Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dairy Farming General

• Closed Accounts Posts: 661 ✭✭✭browned

got results back from grass samples taken during the summer of paddocks that were next in line for grazing. can someone with a better knowledge of dmd%, dm and crude protein interoperate the results for me? should some of these be higher?

dry matter ranged from 16.4-20.5
    dmd ranged from 82-85.9
    crude protein range from 19.7-26.7

• Closed Accounts Posts: 6,506 ✭✭✭Dawggone

jaymla627 wrote: »
    They are in the right hands, pure disaster if their's poor management with them some lads put them in and spend a day our two training the calves and think that's the calves sorted for the year haha

Agreed. They are the same as milking robots, you have to be there (not off on holidays like some of the Lely adverts on the FJ!).
    Saying that my machine will alert you if a calf has not drank it's full amount per 24hrs or if it's drinking speed has dropped.
    We clean down the stations and the machine every day and the best stockperson goes through them three times a day.

Some thing we're considering. One doubt I have is the wave if calves coming so fast in the spring. I know I've asked before but what's the SR per machine?

We went adlib feeding last spring and have to say were mightily impressed with calves. Pens of 10 2 teats and a container of milk for the day.

My one is maxed out at 80 or 90 so I would think you would need bigger machine or a few. I think T. Brown uses the auto feeders, he should know.
    No probs for us as ayr calving.

I've finally (after a lot of experimentation) figured out the best dilution of powder etc. Calves always a picture.
    Also we now enter the calves weight on entering the machine and the calf is fed accordingly.
    Best machine in the farm, would never again be without one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,831 ✭✭✭visatorro

heard on news today about a stock market crash in China. apparently people have borrowed money to invest in shares. 1 in 4 companies in distress. seeing as its the middle class that this is affecting and it's the middle class buying dairy and beef products, are we heading for trouble? does any one know the breakdown of where are exports are going today?

visatorro wrote: »
    heard on news today about a stock market crash in China. apparently people have borrowed money to invest in shares. 1 in 4 companies in distress. seeing as its the middle class that this is affecting and it's the middle class buying dairy and beef products, are we heading for trouble? does any one know the breakdown of where are exports are going today?

Watched a doc on telly lately where the price of baby formula has dropped dramatically in China.
    Did any of the processors build a new plant for formula?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,063 ✭✭✭Markcheese

Dawggone wrote: »
    Watched a doc on telly lately where the price of baby formula has dropped dramatically in China.

Nutricia not long finished a new plant near macroom - Dairygold supply -
    Dunno if Dairygolds new plant in mallow was supposed to have anything to do with baby formula- it'll be a good while before it's up and running anyway-

Slava ukraini 🇺🇦

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,124 ✭✭✭jaymla627

Belview that glanbia built is, 180 million gone into it

Ooooops.

Ooooops.

I'm wondering how many eggs they have in the belview basket, by the sounds coming from head management looking at another cut for June milk from the lofty heights of 27.5 cent including vat

I wonder did they factor in a price drop in their business model or did they just reckon they would make the suppliers pick up the slack?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,084 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

This all dont sound too good

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,282 ✭✭✭alps

I wonder did they factor in a price drop in their business model or did they just reckon they would make the suppliers pick up the slack?

The terminology used by the coops at the time they presented plans for the farmers "buy in", had all the expressions and nuances used by the investment tycoons of the early 00's
    opportunity, leverage of assets, timing, don't miss the bandwagon, most efficient production model.etc.etc...
    All the hallmarks of the new bubble.....

I just wonder..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,135 ✭✭✭kowtow

alps wrote:
    The terminology used by the coops at the time they presented plans for the farmers "buy in", had all the expressions and nuances used by the investment tycoons of the early 00's opportunity, leverage of assets, timing, don't miss the bandwagon, most efficient production model.etc.etc... All the hallmarks of the new bubble.....

Don't panic.

We've still got harvest 2025. Vertical synergies to leverage, low hanging fruit to pick... etc etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 520 ✭✭✭Pacoa

heard on news today about a stock market crash in China

http://www.zerohedge.com/news/2015-07-07/when-does-chinese-carnage-stop-3-charts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,890 ✭✭✭mf240

Have they eggs aswell jaysus they have it all down in bellview.

Pacoa wrote: »

Down 30% since start of June apparently with 3.25 trillion dollars wiped of its value, still dropping and massive cash injections by Chinese government ongoing to try and prop it up....
    Haven't heard a peep from any agri commentators concerning this bit strange pretty big deal, when we keep hearing the line about China coming back into the market once their dairy stocks are used up

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Kerry invested a lot in upgrading their plants for baby food but no new plants.

They should have spent a few bob on more intake points if they were doing anything. Huge queues there at peak.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

browned wrote: »
    got results back from grass samples taken during the summer of paddocks that were next in line for grazing. can someone with a better knowledge of dmd%, dm and crude protein interoperate the results for me? should some of these be higher?

dry matter ranged from 16.4-20.5
    dmd ranged from 82-85.9
    crude protein range from 19.7-26.7
    Serious quality grass. Be hard set to get silage that quality

• Closed Accounts Posts: 661 ✭✭✭browned

Serious quality grass. Be hard set to get silage that quality

Should it be higher given its grazing grass tho? Haven't any reference point to compare it with so I've no idea if The results indicate poor quality grass or simple meh grass quality.

Kerry invested a lot in upgrading their plants for baby food but no new plants.

They should have spent a few bob on more intake points if they were doing anything. Huge queues there at peak.

My processor built a new facility for formula as a JV with the Chinese. Investment of 35 million ready to go with a year and hasn't been opened yet...

Asked a few awkward questions other night at a shareholders meeting. The response I got were "market conditions" bla bla.
    White elephant methinks...

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

Until about 3 weeks ago I was knee deep in paperwork and bank meetings and phone calls to accountants.... all with the intention of going into dairying. Had the hammer cocked and just had to pull the trigger. But the price volitility is something that would do my head in. Having very little say in what I get for what I produce is just a bit too "loose" for my liking. (Solids produced is the only controll)

As my boss in my day job said. He's (his company) taking the risk but my wages can only go up.

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,551 ✭✭✭keep going

Until about 3 weeks ago I was knee deep in paperwork and bank meetings and phone calls to accountants.... all with the intention of going into dairying. Had the hammer cocked and just had to pull the trigger. But the price volitility is something that would do my head in. Having very little say in what I get for what I produce is just a bit too "loose" for my liking. (Solids produced is the only controll)

As my boss in my day job said. He's (his company) taking the risk but my wages can only go up
    Or on the dole, some of the steamm is running out of the green energy business

• Closed Accounts Posts: 3,433 ✭✭✭darragh_haven

keep going wrote: »

As my boss in my day job said. He's (his company) taking the risk but my wages can only go up
    Or on the dole, some of the steamm is running out of the green energy business

True. But I'm contracted to the service department which has 5 year rolling contracts. Spreading my own risk against redundancy.
    Anyway KG, the option of me going full time farming is gone so I've gone onto other things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,893 ✭✭✭Bullocks

As my boss in my day job said. He's (his company) taking the risk but my wages can only go up.
    Beef is as volatile except when the price is good it's still not nearly good enough. At least when milk price is high you would be happy with it

• Closed Accounts Posts: 20,633 ✭✭✭✭Buford T. Justice XIX

Myself and the OH spent the week away talking about where we want to be in the future and the conclusion was, if we got another inspection this year, we would bench any expansion plans or upgrades and wind down the clock to paying off the loans.

The thought of working for free one year in three isn't really appealing, especially when everyone higher up the food chain has 40 hour weeks, 5 day week, a paid months holidays every year and a gross of near 1k a week.

Then yesterday we got notice 48 hours notice of a cross compliance inspection. So off to the accountant next week to see the best way of exiting in a couple of years.

I'm not sure I can cope with another box-ticker justifying their existence at my expense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,750 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

Myself and the OH spent the week away talking about where we want to be in the future and the conclusion was, if we got another inspection this year, we would bench any expansion plans or upgrades and wind down the clock to paying off the loans.

The thought of working for free one year in three isn't really appealing, especially when everyone higher up the food chain has 40 hour weeks, 5 day week, a paid months holidays every year and a gross of near 1k a week.

Then yesterday we got notice 48 hours notice of a cross compliance inspection. So off to the accountant next week to see the best way of exiting in a couple of years.

I'm not sure I can cope with another box-ticker justifying their existence at my expense.
    cant understand why when they where updating the farmers charter that they didnt put a cap on inspections, its ridiculous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,750 ✭✭✭✭whelan2

waiting on milk tank repair man to come out, was here yesterday evening too, some problem with sensors on milk tank, my dad was saying i thought you would get a few years at least before anything would go wrong, it was only put in last november

• Closed Accounts Posts: 9,493 ✭✭✭Greengrass1

whelan2 wrote: »
    waiting on milk tank repair man to come out, was here yesterday evening too, some problem with sensors on milk tank, my dad was saying i thought you would get a few years at least before anything would go wrong, it was only put in last november

Jeez that's not good at all. Would have though it would be 10 yrs or more before problems like that happened.
    Greenfield had problems with there tank too.
    compressor went on it and then due to the hard water the jets clogged up. Had to get a water softer on water system

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

With the competition for land round ur place, I don't think u could justify the outlay involved in getting it all up and running, lads will fall over themselves down there to rent ur place. The biggest prob will probably be the emotional tie of seeing someone else farming it. Or will u continue with beef? It can't be as financially beneficial as renting it out.
    Life is short, u must make the most of it. U have a job that u appear to enjoy, that is so important. It's just that tie to the land is fecking hard to break!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,282 ✭✭✭Deepsouthwest

What will u do for € if u stop farming? U seem pretty clued in, just wondering what ur options are.