

Log out??

Your right.. Not working..

McChubbin wrote: »

Same. Logging out won't fix it there's a thread about it in site development

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,937 ✭✭✭galljga1

Customer service spinning your grievance into something positive for their company:

Service A never works
    Service B is apalling
    Service C works the odd time
    Service D is not what I asked for

"Delighted to hear you enjoying service C...." : I didn't fcuking say that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭Kev W

dubscottie wrote: »
    And the stupid new "self service" yokes in Tesco.. Who came up with that idea? A tiny shelf to put a baskets worth of stuff on.. ????.

Put the basket on the shelf.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,676 ✭✭✭thunderdog

dubscottie wrote: »
    People posting up crap about a lost dog in England or Australia on Facebook.. Like I am going to see it walking through Rathmines!! FFS

Have a quick read ;)

Australian cat found in NI

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Winter in July. :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,853 ✭✭✭messrs

KatW4 wrote: »
    Running home to tidy before a visitor comes out :p

I have a fridge magnet that says "my house was clean yesterday, sorry you missed it" if the point out my mess I just point out the fridge magnet :D

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,768 ✭✭✭veryangryman

Poor spelling, grammar and general chaviness on social media sites.

This one annoyed me enough to do a thread but i resisted the urge.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,237 ✭✭✭pew

People who decide to find their leap card or organise change when they get on the bus.

YOU HAD LOADS OF TIME!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,363 ✭✭✭✭Del.Monte

Horrible Americanisations that are infecting Irish airwaves. Yesterday I was listening to a piece on Newstalk about a business called Hassle.com in which the otherwise intelligent sounding owner used the appalling 'get-go' at least four times in a relative short space of time. Like finger nails being scraped down a blackboard! :mad:

Del.Monte wrote: »
    Horrible Americanisations that are infecting Irish airwaves. Yesterday I was listening to a piece on Newstalk about a business called Hassle.com in which the otherwise intelligent sounding owner used the appalling 'get-go' at least four times in a relative short space of time. Like finger nails being scraped down a blackboard! :mad:

I've used 'get go' for as long as I can remember. Since when is it an Americanisation?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,180 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

anna080 wrote: »
    I've used 'get go' for as long as I can remember. Since when is it an Americanisation?

Right from the get-go I'd say? :p

Yeah, there does seem to be a thing nowadays for people who haven't heard of words before assuming they must be an "americanism".

Words like "pantyhose" and "panties" are americanisms that I cannot stand, horrible, horrible words.

Tights and knickers ffs! :pac:

• Closed Accounts Posts: 12,318 ✭✭✭✭Menas

Right from the get-go I'd say? :p

Yeah, there does seem to be a thing nowadays for people who haven't heard of words before assuming they must be an "americanism".

Words like "pantyhose" and "panties" are americanisms that I cannot stand, horrible, horrible words.

Tights and knickers ffs! :pac:

And the word 'pants'.
    Pants are knickers/boxers over here...but over there they are trousers. How the fck did they manage to mess that one up?!

• Closed Accounts Posts: 2,937 ✭✭✭galljga1

Menas wrote: »
    And the word 'pants'.
    Pants are knickers/boxers over here...but over there they are trousers. How the fck did they manage to mess that one up?!

Yeah, it fcuked up the whole superhero dress code.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 8,635 ✭✭✭Pumpkinseeds

Adverts for Christmas. It's July, not even Brown Thomas have started that crap yet, and they're usually the first to start it.

anna080 wrote: »

http://www.deseretnews.com/article/526699/FROM-THE-GET-GO-PHRASE-CAME-FROM-AMERICAN-BLACKS.html?pg=all

I know an Americanism a mile off and I always check before posting on Boards. There are numerous references to the origins of 'get-go' online. It's sad when people parrot these cool new words and phrases without even knowing where they originate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,536 ✭✭✭Kev W

http://www.deseretnews.com/article/526699/FROM-THE-GET-GO-PHRASE-CAME-FROM-AMERICAN-BLACKS.html?pg=all

I know an Americanism a mile off and I always check before posting on Boards. There are numerous references to the origins of 'get-go' online. It's sad when people parrot these cool new words and phrases without even knowing where they originate.

This "cool new" phrase according to your link has been around for at least half a century.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,175 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

When you toast a bagel and it comes out of the toaster hotter than the surface of the sun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 369 ✭✭tradhead

Was walking down Henry Street this morning, minding my own business and eating a sausage roll.

What can only be described as a MONSTER seagull appeared at my shoulder, grabbed what it could of the sausage roll, and took off.

It frightened the bejeesus out of me but most of the people passing by were laughing out loud and pointing :(

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,073 ✭✭✭Rubberlegs

I drove into town behind someone who was going between 60 and 80 the whole way in. Jesus Christ, if you can't stick to 80, move over and let me pass! Then they were flying it in the 60 zone approaching roundabouts. What is wrong with these people?
    My main purpose for going in was to renew my insurance. The system was going slow as it had just been updated, so I was sent away to await a phone call in the afternoon. I then drove home with someone tailgating me the whole length of the main road. Shrieeeekk:(

Kev W wrote: »
    This "cool new" phrase according to your link has been around for at least half a century.

Yes, but not in Ireland. I have yet to hear anybody use it in everyday conversation but then it's probably the company that I keep.

I've been using it most of my life. I use it in conversation for something like "sure I liked that from the get go", I've never thought of it being an Americanisation. There are many creeping in yes, but to me that's not one.